• The Healthier Place to Eat

  • (21)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
American
Organic
Juice bar
Take-out
Bakery
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Family owned restaurant making food from scratch using no soy, gmo ingredients, refined sugars, wheat, or peanuts. Vegan, vegetarian and gluten-free options. Sources local farm produce. Accepts orders for baked goods. Open Mon-Fri 11:30am-7:30pm, Sat 12:00pm-8:00pm.


Venue map for The Healthier Place to Eat
© OpenStreetMap contributors

21 Reviews

First Review by K18reece

LillyPajarito

Points +56

Vegan
22 Dec 2023

Vegan menu

They have a vegan menu. The wait time is long because they make the food fresh but that wasn't a problem for us.
The Beyond meat Gouda Burger and fries were delicious. The empanadas are tasty too. Would dine here again if we're in the area.

Pros: Food, Options , Good value

Advertisement

VeganoftheQC

Points +83

Vegan
05 Jul 2023

Long wait

We waited over 30 minutes for our to go sandwiches, so don’t go there if you’re in a rush.

The menu on their website is out of date. They have more vegan options than what’s listed.

The mock chicken sandwich and fries were delicious though. My husband got a non vegan sandwich and liked his too.

mtnlace

Points +21

Vegetarian
10 Mar 2023

Pleasant surprise

Offered two menus - one for meat options and one for vegan options. The owner made sure to be very clear on vegan vs veggie. I had the falafel sandwich and it was wonderful.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Fresh veggies

SaurellJackson

Points +59

Vegan
03 Sep 2022

Yummy Smoothies

We stopped by for a smoothie and we’re blown away by the vegan options. The smoothies were excellent. We were disappointed we had just had food at the farmers market. We will be back.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-03

Pros: Lots of vegan options. , Another restaurant is located in Idaho Falls. , Separate vegan menu

Cons: None

Sofafilms

Points +273

Vegan
27 Jul 2022

Good options, friendly service

We were driving through and found this place on Happy Cow. I think the previous reviewer may have had an issue with the business hours. On the Happy Cow app it shows the business opening at 11am, but on their website it states it opens at 11:30am.

They have a plant-based menu with a lot of varied options. We were able to call in our take-out order in advance. I attempted to order the mock tuna sandwich that was on their online menu. It turns out it is now mock chicken. No problem with me, as long as it’s mock! I discovered they do not have plant milk, so instead of ordering their ice coffee I ordered iced tea. My husband ordered their lemonade and a non-vegan sandwich. The lemonade was delicious and fresh but extremely sweet. The sandwich was delicious and very big. A little messy but tasty. The side salad was heavy on the lettuce. The cashier was inexperienced, but a lot of people are having staffing shortages, so I suspect that was the reason. However, they were very friendly. Overall, we were very happy to find this place and I would go again.

Pros: Separate plant based menu, Delicious, Friendly

Cons: Online menu and hours not updated on Happy Cow.

VeganpotterTheVegan

Points +28

Vegan
26 May 2021

Not open during business hours

I was there waiting for 30min after their opening time. Not a person in sight and no note about when they would open. I was definitely looking forward to eating here. I'm on a road trip and can't exactly just come back any time. Not sure if I'll go back to try again next time I'm in town. Things happen...but leave a note or say something on your answering machine

MaryPomerantz

Points +99

Vegan
08 May 2021

Loved this place

We used to live in Pocatello 35 years ago and as a vegetarian, I found it extremely difficult to find a good meal in a restaurant. Imagine my surprise, when driving through this city, to find a place with an extensive vegan and gluten-free menu. We chose to share a Greek salad and and an empanada plate, which was also gluten-free. All of their produce was organic and the salad was fresh and delicious. The entree was tasty and filling. The owner and chef waited on us and she couldn't have been more friendly. I would definitely recommend this funky little cafe the next time you visit Pocatello. Oh, and the baked goods were all vegan and gluten I free!

Pros: Friendly with fresh and delicious food

Cons: None

natann

Points +11

Mostly Veg
12 Nov 2020

My new place!

I absolutely loved this place! I went there around 2:30 on a Thursday and there was only one other group there, so it was super quiet. Service was relatively quick considering everything is made by hand. I ordered the cilantro quinoa salad and my boyfriend ordered the bacon jack sandwich with fries. I also ordered a mint tea. Everything tasted so good and the lady working was so nice. I highly recommend this place!

Pros: quiet, excellent food, friendly staff

Cons: a little bit more of a wait than I would have expe

Mrs.PA

Points +94

Vegan
03 Sep 2020

Fantastic!

What a great place to stop for a healthy bite!

Pros: Love supporting small businesses , Lots of Vegan options

bexamillion

Points +30

Vegan
22 Jan 2020

So yummy

Charming place and the food is to die for, works great for me and my non veg husband. The sweet potato chips are a must they melt in your mouth!

Kemk23

Points +25

Vegan
27 Sep 2019

Driving through Idaho

Stopped in while driving through Idaho and were not disappointed. We had the falafel platter, dirty rice empanadas, the masta wrap, peanut butter bar and chocolate chip cookies! Everything was delicious and extremely fresh. The service was just as wonderful as the food. If you are anywhere near Pocatello, you have to stop in!!!

Wish I could give this place 5 stars!!!

Pros: Fresh and clean food, Tons of vegan options, Knowledgeable staff

VTP

Points +122

Vegan
07 Jul 2019

A Rare Treat!

We were in Pocatello for a wedding and met another couple for lunch, both parties vegan and coming from out of town. Despite additional dietary restrictions - sensitivities to gluten and allium vegetables - the menu offered a number of choices for everyone. It was such an unaccustomed treat we had a difficult time making a choice of what to eat. We started with the Falafel appetizer which was very good. Two in our party had Cashew Burgers but with different bread, one had the Bolivian Quinoa, and one the Paleo Masta Wrap. The coconut wrap was new to all of us and quite tasty. The gluten-free almond bread was similarly tasty and a pleasing texture. We were about to get our check and leave when one in our party asked if there might just happen to be any vegan deserts on the menu. There was - both apple and berry pie. But was it gluten free? When the unexpected answer was Yes, we all ordered our own individual piece! And they were delicious! We all left happy and will be back whenever we visit Pocatello in the future! I'd have given 5 stars if I could have.

Pros: Variety of choices, delicious, friendly & helpful

Cons: Long wait for food

SaltLakeVegan

Points +109

Vegan
15 Jun 2019

Good Vegan Options in Pocatello

After reading other HappyCow reviews we ate dinner here when driving through Idaho. The owners are super friendly and knowledgable about vegan options. We had the red pepper cashew burger and the falafel sandwich, both of which were delicious! The homemade sweet potato chips served with the sandwich were tasty, and the desserts also looked yummy. We highly recommend trying this restaurant if in the Pocatello area.

Pros: Delicious food, Knowledgable & friendly owners

Cons: Only con was french fries were overly oily & salty

Veganista714

Points +16

Vegan
17 Oct 2018

Outstanding

We were so impressed with The Healthier Place to eat. The food was so flavorful and delicious, and guilt-free! We ate so much and didn't feel weighed down afterward. The prices were great, the owners were so kind and friendly, and the ambiance was vey inviting. We are so thankful to have this local restaurant and will be going back regularly! We would definitely give stars, if allowed.

Pros: Food, Price, Atmosphere

Marebare

Points +16

Vegan
27 Dec 2017

I’m a regular

This place has great service and great options for vegans vegetarians and meat eaters.. The falafel sandwich and tomato soup are delicious

Drhannahj

Points +2796

Vegan
06 Aug 2017

Super nice people!! Amazing food!

It is apparently illegal not to smile in Pocatello! Certainly the owner has taken this to heart. Just the nicest man running this cafe! Spent some time talking with us & he was so friendly, polite & helpful. He really took the time to make sure our order was just perfect. A wonderful cafe - clean, comfortable & clean restrooms. The red pepper cashew sandwich was just amazing!! I cannot recommend this cafe highly enough - the vegan options are just fantastic. We stopped here on our way up to Yellowstone - it is right off the highway, parking free on the street outside. A nice quiet town & relaxing lunch. Thanks so much to the owners!!

Pros: Quiet, Amazing vegan options, Super nice staff

midjet

Points +21

Vegan
22 Feb 2017

Great Place

They are slow, but worth the wait. I had a thai veggie wrap and a lemon drink that was fantastic. I would definitely visit again if I was in the area.

Pros: Lots of choices, Delicious healthy food, Good value

Cons: Slow service (they make everything from scratch)

ConcertoSD

Points +103

Vegan
12 Aug 2016

Good, but slow.

Really, really wanted to love this place. We ordered the vegan tacos, the Bolivian quinoa plate and iced tea. An hour later, the teas came. Ten minutes after that our meals arrived. More than once during the very long wait, we were ready to leave, and more than one patron left when told there would be a wait. Too bad the experience wasn't what we'd hoped because the food was very tasty. Here's hoping others have a better experience.

W.Boyle

Points +29

Vegan
26 Jul 2016

Vegans, get off the freeway for this!

Fantastic vegan menu.
Lots of flavorful options.
Including baked breads and deserts.
Better than I can find in most of Southern California.
Cashew burger was great, with homemade style sweet potato chips.
My wife had the tacos, excellent.
My daughter had the Costa Rica Picadillos.
The owner is from Costa Rica. Very flavorful cooking.
Loaves of delicious gluten free breads available.
The menu was pretty amazing for an out of town vegan visiting Pocatello!
Nice atmosphere, small, about 5 tables, seats about 18 people, easy to get to, easy parking.
Serves meat also.
Great service.
Loved it.

Pros: Great food, Mila, the owner, All things considered 5 star.

Cons: It takes 15 minutes to cook. Not a problem for me,

Cantaloupé

Points +34

Vegan
30 Nov 2015

Meander into this mom mom and pop for some home cooked goodness

Owner and chef/baker extraordinaire, Mila, cooks up some warm plates and smiles as you are seduced by the ubiquitous baked goods that will leave you saying, "Mila, you had me at fudge… ". Do yourself a favor and stop in, practice your Spanish, and enjoy the experience while the rest of the town eats them selves into a cardiac arrest. Yum.

K18reece

Points +40

Vegan
30 Aug 2014

Must Visit!

First off, it's so amazing to now have a vegan food stop by campus. Before this place, Salt Lake was the closest place to get a nice vegan meal. The food was great, and the ice cream is to die for! The owners are very passionate people and a joy to talk to. They love what they do and really care about the customer. This is their first month, and I can't wait to see what is in store for this place. Great things and a great place! I will for sure be a regular!!!

KristinNirvana

15 Oct 2015

Do you know if this place still is all-vegan? Their menu on their website reads as if it's a non-vegetarian place.




This page has been viewed 5028 times.