Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Fast food
Delivery
Take-out

Vegetarian Indian sweets mart and restaurant. Nice range of dishes including Southern Indian specialties and fusion food. Open Tue-Fri 16:00-21:00, Sat-Sun 12:00-21:00. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Mithaas
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by dropscone

smithbadger

Points +71

Vegetarian
06 Jan 2024

Tasty affordable delish

Incredible busy restaurant and takeaway
Fab authentic dishes affordable prices

Pros: Tasty, Affordable , Authentic

Advertisement

VanillaRooibos

Points +41

Vegan
16 Aug 2023

Excellent quality and value veggie / vegan food in a cafe style restaurant with take-away

We've eaten here several times over the last couple of years. We're both vegan and enjoy trying different vegan options from the vegetarian menu. The Thali is fantastic value - you even get a small cube of burfi to finish. We particularly love the soup, pakoras, aubergine curry, and uttapams. It's all fresh and richly flavoured. The service is sometimes a bit slow at busy times and you might have to wait for a table. We often treat ourselves to something to take home as well - it's too temping! The ambience is not a traditional Indian but it's a little better than it was, after the recent facelift. The only other issue is lack of parking - it's local street parking only. Highly recommend.

Pros: Delicious food, Excellent value, Good vegan choices

Cons: Having to wait for a table, lack of nearby parking

ConstanceTowl

Points +325

Vegan
11 Dec 2022

So much choice!

Delivered when expected, such a great range of dishes and all totally delicious.

Pros: Lots of vegan options., Tasty food, Great prices

veganmegan00

Points +16

Vegan
31 Aug 2022

Delicious, affordable, and lots of choice

I’ve been coming here for years mostly to buy the odd samosa or sweet from the counter, but went to the restraint for the first time today. The food was AMAZING! The menu clearly labels what’s vegan, and everything is at least vegetarian. The thali meal is only £9 and you get a variety of curries and other bits and bobs - very generous portions, delicious and tonnes to choose from.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Delicious and fresh tasting, Affordable

Cons: Atmosphere could be better

AmyVCaroline

Points +2600

Vegan
29 Jul 2021

Tasty food

Update July 2021: vegan options clearly marked. Recently redecorated, slightly more seating. Masala dosa still good

Vegan options not marked but staff are knowledgable. Great place to get small plates to share. Small seating area but does take out.. Ask for the dosa :)

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-29

Pros: Tasty

CeliaAllsop

Points +22

Vegan
14 Jul 2021

Incredible food

This is one of the best restaurants/takeaways I have tried. I've never had a bad meal here, it's always brilliant and trust me, I've eaten here a lot 🤣 The Thali is such good value for money and you get a huge variety of really tasty food. I'd recommend Mithaas to Vegans, Veggies and Omni's alike. Nobody I've spoken to has had a bad word to say about the place.

Pros: Lots of Vegan options , Very good value for money , Friendly service

auberginequeen

Points +32

Vegan
13 Aug 2020

One of my absolute favourite places in Leicester

This is me and my partner's go to place - absolutely delicious and reasonably priced food. We have been to the restaurant dozens of times, and recently have been getting takeaways from them. Quite recently they updated their menu to have vegan labelling - previously you had to ask. This makes it all much easier, and you can see that the majority of the menu is vegan, there are just a few dishes with paneer or yoghurt to avoid.

Everything we've ever had from here has been delicious. Favourites include the gobi manchurian or crispy aubergine, rajma masala, and bhel puri.

They sell lots of vegan Indian sweets too, the staff are very knowledgable about what's vegan even though the sweets aren't labelled. Great to take a box away after eating here!

Pros: Reasonably priced, Delicious!, Wide variety of choice

Cons: Serves dairy

AmyKC

Points +186

Vegan
08 Nov 2019

Go to samosas

I have used Mithaas on a number of occasions for bulk samosas take away orders. On every occasion the samosas have been fresh (still warm) and full of flavour. Samosas are vegan. Staff are knowledgeable which gives additional confidence about things I can order. I happily travel in order to collect they are that good!

Pros: Full of flavour, Reasonable price

pascaleehd

Points +356

Vegan
16 Oct 2019

One of my favourites

This was my local and I absolutely loved it! The smashed aubergine curry and the okra are a must! Plus you can get 3 samosas for £1 - I used to go at least once a week! They are helpful if you a vegan at letting you know what you can and can’t have. Also vegan Indian sweets available! Just ask😄

Pros: Loads of vegan options , Tasty food , Good prices

IanSunderland

Points +23

Vegetarian
18 Aug 2017

The best!

Mithaas is really the best Indian restaurant in Leicester. I have been visiting Mithaas for a few years now. Every time I have been it has always been a brilliant dining experience. The dosas are HUGE and incredibly tasty. As a friend mentioned there is nothing on the menu which is not going to be good! It is cheap and has a wide selection on offer. If you struggle with spice then the waiters are brilliantly helpful and will make sure that they accommodate for all tastes. GO! ;)

Pros: The choice of Indian food on offer, High quality, Ambience

Cons: Nothing

isabelroo

Points +156

Vegan
30 Jun 2015

Cheap and tasty Mithaas!

I visited Mithaas twice during a recent visit to Leicester, they had been recommended by the person we were staying with who is vegan - and I can see why!
Both times I had the vegan thali which had 4 different delicious curries along with all the additional bits and bobs you expect in a thali, plus a sweet, and it was so cheap! Really good value for money. Not sure why the description describes it as 'Moderate', perhaps it's out of date, but I think Mithaas deserves 'Inexpensive'.
The last time we visited just before leaving Leicester we took one of each of the vegan sweets they had - I loved the nutty ones with a kind of silver coating! Bit strange-looking but so good!!

Pros: Great value, Tasty food, Vegan sweets!

cprisacariu

Points +143

Vegetarian
12 Mar 2012

Nice vegetarian indian food.

Very good indian food. Can ask for less spicy (as I want). Can go for the good buffet, or can order from the many interesting dishes, which are not expensive either. Friendly staff. As usual for indian cuisine, there is a lot of sweets to choose as desert.

Then you can also take away food from here. Wonderful.

Pros: not expensive, nice staff, buffet and take away

Cons: not in the centre

dropscone

Points +135

Vegan
27 Oct 2007

Mithaas sweet market and restaurant

I visited this place tonight with ten other vegans.

We had only given them a day's notice but the staff were really helpful and friendly, knew which foods could be made vegan (including some of the sweets, which is unusual), and the food itself was delicious.

The service was a little on the slow side but I think this was understandable given the size of our group and lack of notice.

I had mogo chips and chutney to start with (lovely and crisp, generous portion), and a fenugreek and mixed veg curry. The veg was really fresh, and while spicy it wasn't overpowering. I also sampled a stuffed paratha which was deliciously fluffy on the inside, and a really nice uttapam.

I will be visiting again soon.

Pros: lovely food, friendly knowledgeabe staff, vegan sweets!

Cons: slightly slow service




This page has been viewed 6927 times.