The Eating Gorilla

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 54 reviews )

Vegan cafe serving home-style cooked meals such as pizzas, burgers, sandwiches, jacket potatoes, nachos, cauliflower wings, and Buddha bowls. Also has milkshakes. Children's menu available. Est. Aug 2019. Twitter: @EatingGorilla Open Mon-Sat 11:00-19:00, Sun 11:00-15:00. Please check Facebook for latest opening hours as they can vary by season.

Categories: Vegan, Pizza, Organic, Juice bar, Beer/Wine, Take-out, British

54 Reviews

First Review by LesleyTarleton

AnavarSteroids

Points +24

Vegetarian
02 Dec 2021

Love The Vibe

Food was fantastic, the atmosphere is cozy, will come back soon!

Lonnie63

Points +29

Vegan
30 Nov 2021

Delicious food

Huge menu. It was very difficult to choose! I had the fish less cakes which were scrummy. They do lots of different types of burgers, hot dogs and specials. The apple and caramel tart was amazing- had to take it away for later as the main course portions are very generous.

Pros: Scrumptious food, Huge portions, So much choice!

Cons: It's not close enough to where I live.

sagevegan1

Points +63

Vegan
08 Nov 2021

Best food

Visited here whilst on holiday. We had to wait half an hour for a table at lunchtime but it was well worth it. I had my first taste of buffalo wings and they were incredible. Lots of GF options. My veggie husband loved the vegan food. Huge portions so had to take dessert away with us

Pros: Lots of GF options , Dog friendly

Advertisement

El18

Points +102

Vegetarian
21 Oct 2021

Full-of-flavour, tasty, and well-made food!

Lovely to stumble across such a gem in the Snowdonia National Park. Exceptional standard of food, taste, choices, creativity, thoughtfulness and atmosphere. Really delighted, impressed and left feeling contented.

Pros: Delicious, full-of-flavour, innovative food., Exceptional atmosphere, lovely staff., Really intelligent, creative business; has shop.

DuncanMacbethLead

Points +1083

Vegan
10 Oct 2021

Really nice cafe

This place is great, went there during a camping trip to Wales and the food was great! The biscoff cheesecake was unreal as well, best vegan cheesecake I've ever had! Thoroughly recommend

Pros: Cheap, Great portions, Loads of choice

Tentacleface

Points +24

Vegan
28 Sep 2021

Great food, great ethos, friendly helpful staff

Eat here quite regularly even though we live an hour away

the cauliflower wings, mushroom soup and mushroom flatbread are my fav, but haven't quite tried the whole menu yet

Also recommend the cakes, always a good range to choose from, and nice teas

Yummy fresh smoothies and juices too

Outdoor seating and takeaways

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-28

Pros: Cake, Support wildlife conservation , Cauliflower wings

JoanPo

Points +197

Vegan
21 Sep 2021

Fantastic Food

We called here whilst walking the coastal path. We had the most amazing meal, I'm just sorry it's so far away from me. We can't wait for next year to go back.

Pros: Loads of options and great food.

Cons: We need one in Manchester

Vegancyclingcouple

Points +90

Vegan
21 Sep 2021

Friendly vegan cafe

Love this cafe, huge variety on the menu and the large portions were great for two hungry cyclists! We had the burger and chickless wrap which were both delicious. Only downside is we were too full for dessert!

webstermad

Points +90

Vegan
12 Sep 2021

Fully vegan restaurant

The two of us visited here on Saturday early afternoon. The food was delicious and very filling. Photos attached of all food consumed. Highlight is the cauliflower wings. Unfortunately we were too full to try any of the cakes and treats on display but plan to visit again very soon. This is the only fully vegan restaurant we have found, the next closest is an hour drive away. The staff are very friendly and the restaurant design is wonderful to look at. They had a branded clothing and a table of vegan items for sale too. Would definitely recommend if you are in the area!

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-11
Second visit on a Sunday afternoon a couple of hours before close. The restaurant was full so service was a lot slower. The fully loaded hot chocolate comes with cream and marshmallows. The specials have changed from yesterday so I would recommend purchasing on the day if there’s something you like the look of. Cakes have now been purchased :)

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-11

Pros: Walk ins welcomed, Fully vegan, Sweet treats for takeaway

Cons: Milkshakes are not thick

JoannaP

Points +23

Vegan
11 Sep 2021

Absolutely loved it

Found this place thanks to Happy Cow and so glad we did! We ate here on a couple of occasions during our week in the area and the food was fantastic, the staff so friendly, and the place had a great atmosphere.

Pros: Delicious food, friendly staff.

Keithwraight

Points +24

Vegan
04 Sep 2021

Amazing find

Really great vegan food - such a good range; variety without over complicating it.

Amazing speed of service

Can’t wait to try a cake to take away - no way it’s fitting in now!

Pros: Purely Vegan , Great chips, Quick service

KaraKara

Points +30

Vegan
03 Sep 2021

What a gem!

Delicious food, great menu and variety, staff so lovely, atmosphere really fun and welcoming. An all round great place and so happy we visited! It’s brilliant to find an all vegan place and it was just as fantastic as we hoped.

Jemmyd

Points +30

Vegan
21 Aug 2021

If I lived nearer I'd be here everyday

Such a great place!
2 of us couldn't resist ordering 4 plates, a juice and a fruit slushy which you could add malibu shots to! All just as tasty as they sounded on the menu! We had cakes and a milkshake to takeaway for later too which were amazing.
Best buffalo cauliflower 'wings' I've tried!

JigsawStu

Points +58

Vegan
20 Aug 2021

Massive portions and a great welcome

Visiting Wales on a family trip we were greeted by friendly staff who made us feel really welcome
The burger is enormous and the curry special was a feast
Ended up taking for cakes for later and tomorrow

Pros: All vegan , Amazing cakes , Massive portions

TimMallard

Points +34

Vegan
20 Aug 2021

Simply phenomenonal.

I cannot recommend this place enough.
An absolute must-visit!

Pros: Lots of options - everything vegan, Delightful, caring and considerate staff, Drinks are amazing, food is phenomenonal

StephanieTucker

Points +127

Vegan
17 Aug 2021

Hidden Gem!

North Wales needs more vegan eateries like this one!
We popped in today on the way home from visiting family, and so glad we did!

Very busy, but we were seated & the food was served quickly. We had the Gorilla Filler Burger, with sweet potato fries, a fully loaded hot chocolate (yum), and a Refresher Smoothie. All fantastic, and great sized portions!
The cakes looked amazing too. Profits go to a Gorilla Charity!

Pros: Vegan business , Great choice , Profits to Animal charity

gearsforqueers

Points +848

Vegan
11 Aug 2021

Incredible!

Lovely little cafe in a small town. The food was cooked with care and tasted amazing! The cauliflower wings in particular were out of this world (would travel again just to eat them!)

BeckyPleasants

Points +45

Vegan
10 Aug 2021

This place is something else

Quite a busy day, but we were sat down in no time!
The food was amazing - the cauliflower wings were next level! The service was great and super friendly!
Highly recommend it!

abcdefgharley

Points +32

Vegan
31 Jul 2021

A hidden gem!

This place is definitely worth a visit despite it being a little out the way and there not being much else around it. So much choice including burgers, cauliflower wings, sandwiches, buddha bowls, milkshakes, smoothies and much more! Vegan BLTs and cauli wings were fab. Lots of cakes and sweet treats available on the counter to eat in or take away. Staff really friendly and lovely welcoming atmosphere.

MillyJones

Points +42

Vegan
30 Jul 2021

Absolute gem!

So happy to find a fully vegan café not too far from where we were staying for the week at Lyn Gwynant campsite, ended our holiday with a fantastic meal trying as much as we could fit it! Lots of delicious options for food (savoury and sweet), drinks (coffees, milkshakes, fresh juices and alcoholic options) and vegan soaps, clothing and other lovely bits and bobs available to buy. Highly recommend a visit if you’re visiting anywhere near the area!

Pros: Loads of options , Good value for money , Eat-in or takeaway (or both!)

plantpoweredsteph

Points +81

Vegan
28 Jul 2021

A firm favourite!

We don’t visit often enough really, but when in the area we always try to stop by!
There’s literally something for everyone, whether you fancy something a bit junk-food like or something cleaner.

I usually go for a freshly pressed juice, and a coffee, my partner loves their dessert shakes!
Burgers and wraps are great, the fries are insane and the cauli wings are a must try! There’s also plenty of cakes and sweet treats.

They also have plenty of info about their work, with T-shirt’s and hoodies on sale too, and the staff are friendly!

Also, they do allow dogs inside😄

Pros: Plenty of vegan options , Nice coffee and juices , Dog friendly

Cons: Street parking can get busy ish

CharliePleasants

Points +106

Vegan
14 Jul 2021

Get the Cauli Wings!

Cool place, laid back atmosphere, quick service and friendly staff. Everything we ordered was super yummy, but the cauliflower wings really stole the show!

RachS

Points +67

Vegan
09 Jun 2021

Gem of a place!

An excellent vegan cafe/restaurant. Lovely food, fantastic service, very friendly staff.
I had the lamb-less kebab special with homemade slaw and my other half had the homemade asparagus soup. Both tasted amazing.
To drink we had a turmeric chai latte and a Popeye's passion fresh juice. Again, both really lovely.
We'll definitely be visiting again soon. Would highly recommend!

Pros: Excellent food, Friendly staff

neotheropod

Points +50

Vegan
01 Jun 2021

great meal with good sized portions!

amazing to see a fully-vegan restaurant this far into north wales! i had the blt (delicious), but you HAVE to get the cauliflower wings – they’re huge, dripping in sauce, and so delicious.

the drinks were very special too. one of my party had a strawberry milkshake and the others were constantly hounding to sip at it hahaha.

luckily penrhyndeudraeth was on the journey home from porthmadog, but even if you have to travel to get there, i’d still recommend it! incredibly friendly staff, and a cute, little welsh town. about 10 different people stopped by to pet our dogs to and fro the restaurant. 😁 (oh, and, speaking of which, they’re dog friendly.)

Pros: big selection of drinks, all delicious, reasonably priced, dog-friendly

Cons: i wish they’d made their own bacon for the blt!!

BethanyWyn-Jones

Points +20

Vegan
01 Jun 2021

Amazing food!

Having been born and raised here, I’ve always struggled finding veggie/vegan options! The Eating Gorilla was incredible, very friendly staff and amazing food. We’ll be back for sure!

TicTacZac

Points +58

Vegan
24 May 2021

We tried it all!

As a group of 6 we ordered one of everything and shared! Amazing. Tasty food and the drinks are a bit special too!!

Pros: Great!, Scrumptious, Positive vibe

betty_sue

Points +39

Vegan
23 May 2021

An absolute gem

So good we came back the following day for more! Love it here!

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Penrhyndeudraeth Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Eating Gorilla closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3775 times.