Casa El Delfin

  • Hotel B&B
  • Vegan
    ( 12 reviews )
Contact
+53-53202296
Find

Calle Fausto Pelayo (Chanzoneta) #172, e/ Frank Hidalgo Gato y Eliope Paz, Sancti Spiritus, Trinidad, Cuba, 62600

The first vegan hostel in Cuba, est. 2015. Family-run and centrally located. Features 2 comfortable double rooms with sea view and air conditioning. Guests may order raw as well cooked food prepared from fresh local produce. Try the avocado smoothie, mango crush, banana or mango bread. Located 100m from Plaza Santa Ana.

12 Reviews

First Review by Canadaorca

Too much delicious food! - Edit

As some other people might have said, it is a challenge for vegans to travel in Cuba and find some decent food. To eat vegan is quite easy, as in Cuba you can find a lot of fresh fruit and veggies, but it is really impossible to find whole grains, like in pasta, rice or bread. Me and my husband were very happy we found Casa El Delfin. The food Suzy prepared was nutricious, balanced and so delicious that we decided to eat here 3 evenings in a row. We took the 'set meal', both different things, so the table was so full of food that we ate too much. Luckily we had to walk 5 km to our casa! And the last evening, we just took the leftovers with us.
It doesn't matter if you are vegan/veggie/meatlover or whatever: go to Casa El Delfin, you won't regret the homemade food which is prepared with a lot of love! A h(e)aven!
P.S.: best thing to do is let Suzy know in advance that you are coming, then she can provide everything you like!

Pros: extensive menu, Very big portions, Delicious and nutricious!

Cons: Too much to choose from, so you have to come back

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan oasis - Edit

Being vegetarian (and vegan) is NOT easy in Cuba. After nights of eating nothing but beans and rice, I went to Casa El Delfin to see if they had a restaurant in addition to their Bed and Breakfast. They are in the process of opening a restaurant and happy to accommodate travelers with a little notice. Wish I had stayed there and hope to come back soon!

Pros: Kind and passionate about veganism in Cuba

Cons: Restaurant will be opened soon

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

We had an amazing time at Casa El Delfin! - Edit

Luis and Susanne were great hosts at the casa. The vegan menu is very extensive and the food is delicious. They definately serve the best breakfast in Cuba with fresh fruit, vegan cakes, gorgeous fritas and bread!

I would definately recommend this casa as the best place to stay and eat for veggies who are visitng Cuba!

Pros: Friendly staff, great breakfast, delicious evening meals

Cons: n/a

1 Response
Read More

casaeldelfincuba 06 Dec 2016 - We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and meals at Casa el Delfin. We've just expanded our breakfast menu and have recently started making dairy free pizzas and burgers for lunch, in addition to the 25 soups we offer.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Heavenly food - Edit

The casa is wonderful, the whole family is amazing, and the food is heavenly. The meals are very nutritious, well-balanced, prepared with special care for each single ingredient. Coconut and kale soup, caribbean tomato soup, stuffed pumpkin and sweet potato mash, banana curry, salad with papaya and peper dressing ... ooooo, I miss it so much!!!
And the memory of my time spent there will always be precious.















Updated from previous review on 2016-09-13

Pros: amazing food, interesting and nice family, homely atmosphere

Cons: none

1 Response
Read More

casaeldelfincuba 06 Dec 2016 - Thanks for visiting us and leaving a review. We're very happy you enjoyed our 'Vegan' Cuba. We're always finding new ideas for the local fruit, veg and pulses. We have just expanded our breakfast menu.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The best vegan experience in Cuba - Edit

After traveling to Cuba in summer 2016 I can surely say staying at Casa el Delfin has been the best vegan choice! Owners Susan and Luis with their family are so friendly and warm that you feel like home. Their casa in the middle of Trinidad is very nice, with spacious and comfortable rooms and rooftop terace with a beautiful views on a city, sea and Escambray mountains.
They prepare various vegan foods which are all extremely tasty, fresh and local. Susan is a nutritionist so food is also very healthy. She makes magical dishes combining different vegetables and tropical fruits like mango, papaya, banana and guava. And she also prepares her own coconut milk and ice cream. And pineapple vinegar, and ... Oh, you should really try all those originalities which are all listed on their website. :-)
Casa el Delfin is also a spot with a lot of helpful and reliable information about traveling around Cuba. Susan and Luis can arrange accommodations in another vegan-friendly casas. They can also arrange Spanish classes which I took with a friend for a few days. They also successfully helped me with hiring a car.
It doesn't matter if you are vegan or not vegan, if you are traveling alone or with a friends or a family, you would simply love this place!





Updated from previous review on 2016-09-13

Pros: Excellent and nutritional rich food, extremely friendly staff, good value

Cons: None

2 Responses
Read More

casaeldelfincuba 06 Dec 2016 - We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and meals at Casa el Delfin. It was a pleasure meeting you. We really appreciate the review, Thanks  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

casaeldelfincuba 06 Dec 2016 - Everything we serve is 100% Vegan to encourage compassionate living, help stop climate change, and to promote good health. We offer both raw and cooked dishes with as many organic and whole food ingredients utilised as possible. We wash our locally grown fruits and vegetables, and cook with sterilised water.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing vegan paradise. - Edit

Best spot in Cuba for the veggies! Centrally located in Trinidad, with ocean views from the roof terrace this is already a good casa. The food takes it to the next level. Cuba is a sad place for vegans in many spots but this Casa will light up your life. The food is incredible! Three course breakfasts and Dinners for $15USD per day (it's worth it the food is amazing). Susan is lovely and her cooking is incredible. She will also happily organise any activity you want so it really is your one stop shop.

Pros: Out of this world food, Great location , Awesome vibe

Cons: The gnocchi dish needs some work

1 Response
Read More

casaeldelfincuba 06 Dec 2016 - Thanks for visiting and reviewing us. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and meals at Casa el Delfin. We've altered the gnocchi and increased the nut-free spinach pesto.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Vegan food in Trinidad! - Edit

Casa el Delfin was our favourite casa in Cuba, our room was nice and big, we also had a terrace were we could sit outside and read.
Susan and Luis were always really helpful and give us lots of tips.
The vegan food was amazing, always fresh and with great attention for the ingredients. Highly recommended!

Pros: excellent food, good value

Cons: nothing

1 Response
Read More

casaeldelfincuba 06 Dec 2016 - We're truly delighted you enjoyed your stay and meals at Casa el Delfin. Thanks for taking the time to review us.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

feel at home with delicious food - Edit

We had a great time in Trinidad.
We booked the room before our holiday in cuba because we saw it on happy cow as one of the only places in cuba with vegan food.
The time in the casa was so relaxing and we really enyojed the food so we stayed longer than we had planned.
Trinidad is a great city and the location of the Casa is within walking distance from the center . The neighborhood is very friendly and we have "arrived" very quickly.
The food is incredibly good and not just for vegans ;-)

We would fully recommend this Casa .
It was our highlight in Cuba .

2 Responses
Read More

casaeldelfincuba 06 Dec 2016 - Thanks for leaving a review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and meals at Casa el Delfin. Thanks for choosing to visit us.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

casaeldelfincuba 06 Dec 2016 - Everything we serve is 100% Vegan to encourage compassionate living, help stop climate change, and to promote good health. Our vegan dishes are free from cholesterol and avoid all animal products which are carcinogenic and highly acidic. We offer both raw and cooked dishes with as many organic and whole food ingredients utilised as possible.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Vegan

  Contributions +14

Inventive vegan food - Edit

The most interesting and inventive food I had in Cub, especially as a vegan. Three courses for 10CUC, which is very reasonable for three courses – the salads were an astronomic oasis, as most (vegan) food in Cuba is extremely bland and boring. This place is a little bit out of the center city, but well worth a visit or two. They also offer accommodation, but had booked sleeping arrangements elsewhere, but I ate here the three nights I spent in Trinidad.

1 Response
Read More

casaeldelfincuba 13 Mar 2016 - We are delighted you enjoyed your meal at Casa El Delfin. your satisfaction is very important to us  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Incredible experience! - Edit

I had a wonderful stay at Casa El Delfin. Susan and Luis who own and operate the casa are extremely hospitable and friendly. They helped me find everything I needed to navigate and enjoy Trinidad. They took the time to make sure my stay was comfortable, so much so that I ended up staying there an extra 3 days.
Susan is a wonderful cook and the dishes she made were outstanding. She has an extensive menu which she leaves each guest in their room and I only wish I had stayed longer to try them all. Many people told me that being vegetarian in Cuba was going to be difficult, at Casa El Delfin you need not worry, I gorged so much that I grew a belt size or two.
Wonderful hosts, casa and food!

Pros: Food, Hospitality, Atmosphere

1 Response
Read More

casaeldelfincuba 06 Dec 2016 - We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and meals at Casa el Delfin. Thanks for leaving a review.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The most perfect stay - Edit

Susan, the owner of Casa el Delfin, and her husband Louis are so absolutely wonderful. They take you in as part of the family, and if you would rather be alone in your stay, they will completely respect your privacy. The Casa is in a great spot in Trinidad, and is the first and only Vegan/Vegetarian place to stay in all of Cuba. Speaking of that, the food is INCREDIBLE. I ate so much that I had to take naps afterward. Susan got her masters in nutrition so you are really getting quality food. They are so helpful and kind and we celebrated New Years Eve with them and their family. Wonderful people and incredible memories, this is the place that you should stay and eat.

Pros: friendly, delicious food, great location

Cons: none!

3 Responses
Read More

casaeldelfincuba 21 Feb 2016 - We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and meals at Casa El Delfin, your satisfaction is really important to us, we enjoyed meeting you and really appreciate your feedback. Susan and Luis  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

casaeldelfincuba 21 Feb 2016 - Thanks for your very kind review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and the food, its our objective to help our guests have a happy and relaxing holiday whilst staying with us. Susan and Luis
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

casaeldelfincuba 21 Feb 2016 - Thanks for your very kind review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and the food, its our objective to help our guests have a happy and relaxing holiday whilst staying with us. Susan and Luis
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A Vegas Oasis in Meat-Loving Cuba! - Edit

Susan and Luis provide a warm and welcoming home environment in their well-situated new guesthouse (or 'Casa') close to the centre of everything in beautiful Trinidad. When we arrived we enjoyed welcoming fresh fruit smoothies, and the room was comfortable, spotlessly clean and extremely reasonably priced. Food was fresh and extremely plentiful - we haven't felt so full in a long time, and Susan can cater for special diets (eg. gluten-free). It also helps to have a fluent English-speaker in a land where communicating special dietary requirements (or even the fact you don't eat meat) can be very challenging if you don't speak Spanish.

While you're there, take a trip to the local cane-growing valley or the beautiful local beaches in Luis 1960 Chevrolet - an experience you won't forget. Such a hospitable couple who deserve to do wonderfully well for offering something different and compassionate to animals in a country that doesn't always share the same perspective!

Pros: Cleanliness and value, Location, Hospitality and warm welcome

Cons: None!

1 Response
Read More

casaeldelfincuba 13 Dec 2015 - Thanks for the feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Casa El Delfin. We are progressing and now have menus for meals and juices. We also have a beach map informing guests how to get around the 14 beaches. Best wishes  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Trinidad Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Casa El Delfin closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2980 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support