Vegan
American
Organic
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Breakfast

Upscale restaurant and bar serving breakfast and burgers. Reported closed December 2023.


Venue map for Citizen Eatery
© OpenStreetMap contributors

105 Reviews

First Review by AlishaM

actualspacesloth

Points +88

Vegan
19 Jan 2024

Takeout misses the mark

I’ve eaten at CE a handful of times and it seems very inconsistent. Dine-in service is always great, but takeout has been pretty off the mark. The ketchup is very sweet??

Updated from previous review on 2020-05-18

Pros: Large menu , Fun drinks and desserts

Advertisement

LauraBlankenship

Points +142

Vegan
26 Nov 2023

Great lunch!

We had a really nice lunch. The beets and pesto are delicious. We enjoyed the Asama Burger, the Citizen Burger and the basket of fries. The staff was very friendly. Since I don't live in Austin, I won't be able to return anytime soon to try more menu items 🙁, but I definitely recommend giving this sweet little spot a try if you are able!

Anastasiahappy

Points +265

Vegan
24 Nov 2023

Healthy happy

I feel that we need to have more menu options on RAW and gluten free choices

Pros: I like that I'm able to have consistency mostly, I like my salads and some juice and mushrooms, Text coupon discounts

Cons: Need more detox juice , The upcharge for substitutions, I need more raw menu choices gluten free

SouthernmostVegan

Points +1576

Vegan
23 Nov 2023

Solid Options

We enjoyed the Pulled Plant BBQ sandwich, the Citizen Brat (although the toppings were overwhelming), and the Southern Style Hen of the Woods Mushrooms. Good cocktails, too.

Shan1980

Points +88

Vegan
12 Oct 2023

Yummy!

Great food, options, service
and ambience!

seatell

Points +148

Vegan
02 Sep 2023

AMAZING

So many options. I got the chips and gauc as an spicy roasted cauliflower appetizer, and then the bratwurst for my entree 😋 everything was so yummy

professorjruiz

Points +48

Vegan
24 Aug 2023

Delicious!

Great services, ambient, and food!

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-18

Pros: Food, Services

TheFlyingVeganYogi

Points +70

Vegan
17 Jul 2023

Delicious!

The food was so delicious!! The staff was kind and friendly, and the atmosphere is big vibes. The cole slaw was too good🔥

Pros: Coke slaw, The atmosphere , Server recommendations

HaleyRaeSmith

Points +38

Vegan
11 Jul 2023

Wow! Spectacular!

We had the hen of the woods fried mushrooms and the nachos. They were earth shatteringly delicious. We loved the service and the drinks! Everything was amazing AND EVERYTHING IS VEGAN!!!! Highly suggest!

theveganvegeta

Points +106

Vegan
04 Jul 2023

Citizen Eatery!

Another great restaurant that offers amazing vegan breakfast (all day as it should)! Great vibes and awesome staff.

Pros: Tofu Scramble , Coffee

BrodyY

Points +127

Vegan
25 Jun 2023

Great Spot!

Cajun Cauloflower and Chikn Nachos are a cheat meal and Citizens Eatry has both. Along with other very healthy meals. Great vegan food with a beer is hard to find and Citizens does both well! Super friendly staff, quick meal turnaround, and sensible pricing makes this a go to place for me.

Pros: Staff, Meal turn around , Location

_Stargazer14_

Points +227

Vegan
25 Jun 2023

Take me back!

100/100 The best restaurant on our trip. We went back twice. Their cheese is out of this world. So clean, so minimalistic! I loved that they made everything from veggies instead of using premade beyond etc. if you have the chance go to this place. Staff is so friendly, I wish they opened one in Florida!

Pros: Home made Cheeze sauce , Atmosphere , Clean

texan_vegan

Points +171

Vegan
24 Jun 2023

Delicious!

The "chicken" nachos were excellent, you get a very large serving so it would be easy to share.
The buffalo cauliflower "wings" and sauce were also incredibly good. Went with some non-vegans and they really liked their dishes, namely the bbq sandwich and citizen burgers. Would definitely go back to try their other dishes.

Pros: All vegan!, Several options

Cons: A little expensive

echofan

Points +141

Vegan
17 Jun 2023

Good

It was good, and pretty to look at. But it looked better than it tasted. Almost there just needs some help. Very nice customer service.

CueBert

Points +66

Vegan
06 Jun 2023

High hopes...

I've gotten takeout a couple of times. Everything sounded so good. Each time it was just about subpar. It's not very flavorful, much less memorable.
The takeout service was so-so.

One time, I'd chalk it up to worker bees' not paying attention. Two or more times and it just the way it is.

CinthiaHaros

Points +26

Vegan
04 Jun 2023

Lovely Place

Great service, super friendly staff, great food. The spicy Cajun cauliflower was delicious! Can’t wait to go back when I’m back in Austin

buffdock

Points +20

Vegan
29 May 2023

Must Stop Vegan Restaurant

This Place Was A Huge Surprise, it was to put it simply life changing. The French fries and ketchup is great.

Pros: Mexicane soda was great

amberlee1223

Points +43

Vegan
22 May 2023

such a great place to eat

soooo good! one of the best places i’ve eaten at in a while

erint945

Points +547

Vegan
08 May 2023

Great App, Entrees Just Okay

Bright and open atmosphere. Friendly staff. Taco salad appetizer was super fresh and tasty. My boyfriends burger was somewhat dry and the fries with the sandwich were a bit thin and limp.

PlantEatR

Points +141

Vegan
13 Apr 2023

Good variety flavor, but mostly fried options

Creative menu with good variety of flavors, but sadly almost all the choices we tried ended up covered in oil and/or fried. Even side salad dripping in oil without being offered choice. For example, burgers had lots of flavor but tasted deep fried. Should be clear on menu how food is prepared. Might be worth asking how dish is prepared and ask for dressing on the side or dry cooked burgers without being fried in oil.

Pros: Flavorful dishes, Variety of flavors and styles

Cons: Most options fried or too much oil, Service - Friendly but lacked menu knowledge, Handicapped parking next to closed entrance

Bartelmehs

20 Apr 2023

Too bad. Thanks for the oil heads up. Will not be going here.

ThatsVegayzing

Points +751

Vegan
10 Apr 2023

100% plant-based eatery in ATX is awesome!

Citizen Eatery
100% plant-based dining and full bar in Austin, TX!

Food****
We got the Citizen scramble with tofu, cheddar cheese, crimini mushrooms, potatoes, sweet onions, and kale $13.5 and the Citizen Power Bowl with quinoa, avocados, kale, red peppers, grape tomato and citrus vinaigrette with tofu $14. The Citizen scramble was definitely tastier due to salt content but the power bowl was definitely healthier. We recommend both as they are still very healthy items on the menu.

Atmosphere****
the atmosphere was very charming and comfortable. Seating was evenly spaced so you’re not on top of each other. There is parking and it’s wheelchair accessible.

Service****
Very friendly service and quick too. The waiter was prompt and came to our table many times.

Price $$
$ = under $10 a dish, $$ = under $15 a dish, $$$ = under 20 a dish, $$$$ = over $20 a dish

Pros: Big portions, Lots of seating

Cons: Salt

JimBoulter

Points +175

Vegan
30 Mar 2023

Fantastic food

Had the Migas and was blown away. Super tasty, highly recommend. Place was quiet and clean and the wait staff were friendly. Tons of options!

ReagBeans

Points +31

Mostly Veg
27 Mar 2023

Love the breakfast

Not somewhere that’s super accessible if you have specific allergies - my garlic/onion allergy mostly limits me to the breakfast and apps as a lot of meat alternatives like Impossible are marinated/pre seasoned. But, I love the pancakes, breakfast potatoes, and mimosas. Wonderful atmosphere to hang out with friends, I’ve never seen it super busy, and the staff is always really nice. They have a nice sized and interesting menu - just wish there were more menu options that weren’t built around meat alternatives.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-27

Pros: Quiet, Kind Staff

Cons: Not Allergy Friendly, Pricey

pafoua07

Points +68

Vegan
25 Mar 2023

Bland

I got the tacos and my fiancée got the citizen burger. It wasn’t our favorite meal. I felt like the food was overrated. Very quiet—not a lot of people at all.

Greg-A

Points +86

Vegan
20 Mar 2023

Top Marks!

My wife and I tried the mushroom appetizer, tofu sandwich, BBQ sandwich, and some bloody marys and everything was awesome! Will most certainly be back.

Pros: All vegan , Cocktails , Shareable plates

DrMichelle20

Points +454

Vegan
18 Feb 2023

Cute place

Cute casual restaurant (wouldn’t agree either the description “upscale”) with many good options. Really liked the tofu sandwich.

NosferBradTu

Points +23

Vegetarian
25 Jan 2023

Awesome Plant Based 'Diner'

Very welcoming - well lit 'diner' type feel. Everyone in my party enjoyed their food! Had a hardcore meat eater with me that ordered the Citizen burger and thought it was great! - Now that's a win.




This page has been viewed 17578 times.