Lacto
Ovo
International
Beer/Wine
British
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Pub and restaurant with a veggie and vegan selection on the menu. Includes vegan risotto, vegan jackfruit fajitas, vegan stir fry and vegan fish and chips. Offers a view over the harbour. Open Mon-Sun 12:00-14:30, 18:00-21:00. Pub is all day.


Venue map for The Mermaid Inn
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by Chickpea1

lauralilly

Points +18

Vegan
14 Jun 2023

Fantastic

Fantastic food and service, staff and lovely, I had the Vegan fish and Chips and it was just delicious, tar tar sauce vegan and a nice chunky wedge of lemon
Fish made with banana blossom

Advertisement

LouiseBennett

Points +33

Vegan
14 Jun 2023

AMAZING

Dropped in whilst waiting for ferry to Penzance. Lots of vegan options and went for the banana blossom fish and chips, WITH vegan tartar sauce, washed down with a Sauvignon Blanc (marked vegan on the wine list). Food was INCREDIBLE, friendly atmosphere, TWO puddings and not a sorbet in sight. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Pros: Quality, Choice, Location

Cons: None

HannahGore

Points +134

Vegan
14 Jun 2023

Incredible f*sh & chips

Had the most amazing banana blossom f*sh & chips, the owner was super helpful, the mayo is always vegan so they never mix it up. Lots of lunch options and even more on the evening

Pros: Loads of vegan options , Friendly & helpful staff, Dog friendly

Cons: None

veganchef229

Points +135

Vegan
09 May 2023

We didn't stay

Table was filthy and no one came to clean it even after we pointed it out.

Service was dismal and there was only one other table of guests.

Menu options left much to be desired so we left.

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Horrible service, Lack of options

HeatherDonaldson

Points +306

Vegan
13 Aug 2021

Great vegan options!

Great atmosphere, we ate here twice once in the restaurant and once in the pub. This place gets super busy and there were some issues with our table one evening but the staff are excellent and did their best to resolve it quickly whilst offering us drinks on the house! There are several vegan options and those we tried were delicious! Real comfort food and exactly what you want after a day in the water! The only disappointment is they'd ran out of the vegan desert option, but we were eating late. Reccomend this place for a fun evening with great pub food, my favourite was the vegan suet pudding.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-13

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Great staff, Great location

Cons: Hard to get a table so book in advance!

dbv

Points +202

Vegan
27 May 2021

Nice for lunch

Has a good number of vegan options, the service is great. Pub itself isn't much to look at and could probs do with an update but not bad for a casual lunch!

hdgale

Points +242

Vegan
25 May 2021

Best vegan pub grub

As seen the photos, 4 options for mains and we ordered one of each. They have been well thought out and a lot of care is taken in executing the dishes with no slap dash half measures for “token vegan” option.

Fish and Chips, the blossom is substantial and fried really well. Complete with tartar sauce and mushy peas
BBQ Ribs, massive portion, seitan cooked beautifully with plenty of sauce and fries
Seut is a vegetable layered pie with gravy perfect if you’re looking for roast dinner flavour. My sister really enjoyed
The Chick’n is jackfruit on fries and curry sauce, it was executed well but my dad would have chosen one of the others.

Vegan chocolate moose went down well too

Pros: 4 pub classics, Genuine care and pride

ChelseaQuider

Points +35

Vegan
01 Mar 2021

Amazing food and service

We ordered the vegan fish and chips which were absolutely delicious! The chef spoke to us and also said they do a great vegan Sunday roast which we haven't had chance to try yet due to covid restrictions. But we will be back the second they open again! Loved it 😄

Pros: Great vegan options , Great price, Great service

PaulBamford

Points +55

Vegan
08 Oct 2019

Great place on Scilly

Had the lovely vegan fish and chips, my partner the mushroom risotto, both beautifully presented and very generous helpings

Pros: Well thought out vegan dishes

Cons: None

oneanonlyedwiltshire

Points +32

Vegan
14 Sep 2019

top marks

Vegan fish & chips made with banana blossom (?) in a great batter - white & flakey - tartar sauce & delicious mushy peas, which I drenched in malt vinegar & salt washed down with a vegan IPA. Bangin.

Pros: Delicious , Fair price, Great pub

Cons: Nothing

Chickpea1

Points +179

Vegan
17 Aug 2019

Lovely, friendly staff

The Mermaid Inn is the first building as you leave the harbour. The bar is quite dark and has a real "local" pub feel. The restaurant has lovely views over the harbour and is light and airy. The staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming and the food is very good. The portion size is large and the Jackfruit Fajitas comes with vegan cheese and sour cream. They also have vegan fish and chips made with banana blossom. The veggie/vegan meals are much cheaper than the meat and fish on offer. It was a pleasant meal in a lovely place. I'd recommend it.

Pros: The views, Friendly staff, Good portion sizes

Cons: Serves meat and fish




This page has been viewed 1233 times.