Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Vegan-friendly beer bar in Burbank, established since 1978. Menu includes vegan sausages, vegan chili, salads, and fries. Vegan food is cooked separately. All local brewers craft beer to keep carbon footprint low, also bottle free. Open Mon-Fri 12:00pm-10:00pm, Sat-Sun 10:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Tony's Darts Away
© OpenStreetMap contributors

28 Reviews

First Review by alisong

silas1912

Points +662

Vegan
03 Dec 2023

Brunch, breakfast burrito!

This is a hidden gem in Burbank so many vegan options today I went with the breakfast burrito. I often get it with kimchi and their Vegan ranch dressing is the best I’ve ever had. I would like to give it five stars but I’m not allowed  .
Darts Away Burrito - tofu, vegan cheddar ,soyrizo, avocado lime puree, tater tots, roasted garlic, served with chips and salsa . I kimchi to the burrito & vegan ranch.

Pros: Fantastic Vegan menu, Fantastic Vegan beer, Fantastic Vegan foood

Advertisement

Notstevie

Points +1232

Vegan
21 Aug 2023

Great burgers!!!

I’m in Burbank all the time, so it’s kinda nuts that I hadn’t visited Tony’s until now. I ordered the Dart’s Away Jr and it was sooooo good. Honestly one of the better vegan burgers I’ve had in a long time. Including tip, it’s about $17 for a burger (figured I’d put that here - but they def make up for that with how good their food is). Better than Monty’s? Probably! Can’t wait to come back! Cool vibe inside too

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-21

LeahDardis

Points +402

Vegan
18 Jul 2023

Best vegan bar food

Walked in and felt right home. Clean and well maintained. The bartender was super knowledgeable about the beer and menu items. Loved the disco fries and draft beer.

Spookyjulez

Points +152

Vegan
04 Jul 2023

Best Burgers

First of all: the fact you can’t make a non fully vegan restaurant five stars on HappyCow is upsetting.😒Tony’s deserved a 5 star.

You can’t go wrong with Tony’s Darts Away! I’ve been coming here for many years now, and ordering the same thing and never getting sick of it. I always order the junior darts away burger with pickles, which is on a brioche bun with impossible meat, follow your heart cheese, and a vegan thousand island dressing. I also always get the french fries which so happen to be my favorite french fries ever with their housemaid ranch. I don’t even drink beer yet I love coming here. I’ve met a lot of cool people here. There’s been times when the burgers don’t taste nearly as good as they are and sometimes it’s just due to a different chef. Their garbanzo beans and pretzels are pretty good as well.

ktomasiello

Points +122

Vegan
28 Dec 2022

Great bar food

Went here with an old friend to catch up on life. He recommended it because he knew I was vegan. This place has plenty of vegan food but can make the dishes non vegan for “others”. Well I must say I was really impressed. I had the bacon wrapped sausage with peppers and it was delicious!! I definitely want to go back and try more. To make it even better they had great non alcoholic beers for the non drinkers ( me).

Pros: Great selection of bar food, Very tasty, Great service and atmosphere

DeliaDanaeRawdon

Points +130

Vegan
12 Nov 2022

Coolest Bar in Burbank

Cool atmosphere, nice patrons, great staff pool table and darts. Had the chili dog, house chips and cream soda. Everything tasted amazing and the prices are rather affordable. It’s a must stop while in town.

Pros: Great food , Lots of options , Fun, cool atmosphere

hewarroe

Points +127

Vegan
20 Aug 2022

Best local bar in Burbank.

Always an impressive beer list and very vegan friendly bar bites.
Changed the vegan wings to vegan drumsticks and I love it. The Carolina Reaper sauce is amazing.

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-10

Laurenbdoeslife

Points +890

Vegan
19 Jul 2022

Lots of options; banh mi lacking

I had their vegan banh mi today...service was good, employee was nice. I enjoyed the vegan pork but the rest of the sandwich was not great. It lacked enough greens/cilantro and there was too much spicy mayo. Like, it went everywhere. I asked for no jalapeno because I can't handle spicy and it was a bit spicy for me. I also think the bread could use toasting; it was dry and there was alot of it. I do appreciate the large amount of vegan offerings they have and will try something else in future.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Fair pricing

Cons: Parking

JennKub

Points +956

Vegan
22 May 2022

Very good vegan options

This is a great hangout. Almost all menu options can be vegan. It’s an order at the bar establishment with rotating beers constantly, burgers and brats and housemade chips. Always hot and fresh.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Good atmosphere , Great taste

Cons: Can be crowded

kk1018

Points +209

Vegan
08 Dec 2021

Bar with vegan food

I got a Buffalo wrap here I think, it was good

ShaunnaCG

Points +158

Vegetarian
15 Oct 2021

Locals love it

I liked it better the first year it opened. A bit of a victim of its own hype. That said no one can deny the vegan food is on point.

theevword

Points +674

Vegan
28 Apr 2021

You haven’t been to Tony’s yet? Wtf

Alright y’all, what have you been doing... this is my neighborhood bar and it rules. They pretty much have a vegan option for ever non vegan option they have.

I guess I should talk about the food first since that’s why we are here. For years I would get appetizers bc I wasn’t a super fan of their sausages (so many different vegan combos you could make) but I guess I’m just not that into that. The vegan wings are pretty simple like a vegan patty just cut up but they are so flavorful. It comes with a side of carrots, celery & vegan ranch. The GM blew my mind when he said there was a spicy and a bbq option bc for years I just got the spicy.
Ok moving forward to my favorite option... the Korean bowl.... god damn for a bar this place really does it up with food. This bowl doesn’t make me feel like I just ate at a bar which is lovely.

Also... I don’t think they have this crazy option anymore but hands down one of the best burgers you would have ever had would have been there impossible burger with a donut as the bread.... that’s all I’m going to say because RIP to that choice.

Just go okay. They have Pliny the Elder on tap sometimes so you’re a fool if you pass this place up.

They also sometimes put Grateful Dead on which is really great :’)

Updated from previous review on 2020-03-12

Nona337

Points +70

Vegan
23 Jan 2021

Wonderful vegan options!

Pleasantly surprised by this place. Vegan versions of everything. Great staff.

The_Seitanist

Points +1405

Vegan
25 Jul 2020

Best. Wings. Ever.

THE best vegan wings around. Ever!! Hands down. Burgers are also amazing, and there's alot of options to choose from Their crisps are house made. A must visit if you're in LA.

Pros: HEAPS of Vegan options

The_Seitanist

07 Aug 2022

Update. Visited again and the food was amazing as usual! The Bahn Mi was awesome

lucycharms

Points +137

Vegan
12 Aug 2019

Excellent vegan options!

We ordered the vegan Disco Fries which is like a poutine (fries, gravy & cheese), it was really good!! We also got the Tony’s Jr Impossible Burger which we loved! They have a great menu for vegans and non-vegans, a really fun bar with lots of board games for everyone!

Pros: Huge vegan menu, Board games

Cons: Dark, Small tables, Loud

LM.

Points +44

Vegan
31 Jul 2019

Loved it

The vegan pork and sunflower cutlet are amazing! I would give five stars if Happy Cow would permit it.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Permitted children (why, it's a bar?!), Impossible Burger (tested on animals)

auteur66

Points +35

Vegan
17 Jan 2019

Great Vegan Options!

Really good vegan food

Pros: Great Vegan options, great California beers, Fun atmosphere

AnyaMasley

Points +58

Vegan
07 Nov 2018

This place is awesome!!!

This is the kind of place you want to bring your non-vegan friends. Almost everything on the menu has a Vegan and non vegan option which is amazing and the taste was awesome too!!!

SophistiKatie

Points +91

Vegan
16 Feb 2018

Love the food and the atmosphere

I usually want to go to places with an all vegan menu but this menu was very well marked V = vegan, NV = not vegan and there seemed to be more vegan options than not. I got the Italian stallion vegan sausage and the Buffalo wings (vegan obvi) and both were great. The roll on the sausage was a little stale but I'm sure that's not an every day occurrence, besides, it added to the whole dive bar atmosphere of the place. The food was reasonably priced and flight of beer I ordered was a little pricey but all great beers.

Pros: atmosphere, Buffalo wings (vegan)

Cons: pricey flights

BenPage

Points +22

Vegan
07 Dec 2017

delicious!!!

They have scrumptious beets on tap, probably the best beets I've ever experienced. Yum yum vegan food and beer oh wow!!!!

PeterAus

Points +238

Vegan
19 May 2017

vegan friendly dive bar

Very authentic dive bar with great beets on tap and vegan and omnivorous bar food. Friendly place.

Tofu Girl

Points +35

Vegan
20 Jan 2017

Great bar food

Love this bar, for the vegan food options and the beer selection. Not too many neighborhood bars of this type in Southern California. Just wish it was closer to home, I would be a regular!

amyklaw

Points +132

Vegan
17 Apr 2016

Awesome bar

We love Tony's! They have great beer and vegan food. Every week they have different specials so you can try new things. Also, their breakfast is amazing. They have games and a pool table. They have a patio we sit at frequently, where you can bring dogs. We visit here about once a week.

pramsey1234

Points +16

Vegan
18 Feb 2016

Vegans and non-vegans sitting as equals

I met a friend here for a catch-up dinner. We're both vegan. It's a happy noisy neighborhood style bar with maybe a dozen seats at the bar and two dozen or so seats at very closely spaced tables for two, many of which were pushed together, so it's not a place for privacy. There are also a dozen or so seats on a front patio (it was raining when I was there). We were able to get seats together at the bar and tune out the din to talk.

The beer selection was fantastic, all on tap, half IPA and half "non-ipa". I won't go into detail on the menu since that's online but vegan gets equal representation and when there is a vegan and non-vegan version of something the staff makes you choose. They don't seem to make assumptions one way or the other.

I got the vegan italian sausage and my dining partner got the vegan buffalo wrap which were both just fine for this environment. Not the star of the experience nor a reason to avoid the place. It was just nice to be in a unpretentious bar that considers being vegan a valid personal choice.

(P.S while I would probably only rate this 4 out of 5 anyway I find the disqualification of this restaurant from 5 stars due to being only "vegan friendly" to be unreasonable. This place isn't just "vegan friendly" in the usual sense. I'd call it almost activist level vegan equal.)

Pros: half vegan, extensive beer selection

Cons: cramped, noisy

ACBuhay

Points +30

Vegan
23 Nov 2014

a bar with a great vegan selection

Local brewed beers and half the menu is vegan. Frankly you can't go wrong. Great vibes and board games. Loved this bar and will def be coming back! I ate some bomb buffalo "whings"

Pros: half the menu is vegan

Cons: food closes at midnight lol

gr8vegan

Points +2359

Vegan
03 Jan 2011

Vegan Beer Bar!

I'm not much for the vegan sausages, but this is a really great neighborhood bar with an awesome vibe and selection of beer. The owner helps out vegan organizations and a lot of meet ups happen here.

Pros: vegan friendly

SonjaCPA

Points +5270

Vegan
16 Oct 2010

beer and sausages

We've been to Tony's once before, but tonight was the first time we ordered food as well. We each got apple sage sausages (although there are 5 vegan choices) customized with our own toppings. Dirk paid $2 extra to get his with chili too. We also shared an order of frizzled onions. Yum and more yum! But it's definitely vegan junk food. We each had a smoked porter to start. Dirk ordered a flight of IPA beers afterwards while I went with a raspberry lambic. They have a terrific menu of beers. The place was busy and noisy, so we are looking forward to returning for lunch or at a quieter time so that we can play games too. They have everyone's childhood board games on hand. Tony's would be the perfect bar if they were completely vegan, but as is, it's still a great place to hang out at a bar and still have choices as a vegan.

Pros: vegan bar food, great bar atmosphere

Cons: serves meat




This page has been viewed 6123 times.