Bakery

Serves meat, vegan options available. Peanut-free and tree nut free facility that makes a wide selection of baked goods, many of which are vegan and including some gluten-free. Serves coffee drinks. Open Mon-Fri 8:00am-5:30pm.


Venue map for Askatu
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by Emiliu

MissyP

Points +16

Vegan
02 Jan 2024

Yes you should come here!

Listen...if you are in this area, Askatu is A MUST. And if you're not in this area, make a trip. The pastries are DELICIOUSLY moist with such balanced flavors. It's hard to believe it has none of the allergens. If you have food allergies, this is your place. Hands down. For us, supporting a small business is priority so the fact that this is Latino and female owned is a plus, plus, plus. The person who served us was so generous with her time and knowledge (we're vegan without allergy restrictions). The space is smaller but the energy is so welcoming and peaceful. It's worth every moment to stop in for a coffee, banana bread, or a delicious hand pie (aka pop tart). I would've given 5-stars but this is not a fully vegan or fully vegetarian bakery so Happy Cow provided a notice to me. But you will not be disappointed. =)

Pros: Pastries were vegan and heavenly, The coffee was creamy and delicious, The staff was generous, friendly and a delight

Advertisement

igguana

Points +194

Vegan
28 May 2022

Gf and vegan

They were out of sandwiches when we went and there's a huge upcharge for vegan milk for coffee but all their pastries (which is most of the store) are vegan gluten free which is nice. Very tiny shop.

Seatown_vegan

Points +6901

Vegan
23 May 2022

Great Sweets

My sweet tooth was ringing so I decided to stop by here to fix that. They had plenty of chocolate choices for me to choose from. Everything I got was good. I especially enjoyed the chocolate truffle ball. The s’mores was good as well.

MaxineRosita

Points +147

Vegan
01 Mar 2022

Cute little bakery

We got a sample of several little desserts, truffles, tart, and cookies. They use unique fun ingredients and the flavors were delicate and delicious.

Pros: Mostly vegan options , Allergen friendly , Wonderful service

kaleyeah87

Points +375

Vegan
03 Nov 2021

So many goodies

I loved how many vegan options there were. I especially liked the cookies! The service was excellent

subterranean

Points +222

Vegan
12 Aug 2021

All baked goods are vegan!

I was told explicitly that all the baked goods are vegan by default. Awesome! They have brownies, cookies, and several flavors of tea cookies. The brownie I got was perfectly moist and the tea cookies were lovely too.

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-22

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Good pricing

Cons: Meat sandwiches and dairy milk available

angdep

Points +1297

Vegan
01 Jan 2020

Delicious and good quality

Love this place. The owner is a nice woman who cares about quality ingredients. Super nice, too. This is the only place that is allergen free and vegan. Mostly organic ingredients. Only place you can get moon cakes! If you’re not used to gluten free textured baked goods, it may be off putting. Depends on the individual.

Pros: Mostly organic ingredients

Emiliu

Points +176

Mostly Veg
24 Dec 2019

Pies, cookies, cakes!

I was happy with the selection of sweets this place had on display, it took me a little while to settle on a white chocolate cranberry bar. I thought it was delicious and a fair price ($5). Apparently they make a great gin & tonic cupcakes, but it didn't look like they had that flavor when I was there. There several other flavors of cupcakes, a couple flavors of pies, some tarts, cookies, cookie bars, and whoopie pies... I might've missed a couple other things and should've taken a picture. The entire bakery is gluten-free & vegan, service is friendly, and there is some seating and a cozy vibe.

Their hours are somewhat limited, no weekends, and 8:30A-5P weekdays. (Basically I can only go on lunch break when I'm at work)

Pros: Large selection of items, Free of multiple allergens, Good vibe

Cons: Limited hours




This page has been viewed 3207 times.