An old school type window service ice cream counter that began offering vegan soft serve in every flavor available (over 20 flavors) in 2019. Wafer and waffle cones are vegan according to staff. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-8:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-8:00pm. Open hours vary by season.


Venue map for The Original Mickey's Igloo
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by veganed

TessaFarley

Points +95

Vegan
21 Oct 2023

10/10!

20 flavors of almond-based soft serve, plus toppings (sauces, oreos, chocolate chips), cones, and coconut whipped cream! Super friendly staff, too.

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-21

Pros: huge variety , big portions, friendly service

Cons: none!

Advertisement

VeggieDuckSalad

Points +49

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

5 stars, no notes

Fantastic vegan soft serve and so many options. I'm not used to having an actual menu of choices. The staff were also super helpful, and the whole vibe is a retro-modern walk up ice cream joint. Absolutely perfect experience. We'll be back!

creativegan

Points +947

Vegan
05 Apr 2023

Love all the soft serve flavors!

I LOVE that I can get any of the flavors done vegan! Haven’t tried the real food yet, but will this summer. ☀️ 🍦 🍔 (vegan, of course!)

MelissaRB

Points +20

Vegan
30 Mar 2023

Great taste and knowledgeable staff

This is my favorite local, family run, ice cream shop! The price for their ice cream are so reasonable! The staff is very knowledgeable about what on their menu is vegan or not so I can ask questions about my options and feel confident I am receiving a vegan item.

katelynkelly

Points +233

Vegan
28 Mar 2023

So Many Options!

I loved having a choice of multiple flavors! I haven’t done that in forever. Staff was super sweet and they even had vegan food options such as chicken strips and burgers!

GFGoldenLady

Points +1855

Vegan
25 Apr 2022

Have options

They definitely have a fair amount of vegan options but I wasn't really blown away by the taste / quality.

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable on Wjst was vegan. Thag always makes me feel more assured that I'm getting vegan and likey no / very low cross contamination.

I'd go back to try soft serve but wasn't overt impressed by the ice cream cake. The portion was huge especially for the price point. The vanilla ice cream was pretty icy texture and wasn't smooth and creamy.

mickeysigloo

13 May 2022

We would love to have you come back and try our almond milk soft serve which will be creamy because it comes out of the machine whereas the ice cream cake is frozen solid so you need to let it sit out to soften as with any ice cream cake. thank you for your patronage.

TaylorVeg

Points +81

Vegan
12 Jul 2021

Amazing

I LOVE this place. My only complaint is that I lived in NY for 4 years without knowing it existed. They have a crazy selection of vegan soft serve and they make cakes!

makcurtis

Points +1050

Vegan
07 Feb 2021

So many flavors!

We were so surprised to find SO many vegan soft serve flavors!! The falafel were pretty good, and I was happy to find that they offer fried pickles. The employee said that pickles were not vegan since they shared a fryer with non-veg items. That’s not a deal-breaker for me, but they were unable to tell me whether or not the batter was vegan. I can’t wait until they open up again!
This listing shows them as open, but they do close for the winter.

Pros: Lots of options , Vegan food , Good value for $$

Cons: Employees not sure if some items are vegan

westchestervegan

Points +1133

Vegan
06 Sep 2020

Vegan Soft Serve for the win!

They use Almond Milk Swirl which is a supplier of the ice cream and they have 20 options for flavors so it’s awesome that those options exist and they also have 3-4 flavors of Dole Whip. It’s a cool drive up nostalgic place. Noticed that they also order beyond burgers and Falafel for savory items.
I was told that the sprinkles were vegan so I had vanilla chocolate swirl with rainbow sprinkles and the person I was with had the orange creamsicle flavor. Both were tasty and quenched the craving. It’s definitely not the best vegan soft serve I’ve had but it gets an A for effort.

Pros: Tons of vegan flavors , Not expensive

veganed

Points +467

Vegan
13 Jul 2019

Vegan soft serve ice cream!!

Vegan soft serve ice cream is not easy to come by so this is a great find! Mickey's is an old school, drive up, window service type of ice cream parlor. They recently started offering vegan soft serve, using Silk Almond Milk as their base. You can choose from any of their 25 flavors, and if you can't decide on one you can combine flavors in a twist! I had the peanut butter, my wife had a vanilla/chocolate swirl. The ice cream was tasty, cold and refreshing but not the richest/creamiest vegan ice cream I've had. We were told by staff that the waffle and wafer cones are both vegan as well (sugar cone is not)...so no garbage waste other than a napkin if you order a cone!!

Pros: So many different flavors to choose from!, Vegan labeling and nutritional info is very clear , Benches and picnic tables with umbrellas

Cons: Not a 100% vegan business




This page has been viewed 2519 times.