Lacto
Ovo
American
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers a tofu scramble for breakfast. Also has barbeque tofu sandwich, veggie wrap with chips, salads and smoothies. Soy cheese may be not vegan - ask. Open Mon-Sat 9:00am-3:00pm. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Dancing Avocado
© OpenStreetMap contributors

33 Reviews

First Review by vegan sunshine

melis1020

Points +28

Vegan
08 Feb 2024

Good option for vegans and non vegans

Great location with good vegan options

Advertisement

Mycow29*

Points +23

Vegan
12 Jul 2023

It Would Be Five Stars If Completely Vegan

Very fresh and delicious vegan and vegetarian food! Restaurant has nice friendly atmosphere.

Pros: Many vegan and vegetarian options, Food is always Fresh, Restaurant has clean nice atmosphere

Cons: Serves meat and dairy, Accepts cash only, Busy, loud

MorganLee

Points +407

Vegan
20 May 2023

Great Spot 🥞

Oh, I loved it here. I wish I could’ve been on my vacation longer & came here every day for foods. It was so good & the restaurant was super cool. Friendly staff too😄I came here with my omni sister who did get an omni meal, but the variety for us vegans is incredible. It is so hard for me to find anything other than avocado toast for a breakfast option. Thankful to have been able to have a yummy waffle and faux meats. Bathroom was clean & for those who menstruate, I saw some tampons that seemed available for use - super awesome ✨ also a changing table was present too! Love the thoughtfulness.

Pros: Friendly Staff, Cool Atmosphere/Music, Extensive Vegan Menu

VivianIrie

Points +102

Vegetarian
23 Mar 2023

Lots of options

Was very excited to go here. Went with my whole family on my birthday. Service was poor. Food was decent. My dad asked if they could write “happy birthday” on a waffle for me and the server looked at him like he was the craziest person in the world and snapped at him. My dad is 70 and was very polite and still tipped her well. All in all good was good though! Food was good!

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-23

rupi113

Points +15

Vegetarian
03 Jun 2022

Veggie burger

I got the veggie burger it was okay… the patty itself was cold in the middle. They do have a lot of other vegan/vegetarian options!

Pros: Lots of vegan/vegetarian options

jstillfan

Points +115

Vegan
27 Apr 2022

Breakfast Review

I had the tofu scramble, beyond sausage and avocado.

The tofu had huge chunks of squash, zucchini and uncooked brussel sprouts in it. Barely had tofu. But the tofu was seasoned well. I would ask for no vegetables.

It came with deep fried potato chunks that were good but I would have preferred them like a hash or cooked stovetop.

Beyond sausage was not cooked well. It seemed microwaved or something.

Everything was okay-ish. I was just happy to find a vegan option in this town. 🥑

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Mediocre food

tessinsalaco

Points +20

Vegan
24 Mar 2022

The best

Good service, super cool place, tons and tons of vegan options. I got the philly burrito and made it vegan and it was amazing! They have burgers, chicken and waffles, blts, chicken tenders ALL VEGAN. Would come back all the time if I lived around here.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Cool interior

Blackdogdavey

Points +69

Vegan
03 Feb 2022

Great Food!

We met our vegan friends from New York here for lunch. Many vegan options on the menu, and with vegan cheeses and Beyond burger, most items on the menu could be veganized. Loved da Breakfast Philly Wrap! This has become our go to restaurant while we're down here escaping the cruel months of January and February in Maine.
The staff here has also been as friendly as the food.
Also, the area is funky and worth an after-meal stroll.

Pros: Many vegan chilice, Friendly staff, Small tables outdoors

Gopala108

Points +2542

Vegan
25 Nov 2021

veg-friendly meal in Daytona

In Daytona Beach for the 25th Annual Biketoberfest. While it is a fun & colorful scene being a vegan here is definitely means you are in the minority yet luckily found Dancing Avocado Kitchen while isn't fully vegetarian there are heaps of vegan & vegetarian options.

Kinsley was our server & she was amazing. She was super friendly & had some great recommendations on what to order. We split a V-5 drink made w/ carrot, celery, jalepeno pepper, parsley, & tomato. The drink had some kick from the jalepeno yet we both enjoyed it.

Me & my friend decided to order family style. Upon Kinsley's recommendation we got the Vegan BLT- house-made vegan bacon w/ lettuce, tomato, guacamole, & house vegan mayo on whole wheat bread. We also got the coconut oil fried rice that was loaded w/ fresh local veggies , roasted edamame & stir -fried in coconut oil.

We both enjoyed our meal. If you are vegan or vegetarian or want a plant based meal in Daytona Beach check out Dancing Avocado Kitchen!

Pros: friendly service

Srincon

Points +353

Vegan
08 Nov 2021

Genuinely disappointed

The vibe is nice but the food was very unsatisfying. It lacked flavor and was incredibly bland. I will not be visiting again. I got a vegan sandwich with fries. My partner got a avocado toast that was substantially better but still no flavor/ spice.

Pros: Atmosphere

Cons: Bland food

Skye

Points +1209

Vegan
22 Jul 2021

I’d give it a five but…

They do serve meat. The vegan options are amazing. We’ve been twice now. Truly can’t wait to try them all!

Pros: Many options, Location, Service

Col.Jake

Points +74

Vegan
21 Oct 2020

Perfect little spot for breakfast or lunch

Stopped for late lunch on way to beach, outstanding service and delicious food in a warm and friendly environment. Highly recommend.

Pros: Many vegan options, Great selection, Amazing atmosphere

Cons: None

Vega21

Points +47

Vegan
03 Sep 2020

If there’s avacado in the name you know it’s a good place to eat

Dancing Avacado kitchen has never failed me
They have vegan waffles at breakfast
A house made vegan burger that is amazing
They carry Alternative Baking Company cookies, which are always delicious
And their smoothies and juices are great too
But the best menu item is the potato side that comes with the burger
Their house made “dancer dust” is so good they sell containers
It should be on every Daytona residents List for go to vegan options

Pros: The best food, Offers vegan cheese , Always gets the order right

Cons: A little pricey

bfitz

Points +206

Vegan
28 Jan 2020

Delicious Breakfast Items

Cute breakfast/lunch spot with quirky design. Food was delicious , really liked their house made hot sauce.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

SabCelli7

Points +403

Vegan
08 Nov 2019

Decent

There were a few vegan options on the menu that all sounded pretty good. I tried the “chicken” tender wrap which was okay, didn’t have a lot of flavor though! This place is nice to go with non vegans because there was a variety of options. The restaurant itself is super cute and has a good vibe.

Pros: Vegan friendly , Good atmosphere

Cons: Serves meat , Not a lot of flavor

BlakeOvard

Points +79

Vegan
05 Nov 2019

Our favorite offering vegan in Daytona

Hands down our favorite of the restaurants offering vegan options, that we tried in Daytona! While they aren't exclusively vegan, they offer a nice variety of dishes, and they are all super yummy! For breakfast (8-11 am) DO NOT MISS the tofu scramble! It was AWESOME! For lunch, which we tried on our first visit, (11 am- 4pm) the avacado hummus veggie wrap was a delight, and the tie-dyed slaw was an amazing side dish! Also, my wife raved about the mushroom spinach quesadilla. (They do offer a few different vegan cheeses, so be sure you ask for them if you want cheese on it, and want to stay vegan).
The service, both times we visited was also spot on, and the owner/manager is/was on hand and makes you feel welcome.
The overall ambience is bohemian cool and eclectic, and sense of peaceful, poetic harmony. It's a great vibe with an large number of tropical plants at the entry, and a calming waterfall feature right at the door. Outside seating is available on two cozy patios flanking the entrance, and with the outdoor plants, gives it a calm and yet relaxing beachy feel.
In addition to all the yummy food, if you're in a juice or smoothie mood, they also offer an array of freshly pressed juices and smoothies.
Oh, and they make several varieties of hot sauces and salsas, so you will definitely want to try those (and probably take a bottle or two home with you).
And, while they are acutely aware of vegan and vegetarian needs, they also serve dishes with animal products in them, making them a unique dining experience a group of people with various diets can meet at and enjoy.
My rating would be 5 star if the app would let me (because it won't if the restaurant is not fully vegan)

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Inexpensive , Friendly service/ great atmosphere

Cons: They are open 8am - 4 pm (no dinner)

GFvegangal

Points +52

Vegan
25 Apr 2019

Nice place, good food.

We sat outside on their cute patio for lunch and had salads. Both salads were very good with good portion sizes. It was nice to have more than one vegan, gluten free option.

Pros: Nice decor and patio

ErikaLyn22

Points +44

Vegan
09 Jun 2018

Not too shabby

We came for breakfast. I was thrilled there were vegan waffles on the menu. Correction: waffle; you get one mostly bland waffle with surprisingly tasteless blueberries. Not worth it, really. But the scramble and potatoes were great! Their house hot sauces are fabulous. The staff needs to maybe take a shot of hot sauce, though. Not a personality in the place.

Pros: Choices for breakfast, Great Sauces

Cons: Lackluster waffles, Lackluster staff. Not bad, not great either...

aliceland

Points +60

Vegan
07 Jun 2018

Good location with options

Great place when your group includes omnivores. Ask for nondairy milk with your coffee. Outside seating lets you enjoy the people watching. Wine and beer offered.

Pros: Quite a few vegan options , Good when eating with omnivores , Cute ambiance and outside seating

Cons: Menu is not particularly inventive , Most desserts are not vegan, only the cookies

AndreaP

Points +162

Vegan
30 Apr 2018

Vegan options

They have some decent vegan options and some rotating Vegan specials. The vegan grilled cheese with vegan bacon is always a good choice. We also tried the vegan barbecue jackfruit sandwich and didn’t love it but it was OK.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: New management, Not always consistent

DawndyMercerPlank

Points +22

Herbivore
06 May 2017

Great vegan options

I had carnivores with me so they had options. But as a strict plant-based eater, I was thrilled at how plentiful and fresh my possibilities were.

The service was slightly slow, but I expect that when they're making REAL food so I'm patient for that. The waitress worked hard and was kind and gracious.

In addition to my healthy, vegan meal, I had a beet juice mixed with just the right amount of ginger. It was perfectly prepared. I'll eat here again when traveling through.

Pros: Fresh, real food. , Perfectly prepared. , Vegan options.

Cons: Slightly slow service, but worth it.

freshandalive

Points +184

Vegetarian
09 Feb 2016

Good Variety, But GMOs, Hormones, and No Organics

Sad to say, The Dancing Avocado is one of the better selections in the Daytona Beach area for vegans and vegetarians. As with most restaurants in the area, they do not offer organic/non-GMO food, so you'll likely get a hefty dose of irradiated, pesticide-laden GMO food. If you're a lacto-ovo vegetarian, be prepared to ingest RGBH hormone-laden food.

On a couple of occasions when I had jury duty at the courthouse across the street and ate here, the food was very tasty, but I felt very tired and lethargic for a couple of days afterward. If you don't mind eating GMO food, their veggie burger is quite tasty, and they serve fresh-squeezed juices. Their selection of food choices is immense, so vegans and carnivores can both be satisfied. Prices are reasonable, and they make many dishes from scratch. Th atmosphere is rustic but interesting and appealing, kind of like an old country store. Compared to the pathetic selection of food options available in the Daytona Beach area, sadly Avocado Kitchen is one of the better options.

Pros: Large variety of food selections, Good atmosphere, Tasty food, reasonable prices

Cons: No organic selections, Hard to avoid GMOs, hormones, etc.

arcfjss

Points +21

Vegetarian
18 May 2015

Very nice experience

My wife and I shared two vegetarian entrees - both of which were very flavorful and served hot. Our server was friendly and professional. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was out of the dessert we had wanted.

If we find ourselves back in Daytona Beach, we would definitely eat at the The Dancing Avocado.

Pros: 4-6 vegetarian entrees, Well-prepared and flavorful food, Friendly & professional servers

Cons: Not open for dinner

kmilitello

Points +725

Vegan
16 May 2015

Needs improvement

No non-dairy milk for coffee! Another reviewer posted that already, but I missed it. It's still true. So I didn't have coffee with my breakfast, which was disappointing.

The tofu scramble was also disappointing. It was ok. Asian flavored with soy sauce. It was a soft tofu. Not great.

Vegan waffle was good but not that filling. No other vegan options on the breakfast menu.

Heffpilot

Points +72

Vegan
05 May 2015

Tofu Scramble

Sat outside and had the tofu scramble. It's made with big chunks of tofu and vegetables. It was very good. Waitress was nice. Decor is interesting.

amanduhraie

Points +38

Vegan
10 Mar 2015

Wonderful!

Tried the vegan BLT super flavorful. Loved that the bacon part wasn't tofu or tempeh. Great service. Guacamole was a great starter.

Pros: Serves vegans and non-vegans., Vegan bacon isn't soy protein., Easy to modify.

ActiveCaptain

Points +58

Vegan
28 Mar 2014

It should be 5 stars...

We live on our boat and seek out interesting, Vegan-friendly restaurants in each town we visit along the coastline. Dancing Avacado seemed like a nice place although we wished they were open for dinner. We re-arranged our day to get there for lunch.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic. We split a V-BLT and a Vegan Iguana burrito along with two cups of the Vegan soup of the day. The food was exceptional. I was thinking through the meal that this place should get the maximum number of stars allowed. I accept that their menu has vegetarian and meat dishes for others - they need to survive as a restaurant in a non-Vegan world. That was all OK with me.

What killed one star for me was the checkout. It literally took 10 minutes to pay our bill. The problem is that there is one cashier who handles take out orders and all payments. Because we were forced to go for lunch, multiple people were waiting for take out including one poor woman who had about 6 orders from different people all paying separately with a handful of credit cards she brought from her office.

That's really poor guys. Fix that. Give the wait staff the ability to pay take my money so it all feels like a better quality place. It was such a shame to put a negative end on an otherwise great experience.

Pros: Food, Wait staff and owner friendliness, Interesting menu

Cons: Paying the bill




This page has been viewed 8715 times.