Mooshka

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 32 reviews )
Contact
0208457806
Find

Hemonystraat 66h (at Ceintuurbaan ), Amsterdam, Netherlands, 1074BT

Varied vegan organic menu with items like Ethiopian injera, Surinamese roti masala, veggie burger, fries, and milkshakes. Open Wed-Sun 4:00pm-9:00pm. Closed Mon, Tue.

Categories: Vegan, International, Organic, Western, Take-out, Fusion

32 Reviews

First Review by JamesPhillips

love the Ethiopië Injera - Edit

You get 4 thin pancakes with (I think varying) toppings, mine had lentils, a spicy curry, Some aubergine/eggplant stew, potato carrot green beans (tasted like roti mix) and Some marinated spinach! The taste was really magnificent, furthermore I had a taste of the banana Bread and the brownie(fudge). A little bit banana Bread was amazing, really fluffy. however I took a whole slice away and in my opinion, a whole slice was too oily for me! Overall I Be back!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

tasty food (also for delivery) - Edit

Food is great, we ordered a burger with double cheese which was absolutely amazing, macaronni bolognese with cheese - the cheese was kind of weird but the "meat" in pasta was really convincing! What was really worth trying is Bitterballen ( i heard its dutch and a my meat eating boyfriend couldnt tell a difference, it was really tasty) and cakes are amazing too!
We ordered a delivery and we paied just for the food
The vegan mayonnaise was too oily for my taste, but that depends.
Overall, great food!

Pros: free delivery, great burgers and bitterballen

Cons: mayo was too oily

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good but costly - Edit

The food was overall good, but compared to the experience it gave, it cost a lot. I ordered the ethiopian menu, the stews were nice, but I didn't like the sour ethiopian pancake (injera) that much.
I can't comment on the other foods because I haven't tried them. The staff was very kind.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Friendly, good food - Edit

We had a late dinner here, including a fried rice and an injera. Dinner was very good, the service was pleasant. the place is small, we sat in the balcony, that had a few tables. All in all, it was an enjoyable dinner.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So happy - Edit

Such a Nice vibe here!! Ordered in about 10 times before, decided to check the place out.. good thinking, very pleased about how clean and fresh this place is. The lady helping me this evening was sweet. Thank you Mooshka!




Updated from previous review on 2018-01-18

Pros: All vegan, Clean, Friendly

Cons: Limited seating space, Limited parking outside, Huge portion

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food, but... - Edit

Last year I visited this place twice; both times I ordered the injera and it was quite tasty. With the food is nothing wrong. It is really nice and cheap as well!
But I have to be honest, the service was terrible... We were the only ones in the venue, and still it took over 1.5 hours to prepare our food. It is an open kitchen, so you can observe everything that is going on. Which was nothing... The owner worked super slow and it looked quite unprofessional because of that.
Hope to come back soon to see if there is any improvements

Updated from previous review on 2017-12-17

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nice and yummy - Edit

cute place in ams. Loved the Middle Eastern Burger and the banana bread. The service is good. Good to know they don’t accept mastercards/amex.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best burgers - Edit

So many great vegan places in Amsterdam, but this has got to be one of my favourite. Family run, lovely chilled atmosphere, great food and vegan cakes to die for. Both Oreo and red velvet cake are so so yummy. Can easily get it all ordered to your hotel/home. Quick note: I like faux meat, but I prefer veggie burgers and Mooshki do my favourite :-)

Pros: great tasting food, lovely owners, best vegan cake in Amsterdam

Cons: no cons

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Simply Outstanding! - Edit

Love this place! Amazingly delicious food, a varied menu of dutch classics like pancakes and bitterballen to vegan comfort foods like burgers, noodles, and pizzas, to exotic specialties of caribbean and ethiopian food! All the food is incredible and the owner is super friendly and kind. I cannot recommend this place enough!

Updated from previous review on 2017-10-06

Pros: amazing food , great vibes, good prices

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Disapointing - Edit

I read a lot of good stories about the burgers: we didn't have them, so I cannot say anything about the burgers. But...

The place lacked atmoshpere. Shelves were empty. The food (roti) wasn't particulary tasteful (although I have no idea how roti is supposed to taste). The pizza my girlfriend had was tasteless and dry. (better raise the price a little and improve the pizza).

Competition will be tough for Mooshka, given numerous vegan fast food alternatives in Amsterdam

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Taste was lacking, Hardly any atmosphere, Pizza

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thanks for your feedback!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yeeeee bwooiiii - Edit

Amazing!! Have to try the caribbean Burger with cheese. Highly recommend!!!

Pros: Great food!!!

Cons: Wish there was outside seats

2 Responses
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - ?  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you ^_^  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty burger - Edit

Ordered a burger, delicious! Highly recommend.

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Merci!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best vegan place in ams - Edit

Honestly it was the best vegan burger I've EVER HAD. Reasonable portion with a lot of stuff in it. I liked tbe fact that they had vegan mayo and keychup..it seriously tasted incredible. I had the Caribbean burger with chickpeas. Also, I had as a desert the oreo cake ( again, reasonable portion ) and it tasted amazing. The price was 100% the experience.

2 Responses
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - ?  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

tasty casual place. mainly for takeout. lovely food - Edit

We had a lovely meal.
Very informal place where most of their trade is delivery. (when we were there)
.

This didnt take away from the freshly cooked tasty food on offer.

Staff were very nice. And we had a great meal.

Pros: tasty, fresh, fully vegan

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you ^_^  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious vegan food! - Edit

Holy crap the food is so good! I had the chickpea burger with cheese and fries. Service is good and speak English well. I wouldn't eat in, better for takeaways.

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Really tasty & brilliant service - Edit

Real good food plus tasty drinks

Pros: reasonably cheap, don't have to wait long for food

Cons: small

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious vegan food in Amsterdam - Edit

I had an injera and my boyfriend a burger when we thought it couldn't be better a red velvet cake made our dinner there perfect. Love it. I recommend this place 100% the venue is small and I think they do loads of take away but this place is great value for your money. Don't miss it if you're in Amsterdam

Pros: food, atmosphere, prices

Cons: none

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Merci!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

heerlijk eten--wonderful food - Edit

Mooshka is far enough outside the touristic centre to be calm but close enough to walk (or you can take the no. 4 tram from Central Station). The business is mostly take-out but they do have two tables and the service is friendly. The food is moderately priced by Dutch standards and there's a surprising variety--lots of salads (choose your toppings), burgers made from quinoa, chickpeas or couscous, vegetarian roti, and the injera, which I had and which was incredible (and incredibly filling). They offered me a slice of red velvet cake for free but I was too full to try it (it looked delicious). All in all, a healthy, friendly eatery!

Pros: food, service, good portions

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

You need to go there - Edit

Awesome place, recently opened. I highly recommend:) a lot of choices and good prices.

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Dining area - Edit

Dear valued customers,

Mooshka jr. is coming! Due to being in the later months of my pregnancy I will be closing the dining section for a while and converting to take away and delivery only as the work load to handle both the dining area and kitchen/takeaway/delivery is too much at this stage of my pregnancy. We will still have 3 tables for two that you are welcome to eat at if they are available.

Thank you for your understanding in this matter and look forward to continue serving you delicious vegan food.

Pros: Delicious vegan food

Cons: Less tables

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

One of the hidden vegan gems in Amsterdam - Edit

Had the Caribbean burger and the Injera. The burger was superb and the Injera was also very good. However, if you feel like getting Ethiopian food, best to try an authentic all Ethiopian restaurant -- although, you won't have the guarantee that the meals would be 100% vegan like you do here. The place itself is warm and cozy and the people that run it are super friendly. And, if you don't feel like going there physically, food can be delivered to you via the thuisbezorgd website. Best of all, the prices are very reasonable which is quite rare for a vegan place in Amsterdam. Highly recommended!!!!

Pros: Great tasting food, prices are reasonable , food can be delivered.

Cons: none.

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing - Edit

What an awesome place. With delicious topping it off. Service was very home like. Finger licking good. The Ethiopian dish with pancake I've never had such an amazing feeling or taste on my tongue. Staff are amazing. So kind and attentive. We need more places like this. 10/10

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasteless takeaway - Edit

A dissapointing experience. The food was very cheap but still not worth wasting your money on. I am honestly not sure these people have tastebuds. Pizza was like cardboard with an over done tomato sauce and the Mediterranean burger a weird mix of underseasoned stodge.

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 10 Mar 2017 - I am so sorry that you had a bad experience with our pizza and burger. I'm looking into what went wrong with your order. It is our aim to provide quality food to our customers, so I'm very dissapointed that we missed the mark with your meal. Feel free to contact me to discuss this further.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

really good injera! - Edit

The food was good. Delicious and fresh! highly recommended.

Pros: Everything is vegan Delicious desserts Nice interi

Cons: waiting time -- everything is made fresh! so it mi

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 10 Mar 2017 - I think something went wrong finishing the sentences lol, but thank you for your positive review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Such a welcome edition to Amsterdam - Edit

Mooshka is great! There's a small menu but with a big range of styles and everything on it is delicious. There's Indonesian Dutch with Roti and Bami, then there's an amazing Ethiopian dish called injera, which everyone else has already mentioned. They also have three great burgers and of course, the amazing milkshakes (Oreo is my favourite). The portions are huge and everything tastes fantastic, then to top it off the prices are really reasonably, especially for Amsterdam. I love it! The restaurant itself has a really nice relaxed atmosphere and a clean and minimal look, from the outside it looks a bit like it's only take away, but the seating area is out in the back. The owner is really friendly and relaxed too, which just adds to the good vibes. We've been sorely missing a place like this here in the city, good food, good value for money and really relaxed and unpretentious. I'm sure I'll be back again and again. For Amsterdamers it's also worth noting they do delivery through Thuisbezorgd now too.

Pros: Delicious food, Good Value for money, Those milkshakes thou!

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 10 Mar 2017 - Thank you so much! Hope to see you back again, and again.. :-D  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good value for money - Edit

Visited today and we had the injera and roti. Both were flavoursome and good sized portions, the injera came with extra injera on the side. Everything was cooked fresh while we waited. Good prices (10.95 each dish) - very good value for money for Amsterdam. And friendly service. Go and check this new place out!

Pros: Value for money, Flavour, Portion size

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 10 Mar 2017 - Thank you! Hope to see you back again!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Interesting flavours! - Edit

Me and two (non-vegan) friends met here for dinner last night. We picked the Ethiopean dish, the roti and the bami. So many different flavours! It was a very satisfying meal - the portion sizes are just perfect for my big appetite - for not a lot of money. The food was really tasty so we'll be back soon!

Pros: Excellent food, Good value, Large portions

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 10 Mar 2017 - Thank you! Glad you enjoyed :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Amsterdam Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Mooshka closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 5630 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support