• My Parents' Basement

  • (14)
    19
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
American
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. A comic book bar with veggie food specials on Thursday nights, most can be made vegan. Open Tue-Thu 11:00am-11:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-12:00am, Sun 11:00am-11:00pm.


Venue map for My Parents' Basement
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by CrystalRenee

RaymondWood

Points +140

Vegan
08 Nov 2023

Multiple vegan options always

We usually eat here once a week and I like all of their vegan options, which typically include a vegan Reuben, a falafel gyro, tofu curry, and vegan corn dogs. The sautéed spinach is also a favorite!

Advertisement

ZachStephens

Points +183

Vegan
07 Jul 2023

Vegan Options You Can't Get Elsewhere

This place is such a gem. They have great outdoor seating if you want to enjoy some of their vegan options in the fresh air of the neat Avondale Estates neighborhood, or a super fun indoors with classic arcade games, pinball machines, comic book shop and bar.

The staff is always so knowledgeable and accommodating about their vegan options, which are many: This was the first place I ever found vegan corn dogs, a vegan Reuben, or the dish I had today that I wouldn't have known about if they hadn't featured it on a sign-the vegan oyster mushroom po'boy.

The only downside is that the food can be quite greasy (but that's to be expected from the kinds of things on offer) and can add up if you get food and drinks. Overall, though, this is an Atlanta/Decatur establishment not to be missed!

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-07

Pros: They proudly feature their veggie specials., Great atmosphere with kind, attentive staff., Vegan options that are fun and interesting.

Cons: The food can get pretty greasy., The veggie side dishes are drowned in oil., Sometimes they run out of corn dogs!

TotorosPlants

Points +81

Vegan
01 Jul 2023

Great vegan options and good beer!

They have a host of awesome vegan options and really great beer selection. I will always go for the vegan Reuben any day.

Pros: Great beer selection , Multiple vegan options , Great atmosphere

62veggiequeen#1

Points +594

Vegan
18 Mar 2023

Coolest restaurant idea

Has video games inside which I love and screened in patio that you can have dogs in!! Will definitely be coming back.

kenny.cakes

Points +1395

Vegan
08 Jan 2023

3.5 stars

They had quite a few options surprisingly. I ordered corndogs and I like that it came with two. It was really substantial. Nice patio to talk on. The drinks were cheap and pretty good.

SusanJGonzalez

Points +24

Vegan
31 Aug 2022

Very laid back cool atmosphere. Great vegan options!

This is a really fun place to hang out and get great food. I was really surprised to see the vegan options which included a vegan black bean burrito black bean burger, beet burger(my fave) vegan Reuben and vegan crabby patty. Sides include vegan cole slaw, fries,sautéed spinach. I love to order and then play the pinball and free pac man machines or read some great comics.

Pros: Fun atmosphere , Very fresh vegan options , Friendly staff

Cons: Not all vegan, Small space

sstrauss

Points +90

Vegan
19 Jul 2022

Good vegan options, fun atmosphere

They have a good amount of vegan options including a burrito, vegan gyro, vegan corn dogs, vegan burger, and a few vegan sandwiches. They have vegan meat substitutes and vegan cheese. The menu’s vegan options are labeled clearly. Most of their salads can also be made vegan. The food is good and it is definitely worth it for the atmosphere. Most of their arcade games are free to play, the ones that aren’t are only a a few cents. A really fun way to pass the time.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Good atmosphere, Free arcade games

IwaWella

Points +1249

Mostly Veg
25 May 2022

Great Bar

A great bar with some pretty consistent vegan options

LaraleighGrier

Points +206

Vegan
16 May 2021

Delicious + Inventive Food

Love this place! Their beer is great and vegan choices are amazing. While they change up the menu quite a bit, their vegan options aren't the regular impossible burger. They have the best gyro and Reuben in the city, and their beet burger is SO good! The farro salad is delicious, and they have vegan corndogs (I believe light life.) Highly recommend.

emmy138

Points +20

Vegan
27 Sep 2020

Love Them

My friends and I went here for trivia before the pandemic. Great beer list, and they have some really good clearly labeled vegan options. My favorites are the seitan gyro and the tempeh tacos.

Pros: Atmosphere, Nice Patio, Bonus comic book shop

Cons: Inside eating area is a little small

mcscottmc

Points +83

Vegan
30 Nov 2019

Creative Vegan Choices

My Parents' Basement is underrated as far as their vegan options. They update their menu a few times a year, but for a while they have had a vegan gyro made with their homemade seitan and a vegan ruben, also with seitan. Over the years they have had a few different types of veggie burgers and vegan corn dogs.

The beer list is also great, featuring many local micro brews but also a unique lineup of non-locals that you won't find in most places.

Tip - as a side, skip the fries (event though they are good) and go for the sauteed spinach.

Oh yea, they have free retro video games.

Pros: Vegan dishes you can't get anywhere else, Beer list, Unique atmosphere

calamaestra

Points +3290

Vegan
24 Mar 2019

Beet Burger

I had the beet burger with vegan mayo and fries. It was delicious. I look forward to trying their other options.

carnold

Points +117

Vegan
19 Aug 2018

Yummy!

Y’all, check this place out! Good food, fun vibe, good brews...

Pros: Best vegan corn dogs ever! + tots!, Outside seating, Comic books, pinball machines, action figures!

CrystalRenee

Points +83

Vegan
09 Dec 2017

fun location, good food

A creative menu, great beer selection, expansive patio, and games/comics while you wait. I have only been once thus far and had the beet burger. The burger was delicious, but seemed kind of thin/not super filling. I definitely want to give it another try as they had more than one vegan option.

Pros: beer selection , patio




This page has been viewed 3466 times.