be love

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 27 reviews )
Contact
778-433-7181
Find

1019 Blanshard St, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada, V8W 2H4

Vegetarian restaurant est. 2013 offering organic cuisine without wheat, gluten, or dairy; some egg and bee products. Offers a varied menu with both cooked as well raw food, fresh juices and elixir. Simple, modern interior. Open Mon-Sat 8:00am-9:30pm, Sun 11:00am-9:30pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Ovo, American, Organic, Raw, Western, Juice bar, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Canadian

27 Reviews

First Review by jacr

Great Healthy Meal - Edit

On a trip to Victoria to explore and do some hiking I was taken to Be Love. I was super impressed with my Bowl which was delicious and satisfying :)

Photo of be love  by <a href="/members/profile/hayls04">hayls04</a> <br/>Buddha Bowl <br/> September 12, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/42461/303571'>Report</a>

Buddha Bowl

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent & healthy food! - Edit

Almost everything can be veganized at Be Love. Things are healthy but incredibly tasty...in particular I recommend their Jedi smoothie (cacao, banana and lots of other goodness) and their vegan mac n cheese (some of the best I've ever had!). They also have a case of treats near the entrance, I've never had one be less than amazing. You won't regret checking this place out :)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

wonderful food, drink, service - Edit

We came for dinner on a Saturday night, and the place was packed, so we sat at the bar. It was a great front row seat to watch the bartenders make all the creative and flavorful concoctions. The drink I wanted had honey, and they were happy to swap in maple syrup.

The food was great! My husband tried to eat slowly, but he inhaled the gnocchi. I rarely order regional food outside of restaurants that focus on said region, but I had a good feeling this place could pull it off. The Falafel Meze platter was flavorful and amazing. I was really impressed!

Although we had no room for dessert, we ordered two. I had the raspberry cacao nib mousse and it was so rich. The portion is on the small side, but that was perfect after a big meal. My husband had the cheezecake of the day - a deep purple-y blue slice topped with fresh blackberries and a gooseberry in the husk.

While still a casual vibe, this is a much swankier place than some other options. Would totally come by again on another visit to Victoria!

Pros: such great flavors, cool vibe, helpful staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

healthy options good choice - Edit

This place is mostly vegan so there were a lot of options to choose from. It is all very fresh and healthy. Some raw food but not all. We both really enjoyed our plates as they were quite delicious. Only downside is the prices.

Photo of be love  by <a href="/members/profile/2lentilforyou">2lentilforyou</a> <br/>green bowl <br/> August 21, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/42461/295364'>Report</a>

green bowl

Photo of be love  by <a href="/members/profile/2lentilforyou">2lentilforyou</a> <br/>BBQ plate <br/> August 21, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/42461/295357'>Report</a>

BBQ plate

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious! - Edit

Great service, delicious food! My omnivore mother was very impressed! Loved the cauliflower wings and the raspberry cacao cup!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Really Good Food! - Edit

I had the Green Bowl for lunch here and was really impressed!! The flavours were extremely well balanced (only slightly on the spicy side for me), with a lot of veggies, and a decent size (I was really full after actually). I would definitely go back and try more on their menu (which is quite large!) Staff were efficient and attentive.

Pros: Excellent flavours, Filling

Cons: Noisy inside when full of people

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Worth it despite the prices - Edit

Had dinner here just a couple days ago. We ordered the cauliflower wings, the summer caesar, the summer gnocchi, and the coconut panna cotta for dessert. Everything was fresh tasting and delicious. I especially loved the homemade raw crackers with the salad and the grilled focaccia with the gnocchi. Everything is made in house from scratch. They even brew their own kombucha! Prices were a bit on the high side for the modest portions but still reasonable given the food quality.

Updated from previous review on 2017-07-04

Pros: delicious food, everything made from scratch in house

Cons: a little pricey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good but quite expensive - Edit

The restaurant is welcoming and friendly. The food is quite and it offers a great variety but it is quite expensive for the quantity served. I had the 10$ karma bowl and it was basically rice, chickens and some greens very simple and small.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent vegan food! - Edit

This is probably one of the best vegan restaurants we have been to. The black bean fritter appetizer was tasty - almost like falafel but with black beans. The sweet potato naan sandwich was excellent on a sweet potato flat bread. But the best dish was the wild nettle ravioli. The sauce was so rich and creamy you'd think it was dairy.

The only down-sides are that it's a little on the expensive side, and the place is small and tables are very close together, almost cramped.

But still - worth it for the food!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious and creative vegan food - Edit

The food is amazing and mostly vegan, and plenty of raw options. Per our server, they have some staple dishes and change up the rest of the menu every 4 months or so. We had the raw pizza, green bowl and nettle ravioli. All were delicious but the ravioli was superb!! For dessert, we tried the carrot cake which was good but a bit sour/bitter for my taste, and the chocolate strawberry parfait which was scrumptious.

Interesting cocktail options, and great ambiance as well.

Photo of be love  by <a href="/members/profile/Shan-Shan">Shan-Shan</a> <br/>carrot cake and chocolate strawberry parfait taken to go <br/> May 24, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/42461/262119'>Report</a>

carrot cake and chocolate strawberry parfait taken...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food and service - Edit

This was just the two adults, kids insisted on the subway down the street. We both did sandwiches which were amazing. We also did slices of carrot and cheese cake they were last meal level treats. The side of soup was good, warmed us both up on a cold day.

Pros: taste, service

Cons: price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

tasty, gluten free, vegan meals - Edit

I love this place. When we walked in, the wonderful aromas of different foods made me all the more hungry. The foods were amazing, so tasty and healthy. The staff were kind and pleasant.

Pros: tasty food, lovely staff

Cons: they don't open until 11 am

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

incredible food - Edit

We went up to Victoria for a weekend getaway and ended up going to be love TWICE! The food is a bit pricey but well worth it. Delicious espresso drinks, fresh juice (so refreshing), and incredible homemade brunch food. Highly recommend for all food types but the vegan food was out of this world.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Mostly vegan and raw - Edit

Delicious food; lots of raw and gluten free; some animal products like honey and the occasional local, free range egg. Very organic and local oriented; highly recommend this place for an upscale and tasty experience.

Pros: Excellent food, Good drink selection, both with and without booze, Downtown

Cons: Loud room; very echoey and loud!!!, Expensive- but you get what you pay for, Why not have cream for coffee if you have eggs?

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Soothing atmosphere - Edit

I checked this place out on a holiday because a lot of other places were closed. I enjoyed my experience here. The food is mostly raw and I knew that going in. I decided to be adventurous and ordered a sandwich on dehydrated bread and a turmeric latte with almond milk. I loved both. I was a bit sad that the I had to ask for the latte without honey as it seems to be their sweetener of choice. They did bring me raw cane sugar though. I found the portion size adequate, but was still hungry later.

Pros: Neat selections, Healthy

Cons: Honey in things

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very tasty - Edit

Organic food, mostly vegan, several raw options. I loved their homemade pumpernickel almond bread.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Incredible vegan food - Edit

I visited Victoria in June for a little vacation, and be love was located near where I was staying. It was so good that I ended up going twice! The first time I went for a little snack, and had the "breads and spreads". It was such a yummy little appetizer, with raw nut breads, cashew cheese, and assorted crunchy shredded vegetables. The staff were really helpful in helping me to pick out a good snack item that wasn't too large!
The second time I went for drinks and dessert. Had a really good piece of chocolate salmonberry cake, I wish I could have tried a few more of the desserts.
Next time I'm in Victoria, I would definitely return to be love!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful place! - Edit

What a wonderful option for anyone wanting plant-based options in Victoria! Fantastic food! Just wished they opened earlier in the day!

Cons: Happy Cow said the restaurant opened at 8am, but i

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very satisfied - Edit

Pretty hardcore, plant based, lotsa raw stuff.
Better tasting then most places like it.
Tried different sandwiches, kabocha, and raw BLT (zucchini bacon, dehydrated) sprouts tomato, both xlnt. Great pesto linguini.
Salads, good. Soups, good also.
Also, killer deserts. Coconut ice cream thing my wife had. Really good, good presentation. Also had decent wine, beer and two single malt scotches.
Yeah it wasn't cheap, worth it for me.
Liked this place a lot, servers great each time.

Pros: Good, Great, Vegan

Cons: Be better if it was free...., And they delivered, Or worked for free at my house

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent! - Edit

I had the iced wellness tonic (sub agave if you don't do honey) and the heirloom lasagna. Very fresh. Very flavorful. Recommend!

Pros: Fresh, Organic, Quality

Photo of be love  by <a href="/members/profile/elizabet">elizabet</a> <br/>Heirloom tomato, pesto, and cashew cheese lasagna with arugula salad <br/> July 21, 2015  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/42461/230776'>Report</a>

Heirloom tomato, pesto, and cashew cheese lasagna ...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicous! - Edit

Had an amazing dinner at Be Love with three omni friends. They loved it too. Had the gracias bowl and shared a side of tempeh. Really great tempeh! The kombucha whiskey sour was SO good. Dessert was blissful.
Great place, highly recommend it.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious! - Edit

Stopped in for breakfast before taking a tour to Vancouver.

Staff was very very friendly. Prices were reasonable for how well made the food is.

Had a couple things on the menu, both were absolutely fantastic. Lattes were just "ok", well made... but not much flavor.

Bought a couple of the baked goods, which were also just delicious.

Worth the walk for the food though, really was very very good.

Pros: Great food, Friendly staff, Good location

Cons: Lattes were bland.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

An absolutely awesome place! - Edit

I love absolutely everything about this place. The staff are warm and welcoming. The food is clearly made with the biggest heart full of love.
I felt totally spoiled for choice with the menu absolutely brimming with vegan, wheatfree, glutenfree, raw cuisine, juices, smoothies and the most decadent desserts.
We enjoyed several things off the menu and wow... everything was amazing!

Pros: Absolutely delicious, Super friendly staff, So much choice

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Inconsistent - Edit

The first time I went to be love I absolutely loved it. I had a seasonal pasta dish that was fantastic and probably the best meal I've ever had in Victoria. The only bad part of the experience was that they have the tables packed so closely together that because the restaurant was full my husband (a bigger guy but not huge!) couldn't get to the bathroom.

I wasn't able to get back again for a while, but my husband and I finally went again last summer. Our appetizer was great, but my entree (a green curry) was bland. I was so disappointed after my first experience. My curry had very little flavour aside from being spicy. The cheesecake for dessert was great, though, so I was happy with 2/3 of what I ate. Another bad thing about that visit was that the service was awful. For most of the time we were there we were the only customers, yet somehow none of the multiple employees milling around could get around to serving us. It took a long time to get anything done, from having our orders taken to dishes taken away. It's frustrating enough when a restaurant is busy, but at least then we'd have understood. There's no excuse for bad service when the place is near empty.

I tried going a third time a month ago and didn't even stay. I was waiting for a friend and was seated at a table for two, and the place was full and the tables were so close together that I felt like I was seated with the couples on either side of me. I could tell the other people were uncomfortable with the close proximity as well because they all stopped talking to each other as soon as I sat down. It's bad enough being that close to strangers when everyone is busy with their own conversations, but I'm sure both couples thought I had nothing better to do than eavesdrop. When my friend arrived we decided the food wasn't worth crappy seating arrangements and went down the road the the Pink Bicycle where the tables were appropriately spaced.

As a side note, when this restaurant opened they were vegan except for bee products, like their sister restaurant, Cafe Bliss, but now they've added eggs to their menu.

Pros: When it's good, it's fantastic, Good menu, Different than anything else in Victoria

Cons: Tables way too close together, Food is inconsistent, Service isn't great

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing! - Edit

We went with friends in June 2014. Amazing flavour combos, fresh well prepared food. The Carmanah bowl sounds like an odd combo, but is so delish that I try and reproduce it at home (with out perfect sucess)almost daily. the service was friendly and just the right amount of attentiveness. The tables are super close - but them this is a small town and we ended up sitting next to people our friends knew. I love this place. Prices are similar to what I would expect for fresh, local, organic vegan food. Nice mix of raw and cooked options.

Pros: fresh, local, healthy, good downtown location, good service

Cons: tables are close together

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

New almost-vegan eatery - Edit

Heard about this new almost-vegan, some-raw restaurant (thanks, Sarah K.) and was thrilled to have another veg'n option in Victoria. The menu is good: I love being able to order anything on the menu. Wish they didn't use honey, so they could claim to be all-vegan. But they are very willing to substitute and re-arrange various meals. They're not licensed yet for alcohol - maybe in about a month's time. Some of the tables are too close together. It was full on the Saturday 5:30-6:45 pm when we were there. Pleasant service. I definitely want to go again soon to try more of the menu items and delicious-looking desserts. This time I had the macrobiotic bowl, which was satisfying and tasty. I had some of my friend's garlic roasted baby potatoes with miso gravy, and they were scrumptious. Next day I dropped in and had a "Shanti" green juice, $8 for 16 oz. glass, with cucumber, pear, mint and lime. Juices range from $7.50 to $12. Other things that sound good: Bliss Salad ($12), soup of the day ($5 or $9), Earth Sea Salad ($14), Enchiladas ($16), wild mushroom fettucine ($17), Love hot chocolate with almond or hazelnut mylk, lavender lemonade, etc. Looking forward to my next meal there this weekend.

Pros: tasty, healthy food, mostly vegan

Cons: tables too close together

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Exactly what Victoria needed! - Edit

A warm, simple atmosphere. The owners have done an absolutely beautiful renovation on this space.

We enjoyed a breakfast there on their opening weekend. 2 raw breakfast sandwiches, 2 chais and 2 truffles ran us $30 with tip - but more important than the price was the quality of the food that we were served - which was outstanding. The fruit and vegetables on our sandwich were incredibly fresh, and the unique structure of the breakfast sandwich complimented the ingredients really well.

The components of our meal that contained honey were offered to us without, if we preferred. This was a nice gesture.

Victoria needed a place downtown where vegans could enjoy a full menu of options, instead of having to settle for the one or two vegan items you may be lucky to see elsewhere.

The price is listed as 'expensive' in the description here. While it is not INexpensive, I wouldn't really say that the prices are high for the quality and amount of food that you get. For most people, it may not be a place they can enjoy on a daily basis, but it seems on par with most of the other "nice" dinner joints in downtown Victoria. Their menu also features a Love Bowl, which has a suggested value of $8, but states that no one will be turned away, as the owners are trying to make healthy food accessible to everyone. Also, such great raw options!

The service was a little shaky, but not at all lacking. Our server seemed a little inexperienced, but not in any way that made our experience less enjoyable. With a little more experience, I am sure it will smooth out. The speed of food and drink to our table was very good.

Great job, Be Love. Looking forward to many a lovely meal with you.

Pros: Extensive Menu, Quality Ingredients, Welcoming Atmoshpere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Victoria Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has be love closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6717 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support