• Zaap Thai Street Food

  • (13)
    18
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Thai
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Asian
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Thai food restaurant with several outlets across the UK. Offers various dishes that are or can be made vegan, including gyoza, spring rolls, massaman curry, tofu crispy noodles, pad thai. Open Mon-Thu 11:00-22:30, Fri-Sat 11:00-23:00, Sun 12:00-22:30.


Venue map for Zaap Thai Street Food
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by nathanjh13

deadpledge

Points +11346

Vegan
07 Jan 2024

York Shambles

I'm usually a big fan of Zaap but our experience at this branch was poor.

What should have been a simple order of two vegan tofu Massaman curries somehow turned into a shambles.

First, only one dish arrived, so we had to call over a staff member to explain we ordered two dishes. They apologised only to bring over a meat dish a short while later. This obviously had to be returned, with the staff saying our order had got mixed up with another table.

Secondly, whilst waiting for our second dish to arrive, we realised that the first dish we were sharing at this point (as we were so hungry) wasn't even a Massaman curry, it was a Tofu Gang Panaeng! Luckily it was vegan and tasty.

When our final dish did arrive, it was the Massaman we craved, but sadly lacked depth of flavour. At least the Thai Zinger smoothie was refreshing.

Upon paying the bill we refused to pay the service charge and also mentioned that our first dish was a Tofu Gang Panaeng, only for the staff member to disagree. I'm sorry! I may not be a chef but I know the difference between these two curries.

Needless to say, we won't be visiting this branch again. #Veganuary

Pros: Choice

Cons: Service

Advertisement

pinks

Points +758

Vegan
28 Dec 2023

Zaap

I am allergic to mushroom and all the curries have mushroom in and it cannot be taken out. So I can only order pad thai.
One time we went there was a REALLY bad smell from the kitchen. The couple on a date sat near by went running out and the girl almost threw up at our table. Gagging from it. Haven't wanted to return since. Had eaten at several branches before. The coconut rice was served in plastic which is a)unhealthy and my husband will not eat it!!
b)bad for the environment

Michael2010

Points +415

Vegan
27 Dec 2023

Pretty Good

Tbe food was pretty good. However, it was over priced in comparison to London Thai offerings. Therefore whilst the food was pretty good it didn’t really reoresent value for money. #Veganuary

Pros: Fast service, Lots of Vegan options, Goid food

Cons: Over priced in my opinion

Mhairi-AnnHewitt

Points +34

Vegan
08 Oct 2023

Amazing

Thai food is one of my most favourite food, the fact they made me a dish that wasn’t on the menu also made my husbands with a mix of tofu and plant prawns (he said they were very tasty), staff very knowledgeable about vegan foods. We were very impressed and shall be recommending to friends and returning when we next visit York.

Pros: Knowledge of vegan foods available , Friendliness of staff, Speed of service

ASierra

Points +520

Vegan
21 Jul 2023

Amazing Thai Restaurant

Lovely place, street food feel, with a variety of vegan options and meat alternatives including vegan prawns! You can customise your curry too, in case red curry is not spicy enough for your taste

Philhower

Points +229

Vegetarian
24 Sep 2022

Good vegan Thai.

Zaap has a separate vegetarian menu which expands the options rather than just summarizing them. All the basics of Thai restaurant cuisine are available with tofu and plant based proteins. Some have optional egg.

We had the Pannang and Massamum curries with the plant based ‘chicken’. The curries were flavorful and appropriately spicy. The protein was kind of texture less and bland probably would have been better with tofu.

Service was efficient and friendly.

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Vegan sauces

KellyFH

Points +66

Vegetarian
17 Aug 2022

Amazing food and good service!

The food and drinks here are delicious! We ate here as a family of four and all enjoyed our dishes. They have a kids menu and my daughter was impressed that she was given crayons and a menu to colour while she waited. Nice atmosphere and very quick service.

Pros: Lots of options for vegetarians and vegans, Reasonably priced, Kids menu

jojomojo44

Points +155

Vegan
05 Jul 2022

Really tasty Thai food

We had lunch there and were really happy to see a separate vegetarian menu which they said could all be made vegan. It was delicious food and great value for money as the portions were big. I’d go back for sure.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Plenty of food for the price. , Friendly and helpful staff

PaulSinfield

Points +22

Vegan
18 Apr 2022

Fantastic meal

Went here with my son and had the most amazing meal. Vegan options were clearly explained and there were plenty of options. Will certainly return next time we’re in York!

EddyMaya

Points +573

Vegan
08 Apr 2022

Nothing to get excited about

We visited Zaap for dinner recently. There's an extensive vegetarian menu and everything on it can be made vegan on request. So lots to choose from including stir fries, curries and noodle dishes.

We shared a spicy papaya salad to start followed by a tofu penang curry & a red Thai curry stir fry. Everything was pretty good but definitely not the best Thai food I've ever had. The accompanying sticky rice was a particularly sad reheated in a plastic bag micro-waved affair that left a lot to be desired.

So all in all an ok experience. But nothing to get excited about.

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-08

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly staff, Nice vibe

Cons: Average food quality, Poor micro-waved sticky rice, A bit pricey for what you get

oh.olivia

Points +688

Vegan
06 Jun 2021

Must Visit!

Loads of vegan options through the menu and even a separate section labelled for vegans. There’s an extensive drinks range for both alcohol and soft drinks- they even serve bubble tea! Really lovely interior, quick friendly service, regular cleaning and they take your temperature before you come in. Couldn’t recommend more- really great food!

Pros: Quick and friendly service, Loads of options

Cons: Allergens- cooked in same fryer

YJZL

Points +351

Vegan
20 May 2021

Great Vegan Options!

Fantastic Thai street food with a dedicated vegan menu.
We really enjoyed all our food and the staff were excellent!

Pros: Plenty of choice, Reasonable food costs

Cons: Some of the alcohol is a tad pricey but it is York

nathanjh13

Points +447

Vegan
11 Sep 2020

Great vegan Thai food

Decent authentic Thai food. Very central, lovely staff and a decent menu (though relies on tofu for almost every option). Pricey, though location will of course play a part. Gets very busy with people queuing though they never seem to open the seating upstairs (must just be in evening).

Pros: Central, lots of options

Cons: Pricey, relies on tofu, packed




This page has been viewed 2679 times.