Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
British
Catering

Established 1981 a vegetarian restaurant offering both lacto-vegetarian (dairy) as well as some vegan options. Open Mon-Sun 09:00-22:00.


Venue map for Food For Friends
© OpenStreetMap contributors

130 Reviews

First Review by Foxtrot

FraanBütler

Points +112

Vegan
24 Feb 2024

Top quality food

My Wellington exceeded expectations. Great menu, wish I could've ordered it all!

Pros: Fully vegan menu, Convenient location , Was worth every penny!

Advertisement

Carolinaghan

Points +231

Vegan
29 Dec 2023

Outstanding

Easily in the top five best meals I’ve ever had. The food was amazing, the staff were lovely, and the atmosphere was great. I can’t fault anything about this place. I’m so looking forward to going back to Brighton just so I can go back here. We bought a bunch of different starters, mains and desserts, and then shared them all together as a family. So that we could all try a bit of everything. There wasn’t one thing any of us didn’t like.

LoraLondon

Points +187

Vegan
15 Nov 2023

Delicious food

Took my partner here for a birthday meal and the food certainly lived up to expectations. The menu is almost all vegan (they should just go fully vegan!) and though it is quite a small menu, everything we tried was delicious. This was my second visit and in my opinion, the Small Plates are the most interesting so I recommend getting a few of these with some sides and sharing it all!

Pros: Gorgeous food, Friendly staff

Cons: Menus are printed way too small!, Music playlist was a bit naff

RoseAston

Points +285

Vegan
23 Oct 2023

Bit expensive but worth it

The presentation and taste of this food was 🤌 everything was absolutely delicious. Two of us had a main and desert each - it came to £60 with us drinking tap water, so not cheap but it is a really lovely place.

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-23

jojo1964

Points +30

Vegan
17 Oct 2023

Perfect !

Lovely setting …. Cosy but felt special for an evening meal . Good lighting , lots of plants , white linen tablecloths all added to the ambience !
Good service and a choice of vegan options amongst those with cheese ! Food had lots of layers of taste and beautifully presented .
Good selection of organic wines .
( only downside was the toilets which could do with more regular checks but won’t let that spoil a lovely experience . Would definitely recommend.)

Pros: Ambience , Vegan choices , Taste and presentation

Cons: Toilets , Some choices already gone by 8pm

AliceManchip

Points +864

Vegan
02 Sep 2023

Lovely meal

Ate here for a birthday meal - staff were lovely. Food was lovely however slightly expensive, nevertheless good restaurant for a special occasion. Staff were lovely - really good customer service

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-02

healthyheidi

Points +58

Vegan
30 Aug 2023

absolutely love this place

I’ve been to food for friends multiple times now, normally for special occasions! The menu is basically 95% vegan and It’s so great to go to a restaurant where i’m able to eat most of the menu, because i’m vegan, but also because my allergies restrict my options even more. I went for my mums birthday and i got a delicious pasta dish with a pesto garlic bread to start. The one thing is would say is that they change their menu often and the second time i went they didn’t have the dessert available that i loved the first time i went.

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-30

Pros: sat in a lovely booth

Clang

Points +47

Vegan
06 Aug 2023

Delicious Dinner

Food for Friends is probably my favourite restaurant in Brighton. The menu is 95% vegan and they change it frequently (general exception being a cheese course). I had mushroom bao buns and a Thai tofu salad, followed by creme brulee. Service was sensitive and not rushed, nor were they too busy. The atmosphere was relaxed and cosy. The food was delicious, flavours well-balanced and presented beautifully.

Harrington

Points +120

Vegan
16 Jul 2023

Good Variety and Options

Food was lovely and our waiter Daisy was friendly and helpful in describing menu items. Food was a little slow but nothing to really complain about as it was a busy Saturday! Would definitely come back :)

NicoleLG

Points +56

Vegan
29 May 2023

Great vegan food and wine

Such a great opportunity to eat really good fresh and interesting food in a lovely setting. Only let down was service was patchy and staff although friendly didn’t know much about food or wine.

Pros: Lots of delicious vegan options , Fresh and diverse dishes, Lovely location and decor, outdoor seating

Cons: Service was inexperienced

Vickylin

Points +324

Vegan
20 May 2023

Romantic evening

Was a little anxious after reading some of the reviews on here and as the menu didn't excite me initially but really wanted to give this a go as only seem to eat junk food out or Indian food. Well I was impressed anyway. Yes it wasn't exotic it was Bread, olives, pasta that we had but the service was first rate as were the flavours and I thoroughly enjoyed my meal. The price would prevent me doing it often though.

Pros: Well presented, Great service

Cons: Expensive

GlenKlean

Points +61

Vegan
10 May 2023

Holiday in Brighton

The service was second to none and the options they have are well thought out

Pros: Atmosphere , Plate design, Flavours

Cons: Corn ribs need to be cooked a little more

RhiannonMay

Points +513

Vegan
07 May 2023

Pretty cool

Food was tasty and presented nicely. Would probably go again but a little pricey!

Pros: Tasty, Lots of options

Cons: Little pricey

niamh_connolly

Points +33

Mostly Veg
22 Apr 2023

Lots of options, my meal was ok

Lots of interesting options, would have liked to try more. The waiter told me the starters were small, but really 2 starters would have been enough for me instead of a starter and main! The cabbage starter was quite nice, but I found my main (beetroot-based with potato croquettes) a bit bland. The floor felt like it was vibrating and the service was ok, but I was sitting near Bob Odenkirk which was a thrill :-)

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-22

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Seems a bit expensive

joomsy

Points +287

Vegan
11 Mar 2023

No attention to detail

Unfortunately attention to detail wasn't there and I left disappointed

Corn ribs were so salty, cauliflower bites were bland. Lemonade was sickly sweet.
The waiter didn't seem to know what any of the specials and seemed really disengaged.

I found it odd that the bathroom had Aesop dispensers but refilled a supermarket soap...

Being the longest running veg/vegan establishment in Brighton I was excited to finally try this place but it just didn't live up to them expectations.

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-12

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Bland and too salty foods, Poor service

RachelCruickshank

Points +685

Vegan
06 Mar 2023

Delicious, modern, inventive

The restaurant itself is nicely decorated and cosy; and in a great location. The menu is very nearly entirely vegan, with a couple of options to add cheese. All of the dishes sound divine and modern and inventive.

Pros: Almost entirely vegan , Delicious food, Gorgeous presentation (instagrammable)

AmyKateLeese

Points +217

Vegan
25 Nov 2022

Dreamy

Really interest menu options and everything I had was absolutely delicious. Will absolutely be going back!

·X·

Points +17321

Vegan
12 Sep 2022

Food for Friends

I ate here about a year ago during the pandemic when most places were closed, so I was very thankful this restaurant was open so I could have a vegan meal. I ordered the burger here and I remember feeling a bit regretful about that choice because it was OK and a bit dry. My partner’s dish was leaps and bounds better, which you could see on the opposite side of the table in my photo. I definitely would eat here again but will order something other than the burger.

Avidi

Points +267

Vegan
17 Aug 2022

A very nice place

Food was really nice and service very good. A little bit on the pricier side but it was really tasty and a good experience.

Pros: Tasty food and cocktails

Cons: Bit pricy

LeviMann

Points +159

Vegan
23 Jul 2022

Tasty food and good service

Both of of courses were very tasty and it was a great place for dinner overall with lost of vegan options

kathylee

Points +165

Vegan
13 Jul 2022

Always delivers

We’ve visited Food for Friends on numerous visits to Brighton and it has adapted to the change in veg tastes over the years. We had small plates and they were huge! Really tasty especially the corn ribs and the cauliflower. Make sure you’re hungry!

Pros: Lots of vegan choice, Handy position in Brighton

zoebarnes77

Points +626

Vegan
11 Jul 2022

Nice atmosphere

We visit here due to its reputation and we wanted to try a sit down veggie restaurant for a change from the norm.

The restaurant is lovely inside with a nice atmosphere (the toilets could do with an upgrade).

The menu provides lots of options for vegans and most things can be made vegan. We opted for the bread, bao buns, burger and the ramen.

The bread portion was huge tasty and enough to feed 4. The bao buns were tasty but the buns themselves slightly soggy so difficult to pick up. The burger was a 7/10, but being spoiled we normally have beyond burgers which are a 10/10. The ramen was huge and elements of it were lovely eg the tofu and the omni pork but other than that it was quite bland.

We would like to visit again and try some of the other options as the service and venue were excellent.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Service , Venue

Cons: Expensive, A little bland

michaelamareep

Points +289

Mostly Veg
13 Jun 2022

Pleasant Experience, Food Okay

Enjoyable evening with friendly service surrounded by nice decor and with a fab cocktail menu. The food was nice and very beautifully presented, but I found the menu a little limited in options and, though pleasant, the food wasn't anything to particularly write home about.

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-13

Pros: Vegetarian and vegan restaurant only , Nice decor, Good cocktail menu

Cons: Food okay

AnnaFenton

Points +2203

Vegan
06 May 2022

Amazing

Can't fault. Lovely restaurant and everything Ive tried here has been 10/10m really recommend

Happycolour

Points +228

Vegan
29 Mar 2022

Pleasant veggie/vegan spot!

A well established vegetarian / vegan restaurant with a long standing history in Brighton. Varied menu. Had the frittata as the main which was well seasoned and presented. Enjoyed the winter pudding with toffee sauce for dessert. Certainly a 'healthier' option in Brighton as opposed to the many junk food places around. Definitely try it!

Pros: Lovely ambience , Well presented dishes

Cons: Not fully vegan

KushalMalde

Points +155

Vegan
29 Mar 2022

Nice sit-down veggie place

A well-decorated veggie restaurant in Brighton with some flavoursome dishes. Had the frittata which was nice. Also had the winter spiced toffee pudding which was great! Staff were nice. Quite pricey though

Pros: Nice sit down place, Friendly staff

Cons: Slightly pricey, Wider range of vegan options / fully vegan menu

TortugaBlava

Points +321

Vegan
22 Feb 2022

Tasty healthy food

Lovely place with good healthy food and loads of variety on the menu. Some dishes we liked better than other (didn't always agree on which ones though!).

Definitely great option if you're not looking for one of the too many vegan junk food options that Brighton has to offer.

Slightly more upmarket in pricing though. But value for money in our opinion.

Pros: Healthy tasty food, New creative dishes, Nice atmosphere




This page has been viewed 23481 times.