Mooshka

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 24 reviews )
Contact
0208457806
Find

Hemonystraat 66h (at Ceintuurbaan ), Amsterdam, Netherlands, 1074BT

Varied vegan organic menu with items like Ethiopian injera, Surinamese roti masala, veggie burger, fries, and milkshakes. Open Wed-Sun 4:00pm-9:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, International, Organic, Western, Take-out, Fusion

24 Reviews

First Review by JamesPhillips

Simply Outstanding! - Edit

Love this place! Amazingly delicious food, a varied menu of dutch classics like pancakes and bitterballen to vegan comfort foods like burgers, noodles, and pizzas, to exotic specialties of caribbean and ethiopian food! All the food is incredible and the owner is super friendly and kind. I cannot recommend this place enough!

Updated from previous review on 2017-10-06

Pros: amazing food , great vibes, good prices

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Disapointing - Edit

I read a lot of good stories about the burgers: we didn't have them, so I cannot say anything about the burgers. But...

The place lacked atmoshpere. Shelves were empty. The food (roti) wasn't particulary tasteful (although I have no idea how roti is supposed to taste). The pizza my girlfriend had was tasteless and dry. (better raise the price a little and improve the pizza).

Competition will be tough for Mooshka, given numerous vegan fast food alternatives in Amsterdam

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Taste was lacking, Hardly any atmosphere, Pizza

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thanks for your feedback!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yeeeee bwooiiii - Edit

Amazing!! Have to try the caribbean Burger with cheese. Highly recommend!!!

Pros: Great food!!!

Cons: Wish there was outside seats

2 Responses
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - ?  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you ^_^  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty burger - Edit

Ordered a burger, delicious! Highly recommend.

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Merci!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best vegan place in ams - Edit

Honestly it was the best vegan burger I've EVER HAD. Reasonable portion with a lot of stuff in it. I liked tbe fact that they had vegan mayo and keychup..it seriously tasted incredible. I had the Caribbean burger with chickpeas. Also, I had as a desert the oreo cake ( again, reasonable portion ) and it tasted amazing. The price was 100% the experience.

2 Responses
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - ?  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

tasty casual place. mainly for takeout. lovely food - Edit

We had a lovely meal.
Very informal place where most of their trade is delivery. (when we were there)
.

This didnt take away from the freshly cooked tasty food on offer.

Staff were very nice. And we had a great meal.

Pros: tasty, fresh, fully vegan

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you ^_^  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious vegan food! - Edit

Holy crap the food is so good! I had the chickpea burger with cheese and fries. Service is good and speak English well. I wouldn't eat in, better for takeaways.

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Really tasty & brilliant service - Edit

Real good food plus tasty drinks

Pros: reasonably cheap, don't have to wait long for food

Cons: small

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious vegan food in Amsterdam - Edit

I had an injera and my boyfriend a burger when we thought it couldn't be better a red velvet cake made our dinner there perfect. Love it. I recommend this place 100% the venue is small and I think they do loads of take away but this place is great value for your money. Don't miss it if you're in Amsterdam

Pros: food, atmosphere, prices

Cons: none

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Merci!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

heerlijk eten--wonderful food - Edit

Mooshka is far enough outside the touristic centre to be calm but close enough to walk (or you can take the no. 4 tram from Central Station). The business is mostly take-out but they do have two tables and the service is friendly. The food is moderately priced by Dutch standards and there's a surprising variety--lots of salads (choose your toppings), burgers made from quinoa, chickpeas or couscous, vegetarian roti, and the injera, which I had and which was incredible (and incredibly filling). They offered me a slice of red velvet cake for free but I was too full to try it (it looked delicious). All in all, a healthy, friendly eatery!

Pros: food, service, good portions

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

You need to go there - Edit

Awesome place, recently opened. I highly recommend:) a lot of choices and good prices.

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Dining area - Edit

Dear valued customers,

Mooshka jr. is coming! Due to being in the later months of my pregnancy I will be closing the dining section for a while and converting to take away and delivery only as the work load to handle both the dining area and kitchen/takeaway/delivery is too much at this stage of my pregnancy. We will still have 3 tables for two that you are welcome to eat at if they are available.

Thank you for your understanding in this matter and look forward to continue serving you delicious vegan food.

Pros: Delicious vegan food

Cons: Less tables

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

One of the hidden vegan gems in Amsterdam - Edit

Had the Caribbean burger and the Injera. The burger was superb and the Injera was also very good. However, if you feel like getting Ethiopian food, best to try an authentic all Ethiopian restaurant -- although, you won't have the guarantee that the meals would be 100% vegan like you do here. The place itself is warm and cozy and the people that run it are super friendly. And, if you don't feel like going there physically, food can be delivered to you via the thuisbezorgd website. Best of all, the prices are very reasonable which is quite rare for a vegan place in Amsterdam. Highly recommended!!!!

Pros: Great tasting food, prices are reasonable , food can be delivered.

Cons: none.

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing - Edit

What an awesome place. With delicious topping it off. Service was very home like. Finger licking good. The Ethiopian dish with pancake I've never had such an amazing feeling or taste on my tongue. Staff are amazing. So kind and attentive. We need more places like this. 10/10

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 18 Sep 2017 - Thank you!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasteless takeaway - Edit

A dissapointing experience. The food was very cheap but still not worth wasting your money on. I am honestly not sure these people have tastebuds. Pizza was like cardboard with an over done tomato sauce and the Mediterranean burger a weird mix of underseasoned stodge.

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 10 Mar 2017 - I am so sorry that you had a bad experience with our pizza and burger. I'm looking into what went wrong with your order. It is our aim to provide quality food to our customers, so I'm very dissapointed that we missed the mark with your meal. Feel free to contact me to discuss this further.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

really good injera! - Edit

The food was good. Delicious and fresh! highly recommended.

Pros: Everything is vegan Delicious desserts Nice interi

Cons: waiting time -- everything is made fresh! so it mi

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 10 Mar 2017 - I think something went wrong finishing the sentences lol, but thank you for your positive review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Such a welcome edition to Amsterdam - Edit

Mooshka is great! There's a small menu but with a big range of styles and everything on it is delicious. There's Indonesian Dutch with Roti and Bami, then there's an amazing Ethiopian dish called injera, which everyone else has already mentioned. They also have three great burgers and of course, the amazing milkshakes (Oreo is my favourite). The portions are huge and everything tastes fantastic, then to top it off the prices are really reasonably, especially for Amsterdam. I love it! The restaurant itself has a really nice relaxed atmosphere and a clean and minimal look, from the outside it looks a bit like it's only take away, but the seating area is out in the back. The owner is really friendly and relaxed too, which just adds to the good vibes. We've been sorely missing a place like this here in the city, good food, good value for money and really relaxed and unpretentious. I'm sure I'll be back again and again. For Amsterdamers it's also worth noting they do delivery through Thuisbezorgd now too.

Pros: Delicious food, Good Value for money, Those milkshakes thou!

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 10 Mar 2017 - Thank you so much! Hope to see you back again, and again.. :-D  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good value for money - Edit

Visited today and we had the injera and roti. Both were flavoursome and good sized portions, the injera came with extra injera on the side. Everything was cooked fresh while we waited. Good prices (10.95 each dish) - very good value for money for Amsterdam. And friendly service. Go and check this new place out!

Pros: Value for money, Flavour, Portion size

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 10 Mar 2017 - Thank you! Hope to see you back again!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Interesting flavours! - Edit

Me and two (non-vegan) friends met here for dinner last night. We picked the Ethiopean dish, the roti and the bami. So many different flavours! It was a very satisfying meal - the portion sizes are just perfect for my big appetite - for not a lot of money. The food was really tasty so we'll be back soon!

Pros: Excellent food, Good value, Large portions

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 10 Mar 2017 - Thank you! Glad you enjoyed :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cozy & delicious - Edit

Firstly, the service was really friendly and relaxed, we came there like 10minutes before closing and there was no problem to stay for almost an hour after closing. The food was amazing and portions -veeery satisfying :)

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 07 Feb 2017 - Thank you! :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A great addition to Amsterdam's vegan selection - Edit

One of our favourite foods is the Ethiopian dish of injera with curries – if you've never had this, then you're missing out! An injera is a large round pancake, but with a slightly sour, zesty flavour, and it's served with a selection of curries on top.

Sadly, where we live there's nowhere to buy this food! So when we were visiting Amsterdam, it was with delight that we saw a new vegan place had opened there, serving one of our favourite dishes.

And we weren't disappointed! The injera came with four curries, and an extra injera on the side – just the right amount (you always need a bit extra, you see). It tasted fresh and was full of flavour.

There are lots of other dishes available, which we sadly didn't have chance to try. The menu reminded us of the Dream Café in Seinfeld – there's a varied world of foods available! There can't be many restaurants where you can have injera while your dining partner has a burger. There really is something for everyone.

Service was friendly, the atmosphere was relaxed, and the prices were reasonable – especially for Amsterdam, which can be pricey at times. It's also open into the evening, so is a great dinner option. If you're going to Amsterdam, put this on your "must vist" list along with DopHert and Koffie ende Koeck. We'll certainly go back the next time we're in Amsterdam.

Updated from previous review on 2017-01-31

Pros: Delicious food, Friendly service, Open evenings

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 07 Feb 2017 - Thank you so much, and thanks for coming.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great food! - Edit

Went here with my sister, and was pleasantly surprised. All is vegan in this little shop. It may look like a take away, but there are tables in the back. Very kind people taking your order, prepare to wait a while because everything is freshly prepared, but it was worth it. We had an Ethiopian and Surinam dish that both were delicious! I hope to come again soon! Please note this place does not serve alcoholic beverages but plenty of other healthy drinks!

Pros: Vegan, Freshly prepared, delicious food

Cons: waiting time

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 30 Jan 2017 - Thank you ! :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Mooshka - Edit

We visited Mooshka in Amsterdam and very much enjoyed it! The food was really good and we also had a refreshing smoothie. The staff were very friendly and the place itself was clean and comfortable. Would recommend to both vegans and non-vegans alike.

Pros: Friendly staff, Good food , Clean restaurant

Cons: A little expensive

2 Responses
Read More

Mushka 30 Jan 2017 - Thanks for your review ?  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Mushka 07 Feb 2017 - Lol questionmark was supposed to be a smiley. Thank you ! :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent vibe. Good food. - Edit

Very warm welcome and excellent staff. The food was good and they obviously care about what they are doing.

New business so support them and go have some decent vegan food! :)

Pros: Vegan

Cons: None

1 Response
Read More

Mushka 30 Jan 2017 - Thank you! :-)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Amsterdam Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Mooshka closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 4175 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support