Lacto
Ovo
Mediterranean
Take-out
Israeli
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Israeli restaurant & hummus bar. The falafel platter is vegan and customizable. Has falafel pita wrap. Sides and soup of the day are usually vegetable-based. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Tal's Hummus
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by emilopia

shjipstone

Points +232

Mostly Veg
12 Nov 2023

Excellent

I had a falafel sandwich which may be one of the more basic options but the falafel were excellent, would def come again

Updated from previous review on 2023-11-12

Advertisement

LydiaBerger

Points +383

Vegan
22 Oct 2023

pretty good

I had the vegan shawarma pita which was delicious. I had to check that the “fake” chicken was actually fake because it was seasoned so well. I also tried the vegan cigars but I thought they were a little bland. And the hummus was good but not the best hummus I’ve had. Would def recommend the vegan shawarma pita though (also the frozen mint lemonade is delicious!)

Pros: taste

Cons: expensive

chihuahua_hat

Points +315

Vegan
01 Jul 2023

Vegan chicken shawarma

This place has a lot of great vegan choices to choose from. But there's a reason all the reviews mention the shawarma. It's amazing. The frozen drinks are also delicious. Avoid the olive plate. It's super disappointing.

Kbjamjam

Points +175

Vegan
10 Apr 2023

Awesome

Some of the best falafel and hummus I’ve ever had! The mushroom hummus is a must!

Pros: A lot of vegan options

Cons: Expensive

kale_and_trail

Points +201

Vegan
15 Jan 2023

Great falafel!!

I ended a run here and had the green falafel pita with gluten free pita. It was delicious, flavorful and crispy!! I also really enjoyed the fruit water. Highly recommend!

Pros: Good vegan options, Clearly labeled, Gluten free accommodations

ginahyena1

Points +164

Vegan
10 Dec 2022

Wow Vegan Chicken Shawarma

The food is absolutely amazing, especially the Vegan Chicken Shawarma. I've never had it anywhere else, so I have nothing to compare it to, but it was so so good. And the pita is super fluffy and delicious.

Pros: Friendly staff, Good vegan options, Fast

Cons: Expensive

MEW

Points +374

Vegan
14 Oct 2021

3 Words: Vegan Chicken Shawarma

This is the best vegan Shawarma I’ve ever had (and I’ve had my share)

Pros: Vegan chicken shawarma, Friendly staff , Tasty food

Cons: Babaganoush can’t be made vegan

rosemoen

Points +565

Vegetarian
29 Nov 2020

Israeli Love ❤️

I love this restaurant; we come every time we visit. The hummus is super smooth and flavorful. The pita is soft and fluffy. This place just reminds me of the homeland.

ECDLR

Points +557

Vegan
24 Apr 2020

Delicious vegan options

Ordered takeout from Tal’s during corona closures. The food was ready fast and getting to-go was very easy. Like everyone has said it’s a big pricey but for huge portions. We got the vegan chicken shawarma platter which came with pita and couscous with no extra charge, fried eggplant, and the cauliflower pita. All servings were huge, at least 2 more meals left over. Incredible flavors, extremely well done Mediterranean food! The menu is clear let marked what is vegan and there’s many options to chose from.

Pros: Taste, Serving size , Clearly marked options

Cons: Not all vegan , Pricey

tesspereira

Points +54

Vegan
16 Jun 2018

Surprisingly great value!

Might seem a bit pricey at first but the platter portions are huge and come with loads of pita bread, AND you get free olives, pita, tahini and some spicy sauces which you can have as a starter. So actually overall I thought this place was great value for money. I got the vegan chicken platter and it was great and super filling, although it tasted a bit too much like the real thing for my taste. If you're the type of vegan that misses meat, do try the vegan chicken here :) next time I'll have the falafel platter! Atmosphere is nice, the place is bright and they play nice relaxing music.

Pinto

Points +59

Vegan
24 Feb 2018

I want to like it...

I really want to like Tal’s. I do. I’ve been a few times, but probably won’t go back again—I went a few times trying to get their vegan shawarma, and they said they didn’t have it yet, so I stuck to the falafel. When they finally had it, it was $32 for two vegan chicken shawarma sandwiches to go (no drinks, no sides) which felt obscenely overpriced. It’s a shame—maybe something went wrong, because a lot of the people who recommended this place to me were students. In any case, I can’t bring myself to return when there’s tons of good vegan food around that feels like a better deal.

Pros: Flavorful, Good vegan options, Sauce bar and water while you wait

Cons: Way overpriced

marzipanimal

Points +64

Vegan
06 Dec 2017

Fresh and delicious!

I frequent this place at least once a week. They have a few fully vegan options, and I have had a few of their pita sandwiches modified. My favorites are the green falafel sandwich and the sabich without the egg. They also have a little olive bar for snacking while you wait for your food.

Pros: Affordable , Fresh , Open until 10

NOLAVegan

Points +40

Vegan
05 Nov 2017

Yum!

The vegan ‘chicken’ shawarma platter here is excellent. Will be back again.

emilopia

Points +123

Vegan
29 Aug 2017

excellent Israeli cuisine

I go here every time I'm in NoLa and each time I discover they've become even more vegan-friendly! In additional to their hummus platters and pita wraps which are vegan/can be made vegan by leaving off the egg, they recently added vegan "chicken" shawarma and it's AMAZING. 10/10 would recommend. Also, the pita is fresh baked and tastes delicious.




This page has been viewed 2773 times.