Mae Orathai Vegetarian

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 39 reviews )

Find

Soi Nanai 38/50, Patong, Phuket, Thailand, 83150

Simple place. Offers soups, a variety of tofu and meat substitutes with rice and noodles. Typical Thai vegetarian cuisine. Confirmed open by Cow member Feb 2015.
Note December 2021: Restaurants in Thailand may open for indoor dining, but some provinces are requiring restaurants to close for dine-in by 9:00pm. Call to check hours before going. Alcohol is not permitted in restaurants in any province. Open Mon-Sun 6:00am-5:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Thai

39 Reviews

First Review by gregjaymaui

NocturnalFiend

Points +16

Vegan
09 Nov 2021

Lovely

I have been a few times this week. Tasty and all vegan so no need to worry about what you order. I simply gestured to what I wanted as my thai is no good.

Pros: Lots of options, Snacks too, Cheap

Cons: Runs out as the day goes on

SamJain

Points +15

Vegetarian
01 Mar 2020

My everyday place

Food delicious
cheap
hygenic
in patong (location is good)
what more u need to know?

Pros: pure vegan , pure vegetarian

Cons: timings is quite wierd

CarmenMorenoOrtega

Points +73

Vegan
20 Jan 2020

Ok good value for money but were not transparent on priced

They changed the price at the till and charged the same as if we had an extra plate because we asked them to put a little bit more since they barely put anything. To be honest it was still so cheap, not complaining about the price but the principle of not being clear on pricing. They said 3 curries 50 bhat and turns out some of the curries had an extra charge of 50, 30... Still fine, still cheap and tasty.

Pros: The yellow curry is nice , Good value

Cons: Small curry portions

Advertisement

melkingin

Points +268

Vegan
11 Jan 2020

Leckeres Veganes es zum kleinen Preis

Egal was, alles war immer Super lecker und es gab jeden Tag etwas anderes.
Die Damen sind alle sehr Herzlich und Preislich ist es unschlagbar 🙏😊

Pros: Alles ist Vegan

Cons: Nicht so viele Sitzmöglichkeiten, Nur geöffnet von früh morgens bis nachmittags.

charlottecat

Points +59

Vegetarian
15 Oct 2019

Tasty buffet but go early if you like hot food!

This is a standard vegan buffet place such as I have found in many places in Thailand. As with other buffet places, the set-up is very simple, and they provide water refill which is a great plus point for me.

They also have the common tendency to have a lot of very greasy fried options, and mock meat. However, I was pleased to find some options which were neither greasy nor mock-meat, and very delicious. Especially, they had the 'hed hom' mushrooms when I was there.

I went there twice in the afternoon and would say it's probably not worth it really, since the food was only lukewarm and they have no way of heating it.

One time I was there about an hour before their stated closing time, and all they had was cold food in plastic bags which they offered to put in a foam box for me. They were very accommodating to my explanation that I don't want to use plastic or foam, and offered to put the plastic bags in a paper bowl instead! But any environmentally-conscious Happy Cows may wish to try other places that don't have such a huge output of foam and plastic.

Pros: Tasty food, Free water refill, Friendly people

Cons: Lukewarm or cold in the afternoon, Lots of plastic and foam packaging , Lots of grease and mock meat

medling

Points +17

Vegetarian
25 Aug 2019

tasty Thai meal

unlike the other reviewers, I had ala carte (did not find the buffett menu). went twice, both days in the morning around 7am. The interior of the shop is clean, did not find any issues with hygiene.
Both spicy and non spicy options are available.
Owners speak decent English.

Difficult to locate the place , though. It is a relatively narrow shop front. Had to keep watching out for a yellow signboard.

Pros: Authentic Thai, Cheap

Cons: Difficult to locate

DuncanMacbethLead

Points +1083

Vegan
15 Jul 2019

Cheap vegan food

Cheap buffet style vegan food. But portion sizes are small. I guess you get what you pay for here. It is fully vegan though, so nice to support the place!

When my sister and I went, we both had dodgy tummy’s that same night. So maybe hygiene isn’t the best, but hey, it’s Asia. (Might be due to lukewarm rice).

Pros: All vegan, Cheap

Cons: Small portions, Potentially poor hygiene

yoeyⓋegan

Points +2793

Vegan
10 May 2019

Delicious, but I can’t eat there again.

The food is tasty, staff are nice, affordable, but I found a fly in my takeaway meal, and sadly can’t eat there anymore.

Pros: Tasty food , Cheap, Lovely staff

Cons: Hygiene , Lots of flies around the food area.

ElisabettaSanson

Points +150

Vegan
25 Apr 2019

Simple thai vegan food

great little family owned business with great Thai vegan buffet:)
the mushroom tofu was delicious..
paid only 50baht for a big portion!!

Pros: super cheap (50baht), great simple food

Cons: not easy to find

Miyax

Points +63

Vegan
10 Apr 2019

Small but good

Delicious jay food at very reasonable prices. Nice staff.

Julius’s

Points +16

Vegan
29 Mar 2019

Fantastic

Food was super tasty, spicy and not spicy options.Will come back for more.

Cons: Cheap, pay 60thb for plate of food

Medina

Points +100

Vegan
27 Mar 2019

Mock Meat Heaven

I can’t say it’s the healthiest, but they have the largest selection of mock meats I’ve ever seen! Buffet style, you might want to go just after they open for freshness. I ate there twice and everything was delicious. Heaping plates for around 100 baht. Not the best English but just point and nod. They will warn you of spicy. May not be hot food.

Pros: Lots of selection , Moderately priced

Cons: Not hot food

DarrenCollier

Points +28

Vegan
16 Feb 2019

Cheap vegan food 100 baht will fill 2 of you up

Simple restaurant . Nice staff . All the food is vegan. Shuts at 5pm

Pros: Lots of thai vegan food

Cons: None

樊晓童

Points +20

Vegan
10 Feb 2019

It’s super tasty

I ordered brown rice with three different kinds of vege dishes. So good!

Pros: Super cheap, Tasty

RobDickinson

Points +18

Vegan
08 Dec 2018

Friendly and generous

A cool little gem tucked away with a friendly owner. Plenty of options with free water dispenser so no plastic bottles.

Pros: Cheap, friendly, free water and a chicken roaming

Cons: No music haha!

StevieBolognaGwyn

Points +102

Vegan
25 Nov 2018

Quiet place

Food was really good, very flavourful. Free water and tea. Super cheap.

Pros: All vegan.

Cons: Cheap.

ViNada

Points +19

Vegetarian
22 Oct 2018

Épicé , bon mais froid

Un buffet mis à disposition vous attend et vous devez choisir ce que vous voulez. Les dames ne parlent pas anglais donc ne savent pas expliquer ce qu’il y a dans leurs plats et le goût/épices. Je me suis retrouvée avec un plat MEGA épicé, impossible à manger. Sinon pas mal de choix au buffet. Point négatif : pas de réchaud donc manger tiède.

krishna1989

Points +19

Vegetarian
14 Aug 2018

great hospitality

this is a buddhist restaurant. it is run on donations by phuket buddhists, not a profit seeking store.people visit buddha and come here to eat, they pay money that they wish and leave. no menu , no AC, no fancy tables .. self service . all the stuff you see here is donated by someone. staff are regular office going ladies.they serve here in their free time.

look for JAY(vegetarian in thai เจ ) symbol on the store, no english title for this restaurant. not a fancy commercial restaurant. they sell vegan products like thai vegan coffee, thai vegan noodles, pickles etc.. good to eat , drink coffee , buy vegan products.. the lady who cooks food stayed vegan for more than 20 years. she and her staff show good hospitality. food is prepared in morning and it stays for consumption till evening 3 .they only cook once. so go before its all eaten.

Pros: warm hearted people

Cons: need english sign board for foreigners

CharlieDrew

Points +76

Vegan
11 Jul 2018

Rats

I understand we’re in Asia and food standards aren’t what are expected in the western world, but after asking to go to the toilet, I saw a rat happily chilling in the back by the cooker. He didn’t seem fazed to see me, so I’d assume he was a regular. The buffet food was not kept warm which is important, especially when you’ve got animals running around. It’s a shame, they have lots of mock meats and potential but, boy do they need to clean up.

Pros: Mock meats, All Vegan

Cons: Cold food, Rats in kitchen

SallyBritton

Points +38

Vegan
28 Apr 2018

Cold food, left out all day

Food is served in a buffet style, you get a plate of rice and then can pick 2 dishes for 40 baht. We had the Tom Yum and another dish which I was unsure of. It was insanely spicy to the point where we could barely eat it and the entire plate was served cold- even the rice. The food was left unattended all day and I even saw a bird on the counter pecking at the rice. Wouldn’t go again.

Pros: All vegan, Cheap prices

Cons: Cold food, Seemed very unhygienic

Tofulicious

Points +1093

Vegan
05 Mar 2018

Gem of Patong

Great (and only) local 'jeh' eatery in Patong, with huge selection of mostly delicious dishes. The women who run the operation are warm, friendly and accommodating, happy to share a little of their Thai with your English. A large dish with four dishes would cost THB 60, or two dishes for THB 40. Get there early for the option of 'brown' (red) rice.

Pros: good location, great service, inexpensive

earthville

Points +6335

Vegan
27 Feb 2018

Delicious, authentic, inexpensive, & plant-based

This small-but-mighty eatery is not to be missed. The mother-and-daughters operation serves highly flavorful Thai Buddhist cuisine that is authentically prepared and plant-based (I asked them to be sure, and they said no meat, eggs, or dairy products on the menu, but I did notice that their small shop in the front does sell a few packaged commercial items that contain dairy and eggs).

There's good variety in the buffet, with the selection changing daily to keep things interesting. Usually there's at least one noodle dish, several faux-meat items, and a number of whole-veggie offerings (the latter making it a good choice for people who aren't into mock meats). There was even one vegetable I'd never encountered before in all my years eating in Thailand, which is always fun.

I've sampled at least 30 different items here over the years and everything has been delicious. A plate of rice with a serving each of three different veggie items cost 50-75 Baht (a little more for the faux "fish," which was uncommonly good). They're happy to serve you either more or fewer than 3 items as well, with the price adjusted accordingly. (Note that all the faux-meat items cost extra.) Portion sizes tend to vary a bit depending on which person happens to be serving.

It's open till 5pm daily, and fortunately the food in the heated area of the buffet table stays reasonably warm so even if you get there later in the day it should be passable (though it's best when fresh and piping hot, so early lunch is a great time to come).

Note there are no drinks served (other than water), so i would often grab a fresh coconut elsewhere before coming for a meal.

It's at 38/50 Nanai Road, which is about 300 steps south of the Sainamyen Road crossing, near Kelly's Hotel (but on the opposite side of the street). Look for the yellow banners.


Updated from previous review on Sunday February 16, 2014


Updated from previous review on 2015-02-09

Pros: Delicious, authentic, varied, great value, all vegan!

allyandlouis

Points +109

Vegan
19 Feb 2018

good food

Friendly owner, only cheap vegan place in Patong. Great food!

LouisBenmax

Points +26

Vegan
27 Jan 2018

unimpressed

The woman who runs the place seemed friendly but the food was lukewarm and had been sitting out all day attracting flies. It was fine and definitely homegrown but might put off people. Not bad not not good either.

JuanPabloZvinys

Points +307

Vegan
09 Jan 2018

Sabrosa y variada comida veggie

Fuimos con mi pareja con mucho apetito y la variedad de platos y sabores nos satisfizo. La comida es deliciosa y la atención es muy buena. El lugar es modesto. Te atienden con mucha simpatía, paciencia y con una sonrisa. Te explican con detalle en qué consiste cada plato y podes elegir un poco de cada cosa. Te ofrecen agua libremente para acompañar las comidas. Las opciones vegetarianas son muy pocas en Patong Beach, pero este espacio compensa esta carencia. ¡No dejes de visitarlo!

Pros: La atención y la variedad de sabores.

dcmf

Points +196

Vegan
11 Nov 2017

Big on variety, even bigger on taste

Ate here twice and both times the food was divine. There's a sweet plant-based beef dish that's absolutely perfect! Be wary that the food is cooked in the morning and kept warm by the Thailand heat the rest of the day, so it pays to come early.

I was a bit confused about the pricing here - the first time I was charged 70 THB for a large plate of food, while the next time I was charged 120 THB. I just went with it since it wasn't much money for the food I was getting, but you may be able to bargain here (it's up to you if you want to).

Note some of the dishes are super spicy, since this place largely caters to locals!

Pros: Ultra tasty food, Huge variety, Great value

Cons: Food is all cooked at start of the day

jctbaker

Points +87

Vegan
16 Jul 2017

tasty local joint. a must-try for vegans

Love this place. Open 7am-5pm so come early. The lady is sweet and speaks some Engrish. Seating inside. Take away or plate with rice 3-4 curries, etc for about 60 baht. Lots of fake meats. Snacks and sides available too. Bags of noodles and curries for take-away. Also veggie products, sauces etc available inside. For vegans and veggies coming thru town I'd say it's mandatory to check out support local joints like this. Won't win any awards but very tasty and very good value.

Pros: tasty, cheap, local

Cons: out of the way, closed on Buddhist holidays , closes early (5pm)

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Phuket Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Mae Orathai Vegetarian closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 11398 times.