Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
British
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. A hut on the beach front mainly serving fish sandwiches but has a number of vegan dishes. Includes crispy tofu in a bap or with a salad, with or without chips. Also does hot drinks, wine and beer. Open Mon-Sun 09:00-17:00.


Venue map for Goat Ledge
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by Rosa and Joe

kae76

Points +45

Vegetarian
24 Nov 2023

A delightful spot, busy and full of beach fun

It was very busy, but the food we ordered was delivered reasonably quick, hot and with a smile.

A great beachy vibe and a brilliant atmosphere!

The choices seemed to be good. (I'm doing the review a few months later than our visit in September, so I'm a little vague!)

Advertisement

OliviaR.Brito

Points +48

Vegan
10 Aug 2023

Good Vegan options

Really tasty vegan paella -better than in Spain.
Vegan sundae and ice cream.
The Greek salad was also yummy and had vegan feta cheese.

Get there early as paella sells out quick!

Pros: Flavoursome paella , Good vegan options

Jemmaceg

Points +795

Vegan
02 Jun 2023

What a great place

The world needs more of these. Fab colourful spot with a small but complete food menu and stacks of drinks. The vegan burger was a taste sensation. Only a few vegan options but delicious! Couldn’t believe how quick our food was given the length of the queue, service was good and beers were great. Go here!

nicolathomas

Points +637

Vegan
19 Jul 2022

Tasty- lovely location

I had a vegan tofu burger. Had delicious aoli sauce in.

Beautiful beach front location!

It's not cheap though.

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-19

mattdeacy

Points +50

Vegan
13 Mar 2022

Would give 5 if I could

So delicious, had the vegan sunrise and it was the perfect start to the day. Quick, friendly service with great coffee too. Will be back again and again!

pmuffy

Points +66

Vegan
03 Jan 2022

Great Venue. Lovely Staff. Dog Friendly.

Tasty tasty Vegan Sunrise. Tempeh Bacon with tomato, chilli jam, chive mayo and a hash brown in a bap. Fabulous venue at anytime of the day. Especially welcoming after a dip in the sea.

Pros: Good menu. Great coffee, Lovely staff, Great value

SequinSkull

Points +72

Vegan
03 Dec 2021

Overpriced

The venue is fabulous - bright and cheerful, chill music, sea view, and a mix of lovely huts and outdoor tables and deck chairs. However the options are so expensive for what you get, and aren’t particularly flavoursome. I had really tasteless tempeh and fairly bland tofu on a bap. Need to make more effort. Would give 2.5 stars for the food.

G4bi

Points +46

Vegan
20 Aug 2021

Epic food on the beach

Such a quirky place right on the beach! We had a tofu roll and katsu fries, super tasty! Two additional huts next door serving alcoholic drinks and ice cream (not sure if there were vegan ice cream options).

drlj

Points +610

Vegan
19 Sep 2020

Great tofu bap on the beach

We were here on a perfect summer day and really enjoyed the crispy tofu bap, incl the pickles. Nive beach front cafe in a location with very few vegan options.

Pros: Great crispy tofu , Well labelled menu, Right on the beach

Cons: Serves fish/meat, Limited vegan options , Not the fastest service

Alizef138

Points +40

Vegan
28 Aug 2020

Delicious tofu bap

Really tasty and great coffee, slightly pricy but it is in on the beach, and the food was really delicious.

Pros: Fresh tasty vegan option , Fairly quick service even when busy

Cons: Slightly pricy

NicolaMiller

Points +18

Vegan
04 Aug 2020

Given fish instead of tofu - complaint ignored

I came here for the first time last Tuesday. After driving home and biting I to my roll realised I had been given fish.... So did my partner.
Accidents happen so I sent Goat Ledge a nice message asking for a refund as 2 out of the 3 vegan rolls we ordered we fish. I sent photos to show the error and details of my order so they could process my refund quickly.
I had to chase them twice even though I could see they had read my messages. After a week of contacting them, they had the cheek to still charge me for the 1 vegan roll I had received (which 3 of us had to share).
If you go here make sure you check your food is vegan before you actually bite into it! It is the first time in 4 years I have eaten animal products and I have still been charged for this honour! All would have been forgiven if they had dealt with my complaint well and refunded our money swiftly. I don't think they care at all that it is actually a big deal when you have made such a commitment this life style. I find it shocking as I know they have at least 2 passionatly vegan staff.
I am local and love supporting small local companies HOWEVER I will not be going back and would not recommend to other vegans.

Cons: Served fish instead of tofu , Complaint not handled well - feel ignored

J.P.

Points +512

Vegan
20 Nov 2019

Seaside Satisfaction!

We ate here in the Summer. Beach seating with fabtastic food! The Vegan bap and salad was absolutely perfect! I can't wait to come back for a visit. Thank You

SimonNeaves

Points +13

Mostly Veg
17 Sep 2019

Awesome

Great beach vibe an good food with yummy vegan options.

Pros: Yummy vegan and options

Rosa and Joe

Points +469

Vegan
10 Sep 2018

crispy tofu by the sea

Lovely and very popular new beach hut cafe, focused on fish but with prominent labelled vegan options: crispy tofu bap or crispy tofu salad, both of which can be with pickles, guacamole, vegan mayonnaise. Been there twice and had the bap and salad, both fantastic, and the tofu really is crispy. Chips fine but nothing special (fries rather than proper chips). Nice people though they always seem rushed off their feet, bear in mind it's small and popular and you may need to wait a while. There are seats indoors in the hut or outside on the beach or prominade. Gun brewery beer on tap, which is local and we believe vegan. Also does soft drinks, tea, coffee etc. Great addition to Hastings vegan options!

Pros: delicious crispy tofu, amazing location, good condiments

Cons: mainly fish, not great chips




This page has been viewed 3242 times.