Get the HappyCow App

HappyCow mobile application
The App Stores #1 vegetarian and vegan restaurant guide
Thousand of listings across the globe
Featured on CNN, NY Times, and Wall Street Journal
Download the app

© HappyCow 2018

Yellow City Street Food

  • Veg-options Veg-options
    ( 9 reviews )
Contact
806-223-2882
Find

2916 Wolflin Ave (at downtown), Amarillo, Texas, USA, 79109

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has a house-made veggie burger and tofu tacos. Vegans to specify. Previously at 909 Madison, change of address reported January 2017. Open Tue-Sat 11:00am-2:00pm, 6:00pm-9:00pm.

Categories: Lacto, Fast food, Take-out, Southwestern American, Non-veg

9 Reviews

First Review by Denster

KatiePacelli-Klinger

Contributions +22

Vegan
23 May 2018

Deserves 5 Stars - Edit

Traveling through Amarillo, we're so glad we stopped at this gem of a place! Vegan options are clearly marked on the menu, & they're happy to accommodate to taste (spice level, etc.) We left full, happy, & looking forward to visiting again the next time we're in Amarillo!

Pros: Super friendly staff. Love the positive messages a

Cons: Wish it was 100% vegan, but respect that it's not.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

pillymac

Contributions +16

Vegetarian
25 Aug 2017

Not to be missed! - Edit

Driving through Amarillo and found this recommendation on HappyCow. The menu is small but not disappointing. INCREDIBLE vegan mushroom tacos!! Great beer and wine selection as well. We will definitely stop in again whenever in Amarillo.

Pros: great vibe, locally sourced items

Cons: long wait but well worth it

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Encrypt8

Contributions +46

Vegan
24 Aug 2017

closed Sunday and Monday - Edit

You can find their location and hours on Facebook. Best fried mushroom tacos ever! The menu changes daily and is usually posted on Facebook as well. Dinner menu starts at 5pm the wait can be long (line to order & pay) plus wait for food. Don't go if you're in a big rush but the food is well worth the wait.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

saraelston

Contributions +20

Vegan
01 Jun 2017

veg burger not vegan - Edit

I was told recently that their veggie burger isnt vegan, they use an egg in it. But their tofu tacos are vegan but be sure to ask for vegan aioli, just ask to make it vegan!

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

klc1011

Contributions +23

Vegan
10 May 2017

Amazing tacos - Edit

This is a perfect example of a restaurant that Amarillo needs. Delicious food, with a vegan option or two, and great beer! They are wonderful people who are doing a great thing in Amarillo, TX. Their menu changes daily, so check their Facebook page before going. Their service would be considered slow, but they are a busy place and they make every meal fresh to order. My personal favorite is the Dragon Tofu taco! In the future, they will be opening a full service restaurant and I can't wait to try it out.

Pros: a couple of delicious vegan options., no longer in a small shack drive thru, amazing beer selection.

Cons: not open every day to eat awesome deliciousness.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

dwisher7

Contributions +16

Vegan
21 Sep 2016

3:00 in afternoon - Edit

They weren't open and it looked like they may not have been for a while. Might check before driving out of your way like we did.

Pros: None

Cons: Not open

yellowcity

22 Sep 2016
Our fb, ig, & twitter pages explain that we're currently moving to a new location. We closed down mid last week to work on our transition (a lot to get done). We posted a sign to the bldg with this information. We plan to have our grand opening (in our now bigger location) Tues, Sept 27th. We hope you'll come by & see us. We updated our happycow profile with new address.

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

plantbasedDeb

Contributions +44

Vegan
02 Dec 2015

Drive thru - Edit

They provide a vegan taco which is very good but oily. It is a drive thru and no place to eat except your car or take home.

Pros: Tofu Taco with veggies

yellowcity

22 Sep 2016
Our apologies it was oily. Which taco was it? We are opening up our new spot Sept 27, 2016...we'd love if you'd stop back to see us! We have indoor seating now as well.

yellowcity

22 Sep 2016
Also, we'll have a much bigger vegan/vegetarian menu at the new spot!

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

DeborahMiller

Contributions +21

Vegetarian
23 Jul 2015

Wish we had a restaurant where we live! - Edit

This little restaurant's facade does little to indicate the delicious food the proprietor's create. The homemade veggie burgers were fantastic! The quinoa patties were wonderful as well. We pulled up at closing time as we were passing through town and they prepared our food with a smile.

Pros: Great food, Veggie friendly , Good size portions

yellowcity

22 Sep 2016
Sorry for delayed response. That's awesome to hear! Thanks for the review! We're currently moving to a new location at 2916 Wolflin. Hope you'll stop back by our new spot!

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Denster

Contributions +11

Mostly Vegetarian
05 Aug 2014

My Favorite! - Edit

They have amazing food here and are open to customizing so can be vegetarian and vegan friendly. The Imposter is incredible - a portobello taco! And their fish tacos are hands down the best ever. - anywhere. Both are 'must tries'. I love that their presentation is so nice in such a casual setting -and that they care about the quality of food they serve. ENJOY!

Pros: Fresh real food

Cons: Needs a bigger place

yellowcity

22 Sep 2016
Sorry for the extremely delayed response, hehe. But we wanted to say thank you so much for this review!!

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Amarillo Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Yellow City Street Food closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2456 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support