• Taste of Thai Express

  • (13)
    13
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Thai
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Thai restaurant. Offer option for tofu, vegetables, or mock chicken in many dishes. BYO. Previously located on W State St. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Taste of Thai Express
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by siki

TracyWeb

Points +720

Vegan
12 Jul 2022

Tasty Thai

Taste of Thai did not disappoint. We ordered fried and fresh spring rolls in addition to the spicy basil stir fry and pad Thai (when we ordered we specified ‘no egg’ and added the mock chicken to it.) Will definitely order from here again next time we’re in town!

Advertisement

SouthernmostVegan

Points +1554

Vegan
17 May 2020

Great cheap eats

My expectations were met. Reviews are positive and the price is right. We ordered the Pad See Ew (my fave), Rad Nah, Red Curry, and Basil Stir Fry. I was clear In asking for vegan, but they added egg to one of the dishes which they replaced after I brought it to their attention. They also forgot to give me the accompanying rice, but I was too frustrated to deal with that, too.

They were very busy during Coronavirus, which could explain the problems, so just make sure to check everything when you get take-out.

naomihhs

Points +1120

Vegan
15 Mar 2020

Good curry and pad Thai

I really enjoyed the curry — it had lots of good tofu and bean sprouts, and the pad Thai was nice too.

BeeBrain

Points +38

Vegan
05 Feb 2020

They cook everything with fish oil

They cook everything with fish oil

Pros: Looks

Cons: Not vegan

xCuriouser

Points +23

Vegetarian
26 Jan 2020

One of my favorites!

I love getting Taste of Thai! We try to get some at least once a month.

There’s a lot of vegetarian/vegan options here!
If you dine in, the wait staff is very knowledgeable about what is in dishes and will ask if you would like to make a dish vegan (if it’s not already). They are more than accommodating. The service is great, wait times are reasonable, and the food is delicious!
Sidenote: All of the curries are vegan. (The green curry is a family favorite)

You can also phone in an order to-go and/or order online through their website or app (powered by ChowNow). You’re still able to make accommodations/request your food to be made “vegan”. (You can also request dishes to be made with some extra heat!) The wait time is reasonable for to-go orders, as well.

Please note: I gave it a four-star review since it’s technically not a completely vegan restaurant. In my heart, it’s a five-star review!

Pros: Lots of vegetarian & vegan options, Knowledgeable, friendly, and accommodating staff

MatthiasNevans

Points +20

Vegan
06 Aug 2019

Delicious food, lots of vegan options

Most of their menu can be made vegan and the food is delicious. This is easily one of my favorite restaurants in Ithaca. Very reasonably priced too.

VeganGinger

Points +100

Vegan
03 Jul 2019

Oddly the best Thai food in Ithaca

It's built as a takeaway primarily & delivery via GrubHub. Not related to Taste of Thai on the Commons (which also has vegan options). There is sit-down service. Vegan options clearly marked. The curry's are all vegan. They have tofu or mock chicken as add in. My go too is vegan prepared Pad Thai & Massaman Curry.

Pros: Vegan options clearly marked. Inexpensive.

Cons: Parking is limited. If eating in, may need to park, on side street & walk over.

TheVeganBlend

Points +159

Vegan
29 Apr 2018

Very Vegan-aware menu and staff

Many great Vegan options. One of our family's favorites in Ithaca. All of the curries are Vegan and worth a try (Can have with vegetables, tofu or mock chicken). Pad Kee Mao and the curry fried rice are also excellent (for both specify vegan). Tom Kha soup, chive dumplings and Fresh rolls are all super yummy starters. Doesn't serve alcohol, but you can bring your own wine or beer. Has some vegan dessert option. Probably not a health-kick but a great occasional treat for when you eating out.

Pros: Very tasty food, Knowledgeable kitchen and staff

jenly

Points +205

Vegetarian
13 Aug 2014

just terrible

My family ate lunch here in the late afternoon, just before the shift over to dinner hours. The restaurant wasn't full and the very stained carpet was readily apparent. That, plus the smell of insecticide in the entrance way, caused me to pause but we were propelled onward by the four stars on happycow. Once our appetizers arrived, I knew we had made a mistake. The spring rolls that arrived were dark and extremely greasy. From there, things got worse as our soups and entrees were barely lukewarm. Even if the food had been hot, it wouldn't have been particularly good. The tofu was all the pre-fried kind and most of the dishes looked identical--tofu, onion and lots of bell peppers even though we ordered a variety of dishes. I swear there were about four noodles in the drunken noodle dish.
The dishes we enjoyed most were the fried tofu appetizer, the fried banana dessert and the pad thai. Actually, one of my kids liked the pad thai but to me it tasted exactly like the kind in the reheat packet.

I did not know beforehand this was a chain restaurant so to me that explains everything. By the time our meal was over I was really disappointed we decided to eat there. We have been on vacation for several days now and we were looking forward to a good meal. We could have selected a different restaurant and gotten a better meal but instead we unwittingly chose one of the worst Thai meals we've eaten.
I figure the reason this place stays in business is because it is super cheap. We wound up paying about fifteen dollars per person (including tax and tip) for shared appetizers, soups, several entrees and the banana dessert.
I apologize in advance for the typos and bad grammar but I am submitting this review from my phone because I feel the four cows are completely unjustified and I want to alert everyone who considers this restaurant.

Pros: fried banana dessert, inexpensive

Cons: lukewarm, flavorless food, charmless decor with stained carpet

DaisytheHedgehog

Points +116

Vegan
05 Jan 2012

I order this weekly.

I'm a vegan college student, and I order Taste of Thai's green curry with tofu and the tofu todd (fried tofu with chili sauce) every friday!! The curries are amazing, and Taste of Thai express no longer uses fish sauce in any of its curries. I always ask about fish sauce at the eat-in restaurant and have never had a problem. This is my favorite food in Ithaca!

Pros: Delicious tofu, Delivers, Nice atmosphere

Cons: None!

elles_belles

Points +1301

Vegan
26 Dec 2011

Pretty good

I really enjoyed the cashew chicken with tofu substituted for chicken. The sauce was sweet and flavorful.

BroccoliBottom

Points +25

Vegetarian
28 Aug 2009

Rocks My World

This restaurant rocks my world! I usually tell people I don't like Thai food, but this place is the one exception to that. I love it! Just be careful if you have peanut allergies b/c they're in MANY of the dishes, even some not labeled.

Pros: variety, price, value

Cons: long waits

siki

Points +21

Vegan
04 Aug 2009

Lots and lots of vegan options

This place is great -- good, fresh food using local ingredients, including local, organic tofu, and they will happily substitute tofu or mock duck (seitan) in just about anything. Be sure to inquire about fish sauce, some of the dishes can't be made without it. Lunch is a great deal.




This page has been viewed 4241 times.