Vegan-friendly
Pizza
Italian
Beer/Wine
British
European
Spanish
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has a separate vegan Italian and Sardinian menu including a vegan burger, seitan with truffle and mushroom cream, and Sardinian risotto. Open Mon-Tue 18:00-23:00, Thu-Sun 18:00-23:00. Closes in July.


Venue map for Dolmen Bar
© OpenStreetMap contributors

22 Reviews

First Review by Hedonista

NicolaMacy

Points +77

Mostly Veg
02 Apr 2023

No vegan options

No longer does vegan food

Hedonista

21 May 2023

Are you sure? Even if you let them know in advance?

NicolaMacy

03 Aug 2023

We asked and they said no but may different in high season

Advertisement

lxndr

Points +36

Vegan
19 May 2022

Great vegan menu!

Called them if they had a vegan menu ready and a bit later I was informed about the menu and that I can get a table 45 minutes later. The food was already being prepared when I arrived. The staff was super nice and the food was amazing. Probably one of the best vegan menus I had. Would have gone there again if I had stayed longer.

AlinaLambrini

Points +41

Vegan
07 Feb 2020

Unexpected gourmet vegan fine dining - sardinian Spanish fusion

We came here on our first night in Lanzarote. If you want vegan food usually you have to pre book with the owners - however the lovely owners rustled up a beautiful 3 course vegan meal for me. The flavours were absolutely beautiful, delicate, all went well together. One of the nicest meals I've had. My partner eats fish and absolutely loved his sea bass. Would give five stars if we could!

Pros: Friendly owners, Beautiful food, Nice setting

Cons: Usually have to preorder vegan, Not the cheapest in Lanzarote but worth it!

Louise5750

Points +67

Vegan
24 Oct 2019

Have to call 2 days in advance for vegan

Went after reading all great reviews and they no longer have the vegan menu 😥 lady said if you call and give 2 days advance they can sort something out

audie

Points +24

Vegan
27 Sep 2019

Lovely meal

Had a lovely vegan meal. A little expensive. Very helpful. Can offer more vegan choices if you pre book and tell them your vegan

Pros: Beautiful food, Friendly staff, Lovely quiet area

Cons: Slightly expensive , Small portions , No written vegan menu

bethbearo

Points +36

Vegan
02 Sep 2019

Best food I’ve ever tasted

Wow! My boyfriend and I came here for an evening meal and were blown away. He had the mushroom risotto type dish and I had the seitan mushroom, it was absolutely perfect and the seitan was the best I have tried - and I’ve tried a lot!
The staff were so helpful and kind, really welcoming and obviously understanding of veganism, explaining the dishes thoroughly.
We had an oat ice cream with mousse for dessert and that was also absolutely delicious.
The restaurant itself is also a lovely atmosphere and really romantic.
The only thing I would mention is that although they were able to accommodate for us, they could only offer two options - but they told us that if we phone a day in advance to book, there’s plenty of options. We are definitely going to do this and go back at the end of our holiday!

Pros: Delicious , Separate vegan menu, Starters, mains and desserts

Cons: Slightly small portion size

hokusai77

Points +13612

Vegan
31 Aug 2019

Well worth a stop

This Sardinian/Italian restaurant is well worth a stop. The owners are super friendly and accommodating, and they have a separate vegan menu with some very interesting dishes. We had courgette rolls with vegan cheese, mushrooms, and tomato jam and a mixed salad as appetisers, and then we opted for their homemade seitan with a delicate mushroom sauce. As a dessert, I opted for oat milk gelato with dark chocolate stracciatella.
The only drawback is that they told us they are withdrawing their vegan menu because of lack of demand (even though they might probably advertise it more, since there’s no sign they have those special dishes). I hope they won’t since the dishes were absolutely amazing.

Pros: Some original vegan dishes , Friendly owners and staff , Nice atmosphere

Cons: They are going to withdraw the vegan menu

K60mal

Points +37

Vegan
29 May 2019

Good food

We visited this restaurant twice because the food was excellent and they provided a separate vegan menu. It was the only restaurant in the town that offered Seitan as a main meal. Whilst the meal was lovely the portion size was smaller than I expected. I enjoyed the mushroom risotto on my second visit (a good sized portion).

Pros: Good food, Friendly staff , Freshly cooked food

Cons: Small portion size on some options, Need to book a table if eating before 8.30pm

DebbieG

Points +42

Vegan
27 Apr 2019

Superb food

Don’t be fooled by the seemingly uninspiring menu and look of this restaurant. If I hadn’t have seen such great recommendations on here I would have passed by without entering, however I’m so glad I did!! Charming and welcoming hosts, amazing food for vegans and non-vegans, freshly cooked and beautifully presented. Fabulous!!!

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Beautifully presented and tasty food!, Lovely, friendly staff

Yaiza2020

Points +38

Vegan
16 Feb 2019

Delicious vegan options!

Really good and delicious vegan food. Nice staff. A little more expensive but it‘s definately worth it!

Pros: Extra vegane Karte, Höhere Preise gerechtfertigt

relaxdel

Points +81

Vegan
17 Jan 2019

Fantastic meal

Superb 3 course meal made from scratch. Vegan owners who know how to dine.

Pros: Vegan menu, Gourmet dishes , Homemade

Cons: Nothing

mrferret

Points +304

Vegan
12 Dec 2018

Perhaps the best vegan place we tried in Lanzarote

We probably had our best meal on Lanzarote here. Most of the starters contain vegan cheese made on the premises and this is among the best vegan cheeses I have tasted. The Caprese salad was absolutely delicious. The cheese-wrapped courgette was also excellent, as was the Sardinian mushroom risotto for the main course.
We did wonder, however, how nutritionally balanced the dishes were as none seemed to contain much protein. If only the Italians would make greater use of their many types of beans when veganising dishes!
The Sardinian lady who runs the restaurant and her staff speak English and are friendly and helpful.
The vegan menu is not always displayed outside so just ask for it. Booking is recommended.


Updated from previous review on 2018-12-12

Pros: Excellent food, not least the salads with cheese, Friendly staff, good service

Cons: Apparent lack of protein in most dishes

MaryLoQuinn

Points +28

Vegan
26 Oct 2018

Lovely Atmosphere, Great Food

We visited the Dolmen on one of our last nights in Costa Teguise. I am vegan and my husband is vegetarian. We were both well catered for and staff were very helpful in explaining all options to us. We had 3 courses each plus wine and found every dish delicious and good value for money. Would highly recommend

Pros: Vegan Menu, Lovely Staff

glenhickman

Points +57

Vegan
08 May 2018

A taste of Sardinia

A very cosy and welcoming place with delicious food from the Vegan menu. We’ve eaten twice here in our short stay in Lanzarote and on both occasions were made to feel very welcome as we enjoyed some very good food. Really lovely place.

Pros: Lots of Vegan options, Very welcoming host, Delicious food

Cons: Not fully vegan/vegetarian, Need to book in advance, really

wyrd

Points +3261

Vegan
03 May 2018

extremely friendly

We were treated really well in dolmen bar. The owner is a superfriendly sardinian girl who welcomed us with a smile and helped us choosing the best choices from a very vegan friendly menu. Super place in an island which unfortunately does not have many choices for vegetarian people!

Plant_based_Jen

Points +128

Vegan
29 Mar 2018

A must if you're in Lanzarote!

This is a must if you're in Lanzarote - there's a full 3 course vegan menu and everything is homemade including chips, bread, seitan and even the shot we were given with dessert!

They were very proud of the food and explained everything on our plates at each course.

We went twice during our stay and would've gone again had we been there longer.

On our first visit, she told us to come back in half an hour and said they stagger bookings as they prepare everything from scratch (so you may wait a bit longer than some restaurants). She advised us to book for our next visit and it's a good job we did as all tables were reserved that night.

The food is very nicely presented and almost like fine dining.

Definitely recommend if you're in Lanzarote.

Pros: All homemade, Vegan three course menu, Clearly take pride in their menu / ingredients

Cons: Best to book

remijs90

Points +36

Vegan
16 Jan 2018

excellent food, excellent vegan options

Really lovely little restaurant that staggers the bookings so the kitchen is never overworked.

Food is really brilliant, and vegan options seem a real part of what the restaurant does, rather than just an add on.

Maybe a bit fancier than some other places, so might be a treat for some (i.e. us) or perfect for those who do like fine dining (food is fine dining but restaurant more like a regular restaurant).

Pros: lovely food, lovely staff, relaxing atmosphere.

Cons: nice as a treat

JelleDemeestere

Points +25

Vegan
15 Sep 2017

best vegan food in Lanzarote

You cannot but love this cosy place where these two proud vegan women built an amazing restaurant and put so much effort in creating a unique vegan menu. Dining here is an absolute must - you won't be sorry!

GiadaLecca

Points +15

Vegetarian
02 Sep 2017

Mejor restaurante Vegano en Lanzarote

Nada que añadir ademas del titulo,... En este pequeño y acogedor restaurante encontrareis los sabores que estáis buscando.. el menú tiene innovación y es una mezcla entre sabores veganos y de la isla de Cerdeña..la inspiración del restaurante! Os aconsejo no perder la fregula (risotto pero diferente)de Cerdeña con una salsa de champiñones y trufa, y los rollitos de calabacín con queso veg...

Pros: Comida rica, Sitio acogedor, Servicio amable

Cons: Nothing

gabilew

Points +26

Vegan
30 Jan 2017

Great food and friendly service

We ate at the Dolmen Bar three times during our stay in Lanzarote and the food was always delicious. The bar has a separate vegan menu with a wide array of food to choose from (burgers, pizza with vegan cheese, spinach croquettes, grilled tofu wrapped in courgette slices, pasta, risotto etc.). The bar has a very creative chef who is not afraid to try new things (we ordered the burger twice because it was so good and it was served with a different patty each time, both delicious). The owner, who also serves the food, is very friendly, always asks for feedback and remembered what we ordered to drink the last time we went there, which was very nice. She also assured me that they always clean the grill before preparing food for vegan customers, so there is no risk of cross-contamination.

Pros: delicious food, very friendly service, big portions and reasonable price

kevmac

Points +20

Vegan
29 Jan 2017

Lovely food with friendly service

We spent a week in Costa Teguise and ate at the Dolmen Bar three times. The service is very friendly, and the food is well presented and tasty. They have a dedicate vegan menu.

Pros: Dedicated vegan menu, Friendly service, Good food

Hedonista

Points +40

Vegetarian
25 Jan 2017

A delightful restaurant.

This place has a separate vegan menu, plus a number of other dishes are vegetarian or can be easily adapted to be vegetarian. The food is largely Sardinian and Italian.

I visited the Dolmen with my mum and we were both very impressed with both the food and the service. All the dishes were delicious, well-presented and cooked with care. The white wine we had was from Lanzarote and was subtle but tasty.

Our waitress/hostess was friendly and helpful, she took time to explain the dishes on the menu despite being very busy and the only person serving.

I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys good food.



Updated from previous review on 2017-01-25

Pros: Great food, Excellent service

Cons: Some spelling mistakes on the menu.




This page has been viewed 5222 times.