• Yvolina's Tamales

  • (15)
    28
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Take-out
Mexican
Catering
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Tamal shop. Offers rotating selection of vegetarian and vegan tamales. Reopened Apr 2017. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-6:00pm, Sun 11:00am-5:00pm.


Venue map for Yvolina's Tamales
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by wgruesome

diannec

Points +346

Vegan
22 Oct 2023

I love tamales

Full disclosure I was very hungry when I ate here but the vegan poblano/cheese tamale was delicious! The vegan cheez wasn’t trying too hard to be cheese, was more of a sauce-like texture, but it blended really well with the rest of the tamale. I recommend the spicy mole. Love that the beans are vegan as well, and that everything is gluten free and safe for celiacs! Will be back.

Pros: Knowledgeable staff, Reasonable prices, Good portions

Advertisement

jennyjay

Points +95

Vegan
07 Aug 2023

Amazing tamales, great vegan options

This place is fantastic! There were two vegan options available today—spinach/mushroom and quinoa/lentil. I got the beans and rice on the side. Prices are great and everything was delicious. Definitely try both the mole and hot salsa.

Pros: Vegan options , Great taste, Low prices

evelyn_m

Points +84

Vegan
30 Jul 2022

The best tamales and mole

Yvolindas has the best vegan tamales. It's great to have options, too: kale, quinoa and lentils, and one other. I've had the kale and the quinoa and lentils. Their mole won the mole fest in 2022! I've enjoyed the kale tamal with green mole and the quinoa tamal with almond mole.

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-30

Pros: Multiple vegan options, Vegan tamales, Friendly

Cons: Limited seating

wiselatina

Points +93

Vegan
09 Mar 2022

Best vegan tamales 🫔

The vegan tamales are so deliociosos! It’s a drive for me and i like the variety when I’ve gone. If I could give them 5 stars I would based on the selection but since they’re not fully vegetarian or vegan it’s restricted. The mole and their green drink was so good too!

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-08

Pros: Vegan tamales and mole options , Fresh vegan fruit aguas, Prices

Cons: Longer Distance from where I live , Parking situation

chick58

Points +145

Vegetarian
28 Nov 2021

The best vegan tamales in Chicago are in a vegetarian-friendly restaurant.

Wowee! COVID gave Yvolina's time to revamp the restaurant indoors even more. The name combines those of the owner, Marcelina, and her daughter Yvonne. Marcelina started out with nonvegetarian tamales, but one of her daughters could no longer eat animal products for medical reasons. Now she offers 21 vegetarian tamales, 13 of which are vegan, but she usually only provides 2 per day. She used to have a brochure for all 21 so that any could be ordered the day before. However, none was available the day our meetup, Plant Based Southsiders, visited. Even so, our members raved about the tasty food. We ordered the quinoa/lentil tamales and caulifower ceviche; some asked for the mole too. Other restaurants, even vegan ones, can't top Yvolina's vegan tamales.

Pros: Selection of vegetarian/vegan tamales, cauliflower ceviche, restaurant atmosphere

Cons: brochure for vegetarian tamales wasn't available

AbbyKuo

Points +538

Vegan
03 Nov 2019

Delicious, cozy and friendly

Very easy ordering. Vegan tamal is clearly on the menu. Yummy!

Pros: Yum, Easy, Friendly staff

StephanieMeyer

Points +1501

Vegan
15 Sep 2019

🔥

I'd never had tamales before going here tbh because I'd never encountered vegan tamales but these are SO GOOD

gizelle617

Points +1444

Vegan
10 Sep 2019

Heavenly tamales

I crave these a lot of the time! It’s not easy to find tamales made without manteca so I’m grateful for Yvolina’s. The quinoa/lenteja tamales are my favorite, along with any of the moles are amazing. (you can get all 3 on your tamal ;P)

Pros: Vegan mole, tamales, ceviche, and more, Seating for dine in, Quick service

Cons: A little pricey, but big portions

JoshUrl

Points +34

Vegan
03 Aug 2019

Amazing tamales!

Truly wonderful tamales! The quinoa tamales I had were delicious and both the red and almond moles were fantastic! I definitely recommend Yvolina's Tamales!

Pros: Great vegan tamales, Excellent vegan moles

DanMiller

Points +141

Vegan
05 Jul 2019

Delicious vegan options

The tamales are so good, several vegan and vegetarian flavors. The moles are vegan and not to be missed!

Pros: Delicious , Reasonable prices, Nice storefront location

XOXO

Points +1760

Vegan
20 Apr 2019

Vegan tamales are the best!!!

Also try the mole sauces, all vegan and GF. The green one is my favorite.

tevety

Points +313

Vegetarian
27 Nov 2018

Tastiest vegan tamales

I love these tamales but you need tog st there early for a good selection. Usually at the end of the day you only have one or two vegan options, if even. You can call before going to be sure. I LOVE the quinoa one. I know that doesn’t sound authentic but if it could be it would be because the flavor is amazing. It’s the tamale that once you taste you’ll always crave.

Pros: Quinoa tamale, Kale tamale, Mole sauces

Cons: Changing menus, Get there early, They run out

bunhead

Points +29

Vegan
12 Jun 2018

Can’t believe I’ve never been before!

As a frequent visitor to this area, I can’t believe I’ve never been to Yvolina’s until now! I split both the vegan kale tamale and vegan spinach and mushroom tamale dinner plates that came with your choice of mole and a side of rice and beans. I couldn’t decide which flavor mole to get so I got both red and green and both were to die for! Food came out so quick and the staff was super friendly and took the time to explain the menu. Will be my new number one stop to go for food in the area!

Pros: Good amount of vegan options , Friendly staff, Can purchase their packaged mole and salsa

Cons: none

AndreaGarcia99

Points +18

Vegan
09 Jun 2018

Amazing tamales

I had the spinach mushroom tamale and was blown away, their mole sauce is also vegan and goes great with the tamales. The kale mango agua fresca is a must try

Pros: Good vegan options , Great food, Friendly staff

wgruesome

Points +26

Vegan
10 Jun 2017

Best tamales in Chicago

Yvolina's Tamales is the best in Chicago. Their mole, which is vegan, was named the best mole at the Festival Mole de Mayo 2017 in Chicago's Pilsen neighborhood. I've had the red mole - they also have a green style - several time and love it.

They offer vegan, vegetarian, and meat options. The tamales are Oaxacan style, which are wrapped in a banana leaf and are about twice the size as the type you find in corn husks. This is a good to know when ordering. The vegan options change, but vary between kale, quinoa, spinach and mushroom, eggplant, and poblano.

They also have delicious, fresh juices available.

Pros: Large portions, Award-winning mole, Excellent service

Cons: Hours




This page has been viewed 5086 times.