• Bianelli's Gourmet Pizza

  • (23)
    30
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Pizza
Italian
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. All pizza crusts are dairy free - ask to be sure. Has gluten-free pizza crust and vegan cheese. New York or Chicago deep dish style pizzas, calzones, sandwiches, and salads. Previously located on Henry Street. Open Mon-Sat 4:30pm-9:00pm. .


Venue map for Bianelli's Gourmet Pizza
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by Munchi-chi

FatTonyBMX

Points +1216

Vegan
25 Dec 2023

Only 1 vegan crust…

Big update from previous reviews… As of December 2023 the only vegan crust is the cauliflower one, and that only comes in a size small. we ordered two of the vegetarian pizzas with vegan cheese and one pizza with mushroom and cheese and the bill was $113. But at least they were open on Christmas Eve so we were thankful for that.

Advertisement

jhaggh

Points +28

Vegan
15 Oct 2023

Vegan pizza was just okay.

Cooks forgot the basil on the Margarite pizza, cauliflower crust was not crispy. Not worth $40 bucks.

mascroquetas

Points +417

Vegan
11 Jul 2023

Nice vegan options!

The chef is vegan so it's really easy to have a nice pizza in this places. Recomendable!

SouthernmostVegan

Points +1554

Vegan
15 Aug 2022

Solid pizza

Edit - they swapped Daiya cheese for Violife and it's way better!

We order a calzone (vegan cheese), a thick crust Health Pie (designed without cheese), and a traditional crust Gourmet Vegetarian (vegan cheese). The Health Pie was my favorite because I love thick crust and it had no cheese. The toppings are already great, but I also add eggplant and it's totally yummy for me. Although I am not a fan of commercial vegan cheese, my husband loves it and thinks the calzone was great.

Updated from previous review on 2020-12-27

splashofwild

Points +58

Vegan
30 Jun 2022

Good pizza

My kids really enjoyed the pizza here. They burned my husband's and my deep dish pizza, though. The hostess and the server were unfriendly.

Pros: Great taste

Cons: Unfriendly service, Steep vegan cheese upcharge

RyanSt

Points +205

Vegan
16 Dec 2021

Vegan Deep Dish!

Ordered the deep dish gourmet veggie with vegan cheese and it was amazing. Definitely ranks high compared to all the other vegan pizza I’ve had over the years. It’s $3 extra dollars for the vegan cheese up charge so that’s a little steep but I think it was worth it.

diabolicaldeb

Points +16

Vegan
01 Oct 2021

Excellent vegan options

Love, love, love the vegan cheese option for their pizza and calzones. If I could rate them a 5 star I would (app only allows 5 star ratings for vegetarian or vegan restaurants). They recently switched their vegan chez to violife shreds (per the server) and it was great. So melty and creamy that it makes you wonder if it's really vegan (it was). Very nice staff and would recommend to anyone visiting Kona.

Pros: Vegan cheese makes so many options available, Reasonable prices (for Hawaii)

Cons: Lots of call in & take out orders, wait times vary

TravelingThroughLife1

Points +3174

Vegan
09 Jul 2021

Delicious!

Ordered the deep dish with vegan cheese and it was awesome! Definitely will come back!

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Serves meat and dairy

labalkum

Points +310

Vegan
26 May 2021

Five star pizza!!!

Their deep dish vegetarian pizza with vegan cheese is to die for!!!! So creamy and delicious!!!

Pros: Many vegan options including pizza and calzone, Gluten free is vegan as well, Staff very knowledgeable and super friendly

Cons: No vegan meats

hopeevangeline

Points +113

Vegan
28 Jun 2020

I love Bianelli’s

Bianelli’s is likely my favorite pizza place on Kona side of the Big Island. Bianelli’s offers vegan cheese (and gluten free options!) and can make almost all of their options dairy free. They also have clearly options that can be made vegan. I have ordered pizza and calzones and have been pleasantly surprised both times. This isn’t high quality food, but when you just want good basic pizza, this is the place for you. While I have experienced rude and unhelpful staff, my food has always come as I ordered it (unlike other reviewers). My non-vegan boyfriend enjoyed my vegan pizza and calzone as much as I did. This isn’t the cheapest place to eat, but you will get large portions for the price. I will definitely be returning to Bianelli’s.

Pros: Great vegan options , Staff can be unfriendly/unhelpful

Cons: Extra fees for vegan cheese, No vegan meat options

AleciaHaselton

Points +216

Vegan
19 Dec 2019

NOT VEGAN

This is my only bad review ever. I’m in the process of having this place removed from Happy Cow. I ordered a vegan calzone. I specified vegan cheese. I asked twice when I ordered to make sure it was vegan. I asked the server what the vegan cheese was while I was eating it. She said she thought Daiya. I thought it tasted weirdly cheesy. At the end of our meal I asked her to please take the leftover piece left to the kitchen to confirm it was vegan. She said the kitchen said it was mozzarella. She said she would discount us. Never apologized. I told her we wouldn’t pay for it. On the way out I asked the nice host who the manager was. It was our server. So sad and strange. I feel disgusting and full of mucus. I told her I was about to get on a plane and cheese makes me sick. She had no empathy. So sad...

Pros: none

Cons: Not vegan , Staff doesn’t care, The manager is rude

al30sh

08 Jan 2021

Thanks for the warning. I HATE when stuff like this happens and the staff doesn't care. We were going to go over there for pizza but now will stay away.

marieroberts

Points +1427

Vegan
01 Dec 2019

Good pizza

We enjoyed a pizza with veggies and non-dairy cheese. Thankful for the vegan option, but would have been better without the "cheese" as I'm not a fan of Daiya cheese. Server wasn't wise on vegan options, wasn't sure if the garlic bread was vegan and didn't offer to check.

Cons: Need a vegan menu

ZacharyWolfheart

Points +176

Vegan
15 Sep 2019

Very good pizza

Ate here twice. I got a New York style one time and a deep dish the other. Subbed non dairy cheese to make it vegan. They also put a nice herb blend on it. The crust and sauce were excellent.

Pros: Vegan cheese , Different pizza options , Good service

fondducoeur

Points +1167

Vegan
16 Jun 2018

Excellent Vegan Calzones

My husband and I went to Bianelli's twice on our trip to the Big Island. They have vegan pizza and calzones; we had calzones both times. There are no vegan protein toppings, but a wide selection of veggie toppings to choose from. I had a calzone with vegan cheese, macadamia nuts, pineapple, and jalapenos, and it was delicious. Portions are large, half a calzone could make a meal for me.
Cheese garlic bread can be made vegan upon request. The draft beer selection is decent. I would definitely go to Bianelli's if I go back to Kona.

Pros: Vegan calzones, Good toppings, Knowledgeable staff

AshleyWright

Points +18

Vegan
15 Mar 2018

vegan pizza

Seriously so amazing. We got a 16” pizza with marinara, tomatoes, sundried tomatoes, olives, pineapple, onions and garlic and spinach. Then I asked them to drizzle it with bbq sauce. It was to die for. $34. So worth it. Best vegan pizza I’ve had

Pros: daiya cheese

Cons: kinda spendy

ValenLondon

Points +792

Vegan
16 Oct 2016

nice vegan pizza

Nice vegan pizza however you pay an extra $5 to have t vegan, it doesn't make any sense that you have to pay that much more just because you're vegan! Otherwise very nice pizza and lovely staff!

myra975

Points +1739

Vegan
05 Aug 2016

Love Bianelli's Gourmet Pizza

Bianelli's is a full-service, family oriented restaurant offering a simple and delicious menu of Pizza, Pasta, Calzones, Salads and Sandwiches. Located on Alii Drive in the Keauhou Shopping Center.

The owner, Mr. Goldstine is so friendly and knows how to make really good vegan meals. He went out of his way to veganize menu items for us. We had the Deep Dish Pizza, Veganised Garlic Bread, Calzones and every thing was ONO!! We visited a few times and each time, Mr. Goldstine greeted us as family. We will definitely be back when we visit the Big Island.

Pros: Ono vegan options, Family friendly , Good Value

jalder

Points +40

Vegan
23 Sep 2015

vegan doesn't need to be difficult

All you need is non-dairy cheese and regular pizza is vegan! Presto chango. The pizza was great and the staff was really friendly.

sullivusb

Points +287

Vegan
16 Nov 2013

good pizza, friendly staff

We came here with a group of seven vegans and left quite satisfied. The wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable about vegan foods and the pizza was delicious! The pizza sauce was excellent and a vegan side salad made a nice compliment to the main course. We recommend it!

Pros: knowledgeable staff, great pizza

Cons: pricey

robguz

Points +143

Vegan
14 Feb 2013

Great pizza!

Wow, I live on the Big Island and am in Kona all the time and just recently found out about this place thanks to Happy Cow! Well it's pricey, and they are skimpy with the Daiya cheese, but it's vegan pizza and it's good. Great crust & sauce, some local beers on tap. I will be coming here every time I'm in Kona and looking forward to it.

Pros: Daiya Cheese, Good service, gourmet pizza

Cons: setting in a mini mall, pricey, but so is everything here

Jacki

Points +40

Vegan
10 Jul 2012

A real treat!

We spent ten days in the area and must have eaten at this restaurant at least five times. It was so exciting for all of us to be able to eat delicious vegan pizza with Daiya cheese (unfortunately it's not available in Australia). The kids were in heaven! The service is good, the pizzas are huge and most importantly, they can cater for vegans. Yay!

allikatk

Points +57

Vegan
22 Mar 2012

Great Find

We ate here twice during our stay on the big island. Both times had veggie pizzas with vegan cheese. I thought the food was great and the staff very accommodating, even bringing nutrition info on the cheese to the table when my son asked about it. Can't wait to go back!

Munchi-chi

Points +687

Vegan
05 Oct 2010

Our first stop in Kona

Restaurant is inside Kona Natural Foods. Counter service, seat your self. Seating indoors and out. Since it is in a shopping center, sitting outside doesn't offer much ambiance, but hey you're in HI.
We ordered the Gourmet Vegetarian, NY style, Vegan cheese. The cheese was Follow Your Heart. If you think that you are going to get real New York style pizza in HI, you'll be disappointed. Well, maybe somewhere, but not here. What you will get is still worth checking out. The crust is a bit on the thick side, but tasty. Sauce, flavorful. And the veggies... Artichoke hearts, eggplant, sundried tomatoes and onions... were abundant, cooked to perfection, and delicious. Worth a stop in, specially if you need to pick up some much needed vegan items at the health food store for the rest of your visit. Well, if you live there, lucky you.

Pros: vegan cheese, fresh veggies




This page has been viewed 6952 times.