Delivery
Take-out
Catering

Vegan bbq street food operating for delivery, markets, events, and for private hire - check Facebook for location & schedule updates. Serves seitan ribs and wings, vegan burgers, wraps, and salads. As of Jul 2019, trades at Newcastle Quayside Sunday Market. Open Sun 17:00-21:00.


45 Reviews

First Review by IngaL.

KathrynDaviesKemp

Points +181

Vegan
08 Jan 2024

Gorgeous tasty food

We have had the Christmas roasts and other items, all of them are absolutely lovely.
Great taste and texture and quite different to other vegan offerings out there.

Pros: Tasty, Fresh, Lovely flavours

sookisoo

14 Feb 2024

Thank you so much for your kind words Kat! Much appreciated, and your custom has been so special to me over the years. xx

Advertisement

JasiTingTing

Points +974

Vegan
29 Sep 2023

Amazing wraps!

Seitan wraps and burgers.

Can find them at food festivals, Quayside market on Sundays.
Check their page on Facebook for the latest updates.

sookisoo

14 Feb 2024

DanCooke

Points +34

Vegan
01 Feb 2023

Outstanding Seitan

Fantastic wraps, some of the best Seitan I've ever eaten

Pros: Vegan , Good portions , Christmas roasts

sookisoo

07 Feb 2023

Wow, thank you so much Dan, that's lovely to hear! Do come again.

tom_j_99

Points +85

Vegan
20 Sep 2022

Huge but great value seitan kebabs

Delicious kebabs with either seitan kofta, ribs, hoisin duck, or wings. Ingrid's seitan is a really good texture and the portion sizes are great. Must visit if you are going to the Sunday Market!

sookisoo

09 Nov 2022

Hi Tom, thank you so much for your lovely review! It's always lovely to see you when you are up these parts!

NatashaRice

Points +114

Vegan
20 Sep 2022

Amazing fake meat kebabs

Really fairly priced, amazing kebabs.

Pros: Good price , Great portion size , Tasty fake meat

sookisoo

09 Nov 2022

Thank you so much for your lovely words. xxx

VeganVVitch

Points +826

Vegan
06 Jul 2022

Hail seitan!

I got to try this vendor at Newcastle tattoo convention! It was a one woman band and she did an amazing job. There was a bit of a queue but it was worth the wait! I didn’t take a photo as I was too busy shoving it in my mouth! I had the Buffano wrap with garlic Mayo and it was so good!! Would love to eat here again!

Pros: Fully vegan , Amazing seitan choices

sookisoo

17 Aug 2022

Wow, thank you so much for your lovely review, and I'm so happy you enjoyed your wrap! xxx

VeganVVitch

17 Aug 2022

You did an amazing job working alone and your food is stunning! 🖤

EmilNolan

Points +694

Vegan
20 Mar 2022

Amazing kebab

Top notch seitan, very yum, lots of different types

sookisoo

25 Apr 2022

Thank you so much! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your wrap! Do come again xxx

sookisoo

Points +156

Vegan
Owner
01 Jun 2021

Made with love-and a few secret ingredients

I launched Sun of Seitan in my mind in 2017, and it is this year I began selling my delicious vegan BBQ street food at festivals, fairs and markets. I have been blessed by meeting wonderful people along the way and the feedback has never been anything but positive, encouraging and excited. Thank you everyone.

Ingrid Korsan @SunofSeitan

Updated from previous review on 2018-12-31

Pros: Good friendly service, excellent variety., One of two vegan stalls at Tynemouth Market, Always welcoming

hack_man

Points +23068

Vegan
13 Sep 2020

Here comes the Sun

We shared a kofta wrap with sizzlingly succulent slices of seitan packed with salad including pickled red cabbage and a variety of piquant sauces. Really really delicious. What more can I say. A worth while trip to the Quayside market on a sunny September Sunday.

Pros: Friendly , Delicious Seitan , Good value

sookisoo

11 Dec 2020

Wow, I'm so pleased you enjoyed our wrap, and thank you for your lovely review. xx

RachaelCutmore

Points +86

Vegan
29 Dec 2019

Hands down the best vegan kebab

Well worth visiting anytime they're on, the people that run the stall are so lovely!
The kebabs are amazing no matter which kind you choose! Amazing!

sookisoo

25 Mar 2020

What a lovely review, thank you so much Rachel, I'm so please you enjoyed our food! Do come again x

CoraSorrell

Points +35

Vegan
16 Nov 2019

Fab-u-lous!!

Best seitan ever! Lovely owner, delicious food and my omni partner loved it too. Absolutely worth a visit - very reasonably priced and generous portions to boot. Get yourself there!

sookisoo

25 Mar 2020

Thank you soo much for such a lovely review and for taking the time. Really pleased you enjoyed our food. x

catkinson

Points +36

Vegan
31 Oct 2019

OMG it’s a must!

Best wraps ever! Makes my mouth water just thinking about them!

Pros: Excellent food!, Amazing service , Lovely smiley people who serve you!

sookisoo

13 Nov 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed our food. Do come again!? x

harping

Points +72

Vegan
31 Aug 2019

These guys are the best

Even though the wraps are super huge, they're also super delicious. I had the rib one first, but had to go back for no quack, just to try it, and it was also super nice. Couldn't move afterwards! Be sure and seek them out.

sookisoo

03 Sep 2019

Oh what a lovely review, thank you so much, it was lovely to meet you, and thank you for a lovely day! Thank you for taking ther time to review our food, it's much appreciated and means a lot-we're so pleased you enjoyed it. Do come again. x

GraemeRingwood

Points +18

Vegan
16 Aug 2019

Street food to make you smile.

Sun of Seitan is a fab eating experience from start to finish.
An excellent range of choice ( I went for the delicious sticky ribs ), great value for money ( that wrap was huge ), all served up by the lovely and super friendly Ingrid.
Will definitely be returning and I suggest you try Sun of Seitan too. You won't be disappointed.

Pros: Taste, Service, Value

sookisoo

29 Aug 2019

Thank you so much Graeme, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your wrap! It's always lovely to see you, do come again. xxx

Vegan_Elf

Points +945

Vegan
13 Jul 2019

Lush food & lush staff.

Grate staff & grate vegan street food! Had the No quak "duck" wrap & loved it. X x

sookisoo

02 Jul 2019

Aw, thank you for the lovely review, we're so pleased you liked our food, do come again. x

twoveganbeans

Points +18

Vegan
12 Jul 2019

Amazing Seitan Wraps and Friendly Owners!

I had this amazing fluffy wrap at Tynemouth Market, filled with ‘buffano’ wings made out of seitan, cooked in spicy sauce and drizzled in garlic mayo! It was really tasty and flavourful, and there was a lovely sweetness to the seitan ‘meat’. There were a number of seitan options, including hoisin duck and ribs - and a few dairy free mayos to choose from as well 🤩

The owners of the stall were really friendly and willing to give tonnes of recommendations, and were so happy to give me a few regional vegan restaurant recommendations as well (which I will be using in the near future)! They are frequently at Tynemouth market, but also do other events so check them out if you see their stall ❤️ I can see myself trying the ribs next time as that seemed to be a popular option also!

Updated from previous review on 2019-07-12

Pros: Friendly staff, Delicious food, Large portions

sookisoo

13 Jul 2019

That is so kind of you to say, thank you so much, I'm really pleased you enjoyed our food. Do come again, it will be lovely to see you. x

LeighSmyth

Points +15

Vegetarian
28 Apr 2019

Delicious ribs

I've visited the stall twice- once at Tynemouth Market and once at Newcastle and both times had the ribs- they were amazing....definitely recommended and I'll be back.....

Pros: Delicious vegan food , Lovely, friendly and talented people, Big portions! (I'm a good eater!)

Cons: I can't have them every day....., None really!!

sookisoo

30 Apr 2019

Hi Leigh, what a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time, and I'm so pleased you liked the food! Do come again, it's always lovely to see you. Love, Ingrid and Andrew from Sun of Seitan xx

RyanWard

Points +20

Herbivore
27 Apr 2019

UNISON Love Food Hate Racism Event

Tried one of their Buffano Wings today. Was absolutely delicious. Sun of Seitan also gave great customer service, insight and education to me, as I am not a Vegan but wanted to learn more.

Would definitely recommend them at any food, music or political event.

Pros: Good customer service , Good vegan cooking knowledge , Great food

Cons: None, None , None

sookisoo

27 Apr 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review Ryan, and we're so pleased you enjoyed the food. We had a lovely day today! It was lovely to meet you. We're so pleased we came, and hope to see you again soon.xx

QueenMordor

Points +18

Vegan
23 Apr 2019

Absolutely gorgeous!

I had the marinated 'ribs' and salad in a wrap and I can honestly say every single mouthful was better than the last.
I think I managed to eat it in no less than 10 minutes which is impressive considering the portion sizes are so generous! The two people at the stall were super friendly and answered any questions I had - even waiting patiently whilst I decided between two options. Can't recommend enough and will definitely be going back!

Pros: Generous portion, Amazing taste, Friendly service

sookisoo

24 Apr 2019

Oh what a lovely review, thank you so much Queen Mordor! It was lovely to see you at the stall, and I'm so glad you loved the food. I can't wait to see you again xxx

sookisoo

30 Apr 2019

Oh and I hope you managed to breathe when eating the wrap! xxx

wearvegan

Points +54

Vegan
14 Apr 2019

Great wraps with lots of flavour!

Great vegan stall in Tynemouth market! Friendly, helpful staff serving good value for money tasty wraps with lots of flavour.

Pros: All vegan options , If you like Seitan you’ll enjoy the buffalo wrap , Contactless payment

sookisoo

15 Apr 2019

It was great to meet you at the market, and thank you so much for your lovely review, we're pleased you enjoyed our food. Thank you for coming all that way, do come again. x

GraemeSmith

Points +22

Vegan
03 Mar 2019

Worth the trip😀

Heard Sun of Seitan were pitching around 15 miles from home so paid them a visit.So glad we did,food was delicious and VERY filling.
I had bbq 'ribs',Mrs had 'duck' ,served in a HUGE flatbread with generous salad filling and garlic 'mayo'..... definitely worth seeking out if they pitch near you😀

Pros: Good food, Portion size, Prices

sookisoo

03 Mar 2019

Thank you so much Graeme, very kind of you to come lthat way-I'm pleased you found the stall in the end. I'm over the moon that you enjoyed the food, and it seemed to last you all day too! x

rbcjns

Points +44

Vegan
05 Feb 2019

Amazing wraps!

We discovered Sun of Seitan at Tynemouth market on Saturday. Well worth venturing out in the snow for! We were with 2 visiting friends who aren't vegan, but they were converts. The woman running Sun of Seitan was so lovely and friendly and didn't mind changing the wrap fillings for my picky eating habits. Between the four of us we had two rib wraps and two duck wraps - the best seitan my partner and I have ever had (and we've tried a lot..!!) My partner was determined to go back and try the burger but he was full (a rare occurrence let me tell you..) so we'll just HAVE to go come back again sometime. Thanks so much!

Pros: Amazing food, Friendly service, Great value for money

sookisoo

07 Feb 2019

Hi, that's so cool, I remember you, and you're not picky, just discerning! Thank you for your lovely review, it was lovely to see you at the stall and I'm so glad you liked the food. See you again soon I hope, and thank you for braving the snow. xx

dentistbarbie

Points +16

Vegan
02 Feb 2019

100% recommended

I am already searching to see where they will be vending tomorrow to get my fix. Absolutely love the sticky rib wrap. If you get the chance try their food immediately! Really lovely people too.

Pros: Super tasty, Reasonably priced, Good sized portions

sookisoo

04 Feb 2019

What a lovely message, thank you so much, it's always lovely to meet lovely customers like you-I'm so happy you like the food-do come again. xxx

slambid

Points +22

Vegan
30 Jan 2019

Amazing

I love Sun of Seitan think I've tried almost the full menu and never had less than fantastic. The owner is bubbly passionate and enthusiastic always happy to have a chat while she cooks up your lunch. If you've not already tried it do. You'll not be disappointed and value for money is great too

Pros: Tasty, Filling, Value for money

Cons: Not avaliable every day of the week

sookisoo

04 Feb 2019

Thank you for your lovely review, you're very kind and I'm really happy you like the food. I hope to see you again very soon. xxx

Riverfox

Points +20

Vegan
25 Jan 2019

Great food and friendly staff

The Food is fantastic and staff so friendly and passionate about vegan food 🙂

Pros: Lots of fresh vegan food, Friendly Staff

Cons: Not a cafe,Ingrid would be great at , running her own little cafe 🙂, Needs to come to the vault once a month 😜😘

sookisoo

26 Jan 2019

Aw, thank you so much, what a lovely review, you're very kind, things are really looking up for us, it's getting increasingly busy, thanks to lovely reviews like this. xx

HaydenLarcombe

Points +18

Vegan
20 Jan 2019

Great food and friendly staff

Really tasty food, and the staff were very passionate, which really added to the whole experience.

Pros: Large portion size, Great tasting, Very friendly staff

sookisoo

26 Jan 2019

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed the food, and it would be a huge pleasure to see you again soon. xx

DaveWaddell

Points +6

Non Veg
09 Jan 2019

Excellent Food

I'm not vegan, or even vegetarian, but went through the laborious process of signing up to this site just so I could sing the praises of this excellent food stall.

We ate wraps with a stir-fry filling. They were delicious, and I'd recommend Sun of Seitan to anyone, regardless of their eating preferences.

The wraps contained fresh, quality ingredients, and were cooked and presented by a charming lady.

Pros: Top food that anyone could enjoy, Freshly prepared, Good service

sookisoo

10 Jan 2019

Thank you for your lovely review Dave, please come again.




This page has been viewed 5382 times.