• eS Bar

  • (23)
    29
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Mediterranean
Beer/Wine
Mexican
Fusion
Spanish
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican Tapas & Craft Beer Bar. Has a separate Vegan menu with options such as enchiladas, tacos, nachos, onion rings, garlic bread, salads, Mediterranean veg stew and sea salt chilli. Open Mon 17:00-23:00, Tue-Fri 17:00-00:00, Sat 16:00-00:00, Sun 17:00-23:00.


Venue map for eS Bar
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by John4703

matthew.Waller

Points +49

Vegan
29 Sep 2023

Fantastic Vegan Options

We had four tapas between two of us. The food was fantastic. Music great and service fantastic.

Pros: Food , Drinks, Music

Advertisement

Katherinealex

Points +116

Vegan
28 Sep 2023

Delicious food, great atmosphere and lovely staff

Food was delicious. Separate vegan menu with loads of dishes on it. Great atmosphere and stafd lovely. Would definitely go here again

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Decent price, Lovely staff

SamKensett

Points +28

Vegan
21 Aug 2023

Seperate Vegan Menu

There is a dedicated vegan menu with plenty of options. I had a vegetable enchilada with vegan cheese, and nachos topped with refried beans, vegan cheese, and salad. Everything was delicious and service was extremely friendly.

Pros: Vegan menu , Delicious food , Friendly staff

Cons: Beers were not labelled vegan on the menu

Mandalou

Points +32

Vegan
17 May 2023

Would give 5 stars if I could

Only allows 5 stars if fully vegan, but it’s definitely 5 stars for me, great food great staff great beer and a lovely atmosphere. A firm favourite when in Keswick

Pros: Full vegan menu, Vegan beers, Lots of options

Cons: None

Jono_le_vegan

Points +122

Vegan
05 Feb 2023

Top Spot

The tapas options were fantastic all round, but the highlight of the evening was the delicious dessert! Something that is also wonderful is the variety of vegan options available (so make sure to ask for the vegan menu!)

If you have a sweet tooth and are looking for a great time, don't miss out on Es Bar!

Pros: Wonderful staff , Delicious options, Incredible dessert

lakesvegan

Points +36

Vegan
20 Aug 2022

Ask for a vegan menu

They have soooo many vegan options. Althought make sure you ask for a separate vegan menu. Food is always great, reliable and tasty. Service is always spot on as well. Mostly tapas so great if you have a group where some are more hungry than others. Prices are very reasonable. Also amazing cocktails although these are more pricey!!

Pros: Lots of vegan choice (but ask for vegan menu), Amazing food, Very reasonable prices

Cons: Sometimes hard to get a table

Nina88

Points +491

Vegan
02 Jul 2022

Great vegan menu!

So pleasantly surprised by their vegan menu and delicious food! Really the best mexican food we’ve had in Europe, who would’ve thought, in a little town like Keswick! They’ve got vegan desserts too. Highly recommend.

dvb124

Points +202

Vegan
26 Jun 2022

Nice atmosphere.

Friendly venue with nice staff. Quite a range of fancy cocktails and so on. Vegan wines clearly labelled on the list. It’s a fairly simple menu for the vegan Tapas options but I enjoyed the enchiladas - they had a decent chilli kick. It’s a good bar to just have a drink and chill out too.

JillCannonJones

Points +128

Vegan
06 May 2022

Extensive vegan menu

A really good vegan menu. It is a tapas restaurant so they recommend you order around 5 dishes between two. None of the dishes are meant to be a standalone main dish.
We had onion rings with guacamole and salsa, garlic bread with olives, vegan cheese and sun-dried tomatoes, enchiladas and a lovely salad. This was loads of food for two hungry people and was all really, really good.

tofu_panda

Points +430

Vegan
29 Oct 2021

Average

Dined here after reading reviews on HC. Friendly service and bespoke vegan menu.
I had the enchilada which was ok after a long day walking. But could do with more filling.
Also ordered the potatas bravas, expecting a traditional dish. Instead was just fried chunks of potatoes covered in ketchup and mayo. Hence, a drop in star rating. Overall thought it was overrated.

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-29

Pros: Vegan menu

Cons: Loud music inside

GogsDavies

Points +91

Vegan
02 Aug 2021

Amazeballs

First off, they have a separate vegan menu. It's not in the window so don't be put off if you don't see it.

Ordered Padron Peppers and Garlic Bread as a sort of starter. The GB was the best vegan one I've had. Then vegan enchiladas as the main. First time having it since being vegan. It was to die for.

Had a beer but the vegan wines are identified on the menu.

Definitely worth booking in advance.

LauraWoodhead

Points +189

Vegan
28 Oct 2020

An absolute delight

Cosy little place with really friendly staff. Lots of choice on the vegan menu, would highly recommend the special garlic bread with olives and sun dried tomatoes. Would give a 5/5 if I could!

xxjjnn

Points +22

Vegan
08 Nov 2019

Amazing food!

Nice staff, quick food, vegan cheese

SpongeBev

Points +49

Vegan
30 Sep 2019

If you are vegan you are in for a treat

Wonderful tapas bar where they have a separate vegan menu and wines. Fantastic variety, tastes and portions. Well worth a trip

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Fabulous atmosphere, Great decor

Cons: None

DanH

Points +511

Vegan
22 Aug 2019

Nice place. Friendly service. Great vegan and veg options

Is a smallish place and was busy. So had to wait a little bit. Has a seperate vegan menu and also has some vegan wine and other beverages. Almost everything we had was very good. The began nachos were very good and the special 'loaded garlic bread' (vegan), was excellent. The vegan pallella was a bit disappointing, mushy and bland Friendly service and staff and food good. Would recommend.

Pros: Seperate vegan menu. , Few vegan drink options.

racheyroo

Points +48

Vegan
01 Jul 2019

The most delicious tapas!!!!!

Oh my god the nachos.... pulled pork.... vegan cheese guacamole...., yes please!!!!
Delicious tapas and good size portions

Pros: Good vegan menu, The best nachos , Dog friendly

Cons: None!

AnnaDarke

Points +52

Vegan
02 Apr 2019

Really nice

Great little place, nice food, cute decor, friendly staff, knowledge on vegan beer

Pros: Vegan menu , Tasty food, Good vegan alcohol

John4703

Points +305

Vegan
10 Dec 2018

A great wee place

We had tapas from the vegan menu. It was hard to decide what to choose as everything on the vegan menu looked good.
We chose four tapas between the two of us and enjoyed every one of them. They were not served at the same time which meant that we enjoyed a journey through the range of delicious dishes.
The wine and tequila were also excellent.
The service was first class and the place was warm and welcoming.
I wrote that in March 2018 and since then we have been back a few times and every time we gave had great food and service.

Pros: A good vegan menu with lots of choice

ElizabethCostello

Points +36

Vegan
24 Oct 2018

Decent tapas and great craft beer

Cozy and friendly bar with dining upstairs if prefer. Separate vegan menu always makes me happier as demonstrates their understanding and motivation. Great craft beer and lots of lovely dogs in the bar!

fourdee

Points +20

Vegan
17 Aug 2018

Incredible

Thank you eS bar, me and my partner came in to eat last night, staff so friendly some vegan themselves, we had tapas and all food was just incredible. Thank you for being here in Keswick.

Pros: Amazing food , Friendly and helpful staff, Chilled and relaxing atmosphere

Matt&Kim

Points +46

Vegan
31 Jul 2018

Separate Vegan Menu in Ambleside and Keswick

We ate at two Bar eS restaurants while staying in the Lake District -- the original location in Keswick and the recently opened one in Ambleside. Both offer a separate vegan menu which was very welcome, and there were some delicious tapas available, including patatas bravas, Mexican bean stew and a special garlic bread with sun blushed tomatos and roasted peppers. There were also two vegan mains, which we didn't have a chance to try. The vegan menu also states that vegan wine and beer options are available. Both locations would be ideal for lunch, dinner or having drinks in the evening.

Pros: Helpful staff, Separate vegan menu

Cons: None

PaigeGraham

Points +58

Vegan
12 Jul 2018

vegan food is amazing

The vegan dishes at es are super delicious, 10/10 would recommend!

GabbieBird

Points +15

Vegetarian
11 Jun 2018

Wonderful place with plenty for vegetarians

Brilliant atmosphere plus lots of variety for vegetarians and totally delicious! Not a huge range for vegans but some wonderful dishes and it’s such a delight to spend an evening here.

Pros: Lots of vegetarian options , Excellent wine menu , Lovely staff




This page has been viewed 4725 times.