• The Rockies Restaurant

  • (7)
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
British
European
Scottish
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant situated within Anstruther golf club and open to all. May be able to adapt some dishes to be vegan, but best to call ahead. Has views over the Firth of Forth. NOTE: Reported April 2023 to have limited vegan options – please send updates to HappyCow. Open Mon-Sun 10:30-21:00.


Venue map for The Rockies Restaurant
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by katfox

Hanalane93

Points +597

Vegan
30 Jul 2021

No longer has vegan menu - limited choices

The restaurant no longer has the separate vegan menu that is mentioned in previous reviews and photos. I mentioned on the phone when booking that we were vegan and was told this was the case, however was assured that lots of dishes could be tweaked to be made vegan.

In reality, on the night we were there, there was one option we could have - a giant couscous dish with tenderstem broccoli and the hallumi removed. Though the chef did offer to make us a salad. We both went for the couscous (pictured), an expensive dish that neither of us really wanted. It was tasty though. But we were still both a little bit disappointed in the end.

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-30


Updated from previous review on 2021-07-30

Pros: Pretty view

Cons: Expensive , No vegan menu , One option to choose

Advertisement

FredWard

Points +200

Vegan
16 Feb 2020

Not a destination venue.

I was disappointed. Although it's great when a meat restaurant tries a vegan menu, and for that they should be applauded, it's not so great when the food is poor. There are so many great vegan restaurants around, I still find it insulting when a meat eating restaurant has a token vegan menu which is SO inferior. I had a red Thai curry and it was virtually tasteless, out of a pouch, with boil in the bag rice. If you're in the area, this would be an ok place to stop. But please don't read the reviews and think this is some vegan paradise, as in my experience it is far from it.

Pros: Coffee was very good, staff efficient and friendly

Cons: Warmed up supermarket ready meal.

AlistairMacleod

Points +18

Vegan
09 Feb 2020

Sunday vegan lunch

Great vegan lunch for 20 people. They have a big vegan only menu with 6 starters, 6 mains and 6 puds at least when given a bit of notice for big groups. Everything was great. Highly recommended for vegans. Nice views too of the coastal path

Pros: Big vegan menu, Great staff, Nice views

Kilsythbrian

Points +16

Vegan
03 Jun 2019

Great find!

Went here for dinner on last night of our stay in the local area and was amazing! Brilliant selection of vegan starters, mains, and deserts, the best I've ever seen, even compared to dedicated vegan restaurants. Great service and food, one of the best meals I've had for ages. Will definitely come back if ever in the area again. Would have given five stars if I could, but restricted to giving four as a maximum because of it not being a vegan/veggie restaurant.

AllyGGG

Points +385

Vegan
10 Jul 2018

Fife's Best-kept Secret

Look no further for vegan food near Anstruther! I visited Rockies for lunch with a friend on 2nd July, 2018. I asked if they had a table for two and could they cope with a vegan. "Yes. Take a seat and I'll bring a menu." Two minutes later I was struggling to choose between 4 starters, 6 main dishes and 4 desserts. Two courses cost £11.95. (I think it was £14.95 for three.) When the food arrived it was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. We had a seaview from our table and they turned off the "musak" at our request. Ample car parking is available right outside the door. Rockies was as good as any vegan restaurant I have visited recently and a lot better than most. I would give it 5 stars if it didn't also serve meat. I'll definitely be back.

Pros: Great choice of wonderful vegan food., Excellent service., Value for money

Cons: Also serves meat and fish

MissPenelope

Points +16

Vegan
16 Feb 2018

Vegan lunch

Enjoyed a delicious vegan lunch at The Rockies Restaurant today. Prior to ordering I'd asked our waitress about veganising the veggie option, she returned with a full vegan menu, adding that there was also a choice of non dairy ice cream for dessert. Our meal was well presented, inventive and delicious, our waitress was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely return.

Pros: Friendly accommodating staff

katfox

Points +19

Vegan
28 Dec 2017

THE PLACE FOR A NICE MEAL OUT IN THE EAST NEUK!

I got in touch with the owner of The Rockies well in advance of a recent Christmas girl's night out. He was SO incredibly accommodating, and assured me that I would have lots of different dishes to choose from. Even with the warning, though, I was SHOCKED when presented with my menu. I was the only vegan in a big group of omnis, and I had 4 starters, 5 mains, and 3 desserts to choose from. The guy even made VEGAN MERINGUES!

Most importantly, though, the food was delicious and well-presented. Also really adding to the whole experience was the fact that the waitress was really nice, and the view over the water was just beautiful. I've lived in the East Neuk for years, and I can say that the Rockies is definitely your best bet for a special meal out!
(I've given them 4 stars only because the 5 star rating is reserved for veg. restaurants.)




This page has been viewed 3783 times.