Love Food Central

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 21 reviews )
Contact
727-317-2034
Find

2057 Central Ave, St Petersburg, Florida, USA, 33713

St. Pete cafe serving vegan and gluten-free comfort food. Specializes in desserts. Has vegan soft serve cashew and coconut ice cream. Est. Jan 2016. Sunday Special: vegan and gluten-free blueberry pancakes from 11am - 2pm. Open Tue-Fri 11:00am-7:00pm, Sat 11:00am-8:00pm, Sun 11:00am-4:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, American, Take-out, Bakery

21 Reviews

First Review by Solutionario

OMG Worth the Drive from Tampa - Edit

Cozy restaurant with delicious meal and dessert options and knowledgeable, friendly staff. Try the bbq jackfruit sandwich. You won't be disappointed!

Pros: all Vegan and gluten-free

Cons: little pricey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food Good Vibe - Edit

The food here was very good and well prepared. The menu is short and sweet and that's a good thing sometimes. I tried the root beer chili and it was surprisingly tasty. My main course was the Shitake Maki roll which I decided to have as an optional bowl. In hindsight I should have got the roll. The bowl is essentially all the roll ingredients, some cut in long form, in a bowl. It was very tasty. I will go back to try other items.

Pros: simple delicious menu, soft serve vegan ice cream

Photo of Love Food Central  by <a href="/members/profile/KWdaddio">KWdaddio</a> <br/>Ice cream cookie sandwich with matcha tea <br/> September 20, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/69177/306628'>Report</a>

Ice cream cookie sandwich with matcha tea

Photo of Love Food Central  by <a href="/members/profile/KWdaddio">KWdaddio</a> <br/>Shitake maki roll in bowl form <br/> September 20, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/69177/306627'>Report</a>

Shitake maki roll in bowl form

Photo of Love Food Central  by <a href="/members/profile/KWdaddio">KWdaddio</a> <br/>Shitake maki roll in bowl form <br/> September 20, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/69177/306626'>Report</a>

Shitake maki roll in bowl form

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food - Edit

The service was fast and friendly and the food was good.

We ordered a jackfruit sandwich, vegan burger and caesar salad. The sandwiches/burger came with a side - we got chips and coleslaw.

They have outside seating and it's a cute, little place. I wouldn't say it was my favorite food ever, but it was good vegan food with great service.

Pros: 100% vegan, Cute, cozy place, Lots of desserts

Cons: Smaller portions

Photo of Love Food Central  by <a href="/members/profile/Jamie9705">Jamie9705</a> <br/>Vegan caesar salad, burger and jackfruit sandwich  <br/> September 13, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/69177/304009'>Report</a>

Vegan caesar salad, burger and jackfruit sandwich

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Gluten free and vegan - Edit

The food was great, service was great a great spot with enough choices to keep one satisfied. I will definitely come back again; the apps and main dishes were my favorite.

Pros: Various palette choices, vegan ice cream, amazing

Cons: Something was brewing maybe it was the kombucha gi

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

LOVE it!!! - Edit

My family stopped in here on our way through St Pete and we're so glad we did!!! The staff was so friendly and upbeat. I love for my 8 year old daughter to experience restaurants that are all vegan like this one so she knows there are other like minded people out there! They don't have a large menu but what they offer is delicious. My husband and I split the Ruben (made with tempeh), the burger, and a small salad. My daughter had the avocado toast and a milkshake. Then we shared a cookie and a brownie ice cream sandwich for desert! Yes, we pigged out!! I wish I would have taken photos! Five stars!

Pros: Friendly staff, All vegan, Clean and pleasant atmosphere

Cons: Not a huge menu

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Food Great atmosphere - Edit

Only wish they had a bigger menu but everything was well done!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

vegan and gluten free - Edit

Cutest little place with indoor and outdoor seating and varied menu. Everything is gluten free and vegan, including the desserts, which they had plenty of: carrot cake, key lime pie, brownies, and soft serve to name a few. Service was quick and the atmosphere was comfortable and casual. Will definitely come back if I'm in the area again.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful people, wonderful food - Edit

My wife and I always look forward to our visits to Love Food Central. The people are kind and welcoming and their excellent soups, salads, and entrees make you feel great!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great food! - Edit

They have delicious food for fair prices. I love the jackfruit sandwich with the coleslaw.

Photo of Love Food Central  by <a href="/members/profile/MelanieVegan">MelanieVegan</a> <br/>jackfruit sandwhich with side of coleslaw <br/> November 12, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/69177/188796'>Report</a>

jackfruit sandwhich with side of coleslaw

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing - Edit

The atmosphere of this cafe is calm and cozy. The people who work here are very nice, and the food is served in a timely manner!
I ordered the BBQ sandwich and it's amazing!! The coleslaw is tasteful and fresh! We will definitely return for more!!! If you're vegan and gluten free, this is the place for you!!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Seems Overpriced - Edit

We were here a couple of days ago and really wanted to like the place. And the food is actually very good, it's just that it seems overpriced and very skimpy in size. $9.00 for the vegan cheese plate and it was a minuscule little wedge of cheese, about the size of those foiled wrapped circular Gruyere cheese things. It was excellent cheese, but I make vegan cheese too and the cost of ingredients is really quite low. Nothing justifies that price. The bbq jackfruit was delicious and the salad great too. The falafel again was skimpy in size, only 5 tiny falafels but they tasted good. Ok Cole slaw with that. We liked both the vegan ice cream and the key lime pie too. But like another reviewer said, we were hungry shortly thereafter. I don't think I'd go back, except maybe for dessert.

Pros: Tasty vegan food, BBQ Jackfruit!, Good desserts

Cons: Skimpy portions, Overpriced

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Go for the soft serve dessert and skip the rest - Edit

If you must eat out then it is an okay choice. We left dissatisfied but nourished. The desserts are a win. When a woman spends $16 on an entree and dessert she shouldn't leave hungry, and I sure did. I have had the beet bean burger and the jackfruit sandwich. The burger tastes just like a veganiase arugula salad since it is on arugula and has no onions or tomato or traditional burger toppings. It is quite small. The burger is pureed mush not a firm patty. I was hoping for a large diced beet burger that is full of flavor like other restaurants. This is lacks flavor.
The jackfruit is marinated well. It is still small. Call me a health-nut but potato chips are not my choice side item... especially in a sit-down restaurant. I have tried the sweet coleslaw but I could not finish it and I never throw food away. I hope they improve the menu so that every item does not just taste like Veganaise and increase the portion size.

Pros: Nice environment, Soft serve ice-cream , Fully gluten-free

Cons: Expensive for 500 calorie portions, Too healthy tasting spins on items , Kombucha $6 who would pay that?

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great vegan Restaurant! - Edit

I love that this restaurant is 100% vegan! No having to ask questions or wonder what my food was cooked next to. I got a half DeCOBBstructed salad, and it was totally delicious. The dressing was super creamy, which I loved. I also liked that they had get-yourself water, so i didn't have to be embarrassed getting a million refills! It's a cute little cafe, and I would definitely go there often if I lived in St. Pete.

Pros: All Vegan!!!!, Delicious Food, Ice Cream!

Cons: A little pricey, but not bad

Photo of Love Food Central  by <a href="/members/profile/sarahFL">sarahFL</a> <br/>DeCOBBstructed Salad - Coconut bacon, avocado, cherry tomatoes, sprouts, creamy dressing <br/> June 28, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/69177/156652'>Report</a>

DeCOBBstructed Salad - Coconut bacon, avocado, che...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great little spot - Edit

What a gem! House-made everything at great prices. Healthy vegan food. Gluten free. I had the Cobb-less Salad, Iced Coffee (with coffee ice cubes) and tried two desserts that were amazing!
Our server was super sweet and the place is cute and clean.

Pros: Healthy, Affordable, Yummers!

Cons: None

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nice cafe - Edit

We stopped in for a late lunch to have a tempeh reuben, key lime pie and soft serve with caramel topping. There were many other tasty looking menu items too. I had to have key lime while visiting Florida and it did not disappointment. Dirk loved the soft serve and the caramel was amazing. The staff was very friendly and the café has a nice relaxed feel. We sat at the sofa upfront. Definitely check it out if in the area.

Pros: all vegan , easy parking

Photo of Love Food Central  by <a href="/members/profile/Sonja%20and%20Dirk">Sonja and Dirk</a> <br/>soft serve with caramel <br/> June 3, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/69177/151995'>Report</a>

soft serve with caramel

Photo of Love Food Central  by <a href="/members/profile/Sonja%20and%20Dirk">Sonja and Dirk</a> <br/>key lime pie <br/> June 3, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/69177/151994'>Report</a>

key lime pie

Photo of Love Food Central  by <a href="/members/profile/Sonja%20and%20Dirk">Sonja and Dirk</a> <br/>tempeh reuben <br/> June 3, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/69177/151993'>Report</a>

tempeh reuben

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fabulous Experience! - Edit

Every item is vegan and gluten free so picking items on the menu was quite the task! Normally selections are limited so this was a rare treat. I went with my lactose & gluten intolerant omnivore mother and she loved the daily special "tempeh Ruben". I decided on "sushirito" and it was out of this world. We splurged on key lime pie and ice cream sandwich cookie for desert. My mother thought the pie was as good as any she's ever had. The ice cream in between the chocolate chip cookies was chai and although I was skeptical, it was unbelievably good. The place was clean and service was very good. We got there just as it was getting busy so our orders came out fast. Word has already gotten out, this is a wonderful addition to the Saint Petersburg vegan scene.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

I LOVE IT!! - Edit

Today was my first time at the Love Food Central Cafe and I had the sushirito and my boyfriend had the love burger. I can say that it was the best vegan sushi roll and vegan burger I've ever had! EVER! We also had an Icecream sandwich and the chocolate pie, it was delicious! Everything is home made with love here and the staff is wonderful. Overall, it was a great experience for both of us and we're definitely coming here again :)

Pros: delicious home made food, delicious deserts, great environment

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious! - Edit

I'm new to the vegan world so when I had to travel out of town for work, I had no idea where to go for food options other than a local grocery store. Luckily I found the Love Food Central Cafe and can I tell you it lives up to its name! I Love the food here. The customer service was great! I had the nut mylk shake and the beer burger. I was skeptical of the beet burger but it was so so good! Definitely check this place out!

1 Response
Read More

vegandeb 13 Aug 2016 - Both of us found the beet burger to be bland and tiny  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan Goodness - Edit

I love this place! The food is delicious!

Pros: Vegan and Gluten Freen, Delicious

Cons: Expensive

Photo of Love Food Central  by <a href="/members/profile/TierraMcLellan">TierraMcLellan</a> <br/>Delicious <br/> March 17, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/69177/197555'>Report</a>

Delicious

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

an all around great meal - highly recommend - Edit

we were passing through town and decided to stop here for lunch. the menu is on the smaller side but everything we tried (sushirito, cobb salad, and pulled bbq sandwich) was great, especially the bbq jackfruit. the cashew coconut soft serve by itself and in the cookie sandwich was also delicious

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful new vegan restaurant! - Edit

Everything on the menu is healthy, vegan, and delicious!!! They have soft serve ice cream!!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to St Petersburg Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Love Food Central closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 4310 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support