Lacto
Ovo
International
Costa Rican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. A 12-room economically-priced hotel in downtown with cafe. Menu offers various local dishes plus veggie sushi, veg curry, salads, fruit smoothies and juices. Ask for your coffee or smoothie to be made with plant milk (like coconut milk). Nightly movies shown. Open Mon-Sun 7:00am-9:00pm. Open Mon-Sun.


Venue map for Sano Banano
© OpenStreetMap contributors

28 Reviews

First Review by teal_ocean

VeganNatascha

Points +1178

Vegan
19 Feb 2024

Beste Option für veganes Frühstück

Zum veganen Frühstücken ist das Sano Banano sicher die beste Option in Montezuma. Es gibt Bowls und ein paar andere Gerichte. Ich hatte eine Bowl und das traditionelle Frühstück, beides war gut. Die Smoothies sind sehr gut!
Ich hatte auch eine Bohnensuppe und die veganen Sandwiches mit Patanones und Avocado, musste etwas nachwürzen, ansonsten war beides gut.
Das Curry mit Gemüse und Tofu kann ich allerdings nicht empfehlen, es war sehr dad und die Soße hatte eine komische Konsistenz.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-19

Advertisement

vegan_goddess

Points +49

Vegan
10 Feb 2023

Beautiful setting, great food

This place is a real find in a town that doesn't have much vegan food. Vegan and vegetarian items are clearly marked. The food was delicious and their outdoor eating area is beautiful. I had the tofu scramble and the coconut espresso chiller milkshake (both vegan). My husband had the breakfast burrito (vegetarian). We enjoyed both. Friendly service too.

Pros: Great food, Friendly service, Nice outdoor patio

Stargazing.Fairy

Points +275

Vegan
08 Feb 2023

Beautiful place 🙏

Have quite a lot of vegan options and the loveliest garden in the back... They also sell some really good vegan chocolate 🤤 the fried plantanins did lack a bit of seasoning so i added salt but it was still very delicious 🙏☺️

JamesFiasco

Points +123

Vegan
11 Aug 2022

Tasty and big portions

I had the vegan fajitas and patacones on the side and my wife had the Zuma bowl. Everything was delicious - really great flavours, not too oily and big portions. If you like plantain I really recommend the patacones.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Big portions, Nice staff

RiodePajaros

Points +97

Vegan
03 Aug 2022

Great for vegan food

My favorite in Montezuma! I never have to worry about Sano Banano because the vegan options are clearly marked and the staff knows the difference between vegan and vegetarian (which was an issue at other restaurants).
The portions are big! And there are gluten free options available.
They also have a list of vegan milkshakes that are delicious.
The staff is so friendly and helpful, making me want to hang out there!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Staff ensures items are vegan, Healthy food

Vegeads

Points +376

Vegan
14 Mar 2022

Would give 5 stars if I could

They had many vegan options. I got the vegan fajitas which were soooooo good. I'm sad I'm not in Montezuma anymore because I can't get them right now. I'd highly recommend them.

For breakfast I had a delicious green smoothie along with the tofu scramble. It may not be what you're expecting by tofu scramble, but it was delicious. It was essentially silken tofu with tomatoes and basil. The flavor was excellent.

Service can be slow, but it's Costa Rica, so I'm not sure what else you'd expect. Everyone was very friendly.

LeanneSarahThompson

Points +56

Vegan
25 Jan 2022

Many vegan options!

Came here for lunch and great to see various vegan options, all clearly labelled. Many more vegetarian options that can also be made vegan too.
Sadly they had no rice paper for the spring rolls, but had the vegetarian Casado and iced latte with their own homemade coconut milk.
Good for meat eaters too and super friendly. Reasonably priced for the Costa Rican typical dishes.
Lovely outdoor area right out at the back.

VersaceSim

Points +286

Vegan
31 Dec 2021

Don’t go anywhere else!

Great food, service and environment! Came back here for lunch and dinner. Selling points:
- amazing service! (Some of the best I’ve had in CR)
- lovely environment and outdoor patio area
- many many options!
- great for vegetarians and vegans! (Meat options also good)
- great drinks
-very reasonable prices-good quality and healthy!

Don’t waste your time and just go here if you are in Montezuma!

Pros: Fast and good service , Many vegan options , Prices are great

Cons: Good for vegetarians, very decent for vegans

journey.with.jaimie

Points +321

Vegan
25 Dec 2021

Great food!

Chill colorful vibe. The menu marked for vegan and vegetarian options. There are a lot! I got the Plantain Bread Sandwich which was so good (who knew you can make plantain into bread slices!?) and the spring rolls which were your basic tasty spring rolls. The sandwich was a huge portion! The banana colada was amazing I could easily of had many more of those... Clearly blended with real bananas. I would happily come back here.

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-25

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Delish Cocktails, Friendly vibe and service

soulwash

Points +90

Vegan
15 May 2021

Good for when hungry :)

The place is good for a quick lunch. I had the tofu scrable and the green bowl. Both dishes were nothing fancy but it got the job done :)

Pros: Vegan options labelled, Nice staff

AndyRolfe

Points +15

Mostly Veg
05 Nov 2019

Good food, Loved the Art Garden.

Vegetarian spring rolls for starters were excellent. Fried plantain for main didnt work for me though.

JoshFoti

Points +497

Vegan
18 Jun 2019

Vegan chocolate mousse ! 🥰

And other labeled dishes

HannahNKGoodwin

Points +267

Vegan
11 May 2019

Yummy vegan options, pricey

We had a vegan pasta which was AMAZING (coming from a pasta lover and someone a little tired of rice and beans for two weeks). We also had the vegan zuma bowl that was delicious with different flavors. The chocolate banana shakes were also amazing! Our meal ended up around $40 which was a little pricey since it’s a more casual place. That’s what knocked it down a star but honestly most places around the area are.

veganphotog

Points +398

Vegan
29 Jan 2019

Great vibes, great service, tasty options

Good selection of vegan options for a small town. The Thai coconut curry and spring rolls were both very good. The best part about the place is the vibe - beautiful outdoor garden, fun wooden sculptures, positive uplifting sayings painted throughout the space, an adorable kissing bench and a very kind and friendly wait staff. I didn’t try it, but the vegan chocolate mousse was tempting. And they have the loveliest vegan chocolates available.

Sera

Points +35

Vegan
29 Jul 2018

A relaxing place to eat.

Lovely garden to sit in. The shakes and smoothies are yummy and the vegan food is clearly marked.

Pros: They were happy to adapt a dish for me.

Cons: Small portions.

Rongie

Points +650

Vegan
23 Apr 2018

Great Setting, Friendly Service

The garden setting and friendly staff made this a great lunch spot. We had casodos, patcones, coconut water and coffee, which, even though quite typical of Tico food, was fresh and delicious.

Pros: great atmosphere

cocoholic

Points +356

Raw
02 Jun 2017

Best smoothies and chocolate in Montezuma

I didn't have the chance to eat here because in low season the kitchen closes at 1 pm but they still do super delicious smoothies with homemade coconut milk or just fruits. Their smoothies are quite thick and full of flavours, the best in comparison to other places in Montezuma (like Organico or Ice cream parlor). They also make their own delicious chocolate which tastes very pure and is not sweet at all.

Pros: Vegan salads and smoothies, comfy chairs to hang out, garden area

Cons: directly located at noisy road

KatieBush

Points +3172

Vegan
08 Apr 2017

really delicious

The cooks here know what they're doing. My curry didn't look like the image on happy cow (see my upload for reference) but it was really delicious and my coco spiraling drink was also heavenly with the heat. I would definitely eat here again!

Pros: in middle of town, clearly labeled vegan options

Cons: need more veggies on my dish!

gwild

Points +1435

Vegan
12 Feb 2017

Patacones are amazing

This place is owned by the same people that own Ylang Ylang.

The patacones are unbelievably good. They are also known in other countries as tostones. They are basically smashed plantains that are fried twice. The are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. They were served with beans, guacamole and pico de gallo. If they were healthier I would order them every day!

My son had the Casado. It included plantains, avocado, salad, beans and pico de gallo. He liked it and developed a love of plantains.

They have a nice deck in the back that seems far away from the dusty busy montezuma streets.

The total for two meals and a drink was around $20 US.

Pros: Nice deck in back

veg cookbooks

Points +25

Vegetarian
16 Mar 2016

beautiful place

visited here with a friend, all was up to our expectations, great atmospeher and fantastic staff

Pros: fun, great food, super atmosphere

Cons: out of the way, none, none

megclarity

Points +41

Vegan
18 Jan 2016

Review for the restaurant, not hotel

Awesome that there are several items marked on the menu as vegetarian or vegan but it was a bit confusing since some of the dishes were marked as vegetarian when it was pretty obvious that they were vegan as well. Ask questions! I was thrilled to see tofu scramble on a menu in Costa Rica! It was just ok but it could use some more flavor and the tofu should've been pressed since it was a little watery. It was marked as vegan but they included a slice of butter on the toast (it wasn't melted so I just pulled it off). The plantain dish was marked vegetarian but I had a server who spoke English well so I was able to ask a few questions and it was actually vegan (no cheese, sour cream or butter...score!). It was delicious!! My boyfriend got a burrito which he didn't love but it was ok. The backyard garden is really cute and the servers were very nice.

happycowgirl

Points +5631

Vegan
14 Oct 2014

Great Location, Wonderful Vibe

First, let me admit that I did not stay at the hotel but I'm writing this review because I wished I did. During my 3 days in Montezuma, I ate every single meal at El Sano Banano restaurant because the food was so good! If you stay at their hotel, their delicious breakfasts are included. I got to know many members of the staff during my time here and all were outstanding.

Not only is the food geared toward vegans and vegetarians, they recycle everything under the sun, there are environmentally themed signs around, the outdoor dining in the rear garden is lovely, the photos at the entrance staircase the the hotel pay homage to the environmental founders and wildlife preservationists of the area. In short, the vibe is amazing.

The rooms at El Sano Banano are very plain and simple. But they're air conditioned! While in Montezuma, I stayed at Agua Vista which is deep in the forest a few miles up the hill. It was phenomenal during the day but miserable at night. Agua Vista has no air conditioning and you can't open the windows at night b/c the coatamundis (raccoon-type animals) break in through the screens not to mention the local robbers who break into hotel rooms at night to steal anything from passports, iPhones to clothes. In sum, the rooms at El Sano Banano might be small, but they're air conditioned, secure and centrally located. You can walk to all the restaurants, the beach, small grocery store, take a cab to the parks, book tour right downstairs and every night there is a free movie with dinner.

aisawesome

Points +127

Vegan
16 Jun 2013

vegan fajias = heaven

Came here I think 3 times while in Montezuma. The waiters were so nice and the service was great. All 3 times I had the same meal because it was SO AMAZING! I thought about trying other things but I just couldn't resist getting this meal again and again because it was so good.

vegan fajitas. one of my favorite meals in all of Costa Rica.

Pura Vida Pantry

Points +41

Vegan
09 Feb 2013

Good Food

Food is good, location is central, they have movie nights which are a blast.

pablocollier

Points +66

Vegan
20 Dec 2012

Just what we expected!

Went out of our way to drive to Montezuma to eat at Sano Banano! We ordered the Vegetarian fajitas and "Casado". They
were great....didn't expect anything less.Go!

Pros: neat place, friendly staff

Cons: parking is dubious

adamrowland

Points +92

Vegan
19 May 2012

A must if you're in Montezuma

El Sano Banano is in the centre of Montezuma and is affiliated with the fantastic Ylang Ylang Beach Resort just further down the beach. Our taxi dropped us off here on the way to Ylang Ylang and we decided to have lunch before heading to the resort.

The menu is large with a good amount of veg and vegan options all clearly labelled. The menu has a good variety of traditional Costa Rican dishes and lots of delicious juices and ice-blended teas, lemonades and smoothies. (I'd really recommend the Ice-blended lemonade with ginger for a really refreshing midday drink!)

On the 2 occasions we ate here I had Catacones (fried plaintain patties served with refried beans, salsa and guac). Absolutely delicious! Really fresh and tasty - but the portions are very big! Be warned if you only want a light lunch :)

I also tried the heart of palm salad which came with a delicious basil dressing. My partner had the quesadillas - again he said they were superb but a massive portion!!

The food is very good quality but on the pricey side compared to other places in Montezuma (but worth it when you consider the portions, quality and service) - $15-$20 for entrees and $8-$15 for salads and lighter bites.

The service is imeccably polite and attentive. Seating is either on the porch fronting the bustling main street, at the back under the palm trees (good for iguana spotting!) or inside in their comfortable restaurant.

Definitely try this place if you're in beautiful Montezuma!

Pros: Good food, Attentive Service, Centre of town

Cons: Huge portions, Pricer compared to other places

veganstastebetter

Points +205

Vegan
15 Feb 2012

best option in montezuma

We ate here several times during the week we stayed in Montezuma. There are several vegan options for myself. My girlfriend had her meat options. The restaurant does not serve red meat. Only chicken and seafood. I had banana pancakes, scrambled tofu, fruit salads, veggie fajitas, pasta, stir fry. The prices are expensive for costa rica but reasonable for a tourist town. The price also reflects the high quality of food, large quantity, great service and nice restaurant. We ate on the outdoor patio, the front cafe along the road, the lounge and movie area. It was also great to watch some movies from back home after being on the road for so long.

Pros: location, quality and quantity, great service

Cons: bit expensive, front sidewalk seating can be loud




This page has been viewed 4752 times.