TIAN Munich

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 25 reviews )

Find

Frauenstraße 4, Munich, Germany, D-80469

Vegetarian haute cuisine. Fine dining with wine. Opened Sept 2014.
Note December 2021: Some regions in Germany, such as Bavaria and Saxony, may limit restaurant hours (call ahead). Indoor dining is only possible with proof of vaccination/recent recovery from Covid-19. Takeaway is available for anyone. Call ahead as availability, hours, and rules may vary. Open Wed-Sat 18:00-23:00, Sun 12:00-15:00. Closed on holidays.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Pizza, International, Organic, Beer/Wine

25 Reviews

First Review by Vegan since 1990

eu4ria

Points +15

Vegetarian
15 Mar 2021

Excellent, high class cuisine

The best vegetarian dinner you can get in Munich when you want to have a special experience. I was really amazed. Bit expensive, but would worth.
Would go there for special occasions again.

Pros: Excellent Food, Cool Location

Cons: Expensive

TIAN

24 Nov 2021

Thank you for your visit and positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the culinary experience at our restaurant. The high quality of all the ingredients we use for our seasonal dishes is extremely important to us - a friendly service just as well. Thank you for appreciating our work. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes,
TIAN

beissenderbonsai

Points +28

Vegetarian
19 Oct 2020

A special experience

Tian offers an amazing veggie experience. Both a vegetarian and a vegan menu offering up to six courses are available. The atmosphere is upscale without feeling stiff. What I enjoyed most was that every single dish tasted unique and unlike anything I had ever had before.

Pros: Great service, Unique taste experience, Great wine

Cons: Expensive

TIAN

24 Nov 2021

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the creativity of our dishes and that they tasted like anything you had before. Besides the high quality of all the ingredients we use, a friendly service is just as important to us which is why we are glad to hear that you felt comfortable in the hands of our team. We hope to see you soon again!
Best wishes,
TIAN

Anirac

Points +2840

Vegan
09 Feb 2020

Great fine dining experience

I loved that you did not have to book the vegan menu before. They have really creative dishes that focus on veggies. It is expensive (it has a michelin star) but worth for special occations if you can afford it.

Advertisement

peachum

Points +119

Vegan
27 Jul 2019

Spannende Experimentalküche

Gut abgestimmte Menüs. Leckeres Essen. Freundliche Bedienungen.

s_k_

Points +556

Vegetarian
11 May 2019

maybe not worth it

Tian is nice. It's good. It's an experience: the ambiance, the decor, the service, the plating, the dishes, the crazy delightful 70s staircase to the bathrooms downstairs. It's a multi-course veg gourmet tasting menu. All that is great.

But I've been fortunate to have my share of multi-course gourmet veg tasting menus, and this one didn't feel special. A few dishes were great, a few were so-so, a few were weak, and overall I didn't come away feeling like I'd had a once-in-a-year sublime experience.

It's nice to have an all-veg place earn a Michelin star, and for some it's nice to say they've been to one. If you want to have that pleasure, to indulge in food trends, and maybe to have a surprise course or three, Tian will deliver. But if that's not your bag, it's fine to give it a pass.

Pros: great for a fancy meal, creative, unusual dishes, ambiance, decor, setting

Cons: very expensive, several courses are decent but not great/sublime

longomai

Points +30

Vegan
03 Dec 2018

Vegan at the best!

My absolute favourite place to eat!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Amazing taste, Great staff

vendelab

Points +24

Vegan
02 Dec 2018

Best vegan food I’ve ever had

Lovely restaurant, food sensational

inesgee

Points +47

Vegetarian
22 Sep 2018

excellent food

Great veg fine dining... made by people who are passionate about food and wine.. great service.. choice of 4 or 6 courses, accompanied by wine chosen for you according to your preferences. Doesnt come cheap but worth it!

HappyIvana

Points +36

Vegan
04 Sep 2018

must visit!

Outstanding! One of my favs in Munich. Haute Cuisine for vegans with very friendly staff. The meals and tiny pieces of cooking art are full of taste and explode in your mouth! Definitely a MUST!

DaniM

Points +1834

Vegan
02 Jul 2018

Awesome!

Food: The different dishes are just outstanding and awesome delicious! I've never experienced such a great taste in Munich so far. Unfortunately not everything is vegan and gluten-free. But if you tell the waitress they can make it vegan and gluten-free for you.

Staff: The staff is very friendly and courteous.

Location: This restaurant is modern and respectable.

marsh_1991

Points +287

Vegan
17 Jun 2018

Classy and delicious

High-class, delicious fresh food and a a big choice of wines. Pretty expensive, but totally worth it.

Pros: Classy restaurant, Great food, Many wines

Cons: Expensive

AllexFS2411

Points +54

Vegan
08 Feb 2018

Unglaublich Lecker

Wer hätte gedacht, dass man mit Veggie und vegan solche Geschmacks Erlebnisse haben kann. Wunderbar!

akita

Points +79

Vegetarian
09 Dec 2017

Einfach nur toll!

Dieses Restaurant ist echt was Besonderes!
Klar,es ist höherpreisiger als die anderen vegetar.Lokale,aber dafür bekommt man auch mit sehr viel Liebe zum Detail zubereitetes Essen in mehreren Gängen.
Ideal für einen besonderen Anlass!

Pros: vegane Optionen, besondere Texturen

Cons: teuer

ChrisRead

Points +60

Vegan
05 Dec 2017

one of the best meals I’ve ever had

We opted for the 5 course tasting menu and accompanying wine flight and were not disappointed. Local ingredients prepared with a real eye for detail perfectly matched with wines from around Europe. All of the staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgable especially when you consider they were having to speak English as we have no German. I’ve eaten all over the World in some of the best restaurants and Tian is definitely right up there.

Pros: great presentation, imaginative presentation

Cons: you might want to let your bank manager know you a

Veganprof

Points +29

Vegan
09 Nov 2017

The best meal of the year

This gourmet restaurant provided me with the best meal of the year thus far. I had the set menu of five courses and each was prepared with an attention to detail and artistry that is truly exceptional. The whole ambience is classy, service greatand the wines also excellent. Each course comes as a delicately constructed art-work that is both beautiful to behold and taste. The flavors are subtly balanced to tease all the taste-buds and the food is highly creative. I believe its counterpart in Vienna received a Michelin star; this is deserving of one two. It is truly shows what can be done with a simple plant-based menu (I had the vegan menu). Highly recommended though it is an expensive night out.

Pros: Classy ambience, Artistic food of a Michelin star level, Exceptional

Dafyddcaerdydd

Points +48

Vegan
16 Oct 2017

Excellent

Excellent food, excellent and helpful service; an experience that is worth repeating; and I do every time that I am in Munich.

Pros: High quality food, Service

Cons: None

hokusai77

Points +12794

Vegan
25 Dec 2016

Great food experience

I have been here twice, and have always had a great food experience. Food is wonderfully presented, and you can see there is a deep research on texture and consistency, as well as on flavour combinations. They only use seasonal products from the market stalls, possibly local. Definitely recommended!

Pros: haute cuisine, great service

Cons: vegan options are limited

Avatar LCremona

LCremona

Points +132

Vegan
14 Jul 2016

creativity, incredible service, delicious

Went back here twice in 3 days! Tried everything on vegan menu. Crazy for carrot salad and chickpea dish, but loved every course.

Sit on back patio if it's sunny, but inside was elegant and cozy if weather is not agreeable.

Very fun taster dishes before meal even began - "oyster" on the half shell (made with ginger), and beetroot purée with quinoa.

Servers were knowledgeable, very sweet and didn't rush us. Leave extra time to enjoy food and atmosphere.

Cannot wait to go back again!

Pros: creativity/originality, service, atmosphere

Cucuscampi

Points +307

Vegan
11 Jun 2016

Super vegan oder vegetarisch und chic

Das Restaurant ist einfach toll. Direkt neben dem Viktualienmarkt und ziemlich chic, aber der Service super freundlich und zuvorkommend. Ich hatte das vegane 4 Gängemenü und mit 2 Grüßen aus der Küche, waren es fast schon 6 Gänge. Das essen war geschmacklich toll und die Portionen hatten genau die richtige Größe. Etwas teurer, aber dem Ambiente angemessen. Toll für einen ganz besonderen Abend!

Pros: Vegan oder vegetarisch

Cons: Etwas teurer

Glomar

Points +20

Vegan
29 Apr 2016

Beautiful atmosphere, but mediocre food

A very nice location and more formal atmosphere. The presentation of the food was beautiful, but the flavours were lacking. We were underwhelmed and the price was very expensive for what you got.

Pros: Location

Cons: Expensive, Lack of flavour

Lia Argolo

Points +201

Vegan
30 Jan 2016

Amazing

Fancy vegan food. Everything was delicious and the presentation of the dishes are very elegant. Faire prices.

Animotek78

Points +320

Vegan
23 Oct 2015

Best Began Food I Ever Ate!

I recommend the 4-6 course menus. The sheff sends nice small dishes on the house

Pros: Creative, Interesting

Cons: Expansive

Misanthropia

Points +2017

Vegan
11 Apr 2015

High end experience in Munich

The atmosphere this restaurant greets its visitors with is amazing, calm and serene, which makes the whole restaurant a very comfortable place to be. They have a vegan and a vegetarian menu which change every 2 months or so, and all dishes could be ordered seperately. What slightly annoyed us was that we had ordered the vegan and the vegetarian menu, and in the beginning the service was slightly confused by this, they didn't know who had ordered which, and they brought the amuse bouche only vegetarian, so we had to reorder it. Besides that, the food was amazing and the service friendly and helpful, and the somalier they had was well informed about the beverages they offered. Another mentionable point was the open kitchen, which allowed you to watch your food as it was being prepared. We really enjoyed our stay there, and had a relaxing evening to look back to.
Updated from previous review on Saturday April 11, 2015

Pros: Well informed somalier., Great food., Comfortable atmosphere.

Cons: Partially confused service.

Magic Jenny

Points +65

Vegetarian
10 Apr 2015

Wow!

Gestern war unser erstes Mal im Tian. Drei Vegetarier und zwei tolerante Omnivoren. Trotz kleiner "Mängel" war mir schnell klar, dass ich hier die Höchstnote vergeben werde

Doch was sind nun die kleineren Mängel (die an der Bewertung mit 5 grünen Kreisen keinen Abstrich zulassen)? Nun, lediglich diverse Kleinigkeiten. Das Amuse Gueule (getrüffelte Remoulade) war prima und kreativ, das Brot hätte aber bereits hierzu gepasst, kam jedoch erst später. Die Portionen waren, wie bereits erwähnt, nicht besonders groß, dadurch stach im Menü der schwarze Reis als etwas zu üppig hervor. Doch man muß ja nicht immer alles aufessen. Dass die Speisekarte ein wenig spargellastig war kann man bei einem Blick auf den Kalender auch nicht wirklich kritisieren.

Das war's dann auch schon mit Kritik, wie werden gern mal wiederkommen. Wir müssen nicht ständig "gehoben" speisen, was immer das heissen mag; aber es ist schon schön, dass man sich bei anspruchsvoller Küche als Vegetarier nicht auf die ein oder zwei Alibigerichte beschränken muß, die es "in freier Wildbahn" ja meist nur gibt. Wie schrieb ein anderer Rezensent sinngemäß? Vegan oder Vegetarisch zu essen hat nichts mit Verzicht zu tun. Gut gemacht ist es die Krönung der Esskultur!

Pros: Good., Nice., Recommendable.

Cons: Nothing really!, Well, some might find it expensive., But hey, it's Munich AND good!

Vegan since 1990

Points +260

Vegan
26 Feb 2015

Gourmet food and lovely atmosphere

My spouse and I visited Tian and we were pleased by the gourmet vegan food. It was all delicious and the atmosphere was elegant. However, there were not as many vegan options as the vegan restaurants in Munich provide and the portions were gourmet size. My husband and I tend to be big eaters and love to eat a lot.

Pros: Gourmet, Elegant

Cons: Not large variety of options, Expensive

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Munich Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has TIAN Munich closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 8148 times.