Vegan
American
International
Organic
Take-out

This long-established vegetarian restaurant turned vegan in 2014. Daily specials. Laid back, college atmosphere in the basement of a moldering old church building on campus. Hosts live music and open mic. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-2:00pm.


Venue map for Red Herring
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by RonCann

LizMas614

Points +1380

Vegan
17 Feb 2024

Good options

Stopped here when traveling for a cow reacue! They have good options, and it was easy to order quickly and to be on our way. (They are temporarily closed this semester.) We tried the Nachos Supreme for $10 that came loaded with veggies. They have a selection of wraps, sandwiches, a burger, and soup of the day.

Advertisement

rocky-

Points +89

Vegan
15 Nov 2023

In the Rotation

I go here constantly. I usually get the philly cheeze, but their nachos supreme and hexwraps are awesome too. Not a dessert person, but I love a rice crispy occasionally.

It's nice having a menu you can select anything on. And having it with a hibiscus lemonade makes it so much better. Can't recommend it any higher.

Haley_Kat

Points +277

Vegan
14 Oct 2023

Good food and friendly staff

Had the gyros, split pea soup, and caramel apple cashew cheezecake and it was all great. Also came with my daughter in her stroller and their stairs are very steep but someone helped me bring her down and then back up when we left as well 😀 edited to add I’ve had their brunch which they do occasionally since this review. Check it out if you’re able. SO good.

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-19

Southsidechicagovegan

Points +24

Vegan
07 Oct 2023

Delicious vegan lunch!

We loved everything about Red Herring! The super cool casual vibe, the decor and art, the super friendly staff and the delicious vegan food!
As always so nice to go to a restaurant and be able to order ANYTHING from the menu! We enjoyed the nachos, they were so loaded with everything and the cashew cheez was delicious! The Philly cheez steak was beyond tasty, one of my faves. The wrap was delicious and huge! Loved the corn muffins and thanks for the side of vegan butter! We took home the chocolate chip cookies and they were huge and some of the best we have ever had! Huge chunks of chips! Thanks for being so kind and making our first experience great. Can’t wait to visit again! ☮️💚🌱

Pros: Vegan nachos & more , Cool atmosphere , Friendly staff

Eileen.guest

Points +56

Vegan
04 Sep 2023

LOVE THIS PLACE!

Authentic, made from scratch vegan food! I love getting the gyro! It is the best! Their baked goods are to die for! Love this place! Definitely worth checking it out.

rvardys

Points +15

Mostly Veg
24 Jan 2023

Very delicious

Loved the food,very delicious.

Pros: Super delicious , Quaint quirky atmosphere

Cons: No whole grain pita bread option , No desserts without sugar, Would like to see low glycemic dessert options

threece67

Points +42

Vegan
30 Sep 2021

Love Red Herring

Yummy fresh dishes all around. Love the toasty wrap and various sandwiches.

Pros: All vegan options, Flavorful

Cons: Not always open

mcelpie

Points +32

Vegan
10 May 2021

Scrumptious!!

Delicious food, all local produce, compostable carry out containers, they donate a lot of food to local shelters

Pros: Local produce, Donate meals to shelters

Cons: Only open for lunch and occasionally breakfast

augstone

Points +168

Vegan
07 Feb 2020

Great food, cool vibe

Loved my meal here. Had the borscht, daily soup, and the Cheezy Roots and Kale bowl, delicious. Also very good cornbread. Staff very nice. Student diner vibe which I liked, mismatched tables, chairs, and booths gave it a cool feel

Pros: All vegan, Lots of gluten-free options, Fresh produce

tryatreat

Points +54

Non Veg
03 Feb 2020

Best option on campus

One of my favorite vegan restaurant in the city. Nice place for lunch, a lot of good options and they also have some special for the week. Sometimes they have live music. I love this place.

My recommendation are:

Black Bean Burger
grilled homemade patty made of sweet potato, black beans, millet, cilantro, onions, oats, herbs & spices, served on a toasted ciabatta bun with avocado, tomato, southwest ranch and lettuce, served with a side salad of lettuce, cucumber, carrot, onion, and your choice of dressing.

Falafel Pita Sandwich
Hummus, lettuce, tomato, onion, cucumber, baked falafel and creamy dressing. Served in a warm pita and with El Milagro tortilla chips or fresh fruit. Vegan.

StephanieMeyer

Points +1501

Vegan
05 Oct 2019

🥰

Great cheap option on campus. I don't think there's any regular set menu but I've been many times and never been disappointed. They also hold open mic night things here. Cozy atmosphere.

FoxxSau

Points +266

Vegan
09 May 2018

The Red Herring is Mecca for vegans

My absolute favorite vegan restaurant of all time. The staff is super friendly, the food is delicious and reasonably priced, the atmosphere is cozy and relaxing. They have live music sometimes, and culturally themed dinners once a week during the school year!

IraYuliantiPurnomo

Points +17

Mostly Veg
22 Feb 2018

simple and lovely vegan dinner!

My first time here was on a Wednesday evening with my husband, and apparently they have change the special menu every week. It was indian and delicious! Staff also explains very well, and we had a good time!

haley_singer

Points +81

Vegan
29 Jan 2018

Love

Great menu options, very tasty food.
10/10

KatieB

Points +417

Vegan
17 Nov 2017

Perfect lunch stop

Wish I'd been vegan while I went here; I would have lived in this little cafe! Very chill atmosphere, lots of seating, good-sized menu with lots of varying options. I had the falafal pita and the cole-slaw, and it was delicious, reasonably priced, and relatively quick considering I came in during the lunch rush. It wasn't super clear what the beverage options were (not written on the menu), so I had a La Croix, which is great, but I would have gone for hot tea if I'd known whether or not it was an option. They're closed for the rest of this coming week, so I'm glad I got to try it, and if I'd had luckier timing I would have come and tried a lot more over the next few days!

brooke____bear

Points +110

Vegan
29 Jun 2017

Good atmosphere

We came here on a Tuesday just before the lunch rush. There were a ton of choices, but the employee at the counter was happy to help us decide what to order. You can take it to go or eat it there, and we decided to eat it there. The service was fast, but while we waited, all we could hear were pots and pans clanging. That, however, was the only bad thing about our experience, because the food was really good. I took part of my hummus and curry sandwich to go, and when I accidentally spilled water on it, it still tasted really good! Basically, aside from the noisy kitchen, everything about this place is solid.

Pros: Inexpensive, Good atmosphere

Cons: Loud

MickinlyLanae

Points +44

Vegan
20 Apr 2017

Stopped here for lunch on the road

I had the chili cheeze nachos and they were amazing! They had a little kick to them which I liked. My parents had the avocado olive sandwich which they said that they would order again. The pricing is about the same as Panera, they have a pick two combo

PurpleJimmy

Points +36

Vegan
11 Apr 2017

loooove it

Love everything about it and everything I've tried. Wish it were open on weekends and for more dinners! Anything with the curry sauce is delicious but you really can't go wrong here.

LenaH

Points +64

Vegan
05 Dec 2014

Love the new menu!

I've lived in the CU area for 7 years and have seen the Red Herring go through a few rounds of management. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of my meals and visits under the newest leadership.

As someone who eats a vegan diet, I sincerely appreciate their innovative dishes and commitment to variety. There are a few staples I always look forward to ordering, like the falafel or BBQ seitan, but I almost always end up getting one of their specials, which are always delicious.

Red Herring and the Channing Murray Foundation also provide a vegan-style atmosphere committed to community and social justice -- the location and vibe of the Red Herring really embodies what they are doing with their food.

The only areas of criticism I have are that music performances aren't always appropriate for the lunch hour because people are trying to meet over lunch, or study between classes. I understand music is a big part of their venue, but perhaps save it for dinner events. Also, some portion sizes are pretty small for the price, but I'm usually okay with it because staff seem to be paid a living wage, and put a lot of time and love into their food. I'd rather spend a few extra dollars for what Red Herring serves than get a cheap, basic meal somewhere else.

Keep up the great work, Red Herring -- you are an asset to campus and our community!

Pros: Campus location great for vegan lunch!, Fantastic variety of delicious dishes, Community-supportive atmosphere

Cons: Some portions small for price, Live music during lunch too loud

RonCann

Points +13

Mostly Veg
19 Sep 2012

Funky but chic

The Red Herring has been serving vegetarian food since 1976. The building it is housed in is a 100+ year old Unitarian church arts & crafts building on the national registry of historic buildings. It is a non-profit organization.

The food is lacto-ovo with many vegan options. Expertly prepared by hand every day from as many local ingredients as are seasonally available. They are now serving dinner on Friday and Saturday from 6-9PM as well as lunches from 11Am-3PM. The second Saturday of every month is a special chef's table dinner utilizing ingredients purchased that day from the local farmer's market almost entirely.

Pros: made from scratch , local food, very affordable

Cons: service can be slow at peak lunch time




This page has been viewed 7336 times.