CLOSED: Cafe Atl

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 126 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

2-1-24 Shinsaibashisuji, Chuoku, Osaka, Japan, 542-0085

Vegetarian cafe turned vegan in 2014. The lunch menu consists of a few set meals plus baked goods and espresso drinks. Menu includes bagel with hummus, risotto, salad, curry, soup, and vegan cakes. Emphasis is slow food using local produce. Quiet for the noisy Shinsaibashi area, on a side street off of the main drag. Cafe is located on the second floor, above a shop currently under renovation. Last orders 5pm. 2014年にベジタリアンからヴィーガンカフェに変わりました。ランチメニューにはセットでおかずやパンなどのメイン、ドリンクなどを選ぶことが出来ます。 フムスとベーグルのセット、リゾット、サラダ、カレー、スープまたケーキなどがあります。またスローフードを利用しているのも特徴です。心斎橋筋商店街から少し抜ければ、しばし都会の喧噪を忘れることができます。カフェは2階にあります。 ラストオーダーは17時。 Reported closed, Dec 2019. Closed Tues.

Categories: Vegan, Japanese, Western, Beer/Wine, Bakery

126 Reviews

First Review by kat.ross

Karu

Points +108

Vegan
30 Nov 2019

No money for coffee

I went there because I was craving some cake and coffee. I wasn't expecting it to be cheap but the prices really surpised me. I had to choose between the cake and the coffee and of course I went for the cake. It was really tasty! nice flavour and texture but very, very small for the price. I understand that some products are more expensive in Japan but it shocked me.
I can see that a lot of people like the place so maybe I will try to go again.

Pros: Tasty food

Cons: Expensive, Small portions

SiCa15

Points +100

Vegan
05 Nov 2019

Lunch

Came here after finding out first vegan option closed. The selection was limited as there were only 3 items offered during lunch and one was sold out. Had the vegan spice curry which came with a side salad and a small orange juice. I also had desperate which was good but very small for the price. This place is pricey we spent about $50 cdn for two people. The food was ok I was unimpressed with the limited food selection.

georgiasmerdon

Points +27

Vegetarian
31 Oct 2019

AMAZING!!

Absolutely beautiful meal, and lovely host too! Paid about $25 Australian dollars for two large meals, 2 x soupa and 2 x orange juice

Advertisement

AnitaDollar

Points +580

Vegan
27 Oct 2019

Delicious!!

All the food here tastes fresh, the salad was so nice and crunchy, and staff is super nice. I loved the bread as it's hard to come by vegan bread in Japan and it was made just to my taste. Also, perfect location for a Dotonbori day :)

Pros: Amazing bread, fresh juices, nice ambiencd

Cons: You see one of these sad petshops from the window

SP

Points +1373

Vegan
20 Oct 2019

breakfast was only okay

We went for breakfast which ended up being nothing special. I had a look at the lunch menu before we left and it looked more interesting that I wish we'd gone for that instead.

JoeBensadoun

Points +82

Vegan
19 Oct 2019

A life saviour.

Nice little discovery on my first day in Osaka.

Pros: Nice little location , Very tasty food. Very original., Nice service.

Cons: Wish the smoothie was in a larger glass., The smoothie was so good!

katie_pai

Points +54

Vegan
16 Oct 2019

Delicious, delicate flavours

I’ve been craving a good salad while in Japan so the fusion meal was just perfect. I had it with the fresh baked bread - yum! Also had the white choc and raisin cheesecake. Both delicious.

Pros: All vegan!

IgalS.

Points +30

Vegan
08 Oct 2019

Delicious Breakfast

This Cafe is a wonderful place to have a breakfast in with average prices.

The place itself is very welcoming, clean and atmospheric.

The food is very delicious and filling, with a variety of three breakfast sets in the morning.

The Cafe is run by a young couple which are very welcoming and nice to talk to.

Aside from food they some sell some Japanese books (Mostly cookbooks) and Organic Ingredients.

Pros: Vegan, Environmental, Affordable

Eike

Points +198

Vegan
21 Sep 2019

Nice vegan restaurant

Small, intimate place with delicious food. We had two different combos that were great. Also a nice environmental ethos.

SiowthingTeo

Points +82

Vegetarian
17 Sep 2019

Japanese Rice Tofu Set

Location is great on a quiet street opposite Zundoya Ramen at Shinsaibashi. Cafe is managed by a couple. They seem offering different menu daily, written on a blackboard. I ordered Japanese rice set. There is tofu in miso sauce nicely done, plenty vegetables, mushroom, and miso pumpkin soup is nice. The only drawback is the soymeat which I think is mock meat. Soy latte was great too!

Pros: Cozy environment, Location, Healthy food

Cons: Would better to avoid mock meat

MrNico

Points +264

Vegan
12 Aug 2019

No proper black coffee

Don't come here, if you want a simple good black coffee. They sell various coffee specialities but only coffee 'americano'. The breakfast is rather good (fresh bread, salad and fruit(s)).
A japanese dish is also available.

BecTsiamas

Points +60

Vegan
17 Jun 2019

Very limited menu

There are only 3 choices here, and some sweets. I am very disappointed. It’s expensive for just a piece of bread, a banana and some orange juice

annabeleast

Points +42

Vegan
12 Jun 2019

Never open

I walked for 20 mins for the past two days to this cafe. It says on happy cow and on google that it’s open but it hasn’t been twice now. Really disappointing that it’s not put online somewhere that they’re closed.

sez198

Points +113

Vegan
08 Jun 2019

One of my favs!

I really loved this place. Nice relaxing atmosphere, quick service and lovely staff. I got the curry set and a raw cheesecake and all were divine, even the side salad. The cheesecake was my favourite, so so good!

Stefaan

Points +54

Vegetarian
05 Jun 2019

Let's make lunch great again

Have you seen that movie about summer loving? Not the one with John Travolta but with Patrick Swayze. In the scene where he's practicing in the river, its ambiguent how the coin is going to flip, is this heading for a happy go lucky storybook ending or is something gonna hit the fan and make everybody leave the cinema crying? Well, none of that at ATL; it was just great. I was being looked at by a giant monkey choking a little dog, but even that couldn't distract my taste papillas from cheering all along the way. I give this place my two vegan thumbs up for great cooking in a busy rural area. Like LL cool J said it best: ' now where are you gonna get that kind of loving for a decent price?!'. Great place to eat!

Pros: Original dishes, Healthy options, Cosy setting

mchaza

Points +91

Vegan
31 May 2019

Bonsoy here

For all Melbourne vegan out there visiting Japan you would find it weird not seeing Bonsoy in Japan, especially Osaka where it comes from. Luckily cafe Alt have you covered. Added bonus is good vegan food as well! Only downside is that its opposite a big pet store so will have to see dogs and cats in cages.

Pros: Bonsoy

Cons: Opposite dog store

Hakaisan

Points +100

Vegan
28 May 2019

Open early

This place opens @ 9am, which is great. Staff was friendly and the food was good. Morning sets have large portions which was nice 👍

KarenClement

Points +261

Vegan
21 May 2019

Lunch

The food was ok. I found it quite heavy on the rice and would have preferred less. The interiors and nice, relaxed place.

GabriellaRosati

Points +73

Mostly Veg
12 May 2019

Good and cozy

Great hidden cafe for lunch. Amazing coffee and vegan meal was a decent size. They only had two options when we went as one was sold out but we all enjoyed it.

Pros: Great portion , Good price , Great coffee

Cons: Menu options quite small

AmarSara

Points +40

Vegan
05 May 2019

Vegan at last..

It was very hard for me to find vegan food in Japan, so I was excited to read about this spot. When I came i was not disappointed. The place cute all-vegan, the setting is very convenient in downtown Osaka. We had lunch and the Japanese-style curry was very good, Fresh ingredients, friendly service ,and nice atmosphere !

Pros: Everything!

Cons: Non

frannymason

Points +21

Vegetarian
02 May 2019

Lovely atmosphere

Options are a few set menus. Good size portions and prices all sat at ¥1500 which is fair given the quality produce. Is was delicious too😄my only preference would be to have options for each element of the set as i would have like to mix and match😄

Cons: Small menu

vegaanikissayuu

Points +56

Vegan
25 Apr 2019

安定のおいしさ

心斎橋は人ごみなので行きたくないのですが、ATLがあるから行きます。というくらい好きです。ここは「しょっぱいお店」でも「メリハリのないブラウンフードの店」でもありません。塩分は多すぎず優しい味わいながら、素材が活きており、飽きさせないです。また、ソイラテホットは必ず一度試すべきです。

UnaMJ

Points +166

Vegan
28 Mar 2019

cute & cozy

food was well portioned and tasty, i had the curry set, a decaf soy latte, and one of the cakes (the cacao one). it was all very nice and the place is also super relaxing!! it's on the 2nd floor and looks over a smaller street. wasn't super crowded when i went around 12:30 either !

erika.veg

Points +136

Vegan
20 Mar 2019

Lovely vegan cafe

We really enjoyed eating lunch here. They had three lunch sets to choose from, as well as a menu of coffee, drinks, and bakery items. Everything is vegan and the space is really cosy. 10/10 recommend!

Pros: Cosy atmosphere, Central location, Friendly staff

RicardoMezaDeville

Points +279

Vegan
18 Mar 2019

Muy buen desayuno

Vinimos a tomar desayuno y estuvo muy rico. El ambiente es muy bueno y la música también. Realmente valió la pena caminar hasta acá.

Pros: Excelente comida., Excelente ambiente y música., Aceptan tarjeta de crédito.

Cons: No tiene tantas opciones.

drifio

Points +21

Vegetarian
16 Mar 2019

Delicious curry!

Cute restaurant. Up stairs, be warned if you have mobility issues. Staff were friendly and attentive. Curry and salad was absolutely outstanding.

GregMonson

Points +80

Vegan
22 Feb 2019

Just go!

Very cute all-vegan restaurant in downtown Osaka. One of our favorite stops on our entire trip to Japan. We went for lunch and had an excellent Japanese-style curry set menu, which was also gluten free. Flavorful cooking with fresh ingredients, friendly service, and convenient location. Definitely check this place out if you are spending time in Osaka!

Updated from previous review on 2019-02-22

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Osaka Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Cafe Atl closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 29162 times.