• The Food and Art Cafe

  • (11)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Organic
Breakfast
Canadian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Lunch and all-day breakfast cafe. Vegan indicated on the menu, include: a mushroom bean burger, waffles with nice cream, pancakes with nice cream. Open Mon-Fri 9:00am-2:00pm, Sat-Sun 8:00am-2:00pm.


Venue map for The Food and Art Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by trevorpaterson

Steph.w

Points +79

Vegan
01 Feb 2024

Try The Housemade 'Egg!'

Love to see a place with a large standalone vegan menu. It's kinda hard to find in these areas!

The staff are so super duper friendly and it was quick to get a seat on a Friday morning.

I had a full vegan breakfast and my partner had a BLT style sandwich. We both got drip coffee with refills.

Really like that they make their own in house 'egg.' I had a choice between that or JusT Egg; I'm glad I picked the one they make - it was tasty!

The downsides, there's quite a few rules to dining here. And I don't really care for the 80c charge for non-dairy milk. Minor details though!

Overall a nice dining spot that has a pretty large vegan menu, making it a good spot for veggies and no veggies alike!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Vegan egg, Nice staff

Cons: Relatively steep cost for milk

Advertisement

meglizf

Points +22

Vegan
16 Oct 2023

Finally I can go out for brunch

Vegan alternatives can be risky but it was very good! A ton of options, great vibe, excellent service

MicheyMe

Points +42

Vegan
15 Oct 2023

Where Comfort Food and Creative Art Collide

The Food and Art Cafe in Whitby, Ontario seamlessly blends delectable cuisine with an artistic ambiance, making it a must-visit for anyone in the area. This family-owned and operated breakfast and lunch spot is truly a delight right in the heart of downtown Whitby.

The moment you step inside, you're greeted by an explosion of vibrant colours and eclectic decor that expresses the creativity of the owners. The walls are adorned with captivating artwork, and the funky, artistic ambiance sets the perfect tone for a unique dining experience.

The Food and Art Cafe stands out not only for its exceptional decor but also for its outstanding commitment to providing fresh and flavourful food. One of its standout features is its extensive range of vegan options, which are a true delight for plant-based food enthusiasts. From vegan omelets to sandwiches, pancakes, and more, the menu boasts a variety of creative dishes that are as delicious as they are wholesome.

What truly sets this establishment apart, apart from the fantastic food, is the warm and welcoming staff who radiate positivity. The upbeat vibes of the place, combined with the friendly service, create an inviting and inclusive atmosphere that is perfect for families, friends, and solo diners alike.

This gem of a restaurant is often bustling with eager patrons seeking to savour its culinary offerings. So, to ensure you get a table, reservations are highly recommended, especially during peak hours. But if you're short on time or simply prefer dining in the comfort of your own space, you can always call ahead for takeout.

Whether you're a dedicated vegan, a vegetarian, or simply someone looking for a spot that caters to diverse dietary preferences within your group, The Food and Art Cafe has you covered. It’s a great spot for culinary comfort food that is mouthwatering in a funky atmosphere that will keep you coming back for more.

The Food and Art Cafe in Whitby, Ontario, is a charming culinary destination where the fusion of artistic flair and fresh, flavourful food results in an experience that's nothing short of fabulous. Whether you're a vegan, a vegetarian, or just someone who appreciates good food and a unique atmosphere, this restaurant is a must-visit. So, make your reservation, call ahead for takeout, and embark on a culinary journey that's sure to delight your taste buds.

Pros: Lots of Vegan Options, Fresh Ingredients, Friendly Staff

Cons: Can be busy, make a reservation

LaurieDee

Points +2223

Vegan
25 Jul 2023

Great menu

Loved the whole page vegan menu of this family-run place! The mango chicken wrap was excellent and loved the oat milk London fog. Cute space to hang with friends or family or even work for a couple hours.

MikeWigmore

Points +316

Vegan
26 Jun 2023

Vegan Breakfast Options

Had their new vegan breakfast menu, unbelievable! So happy to have this option of a delicious vegan breakfast near me. The hash browns and jam are life changing!

porqchop

Points +20

Vegan
01 Dec 2021

AMAZING

SO MANY OPTIONS!!! Hallo they have vegan eggs! I haven’t had a classic breakfast with bacon and eggs in years. They also had this delicious cinnamon waffle which we had for dessert. My fiancée had the omelette which looked and tasted just like we remembered. We took a chicken Sandwich home which was devine!!! my mum had the beef stew which she was blown away by (shes eats meat and she said she couldnt tell). I’m definitely gonna try the chocolate chip pancakes next!!!! Please let’s go and support this progression!!!

oh and Ps they have oat milk for latte’s and london fogs, as well as bloody marys and mimosas!

Pros: the number of options are insane, so much homemade , cool drinks

Cons: nothing!

Beebos

Points +32

Vegan
28 Feb 2021

SO MANY DELICIOUS VEGAN OPTIONS

So Wonderful to have sooooo many options at breakfast/lunch. And they are all SOOOOO GOOD.

The vegan BACON.....OMG SO GOOD.

They have pancakes, waffles, an ultimate waffle sandwich, mango chicken wraps, BLTs, homemade vegan burgers, salads, and MORE❤️❤️

I wish I could give 5 stars

veronicara

Points +77

Vegan
28 Oct 2020

Super friendly

I order the veganBLT and it’s really good. The home fries are amazing and I’ve heard the other vegan options are delicious. It’s a classic diner, even Jerry Seinfeld ate here!!

WoodyforToronto

Points +21

Vegetarian
10 Oct 2019

Nice place.

Really homey, but the service is a bit too friendly. Kind of the anti-diner experience. They have lattes now which is awesome.

meglizf

16 Oct 2023

Sonicfrogg

Points +38

Vegan
12 Aug 2019

No more nice cream

I had the vegan waffles with raspberry puree today. The maple syrup they use is the faux kind and the no longer have the vegan ice cream. I was really looking forward to the waffles and ice cream. They also have vegan pancakes, a vegan wrap and a vegan burger. Cute little place.

Cons: Also serves animal flesh.

trevorpaterson

Points +16

Vegan
09 Nov 2018

Absolutely Wonderful Cafe

Let me start by saying this 4-star is a 5-star in my books but I can’t rank them 5 stars if they’re not fully vegan. I went to the FART cafe today with a friend of mine for his birthday. I did some research before and found this beautiful restaurant with absolutely fantastic reviews. That’s always a good sign. When we walked in, we were greeted right away by the owner and her daughter Phoebe, who was a fantastic server. We started with fresh mimosas which had to be homemade orange juice. Amazing. My friend had another burger on the menu but I had the vegan burger and it was simply amazing. The blueberry aioli was to die for. I was questionable at first but trust me.... you have to try it. This place was such a great find, it’s my new favourite. Great food, FRESH food, wonderful service and an amazing atmosphere. If you’d like to buy local art you can also do it there! 😁

Pros: About 6-7 vegan options, Aware of cross contamination, SERVICE IS AMAZING

Cons: Nothing.




This page has been viewed 2577 times.