Lacto
Ovo
American
Delivery
Take-out
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has a separate menu with a vegan section. Has local, made in Hilo tofu. Dishes include pumpkin curry with tofu, a vegan mushroom sandwich, a vegan pasta with red sauce and veggies, and an entire salad. Open Tue-Thu 11:00am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-9:30pm, Sun 10:00am-9:30pm. Closed Mon.


15 Reviews

First Review by Mrsjamiewhitney

SouthernmostVegan

Points +1554

Vegan
03 Feb 2024

Solid option for mixed group

Went back again and it was horrible. Quality has gone down down down.
---
I would give it 3 stars for lack of interesting options and 4 stars for making an effort. Ask for vegan menu.

See recent photo of menu. Most offerings were standard (stir fry, portobello mushroom sandwich) but the Kabocha Pumpkin Curry was outstanding.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-07

Advertisement

VictoriaSchultz

Points +84

Vegan
22 Nov 2023

Yummy

I got the pumpkin curry with extra veg instead of tofu it was good.

Pros: Vegan menu, Gluten free menu

Cons: Not a lot correlated between the two menus

sophiefrenchfry

Points +1333

Vegan
21 Jun 2023

Vegan menu

I got the pumpkin curry from the vegan menu, which was vegan and gluten free. The local tofu was so good!

BorisBoukhonine

Points +64

Vegan
31 May 2023

Good choice for al fresca

Nice vibe, friendly staff. Vegan options limited and a bit pricey, but it’s good for one visit. Didn’t try the cocktails, can’t speak to those, but the red ale I got was very smooth.

Lemonzest

Points +50

Vegan
09 Apr 2023

Ask for vegan menu

Pineapples has a nice ambiance. It’s open air and just feels like a nice place to chill and have some cocktails. They have a separate vegan menu which I thought was pretty cool. The curry is pretty decent, and so is the stir fry. The drinks are strong. It’s not super exciting, but if you have people visiting and want a pretty casual place to hang out with them where you know there will be clearly marked vegan options, I’d say it’s a good choice.

La Luce

Points +40

Raw
16 Feb 2023

disappointing

Quality seems to have suffered a lot. Yes, they do have the vegan menu, which is great, but neither my son nor I liked our food. Mine actually tasted as it would contain cheese, although clearly marked as vegan. My son's tasted weird too.
Wine/champagne options absolutely horrible. The cheapest of the cheapest bad quality stuff, undrinkable.
They clearly degraded to a tourist rip-off.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-16

Pros: vegan menu, good location on a corner in downtown Hilo, they can open 2 sides of the restaurant completely

Cons: super low quality wine, food tasted weird and not vegan

caroluha

Points +205

Vegan
10 Jan 2023

Great food, amazing service

You have to ask for the vegan menu! Then there are many choices that all sound delicious. I tried the mushroom and tomato dish and the Veggie Stir Fry. The mushroom and tomato dish was just okay, but the Stir Fry was amazing! The drinks were also great.
The service was amazing - Lindsey eats mostly vegan herself and had great further recommendations for vegan places.
My omnivore friends thought the restaurant was the best we had eaten at yet during our trip, so there is something for everyone. (They also have gluten-free menu)

Pros: Delicious Stir Fry, Great Drinks, Amazing Service

Cons: Ask for vegan menu

Pandawan

Points +550

Vegan
12 Oct 2022

Super popular restaurant, live music on a Tuesday

Had a very nice meal in here tonight.
(We both chose the pumpkin curry from the vegan menu we asked for)
Between us we had mixed reaction to the cocktails. I loved them, my partner didn’t enjoy hers particularly. (I drank her second one and still enjoyed!)

Suggest you pre-book if you can!

Pros: Very busy (actually hard to get in) on a Tuesday , Live music (decent quality) on that day, Quality drinks (IMO!) & quality food (agreed!)

Cons: Was so full service was a bit slow for us (+ Q), No desserts for vegans, Limited sides & no appetisers for Vs (‘cept frys)

KelseyOlsen

Points +299

Vegan
15 Jun 2022

Fantastic!

They have a separate vegan menu and my family shared three different meals so we could try as much as possible. All three were fantastic!

greenfingers

Points +56

Vegetarian
22 Apr 2022

Sunday Sangria!

I've been a couple of times and only been a bit hungry and nothing tempted me to order food for the sake of it but the drinks are a different story!😉$5 sangria all day Sunday and a good selection of local beers. A friend order the caprese which was a nice sharing size for 3 vaguely peckish people!

It's always very busy and popular with tourists particularly. One of the few places in Hilo that stay open later.

Pros: Late opening, Good drinks, Nice indoor/outdoor feel

Cons: Veg options not obvious (but they are there)

supabush

Points +741

Vegan
25 Feb 2022

Yummy & fresh curry!

I was visiting family in Hilo, and being the only vegan it is sometimes hard to find options that will please everyone. Pineapples was just the place! Although I did not see the vegan section on the menu as mentioned in some other reviews, the waitress was very helpful in giving recommendations and checking to make sure the dishes were vegan. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant if you're visiting the Hilo area!

Pros: Fresh food, Helpful staff, Great for parties with mixed diets

Cons: Vegan items not marked

JFlem

Points +54

Vegan
21 Nov 2021

Boo on Happy Cow for not Allowing Five Stars

Visiting from the mainland and this place is awesome. Our server Renee was superb. The Ali Mushroom were exceptional. She offered an adjustment to the Dynamite Fish Bowl (not listed in the vegan menu). Yummo 😋

Pros: Vegan menu for additional clarification., Open air environment, Service

SarahMays

Points +1153

Vegan
08 Aug 2021

Ask for vegan menu

The vegan menu had several options to choose from and the two we ordered - veggie stir fry and portobello mushroom sandwich - were really good! It is a fun location and a cute restaurant. We really loved the covered outdoor seating! The non-vegans in our group were also happy with their choices.

Pros: Designated vegan menu, The mushrooms were *delicious*, Fun drinks

Cons: You need to ask for vegan menu

SummerLee

Points +1677

Vegan
04 Mar 2021

Vegan choices

I really love this location. Everyone in my family can be happy here. They have great vegan options. Good deals for Happy Hour. I got the local mushrooms.

Mrsjamiewhitney

Points +27

Vegan
07 Feb 2021

Excellent curry with local tofu, incredible service, reasonable price

They had a vegan menu with 4-5 options. Everything my party ate was excellent. They had a gluten free menu as well. They use tofu made right in the same town. Very flavorful food. Fast, friendly service. Reasonable prices.




This page has been viewed 2541 times.