• Pfriem Family Brewers

  • (16)
    12
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Northwest & Belgian inspired 15-barrel brewery and tasting room offering lunch and dinner. Menu has salads, roasted vegetables, a vegetarian burger, and one vegan entrée. Alternates between offering a non-vegan soup or vegan soup, so ask -- the lentil soup is vegan. Located on the Columbia River waterfront and has a outside area with fire pit. Children welcome. Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Pfriem Family Brewers
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by notameat

TaylorAn

Points +68

Vegan
21 Feb 2024

Pretty good comfort food

Def more comfort food vegan than healthy vegan but the comfort food is good and the salads are huge!

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-22

Advertisement

ladavi3

Points +40

Vegan
09 Feb 2024

Good brews & vegan food

Vegan friendly options marked clearly on menu

Pros: Flavorful

veganyoginimama

Points +65

Vegan
05 Aug 2023

Great if you don't have vegan kiddos..

I really wanted to love this place, but only two out of four of us were able to eat. My husband read in other reviews that the vegan Mac and cheese was supposed to be creamy and good and thought our kiddo would love that. Well, nothing on the kids menu was vegan..Very little was even vegetarian except the not vegan mac and cheese and apple slices with Nutella. The server said they could not substitute vegan mac for him. So he and I split an adult portion of vegan mac and cheese. Here is where I am split..It was one of the best vegan Mac and cheeses I have ever had. It was creamy and spicy. Hope, there were chilis blended into the sauce and very hot chilis in top. He likes a little spice, but couldn't eat it at all. I have a medical condition where I can't eat much spice. I couldn't eat it either. So my husband had two meals, both of which he loves. He is not a Mac and cheese guy, but loves this one. He and my older son also loved their veggie burgers which appeared to be homemade. The beer was great. The location is amazing and near the Columbia River and a really cool playground. There is a small kid friendly swimming area on the river. So, for many people, this place will be amazing. For a vegan couple with non vegan kids or no kids, it is amazing. For us, two people went hungry. I was pretty disappointed that the server didn't even try to find something for him. She honestly did not seem to care and said the kitchen is too busy for substitutions.

Pros: Amazing Mac and Cheese for Those Who Love Spicy Fo, Good beer selection , Great location near river and park

Cons: Staff did nothing to accommodate a vegan kid , Leaving hungry after paying a large bill, Kids menu had nothing vegan

VeganBirdNerd

Points +649

Vegan
19 Jun 2023

VEGAN MAC!!!

Well, I think this might be the best vegan mac I’ve ever had. So creamy! I never thought peppers could enhance the flavor so much but it really took it to another level with Mama Lil’s. Gemelli pasta, vegan mozzarella, Mama Lil’s Peppers, roasted mushrooms, garlic breadcrumbs and herbs make up the dish. It’s a large portion too. I got their simple salad as well with tahini dressing. Excellent, and another large portion. They also have a House made veg burger with herbed aioli, apple-onion chutney, sweet onion and arugula on ciabatta bread. It looked amazing and I heard it was good. Highly recommend this place.

Pros: Vegan Mac, Fun atmosphere , Fast & friendly service

Cons: Music was a tad loud

ChristianaParadis

Points +215

Vegan
16 Oct 2022

The BEST veg options at a brewery

The vegan mac is one of the very best vegan mac and cheeses I've ever gotten (and I've gotten a lot over the years!) - it's so creamy, flavorful (a little spicy) and the sauteed veggies in it really bring it the next level. The veggie burger was great, too - was housemade and included a yummy chutney among other toppings.

Pros: Excellent vegan options, clearly labeled, Cool brewery vibe , Dog friendly outdoor seating available

Cons: Can be busy on weekends

princess_and_troll

Points +376

Vegan
02 Sep 2022

Great vegan options

Great vegan options and they make sure your meal is vegan (e.g. no cross contamination). The house made veggie burger was awesome!

KarinaEllis

Points +20

Vegan
10 Jul 2022

Loved it!

We really enjoyed the mac and cheese and mushroom sandwich! We were pleasantly surprised with the amount of options. Everything on the menu was denoted by gluten free, vegetarian, dairy free, and vegan friendly/can be made vegan without "blank". Highly recommend! Would give it a five star if I could!

Pros: Lots of vegan options!

Pixiesixer

Points +233

Vegan
06 Jul 2022

Tasty vegan options

Very impressed with the Vegan Mac.

Pros: Great vegan macaroni cheese , Tasty pickles , Good location

MaryT

Points +386

Vegan
21 Jun 2022

Good choices

There are a number of vegan options on the menu that look pretty good. Had the vegan Mac and it was delicious! It was a big serving and had mushrooms, so the mushroom appetizer we had was maybe more mushrooms than necessary, tho good. The pickled veggies were good too.

cmfkirk

Points +62

Vegan
10 Feb 2022

Great option if dining in”mixed” company

Order the seasonal special- vegan vegetable curry soup. Excellent!! Requested bread and it came buttered and toasted… spouse ate it though. Non-vegan spouse LOVED the darker beer selection and the Duck confit.

Pros: Beer selection, Service, Limited selection but very excellent vegan options

Cons: Bread

Rob D

Points +130

Vegan
06 Jul 2019

Decent Food in a Town With Limited Vegan Options

Finding good vegan options in Hood River seems like it should be easier in 2019, but but unfortunately there doesn't seem to be much to choose from. So in that context, Pfriem isn't bad, but does not stand out in any way.

Service is pretty reliable, but the food is inconsistent. On the positive side, the hummus appetizer is solid and comes with crackers, bread and a small cup of veggies for dipping. It's a fairly small serving for $9, but was the best part of the meal. It was downhill after that.

The veggie burger is vegan without the cheese and served on a ciabatta bun. While the patty is tasty, the bun was hard - like it was leftover from a day or two before. The salad that accompanied the burger was good. The kale and farro salad (vegan without the cheese) was decent enough, but at a time when kale salads are everywhere, could have been much more flavorful.

The mushroom and vegetable quinoa bowl looked good as described on the menu, but what arrived on the plate was not what I expected. It would be better described as a quinoa risotto with some mushrooms, veggies and garbanzo beans mixed in. The first bite was OK, the second bite less OK, and by the fourth bite I had enough. There was easily three cups or more of quinoa on the plate, so I can't fault them on the portion size, but who is going to eat that much quinoa in one meal?

Sides of french fries arrived cold and looked like the scraps from the bottom of the basket. The server did replace them with fresh hot fries.

They do have a large beer selection so if that's you're thing you'll probably be happy. But other than that, there's no reason to choose Pfriem over Solstice Pizza a block down the road or one of the other Hood River restaurants with vegan options.

Pros: Location, Good beer selection

Cons: Food is just OK, Located across from Waterfront Park

LiveWellIdyllwild

Points +1298

Vegan
28 Mar 2019

Good beer + good food = happiness

Great experience!

Pros: Location on waterfront , Staff, Beer and Food

ekg1234

Points +286

Vegan
08 Nov 2018

Yum!

I've been to Pfriem twice. The first time I had a jackfruit sandwich, which was delicious! It was a special on the menu, so it's not available anymore. The second time, I had their veggie burger and it was great too! The space is very cool. They have a tasting room off the main restaurant, an area for kids to play, and indoor and outdoor seating. I'll be back!

Pros: Creative dishes, Friendly staff

Cons: Limited number of options

KaitlynBryer

Points +59

Vegan
03 Aug 2018

Great Burger

I had the veggie burger and asked for it to be made vegan and it was really good! I am on vacation and it was great to find an accommodating restaurant!

Clean&Green

Points +1178

Vegan
23 May 2018

Limited range but delicious!

A great place to go for a night out. We shared a serve of Lentil Croquettes as a starter (uses the same base as the veggie burger). We tried the Garlic & Greens Phyllo Roll which was the highlight of the night and I would definitely recommend. Another member of our party had the veggie burger with salad. Our server was knowledgable about vegan options pointing out what we could have and lamented that there was no vegan dessert offering yet.

Pros: Delicious!, Knowledgable staff, Great pub atmosphere

Cons: Limited choices

notameat

Points +1036

Vegan
19 Jan 2016

Great place

Great beer and a vegan dinner while looking at the Columbia River at Hood River. Vegan items are marked and staff can assist on other options. Atmosphere is clean and pub style as the large vats used in brewing beer are in the background. We will be back.

Pros: Vegan food marked, Usually have a vegan soup, Great food




This page has been viewed 4032 times.