Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Buffet

Traditional Indian cuisine with buffet and a la carte menu. Staff speak English. Short walking distance from Antwerp Central station. Open Mon-Fri 12:00-15:00, 17:30-21:30, Sat-Sun 13:00-21:30.


Venue map for Aahaar Indian Cuisine
© OpenStreetMap contributors

45 Reviews

First Review by Ruby X

Gurudeeper

Points +13

Vegetarian
20 Feb 2024

Ok food. APALLING service

Unwelcoming. Robotic staff. The food in the buffet was OK but when I asked for a glass of tap water three times they refused. They said it wasn't policy.

A glass of tap water is a person's right and all restaurants should give this. The server was unapologetic and unhelpful and upwselling drinks. I didnt want to pay 3 euro for water which is what they were offering. Shame.

Pros: Ok food, The space is simple

Cons: Service uncharismatic and unwelcoming, Some areas in Bad condition /noisy/ broken tiles, Buffet lacked extras like yoghurt,rauta etc which

Advertisement

KellyKrueger

Points +110

Vegan
04 Dec 2023

Buffet

We hadden gekozen voor het buffet (12 euro PP). Ze hielpen ons onmiddellijk met aanduiden welke van de gerechten vegan waren. Als je van redelijk pikant houdt ben je hier op de juiste plek.
Het buffet was ok, met wel een aantal keuzes.
Ik zou hier nog eens terug komen maar dan ook eens andere zaken kiezen wat op de kaart staan.
Heel vriendelijk personeel.
De inkleding van het restaurant was sober maar dat stoorde ons niet echt.

Pros: lekker pikant, vriendelijk personeel, een aantal vegan keuzes bij het buffet

Cons: niet zo gezellige inrchting

WeeBetty

Points +208

Vegan
30 Sep 2023

Lovely!

I honestly don’t have anything negative to say. Everything I tasted was delicious. When I told them I was vegan, the staff were very helpful and were able to tell me what I could take from the buffet. At 12€ per head, it was a perfect and filling lunch.

Pros: Tasty food , Many vegan options , Helpful staff

JakobFriis

Points +54

Vegan
20 Sep 2023

Super cheap, fast, convenient and friendly service

Super close to Antwerp central station is this little vegetarian Indian joint. 12 euro for all you can eat in the buffet. Not an extravagant buffet but it does the job. Staff new exactly what was vegan, which was most of it. I sat in the outside terrace area which may be a flattering word for what it was. It’s not cozy from a traditional western understanding of the word. But in India a lot of the restaurants are like this. The coziness comes from the company you have. Perfect place for a little break before or after your train ride.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-20

Pros: Welcoming staff, Fast service , Cheap and decent food

Cons: Food wasn’t exactly super warm

B0bje

Points +42

Vegan
19 Aug 2023

Fantastic food, cheap option

Love coming here. Friendly atmosphere, veggie buffet (almost all vegan, ask staff which) for €12 absolutely brilliant!

AratiB

Points +135

Vegetarian
24 Jul 2023

Best vegetarian restaurant

I loved the food here. The staff is kind. The food was served very fast. The food is really tasty here.

vegannomad2

Points +2155

Vegetarian
17 Jun 2023

established North Indian buffet in little India district in town centrumv

Near central station on a side street. close to centrum. offers North Indian buffet, and a menu consisting of South Indian dishes also. Taste is good but quality of ingredients is average. Salad, pickle, chapati, rice, dhokla (dried), dal, aloo matter, green beans, paneer curry. Average reliable food. Dessert was besan burfee and kheer. Drinks or water not included. 12 euros pp. decent all vegetarian.

Updated from previous review on 2016-10-29

Pros: All vegetarian , Fair price for buffet

Cons: Average quality food , Not much ambiance

VeganElly11

Points +298

Vegan
31 Oct 2022

Buffet is ok but boring

All vegetarian Indian Restaurant, which is good. Very low ambiente, buffet is boring and too spicy (markig would be good). Had way better Indian dishes before.

Pros: All vegetarian, Good price

Cons: Boring dishes , Too spicy , No soup, only one dessert

ErinLouttit

Points +1963

Vegan
27 Jul 2022

Plant-based Indian food

This restaurant is great. It's within walking distance of the station and it's vegetarian and vegan. There is an extensive menu, if you would like to order from the menu, and there is also a buffet that changes daily (double check with the staff which dishes are vegan if necessary). We've been coming here for years whenever we've been lucky enough to visit Antwerp, and it's been good all that time.

Mandarin

Points +178

Vegetarian
27 Jul 2022

Incredible indian cuisine

Incredibly authentic indian food and 'chaats'. Great location next to the central station.

greenet09

Points +196

Vegan
26 Jun 2022

Very good food for reasonable price

Located near the central train station. Nearly all of the buffet we ate for dinner was vegan (except paneer of course and the dessert… but ask the owner first as the menu changes each day).

bertgerritsen

Points +413

Vegan
25 Feb 2022

Goedkoop en gezellig

Prima eten, spotgoedkoop. Bijna alles is vegan. Voor zo’n goedkoop buffet is de kwaliteit best goed, maar verwacht geen fine-dining experience. Gewoon een makkelijke plek om goedkoop te eten.

Pros: Veel vegan, Goedkoop, Rustig

Cons: Minimale aankleding

yumyumsum

Points +48

Vegan
10 Dec 2021

good place

resonable price with good food and kind staffs

Pros: can ask for vegan roti

Cons: could be spicy, for me was good

AlexCard

Points +47

Vegetarian
26 Jun 2020

Great traditional Indian food

In my opinion, the buffet is more than enough. The naan is not so good.

Pros: Lots of options, The buffet is cheap

stefjef

Points +1066

Vegan
01 Mar 2020

Vegetarian indian cuisine whit many vegan options

I love this place.
The buffet is amazing
and so cheap. They explain very well
what the vegan options are in the buffet.
And only 10euro so cheap!!!!

Pros: Great food, Kind staff, Good price

viktor21

Points +13

Vegetarian
08 Feb 2020

Zeer lekker aan uitstekende prijs!

Volledig vegetarisch en schappelijke prijzen! Wij hebben het buffet genomen, zeker een aanrader.

Sofie94

Points +67

Vegan
09 Nov 2019

Delicious!

Delicious food, cheap. We had the buffet, only two things were not vegan including naan. It's not marked, but if you ask the staff, they are happy to tell you. I love how there was a paper next to the buffet saying that you are welcome to eat as much as you want, but please don't waste any food.

Pros: All vegetarian, mostly vegan, Buffet

JoãoPedroFerreira

Points +8

Non Veg
04 Aug 2019

Great Food with Excellent Price

Nice and open space, with several vegetarian options. Besides, it has a great price, only 10€ for the buffet

paulavandijnen

Points +17

Vegetarian
03 Aug 2019

Heel erg lekker

Laat je door het interieur niet afschrikken, dit restaurant serveert heel goed eten! Uitgebreide kaart, buffet als optie en goede prijzen. De dosa is fantastisch. De bediening is vriendelijk. Van buiten lijkt dit een klein restaurant, maar het loopt door in een fijne buitenruimte. De sfeer is gemoedelijk.

Pros: Alles vegetarisch, uitgebreide keuze.

SofieVermylen

Points +118

Vegetarian
29 Jun 2019

Buffet voor zacht prijsje

Alles is vegetarisch, het buffet is lekker en goedkoop, ik ben fan

edwardbc

Points +1021

Vegan
24 Aug 2018

Great indian food

I tried the buffet and most of the options are vegan, just one had had cream in it. Everything is tasty and not too spicy or anything like that.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Stuff is not labeled, need to ask staff, Can be very busy, but spaceful

Veganouch

Points +13

Vegetarian
20 Feb 2018

Geweldig restaurant

Super leuk en gezellig restaurant, het personneel kan je gemakkelijk de juiste weg opsturen met hun vegan gerechten en het vegetarisch buffet aan slechts 10€ is de moeite waard.

MarkoObradovic

Points +515

Vegan
25 Nov 2017

Yummy Buffet

I'm normally not one to go for a buffet, but after seeing the options, I indulged and was not disappointed. It would have been nice to have better labels on the buffet dishes to describe what was in them, but everything tasted great.

Pros: great price, good location

Cons: Needs better labeling of buffet items

JohanBauwens

Points +32

Vegetarian
07 Nov 2017

Aahaar Antwerp

A great place. It's also a lot more cosy nowadays with the white walls (as opposed to the brown ones in the past). The buffet is cheap and good. The pickles can be too spicy for most European people. Only thing I don't like are their desserts which are not tasty.

Pros: Great authentic Indian Cuisine, Everything is veggie/vegan, Friendly staff, cheap food

Cons: The desserts are not tasty , Can be crowded, A la carte it's quite expensive

tweebeen

Points +24

Vegan
01 Oct 2017

good Food for small price

Good food for small price!

DanielledeRee

Points +164

Vegetarian
18 Jul 2017

Very nice Indian food

All vegetarian Indian restaurant with lots of vegan options. Very nice. You can either choose from menu or choose to eat from the buffet. We chose from the menu. Loved it very much!

Pros: Nice food

NicoNico

Points +207

Vegan
07 Apr 2017

needs improvement

I have to downgrade my review, it has been one of my favorite indian restaurant but it seems they changed the chef! Just to be clear, I'm only talking about the buffet option. After noticing some changes I had to come back a couple of times to be sure that it wasn't my imagination, one of my friend had also the same experience. I think that the quality of the ingredients needs to be improved, For the rest the buffet is almost 100% vegan and the staff is helpful, even though if you are on vegan diet I recommend you to ask to the staff which are the vegan options on the menu. Very crowded on Fri, Sat, and Sunday evenings, reservation is really recommended.



Updated from previous review on 2017-04-07

Pros: Lot of vegan options , helpful staff, price

Cons: ingredients quality needs to be improved




This page has been viewed 15737 times.