Vegan
Fast food
Take-out
Asian
Breakfast
Korean

Small cafe focusing on Korean and Asian dishes. Has variety of beverages as well as breakfast foods before 11am. Offers a vegan 'tuna' poke bowl and 'no eggs' benedict. Opened Jan 2018 by YouTuber Cheap Lazy Vegan. Order takeout with contactless payment via website. For entry, call the listed number upon arrival at The Academy front door. The pick-up/take-out window is on the 6th Street side. Open Tue-Fri 8:30am-2:00pm, Sat-Sun 9:00am-2:00pm. Takeout only during second shift.


Venue map for SaVeg Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

64 Reviews

First Review by SelenaClauson

Valentinvegan

Points +88

Vegan
24 Jan 2024

Tasty vegan food

Had the tuna bowl which was pretty solid, but nothing special in my opinion

Advertisement

LauraD

Points +16

Vegan
10 Nov 2023

My go-to place to eat

This is practically the only place I eat out at this point. I live too far to get delivery, so I eat in the café. It's connected to a gym, so can get a bit loud, but I don't mind that.

Pros: Friendly Staff , Amazing Food

Cons: Connected to a gym, so it's loud sometimes

jchongster

Points +696

Vegan
04 Aug 2023

Wish they had longer hours!

I had been in Calgary all week, and was finally able to get here during their limited open hours. A nice little gem. Since going vegan, one of the things I missed was Korean food. So glad this place fulfills that craving !

Kalyn

Points +166

Vegan
01 Jul 2023

So good!

Not the best location (probably would’ve had a hard time finding it if I hadn’t read reviews saying it was inside the gym) but absolutely amazing food. I wish we were staying in Calgary longer so we could try more of the menu!

Pros: Good portion sizes, Great taste, Friendly staff

Plantpoweredrunner

Points +318

Vegan
08 Jan 2023

Vegan food with Korean twist

Great food and smoothies

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-19

Pros: 100% vegan menu, The Bipimbap is really good!, The strawberry banana is also tasty

Cons: Hidden inside gym lobby. (Hard to find)

MarcusK

Points +927

Vegan
29 Nov 2022

Vegan Korean restaurants are rare

And when they are good they are jewels. The location if SaVeg is weird- it’s a cafe inside a gym but the food is excellent. It’s not at the level of Hangawi in NYC but so few restaurants are. This is a great restaurant for good Korean veganized dishes. They are a bit limited in their menu but what they have are great

Pros: Korean vegan!

Cons: Limited options

Veronica13679

Points +34

Vegan
25 Nov 2022

Tasty!

Great little place. The Japchae and dumplings are my all time favorites!

DanikaSnook

Points +307

Vegan
16 Nov 2022

Nice spot

💯% Vegan, so nice to be able to order a caramel latte and know it’s plant based.
I had the no egg Benny this time, which was pretty good. I had the “tuna” poke bowl last time. I would not recommend it. It was waaayy too fishy for my liking.

Pros: All plant based, Cafe feel, Can watch them make the food

Cons: Tuna poke bowl is very fishy

JoshSnook

16 Nov 2022

Veganomad

Points +377

Vegan
15 Oct 2022

Yum

Ordered the vegan bulgogi and a couple Korean lentil pancakes. Both were delicious!

Pros: fully vegan, not expensive

Nincherzi

Points +241

Vegan
22 Sep 2022

Nice cafe with Korean twist

Went there two times for breakfast.
First time we had the scrambled tofu and the breakfast burrito and for the second time we tried the egg Bennys. All were good but we felt like the serving sizes were a little small. So definitely take a side dish when hungry. I would recommend the savoury Korean pancakes and the delicious banana bread

Pros: All vegan

Cons: Small serving sizes

2Marin

Points +43

Vegan
02 Sep 2022

Love the name

Had the Tofu Katsu Curry and Hummus wrap with avocado, both were a bit underwhelming. Curry taste was good but the tofu was lacking both in portion and taste. The wrap was actually good but barely any avocado inside. Glad to see a unique take on Korean food. I’d still recommend checking it out.

hetalshah24

Points +678

Vegan
24 Aug 2022

Got to come here again!

While visiting Calgary came to this place on a number of occasions. Tried the breakfast burrito, Benny, bulgogi burrito, katsu curry, japchae and House special. Everything was flavorful but my fav was the burrito and japchae. Will have to visit Calgary again to try the remaining items on the menu!

Pros: Loads of choices - all good, Chance to try korean vegan food

Cons: Place shuts down at 2pm

DaveMoorhouse

Points +102

Vegan
19 Aug 2022

Amazing Tofu Benedict

Great food friendly staff

Pros: Great portion size, Excellent food

Cobbyness

Points +72

Vegan
11 Jul 2022

Excellent little cafe

While visiting Calgary I had to check out this place. It didn’t disappoint at all. My kid had the banana strawberry smoothie (which i sampled of course) , I had the no eggs benni and order the Korean curry and rice for my lunch later that day. All was delicious, I only wish I was able to go more often.

Pros: Fully vegan and loads of options , Quaint decor , Affordable

shosherine

Points +63

Vegan
07 May 2022

Great smoothies!

Solid spot for a healthy vegan breakfast to start your day!

Pros: Great smoothies!

happiestcow

Points +64

Vegan
04 May 2022

I would go back again and again

best banana bread. I have eaten a few more things that are absolutely delicious but I don't remember their name.

Pros: delicious

JenniferDavis

Points +223

Vegetarian
03 Apr 2022

Amazing food

I tried the breakfast burrito and the japchae and both were so good! Highly recommend this place

Nova3

Points +353

Vegan
23 Mar 2022

Great options

The tofu eggs Benedict is not exactly like a real eggs Benedict but the flavor is definitely still there and it's filling! But the real winner is the Bulgogi wrap. I mean, WOW, it's so insanely delicious. I would love to visit this place a third time if I visit Calgary again.

HeroicOverdose

Points +36

Vegan
27 Feb 2022

I'll Be Back 😋

I got banana bread and an Americano, it was very good. Nice atmosphere inside as well, I'll be back for full meal for sure!

Pros: Tons of authentic Korean sauces/kimchi, Great seating/environment, Fair prices

AngelaMPandolfini

Points +107

Vegan
25 Nov 2021

Highly recommend!

The food was so good. Best vegan eggz Benny I’ve ever had, the dumplings were delicious and so was the bagel breakfast sandwich. Yum yum! Travel from Ontario to try this restaurant as I watch the owners YouTube channel (cheap lazy vegan).

Come check it out!

realihaveadilemma

Points +467

Vegan
07 Nov 2021

Great Food, Go Often

I've eaten here many times now. I first came before I was vegan and now that I am I come decently often. I order the same thing all the time because I love it. Very cute café and big portions. Staff is very nice too. Spicy Chickin Bowl is amazing — practically the only thing I order because I want it over and over again.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-04

Pros: Good food, Lots of options, Very nice staff

Cons: Wish they were open a bit later

Minimalist_vegan

Points +24

Vegan
28 Jul 2021

Excellent flavour, great variety of options, quality food

We had an incredible spread at SaVeg! We ordered 5 dishes plus banana bread and were impressed by the rich flavours, large portions, and overall quality. Their iced coffee was also delicious!

Pros: Food quality, Large portions, Helpful staff

vegface

Points +69

Vegetarian
02 Jul 2021

Nice little spot

I have been here a couple of times.I have had the house special which was okay. I think they heat the food using a microwave which put me off a little. I have also had the tuna poke bowl which I certainly enjoyed.

Updated from previous review on 2020-02-17

Pros: Good selection

Cons: Microwave use

CatherineRousseau

Points +145

Vegan
22 Jun 2021

So flavourful

I had the Spicy Chick'un Bowl and vegan bulgogi. They were both so delicious. I loved all the options there were and how we could add extra veggies. It was prepared really quickly. The price was ok. So happy it is fully vegan! I am excited to go try more options! Probably one of my favourite options in Calgary!

Pros: so tasty, Lots of options, Fully vegan

Beanz

Points +1553

Vegan
05 Mar 2021

Fully Vegan Cafe

Cute little cafe that is inside the reception area of a gym. The spicy chickun I had was great and not a painful level of spice. The tofu wrap was ok but kind of bland. I Would love to try some more dishes.

Pros: Fully vegan

Cons: Not great ambiance

KellyDawn

Points +31

Vegan
25 Jan 2021

Really great food

I really love this place. They make super food at a great price point. The service is friendly and they have never disappointed me. It’s a more casual atmosphere but inspired recipes.

Pros: All vegan, Fresh, Excellent flavours

Cons: Not close enough to my house, Parking lot is treacherous - use the street, Not close enough to my house

digitalmimi

Points +1794

Vegan
01 Nov 2020

Vegan Benedict is delicious.

I love breakfast food and I was pleased with the vegan benny. Wish they had a bit more breakfast baking options. Cozy cafe interior. Highly recommend.
Good location but a bit confusing to find the entryway.

Pros: All vegan, Tasty

Cons:




This page has been viewed 15206 times.