• House of the Rising Sun

  • (12)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Japanese
Beer/Wine
Asian
Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant and wine & cocktail bar. Has been reported that they have a separate vegan menu for lunch and dinner (as of October 2017, the vegan menu is not on the website). Open Mon-Tue 12:00-23:00, Wed-Thu 12:00-23:30, Fri 12:00-00:30, Sat 10:00-00:30, Sun 12:00-23:00.


12 Reviews

First Review by La1a

JimRojo

Points +482

Vegan
26 May 2023

Great food and decent choice

We've been here a couple of times and the food has always been great. Yes, it's quite expensive, and so for us, a visit here merits a special occasion. The vegan choices are great and there is ample to choose from. Recommended.

Advertisement

LauraHurley

Points +36

Vegan
01 Mar 2023

Incredible food

The menu has a great selection of vegan and vegetarian dishes. I had the oyster mushroom boa buns with a side of puri piri (I think that’s what it was called) both were just divine! I don’t live local to here but I shall certainly be back for more.
I also had the best virgin mojito that I’ve ever had before. Plus the other cocktails looked amazing.
The staff were super friendly too and couldn’t do enough for you.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Reasonably priced , Great atmosphere

Lauramoss_stylist

Points +26

Vegan
21 Oct 2022

Fantastic food

We really enjoyed our meal at the house of the rising sun. I had the sweet and sour tofu which was delicious with rice and sticky edamame. The vibe was so lovely there. There was loads of choice, a vegan menu, and vegan churros!

Jameskille

Points +3315

Vegan
20 Jul 2022

Super friendly service

We've been here before and every time we go back we're blown away but the uber friendly customer service, these guys really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable

Vegan options clearly labelled on the menus, see photos

Pros: Incredibly welcoming , Options clearly labelled , Loads of vegan choice

Nihaaaaalh

Points +238

Vegan
12 Dec 2021

Really nice food but could be more generous/affordable

Food was really nice but probably not worth the dollar. For example the fried aubergines were so incredibly delicious but it was £7 for 3 slices of battered aubergine.

The pani puri wasnt really pani puri - just stuffed pani puri balls - but still tasty.

Pros: Good few vegan options, Really amazing aubergine

Cons: Expensive, Dogs arent allowed indoors

emeliam

Points +178

Vegan
13 Nov 2021

Nice atmosphere. Good food

Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Food was all tasty. Sharing plates. Loved everything, especially sweet tofu

Pros: Clearly labelled vegan , Friendly staff, Nice atmosphere

SianyHinton

Points +50

Vegan
16 Sep 2021

Great vegan options, super tasty

Finally a non vegan restaurant that can cook Tofu properly!! The sweet and sour tofu was amazing. They have a “land” section on their menu which is all veggie and vegan. We had the falafel, dhal, katsu curry and sweet and sour tofu. Most sides are vegan too, and the chips were amazing! For puds we had the churros… they’re incredible. It’s not cheap but the food is very good and the staff are lovely.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Lovely staff, Really good tofu

Cons: Expensive , Small sharing portions

SallyHollister

Points +36

Vegan
30 Jan 2020

Great range of yummy vegan food

I went here with omni friends, everyone enjoyed their meal and said how amazing the food was.
Such a wide range of vegan options, the majority I ordered as I had to try it all.
Great prices. Friendly staff. Beautiful and clean restaurant.

I will definitely be coming again.

Pros: Great range of vegan food, Yummy

Cons: More vegan options in future

VelillaDeOswestry

Points +3375

Vegan
22 Feb 2019

Tasty but wouldnt pay full price

we got a 50% offer for veganuary so tried it out. Pretty nice food, and great value for money for when we went there but wouldnt pay their full prices for what it was. nice place and friendly staff, no real complaints

xycoa

Points +149

Vegan
13 Aug 2018

Some great vegan options

Been here a few times - great little restaurant!

Pros: Tasty food, Great atmosphere

Cons: Can be pricey, Portions a little small!

MannieRie

Points +52

Vegan
31 May 2018

Tasty options

Good vegan selection available- we asked for the separate menu. Was good service and the tofu katsu was very tasty (had to order rice as a side). Would go back again if we were back in Shrewsbury.

Pros: A separate vegan menu, Tasty food, Friendly service

Cons: Rice, chips etc to accompany is charged as a side

La1a

Points +285

Vegan
28 Oct 2017

Vegan friendly

This restaurant has a vegan menu available upon request. Nice selection of dishes available, some are tapas portions, so best to check with your server before ordering. My partner had the onion bhajis and tacos and I had the sweet and sour tofu, veggie gyozas and noodles... all absolutely delicious, the tofu particularly. All of the staff were so friendly and attentive, absolutely excellent service. Will definitely return!




This page has been viewed 2835 times.