Bakery

Vegan bakery making donuts, cakes, waffles, and seasonal desserts. Sources ingredients from local businesses and regional farms. Does not use white flour. Here since 2015. Location is opposite Kobe Daimaru Department store in the Motomachi district, a short walk from both Sannomiya and Motomachi stations. Open Mon-Tue 10:30am-8:00pm, Thu-Sun 10:30am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Kanauta
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by AleBaba88

HelGel

Points +28

Non Veg
10 Oct 2023

Not open

Not open Monday or Tuesday. Disappointing. Don't know if permanently closed.

Advertisement

Vegannie1

Points +80

Vegan
13 Apr 2023

A sweet vegan spot.

I loved the warmth of the owners and the delight of finding vegan baked goods in a super convenient place before you even turn into Motomachi shopping street, this small bake shop has an orange facade. Really good doughnuts (like D and D “munchkins “ and small waffles. I had the green tea type and some hot mulberry tea. Oishi!

Pros: Lots of vegan options., No sugar or artificial ingredients., Super kind owners.

Cons: I came late in the day so one case was sold out. , It’s a small spot so it’s take out with 2 chairs

AnnaZirael

Points +216

Vegan
10 Apr 2023

Cute, delicious, all vegan

on the way to the hotel accidentally noticed this place. All are vegan. Waffles and mini donuts are delicious. They gave me one more donuts as a gift for the fact that I was without a mask))) It's nice, thank you!

itsrinokt_

Points +3366

Vegan
08 Jan 2023

Tasty cake & friendly owner

We went for their waffles but sadly they were all sold out. Instead we tried lemon cake with soy milk cream & chocolate cake. They had chewy textures and we enjoyed them so much. Will definitely come back,. Can’t wait to try their waffles and donuts next time!

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-08

Pros: Great sweets , Great location

AndréMori

Points +518

Vegan
06 Jan 2023

Cute

Uma simples loja de bolos. Com muitos panfletos vegano.

Pros: Cada semana é um tipo diferente de bolo e pães.

Cons: É sempre cheio.

AnitaDollar

Points +2099

Vegan
31 Jan 2022

Amazing waffles

The waffles were simply delicious and the staff was super friendly too! Can't wait to go back.

Ruzha

Points +3311

Vegan
09 Oct 2021

Delicious waffles!

Really delicious all vegan waffles and mini donuts! Unfortunately they sell out really quickly, and even though we were there just about an hour and a half after they opened, only a couple of flavors were left. We got the plain and matcha waffles and the plain mini donuts. We were also quite uncomfortable that the staff was not wearing a mask, even though Kobe was at the time in a state of emergency due to the pandemic.

TamuraSah

Points +38

Vegan
29 Dec 2020

Very good macha waffles

The staff is friendly and

Pros: Vegan Japanese traditional flavors , Easy to find the place

laynolaywa

Points +39

Vegan
13 Sep 2020

Very nice inclusive bakery

The strawberry topped sponge cake I bought was delicious. There’s information about ingredients in English and Japanese.

SophieSchmailzl

Points +293

Vegan
17 Aug 2020

All vegan, small portions

Cute little shop close to China Town, owner is nice and speaks good English.

Quite expensive tho, for very small waffles and doughnuts.
But a easy snack.

Pros: All vegan

Cons: Expensive for size.

mamabean69

Points +414

Vegan
16 Dec 2019

Bread!!!!!

We love our bread and always miss it when we come to Japan. So when we find a place like this we really appreciate it. We ordered a half loaf, as well a couple of bags of donut balls.

Pros: Vegan bread, Lovely man at the counter, Great location

Cons: None

cederw

Points +57

Vegan
20 Oct 2019

Good food and easy to find

Really good waffles and traditional japanese fried sweets. Its right on a large street near a JR station, so it was easy to find.

bejitomu

Points +83

Vegetarian
23 Jun 2019

A bakery to rule them all

A bakery were basically everyone can eat, no matter which diet, allergie or religion. (well maybe there are some really rare allergies, I don't know ^^)
I had the strawberry choclate cake, which had a really rich choclate taste and slices of real strawberrys. Yes it was small and cost 380 yen, but it was very delicious and worth the price. Espacially the fact that those people take the challenge and start such a shop with handmade pruducts for a small target group make we wanna support them even more. Would definitly come back!

Pros: all vegan and gluten free, all handmade with love

WolfsRain

Points +127

Vegan
29 Apr 2019

Great little bakery

Great Bakery, a little bit on the pricey side, especially for the cakes(400 - yen, very small) . Donuts are small, but delicious and 100 yen a piece. Waffles are fairly priced as well at 180 yen per waffle. Discount when buying in bulk.

Pros: All vegan bakery, Delicious taste

Cons: Cakes are pricey

JonnotheFusspot

Points +61

Herbivore
21 Mar 2019

The kinako utabou (yummy donut dough but different shape with sweet soybean flour for flavour) is amazing!

The kinako utabou (yummy donut dough but different shape with sweet soybean flour for flavour) is amazing, you have to try it.
Both my partner (Japanese) and me (kiwi) love it.
The store is very cute and staff are so friendly and sweet.
Well worth the trip but don’t leave it too late - they are sold out of most things before 5pm!

Pros: Yummy, All vegan, Good location

Cons: Popular so get there earlier if you want choice

docCK

Points +683

Vegan
25 Nov 2018

Yay for vegan bakery ! Made with rice instead of wheat! But oily and sugary(duh)

Yummy and good vegan ‘cheat’ snacks lol
Oily and sugary ... not for the health conscience
( FYI myself and partner became very constipated after eating 2 pieces each, unusual for us) be warned lol.

Pros: Vegan !, Rice flour !

Cons: Oily , Sugary , Constipating !

Keito26

Points +355

Vegetarian
11 Mar 2018

Good for on-the-go!

This bakery has no sitting room and is very small, basically only the display case and register with enough room for 2-3 people to stand in front of it. That said, the waffles are nice, soft with a pleasant after-taste. They’re not very large bakery items, but they’re good and definitely vegan. English explanations for the baked goods are available. I’d recommend getting something here if you’re on the run or to take home.

vegginjapan

Points +54

Vegan
02 Dec 2017

small bakery

Small bakery with a few options. We tried the chocolate waffle, and two of the donuts. Very tasty. They also offer smoothies and yogurt but i cant attest to the taste since i did not try this.

Pros: vegan options, easy access, affordable

Taiki

Points +169

Vegetarian
08 Mar 2017

Vegan sweets shop near Motomachi station

Cakes, waffles and donuts are all vegan. Instead of wheat flour, they use rice flour. Taste is very simple and nothing special, but their cheap price allows you to eat as much as you want!

AleBaba88

Points +64

Vegan
20 Nov 2016

sehr empfehlenswert

Diverse kleine vegane Leckereien. Jedes einzelne Stückchen erfreut den Gaumen mit Freude. Der Shop ist leicht zu übersehen, da er unscheinbar wirkt. Jedoch verpasst man etwas, wenn man den Shop nicht aufsucht? eine veganer Geheimtipp in Kobe.

Pros: alles Top




This page has been viewed 4664 times.