Vegan-friendly
Chinese
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Asian
Taiwanese

Chinese restaurant located above Noodle Kingdom with access via a lift. Has vegetable dishes, stir frys, rice plates, and mock meats. Simple, pleasant decor. Re-opened following renovation, Dec 2016. Note that not all alcohol is confirmed to be vegan-friendly (wine is not vegan friendly. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-3:00pm, 5:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for Gong De Lin
© OpenStreetMap contributors

120 Reviews

First Review by KingKong

EdYan

Points +2536

Vegan
22 Jan 2024

Hong Kong style!

This is so HK style in that from the street you have no idea there's a restaurant, then you take a lift and the lift opens straight into the restaurant. Plus of course the food is basically Cantonese and that's a good thing. We enjoyed everything we ordered from an extensive and varied menu.
Nice, friendly service and the food came quickly.

Advertisement

Zanse

Points +44

Vegan
31 Dec 2023

Loads of choices

Look past the unprepossessing exterior and dodgy lift, and Gong De Lin is a gem. The service is friendly, the prices reasonable and the menu so extensive that it's genuinely difficult to choose from! The food is generally tasty and fresh. One thing I'd like to see changed is the labelling, however. While the menu assures customers that everything is vegetarian, egg and dairy are present in a few dishes, and it can be difficult to work out which ones (particularly the noodles). Otherwise, a great choice for dining out in Melbourne.

Pros: Huge variety

Cons: Labelling of non-vegan food could be clearer

fengmanyi

Points +360

Vegan
13 Dec 2023

Delicious food lots of options

Nice environment and extensive men. Food is delicious

HappyAussieDylan

Points +278

Vegan
11 Nov 2023

Great options

My girlfriend and I visited Melbourne march 2021 and found this little beauty tucked away in a building. Nothing fancy inside (normally a great sign) and the food was great without being mind blowing.

Got a few things but the vegan duck pancakes and sizzling beef was delicious. From memory pricing was good too. Will be back next time in Melbourne!

Pros: Heaps of options , Noodles were good too

JoanPrice

Points +46

Vegan
26 Oct 2023

Scrumptious and varied

We sampled 6 dishes (appetizers, "snacks," salads, dessert) and all were superb. I can't even tell you what we enjoyed most, because we were exclaiming about all of them. Such a varied menu - we wanted to stay until we got hungry again to try more. We enjoyed Gong De Lin so much that we're returning tomorrow!

Pros: Inventive, huge menu , Every dish was distinctive and delicious

Jopal

Points +11

Mostly Veg
19 Oct 2023

Large menu

I stopped in for lunch.
Large menu with loads of options. There were many mock meat options, which I don't eat. I prefer beans and lentils but these were few and far between.
Good place to bring someone starting out on a veg eating plan.
Service was friendly and the restaurant was spacious.
The food was OK.

MarleyTyler

Points +386

Vegan
15 Oct 2023

Lots of options

Came for lunch on a Saturday. Quite busy but plenty of space. Sat in a cosy booth. Greeted with friendly service. Ordered jasmine tea, vegetable pancake, noodles with vegetables and my partner had teppanyaki beef. Not quite what he expected but still tasty. Wanted to order the lychee ice cream but it’s not vegan.

EmmaZ

Points +869

Vegan
07 Sep 2023

Amazing Chinese place in Melbourne

Such a great place for a casual meal, it’s never a let down! The menu is massive and the food is so good. The sweet and sour pork is to die for.

BrittnyKsenic

08 Sep 2023

Happysoiboi

Points +1012

Vegan
21 Jul 2023

Yummo

Cute little place with lovely customer service. The chilli dumplings were delish!

jess!e97

Points +1048

Vegan
28 May 2023

Yummy dumplings

This place is such a cozy venue - the focus is really on the food which I love.
Service is great and attentive, although food wait times can be a little long for dumplings (~20mins).
Affordable too!

Kittybiscuit

Points +7469

Vegan
28 Apr 2023

Tasty food and generous servings

It’s been a few years since I came here and I was looking for a place to eat with some friends I used to work with in the cbd. The menu has a lot of options and it took some time to decide. In the end we decided to share some snacks and then have a main meal to ourselves. We shared the “goose” and some pan fried dumplings and the cucumber salad. I really enjoyed all of these options. Especially the goose. For my main I ordered a noodle soup with wontons. The wontons were really tasty and I liked the broth. Very generous servings. I had an oolong tea with rose which I wasn’t that impressed with.

Service was great and the staff were nice.

We were so busy talking I forgot to take photos.

YeyintAung

Points +58

Vegan
27 Mar 2023

Delicious every time!

Gong De Lin never disappoints. I’ve been there countless times over the years. I’m so happy it endured during the lockdowns. Delicious food, great atmosphere at an affordable price

Pros: Delicious food , Great atmosphere , Completely vegan

dailyy.ivy

Points +17

Vegetarian
25 Mar 2023

In love with this place

The food was really delicious. It’s hard to find a vegan Asian restaurant like this. Cant way to try again.

Pros: Wide range of vegan choice, The place is nice, has personal spaces, The food came out pretty quick, no long wait

Cons: Can be pricey, They do not have many staffs

Ilovemyfood!

Points +459

Vegan
14 Mar 2023

Huge menu!

This restaurant was recommended to me so I wanted to try it while I was visiting Melbourne. The menu was huge; appeared to have a very large quantity of mock meat dishes (something I rarely eat).

The vegetable spring rolls were nice but the teppanyaki hedgehog mushroom dish was AMAZING (hence the 4 stars) - so hot, spicy and flavoursome! I’d definitely return for the same dish again.

My non vegan friend enjoyed her lamb dish too but I can’t recall the exact dish she had.

The restaurant wasn’t particularly inviting and the staff although present, were inattentive. I feel if the customer service was better we would have definitely had dessert and additional drinks.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-14

Pros: Huge menu, Delicious teppanyaki hedgehog mushroom dish, Quick food service

Cons: Inattentive staff , No split bills

leannem

Points +84

Vegan
24 Feb 2023

can’t wait to go again

Ate there today, food was really good, can’t wait to go again.

Pros: Even meat eating friends loved it

novog1

Points +265

Vegan
28 Jan 2023

Chinese vegan

central location, great Chinese vegan food.

CallumBatchelor

Points +17

Vegetarian
24 Jan 2023

Delicious food

Really great food. Large selection.

The chicken was SLIGHTLY over cooked so it went from crispy to crunchy but still delicious. Only reason it's not 5 stars. #Veganuary

ilikevegg

Points +341

Vegan
15 Jan 2023

Decent food interesting vibes

Good place to go when you want a quick and satisfying vegan meal. I do get concerned the elevator is going to break down when I visit. Nonetheless I still go.

Summerrrrrrr

Points +36

Vegan
06 Dec 2022

Yummmmmy

I tried the sweet and sour pork with rice which was tasty and only$15 😍

daniel__ka

Points +892

Vegan
04 Dec 2022

Nice Chinese vegan restaurant.

A nice vegetarian option in Melbourne. Pretty average food and a simple place, but good food, with an Authentic Chinese flavor.
I see here on Happy Cow that the place is vegetarian but the waiter told us that they are fully vegan.
They have mock meat and mock seafood options and a big variety of veganised Chinese dishes.
The servicie and cleanliness could be improved.

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-30

Tiggy

03 Dec 2022

They’re not actually fully vegan. They offer dairy ice cream as an option and serve alcoholic beverages that are not vegan.

daniel__ka

04 Dec 2022

Oh, good to know! Thanks for the comment. We were not sure why they were not listed as vegan.

Plume5085

Points +764

Vegetarian
27 Nov 2022

Vegan pecking duck

Small cozy place with excellent food, especially dumplings and mock duck.

florconfa

Points +630

Vegan
18 Nov 2022

Fav Fav Fav

Come here as much as I can, wish their store in box hill was still open. Food tastes amazing every time and I love everything they have. Definitely recommend coming here and eating all the food. Dumplings are amazing.

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-18

Pros: all vegan :)), yummy food

Cons: A little pricy

Vix333

Points +768

Vegan
29 Jul 2022

Good food, but not all vegan!

Love this place and the vegan sweet and sour pork is divine! But although many websites and reviews say this is fully vegan, it's not. We nearly ordered a desert with ice-cream, luckily the waitress told us it wasn't vegan as we hadn't even thought to ask. Great otherwise though!

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-25

Pros: Delicious, Almost all vegan, lots of choice

Cons: Ice-cream not vegan

Siconze

Points +106

Vegan
28 Jul 2022

Gong 'em

Good location, although the elevator is slow and very small so it may take a few trips of people travelling up and down till you can fit. The staff were fairly rude with seating us and taking our order, and we saw them treat others similarly.
The food was nice enough, but everything was oily and had too much sugar. It was more like fast food than a nice fresh restaurant meal.
Would recommend going across the river to Vegie Kitchen instead.

Cons: Uncomfortable vibe, Unfriendly staff

EmmaJqne

Points +418

Vegan
27 Jun 2022

Best Vegan Chinese

So happy I found this hidden gem in the city! There is a huge selection of meals including mock meats, mushrooms, tofu and more. My favourite is the ‘Sweet and Sour Pork’ - delicious!

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-21

Bonnipan

Points +114

Mostly Veg
29 May 2022

Yummy

Ordered three dishes, it took a while for the food to come out. Two were cold dishes, the third one was supposed to be hot but came out luke warm, otherwise everything tasted good. I was especially excited they had the vego version of "happy couple" (夫妻肺片 - spicy sliced beef and beef offal) using mushroom/fungi. It was one of my fav cold dishes before I stopped eating meat and this really hit the spot.

Pros: Good range of Chinese dishes, "happy couple" 夫妻肺片 was a highlight, Food was delicious

Cons: Slow service, Hot food came out lukewarm

aashkat

Points +558

Vegan
08 May 2022

Average food

Food is average, not special. Good and fast customer service. The dishes I ordered were ok not amazing especially the soup! The soup from main menu was terrible! Just noodles no veggies at all and the broth tasted not fresh!




This page has been viewed 39836 times.