Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Fast food
Take-out
Middle Eastern

Small food stand in the Machane Yehuda food market that serves vegan & vegetarian versions of traditional Middle Eastern offerings, like cauliflower shawarma, beet carpaccio, humus stew, and lentil & wild rice kebab. Everything can be made vegan except the desserts that contain dairy. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-11:00pm, Fri 10:30am-4:00pm, Sat 7:00pm-11:00pm, Sun 11:00am-11:00pm.


Venue map for Mimoni's
ยฉ OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by shlomo

adigol

Points +194

Vegan
26 Feb 2023

Great vegan food in the market

Most of the dishes are vegan, really good and fresh

Pros: Many vegan dishes , Normal prices

Advertisement

DavidPeres

Points +169

Vegan
26 Jun 2022

Simply amazing in Machane Yehuda

Shawarma in ๐Ÿฅ™ was delicious! ๐Ÿ˜

KarinKoala

Points +2550

Vegan
03 Mar 2022

Mimoni's

We came to try the vegan options which include a pita with cauliflower, pita with lentil kebab and pita with eggplant. We were recommended the cauliflower shawarma and the eggplant steak and to be honest we were blown away by the flavors.
Mostly I do not give 5 stars to a restaurant that is not fully vegan but everything was so delicious that this time it justified it.
The Cauliflower is the classic dish that will stratify your taste buds with the perfect seasoning reminiscent of shawarma and also fill your stomach in terms of volume.
The more interesting dish although is the eggplant steak that comes with a cherry twist, a combination that is hard to imagine going well together but turned out to be heavenly pair and the dish brings special and unconventional flavors.
The little salad that comes on the side also wonderfully seasoned with exotic ingredients like hazelnuts and other nuts.

Pros: amazing flavores

Cons: a bit expensive

eravens1

Points +497

Vegan
10 Feb 2022

Delicious but a bit expensive

Title pretty much says it all. I got the cauliflower shwarma which was spiced well, and I actually liked the side salad (which included some lettuce greens--not typical in Jerusalem) but the portion size was relatively small. That said, I'll definitely go back to try other items at some point.

Pros: Good vegan options!, Friendly multilingual staff

Cons: A little expensive for the portion size

InbarKirschner

Points +69

Vegan
28 Jun 2021

ืžื™ืžื•ื ื™ืก ืฉื•ื•ื” ื‘ื™ืงื•ืจ!!!

ืžืงื•ื ืงื˜ืŸ ืฉื›ืžืขื˜ ืžืคืกืคืกื™ื, ื™ืฉ ืชืคืจื™ื˜ ืขื ืžื’ื•ื•ืŸ ืžื ื•ืช ื˜ื‘ืขื•ื ื™ื•ืช, ื—ืœืง ืžื”ืžืžื•ืช ืžื›ื™ืœื•ืช ื’ื‘ื™ื ื” ืฉื ื™ืชืŸ ืœื‘ืงืฉ ืœืฉื™ื ื‘ืฆื“. ื”ื›ื™ ืžื•ืžืœืฅ ื”ื•ื ื”ืกื˜ื™ื™ืง ื—ืฆื™ืœ๐Ÿ˜

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-28

A.Z.P.

Points +623

Vegan
26 Jun 2021

Unimpressive and Unimaginative

So I've been here twice and tried almost half of their menu, and I've been pretty disappointed.

The first time I came I tried the Cauliflower Shawarma. The plusses are that it tasted good, they pack it beautifully and like their other entrees, it comes with a really nice and refreshing salad with nuts in it for crunch and a delicate and flavorful seasoning. The Shawarma itself tasted good but it tasted like Shawarma flavored Cauliflower and 2 half pitas cauliflower did not make for a filling meal. It was decent, but there is more filling and overall better Vege Shawarma inside the actual shuk.

As the Shawarma was tasty (although not filling) i came back for a second try. This time I had the Lentil Kebabs. It was unappealing both visually and tastewise. it was like eating flavored cooked lentils in a pita, that didn't really stick together. There was nothing else in the pita with the mass of cooked seasoned lentils, besides for a few cloves of garlic. As the lentils were brown lentils which they tried to shape like Kebabs, it looked extremely unappetizing (You can imagine like what), and the flavor of the mushy lentils in a pita with no texture except for mush wasn't much better.

This place has great location, really nice service, is affordable and packs things to go beautifully. If you are on the run and need a quick bite, it does the trick, but if you have any time to go into the Shuk itself, which has some of the best Vegan offerings in the country, then this would not be my choice.

I don't think this restaurant would survive long in the Vegan Mecca of Tel Aviv, and in 2021 with all of the different pea/soy/seitan alternatives that exist in Israel, Jerusalem deserves better.

Pros: Great location and prices, Nice Service

Cons: Lacking in texture and flavor

Epstein

Points +177

Vegetarian
14 Jun 2021

A Hidden Gem

The unexpected quality in what appears to be a street cafรฉ, had us promising to return. A small menu, but the 2 meals we had were equally excellent. Middle-eastern food without the meat. Outdoor tables or take-away.

Pros: Delicious food, Well-priced, Friendly staff

Cons: Might not be very pleasant on a rainy /wintry day

ani507

Points +454

Vegan
06 Mar 2020

Perfect

The cauliflower shawarma was absolutely perfect!
Tge chef is very nice and friendly as well
He said he'll soon make vegan fete cheese so make sure to ask if you go there, looking forward to it ๐Ÿ˜‹

JaredinIsrael

Points +1369

Vegan
01 Mar 2020

Creative, Tasty & Vegan

My new favorite food stand at Machane Yehuda! The four options on the menu are all vegan (or vegan-optional), and although the meals look small, they are so tasty and filling. While the dishes are meant to mimic popular local meat options, they are entirely unique (and won't disappoint meat-eaters).

Pros: Creative flavors, Friendly service

Cons: Limited seating on the sidewalk

Solvi

Points +160

Vegan
01 Mar 2020

Hole in the wall you shouldnt miss

Some delicious creative vegan alternatives to the well known kebab and shawarma (cauliflower as an alternative to shawarma). Seasoned well and very tasty! Would recommend!

sia_nazary

Points +56

Vegan
15 Feb 2020

Gem located in the heart of Jerusalem

We stopped at this excellent little hole in the wall on a walk to the Mahane Yehuda market. We brought a big appetite and this recently opened little restaurant didnโ€™t disappoint.

We ordered the Cauliflower Shawarma, Beet Carpaccio and Home Kabab entrees. The flavor of each was very good. I must say that the Cauliflower Shawarma was a personal favorite- loaded with delicious seasoning and house dressing. I plan on visiting again during our trip if possible. A few of their menu items are vegetarian, if you would like to make it all vegan- it will be as simple as asking for non dairy or no cheese on your meal.


The staff were lovely - welcoming and you can tell that they care how their customers enjoyed their food. I imagine this will be a very popular little restaurant in Jerusalem for yearโ€™s to come.

Pros: Delicious, Friendly and engaging staff

Cons: Outdoor/Limited seating area, No toilets

shlomo

Points +18

Vegan
04 Feb 2020

A charming place

New in jerusalem. The food is great and the chef is so kind and welcoming. Good choice for vegetarians and vegans.




This page has been viewed 2750 times.