• Jimbo's Naturally

  • (11)
    6
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store

Large, privately owned natural food market with locations in the San Diego area. Well-stocked with everything one needs including fresh organic produce, vitamins and supplements, herbs, alternative care products, books, bulk foods, grocery, and more. Has a fresh juice bar, desserts case, and a deli that includes many vegetarian and some vegan dishes. Seating outside. Open Mon-Sun 9:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Jimbo's Naturally
Β© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by eric

PureVeganStarSevadar

Points +265

Vegan
06 Oct 2023

i had been inside jimbos in person when i lived in north county san diego CA area for a brief while. seemed plenty available for Vegans.

i had been inside jimbos in person when i lived in north county san diego CA area for a brief while. seemed plenty available for Vegans.

Large, privately owned natural food market with locations in the San Diego area. Well-stocked with everything one needs including fresh organic produce, vitamins and supplements, herbs, alternative care products, books, bulk foods, grocery, and more. Has a fresh juice bar, desserts case, and a deli that includes many vegetarian and some vegan dishes. Seating outside. Open Mon-Sun 9:00am-8:00pm.

Pros: i been inside jimbos in person when i lived near, seemed plenty available for Vegans., SoCaLi pacific coast great access2beaches4u2picnic

Cons: any meat, fish, fowl, eggs. also dairy/milk goop.

Advertisement

ScottReutter

Points +206

Vegan
14 Jan 2023

Tofu sandy

4 vegan options in the deli menu. I got the tofu sandwich and a side of vegan macaroni salad. Overall pretty good!

Kplant

Points +3964

Vegan
02 Jul 2022

Great store

I would drive an extra 10 minutes to go here before going to WFM. Delicious bakery with many vegan options front and center. Smoothies and juice bar. Stellar produce. Super clean... wonderful staff.

Pros: Lots of organic options

Cons: On the high side.

Santinod

Points +71

Vegan
06 Jul 2020

Great Organic grocery store

Good organic grocery store, plenty of fresh A grade produce, holistic care, Home & Kitchen Also some hemp / organic clothing. Always shop @ places like this if you’re vegan, organic or health conscious

Pros: Specify on Organic, Plenty of plant based foods, Food, Juice, deli, produce (vegan & organic)

Cons: Probably expensive to some

mirand3

Points +49

Vegan
17 Nov 2018

Pretty good

They have a lot of vegan options which is really cool! But i bought slices of vegan cake and it was really bad. the actual cake was decent but dry and the icing literally tasted like hay it was pretty gross.

Pros: lots of vegan options

Cons: some taste bad

Awake1234

Points +1069

Vegan
24 Sep 2018

Great spot with excellent selection

Lots of vegan options, and unique heath food items.

Pros: Great selection , Nice people, Tons of sales

lvhairdoc

Points +481

Vegan
17 Oct 2016

Lone Star Vegan House Made Sandwich

This is the best sandwich. I go there weekly for this delicious sandwich. It's a hot sandwich with lots of veggies and house made chipotle vegan mayo. The house made tofu is incredible. They also have the best ever house made coconut cake with chocolate ganache. To die for. Call ahead to make sure they have it. It's not always available.

Pros: lots of Vegan options

Cons: none

Moneyz

Points +465

Vegan
06 Dec 2014

Wide Variety

This store has a lot of vegan products around, reminds me of a not so corporate whole foods. They also have a deli section, and of a pretty good produce selection. A great store to stop by with many vegan options.

Pros: Variety, Big

Cons: Expensive

Gyan Penrose-Kafka

Points +44

Vegan
24 Mar 2014

Lots of organic produce, builk items; Dull deli

Jimbo's Naturally is a good store for fresh and local organic produce, refrigerated foods, and bulk foods.

I'm a vegan and whole grain kind of guy, so there are always lots of fresh organic fruits and vegetables to choose from and the bulk bins of organic grains, nuts, dried fruits, etc. bring joy to my heart. While Jimbo's is no "OB Peoples" (even though that's where he got his start,) it is convenient and complete and in the past 30 years, I've almost never been let down by the quality of the produce (and when I was, they promptly refunded or exchanged my purchase).

As with any brick-and-mortar store, it's a good idea to do some due-diligence around pricing for non-perishable products. Some times Jimbo's will have a great price on these products, and sometimes they will be significantly higher than can be purchased from an online store such as Vitacost.com.

The deli on the other hand seems oriented towards people who want dull, tasteless food, and with only a few exceptions, the baked goods don't satisfy either. It's a good thing that they give samples of anything you want to try so you don't end up spending a fist full of cash on a piece of cake or a hot food item only to be disappointed.

Thirty years ago, when I was shopping at OB Peoples, I got into the habit of thinking that "Health Food" stores wouldn't be selling meat. Of course, it's bee a long time since then and it's rare that any large natural foods store doesn't sell meat and Jimbo's is no exception. It's a bit ironic to think that in one isle the shelves are specifically stocked with "cruelty free" bodycare products and in another isle they sell slaughtered animals (Whether the animal lived a "happy" free-range life or not, it's hard to say that slaughter could in any way be "cruelty free.")

I must say that the majority of the cashiers at the Carlsbad store seem to be very demoralized. A few friends have worked there over the years and low pay, insignificant raises and long hours of standing were their chief complaints. At least Whole Foods provides their employees with a living wage, benefits and promotion opportunities.

I still shop at Jimbo's even though WF is closer to my house, mainly because of the organic produce and bulk items. I know that some of the other Jimbo's stores will give you a different experience.

Pros: Lots of organic produce, Wide selection of bulk items, Good variety

Cons: Bland deli food/baked goods, Low wages = unhappy employees

Chia

Points +3635

Vegetarian
27 Jan 2012

Excellent grocery, so-so deli

I had read about this place on happycow, and stopped in on a past trip enroute to San Diego. Here's my Jimbo's Naturally review.

This is one of several Jimbo's locations in the greater San Diego county area. I had been here once some years back.

This is a very large store. The fresh produce section featured many organic items, and all the shelves in the market were well-stocked with just about everything a vegetarian/vegan and health conscious person would want.

The deli, however, was a disappointment when I went (it may have improved since, please check for yourself) - not in choices but in food taste. The deli area was a good size with many choices of cold items, pre-packaged and ready to eat foods. Many vegetarian items, some vegan (clearly labeled). There is also a desserts section that featured many vegan baked goods. In addition there is a fresh juice bar.

My husband and I shared a cabbage cole slaw (fresh but acidic), a warm rice pilaf (while labeled vegan, it tasted and smelled like meat), a veggie wrap (okay). We also got a hummus trio that was tasty. We also took away some vegan baked goods (still awaiting sampling). I think the problem with the deli department is that the prep staff did not know or care to make the food right or good. They probably followed a set of recipes but had not the skill to taste and make sure that the food turned out good. That's a shame.

All the food and grocery prices seemed reasonable and inexpensive and cheaper than Whole Foods Market.

Pros: well-stocked, good prices, vegan-friendly

eric

Points +20035

Vegan
26 Feb 2009

Many Delicious Vegan Desserts at Jimbo's

The food and deli area has a desserts case that features many vegan options. I was impressed. I recently tried the vegan coconut chocolate cake, vegan brownie, and the almond cookie. All delicious. Go Jimbo's!




This page has been viewed 4907 times.