iVegan Supermarket

  • Vegan-store Veg Store
    ( 14 reviews )

Find

54, Wanlong St, Wenshan District, Taipei, Taiwan, 11675

愛維根蔬食超市 vegan grocery market est. 2014. Stocks a variety of foods, including fresh fruits and vegetables, frozen mock meats, vegan butter and mayonaise, some bakery goods, Loving Hut brand food products, health aids and even cosmetics and personal care range. Open Mon-Sun 9:00am-9:00pm.

14 Reviews

First Review by cj the taniwha

Mirage

Points +1925

Vegan
09 Nov 2019

For a specific group of people

iVegan is a very interesting place in that it is large and theoretically has many products but at the same time I came out almost empty handed every time. There are not many products here that cannot be bought in regular stores. It is probably a place mainly useful for people living nearby and tourists who do not want to wonder in a regular store whether a product has no animal ingredients. I have very mixed feelings about iVegan. On the one hand, I'm glad it exists, on the other it seems to me a very boring store. Still, the positive rating prevails that the products I chose were of good quality.

Pros: Almost only 100% vegan products in one place...

Cons: ...that is really boring

KhooHuiTheng

Points +170

Vegan
02 Apr 2019

Nice vegan supermarket to do groceries

Nice place to buy veggies, fruit, fake meat... Used to have vegan cheeses and cakes but not anymore, still my favorite supermarket though, go there almost every week.

jessika311

Points +1030

Vegan
05 Jan 2019

Agree with previous review.

Made a special trip over and felt that I could find most items at any regular grocery store. Saw no vegan butter, mayo, etc. did have lots of mock meats but a very limited supply of milk alternatives.

Advertisement

minhnguyen

Points +813

Vegan
31 Dec 2018

Overrated

I find this place overrated. When I was there, some products were out of stock. Veggies and fruits were not so fresh. Overall, very boring. I could even buy similar stuff at other local markets. And it's pretty far from the centre. Better if you live in that area.

TheMinimalistNinja

Points +265

Vegan
05 Sep 2018

Great grocery store for unpackaged fruit and vegetables!

iVegan supermarket is a store of decent size that only stocks vegan products. I was immediately drawn to their fruit and vegetable section. They stock heaps of different products and what really blew me away is their huge selection of unpackaged fruits and vegetables. It's huge! If you are looking for local specialties, fruits, vegetables or frozen mock meats then I highly recommend stopping by. Unfortunately, according to a handful of reviews here on Happy Cow, their personal care products appear not to be cruelty-free.

Pros: Unpackaged fruit and vegetables, Huge selection of vegetables

Eugene Nyunt.

Points +158

Vegan
22 Jun 2018

Comes to mind when I'm considering the cost

NIce, interesting store with vegan food products, particularly mock items in the freezer cabinets. Also stock more vegan pancakes than Carrefour. Their fresh produce is extensive and greater than Wellcome and Pxmart. Lots of tofu - guaranteed vegan, unlike a lot of other tofu in the above chains which contain egg - plus a small discounted refrigerated section. Lots of different tropical fruit, and only a short walk back around the corner from Wanlong MRT Exit 1.

Updated from previous review on 2018-06-22

Pros: Guaranteed vegan, Good variety of fresh leafy greens, Good pricing

Charlie.

Points +731

Vegan
24 Apr 2018

Is this a 100% vegan supermarket?!

I have my doubts like others if this is a 100% vegan supermarket. Well, it's quite a big supermarket with many products but I always end up buying very little things... However, will still choose to drop by to look around when I am in the area.

soulcmdx

Points +144

Vegan
13 Apr 2018

it's alright

Was really hoping to find vegan butter and some minor things I was missing but went in and any asked and they don't carry them anymore. Still, when your Mandarin skills are weak it's nice to go places where you know you can eat everything.

Backstab75

Points +114

Vegan
09 Apr 2018

ok but...

If you think that’s the place where you find Taiwanese versions of Alpro, Tofurky or similar it’s nothing like that. I guess for regular shoppers is a good place to stock up on buckwheat or noodles but for visitors there isn’t really much to buy. I got some vegan jerky and some yoghurt(I think) and that’s pretty much it. There’s plenty of stuff in freezer, mock meats and all that but if you’re on holidays like us I doubt you have a mini freezer with you.

HaileyPoLa

Points +1118

Vegan
14 Jul 2017

Not really vegan

The food is vegan, but personal care products are not all vegan as some brands test on animals. I've spoken to different staff at the store as well as on Facebook, but their response was that vegan, cruelty-free products which are mostly imported might be too expensive for their local customers in the neighborhood.

They also used to carry Earth Balance, Daiya, Tofutti, but I haven't seen those products for a while. There are some nice snacks, sauces, frozen vegan mock meats, breakfast cereal, bread, soymilk, and so on.

It's still worth checking out since the food is vegan and there are some nice local vegetables and fruits, but I think the name "iVegan" may confuse consumers who are seeking real, cruelty-free personal care products.

Pros: nice food options

Cons: not really vegan (personal care products)

Citizen Wren

Points +283

Mostly Veg
23 Jan 2016

good grocery store

I've been shopping here quite a bit, glad it is in the neighborhood.

peas-full

Points +1773

Vegan
17 Dec 2014

I have my doubts ...

I have my doubts ...
The supermarket is nice and full of products. I was very happy to shop here, until I reached the cosmetic section, where I found products from johnson&johnson, procter&gamble and other brand that surely test on animals.
Disappointing.
Also they do not accept credit card. Make sure to bring enough money.

Pros: many products, not particularly expensive

Cons: maybe not 100% vegan, cash only

dicer

Points +552

Vegan
28 Aug 2014

Great all vegan supermarket

We went there to look for vegan cheese, which is really hard to come by in Asia. Unfortunately they were sold out and are most of the time according to staff.
They have a huge selection of vegetables, most of them not organic though. Rest of the selection is quite extensive though. Basically like any other supermarket there is, just everything vegan. Be aware that this only extends to the ingredients though. Several products are from companies that do animal testing (like Colgate toothpaste).

Not a lot of imported things but you should be able to find most of things you are looking for.

Pros: All vegan, Covers all your daily needs

Cons: No organic produce

cj the taniwha

Points +71

Vegan
29 Apr 2014

Great Vegan Supermarket

Ivegan is amazing, it is the biggest vegan store I have ever been to and it has everything you would expect in a small supermarket, except everything is vegan. They have several large freezers full of everything from Daiya cheez to vegan butter, fake meat, dumplings and even ice cream cake and pizza ! They have bread from Fresh Bakery and products from Veggie Joy in Ximen as well. The fruit and vegetables are really cheap and they have a good little Indian grocery section as well. They have tons of snacks and candies and they have Loving Hut cheese cakes in there, but they seem to be sold out of those often, they are so tasty and cheap at 450NT it is no wonder. We like to combine a trip to Ivegan with a visit to the nearby About Animals. If you take the right exit from Wanlong station there are signs to Ivegan all the way. They take cash only but the staff are really friendly and nice. I wholeheartedly recommend it as a great place to shop.

Pros: Cheap prices, So much vegan stuff, Can do all your shopping in one place.

Cons: Not a lot of imported things - also pro, A bit out of the way

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Taipei Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has iVegan Supermarket closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 9060 times.