Ovo
Thai
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Centrally-located Thai restaurant, menu has 2 pages for vegetarian starters and mains, of which the majority are vegan or can be made vegan. Has tofu but not mock meats. Booking in advance is recommended. Located in a basement; access via a flight of stairs (not wheelchair accessible). Open Mon-Fri 17:30-22:00, Sat 18:00-23:00, Sun 18:00-22:00.


Venue map for Thai Sakon
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by ElIve

HenryLunn

Points +577

Vegetarian
21 May 2023

Fantastic

Lived in Huddersfield for 5 years for uni and managed to never find this place, which is an absolute shame as it was bloody lovely! The inside is super nice, the staff were very friendly and the food is incredible. I chose the vegetables Thai green and mushrooms satay to start, highly recommend both. Everything was cooked perfectly, fresh and full of flavour

Pros: Incredible food , Service was great , Reasonably priced

Advertisement

AnneLittlewood

Points +122

Vegan
21 Dec 2022

Lovely food !

There were plenty of vegan options alongside the omni foods. There was a separate menu for vegan/vegetarian too so made it simpler to make our choices. The staff are super helpful and efficient.

Pros: Vegan options listed separately on the menu , Delicious food, Reasonable prices for food and drink

senioram

Points +36

Vegan
07 Aug 2022

Thai Sakon never disappoints

This is a regular favourite for us with plenty of vegan options. The menus are well- labelled and the staff extremely helpful. Let them know that you’re vegan and they’ll point out precisely what choices are suitable. The staff always offer vegan ‘prawn crackers’ at the beginning of the meal. The tofu is absolutely amazing. My non-vegan friend always opts for the tofu as it’s so delicious! The veg is so fresh and cooked to perfection and the spices beautifully balanced. We have never been disappointed and the price is very affordable especially for the quality of the dishes on offer.

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-07

dianaw

Points +500

Vegan
24 Oct 2021

Great choices

We haven’t been here for quite a while very impressed all staff friendly and knowledgable separate vegetarian/vegan menu with lots of options food super tasty

Pros: Lots of options, Helpful staff with knowledge of vegan items, Nice ambience not overcrowded

Cons: Need to book at weekends

MelissaJadeBrown

Points +62

Vegan
01 Jul 2021

Very good

Very tasty Thai food. Great extensive vegan menu/selection. Pricey but classy establishment!

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-01

mxmich

Points +39

Vegan
14 Jun 2019

Great vegan option

Staff were very helpful when I was the only vegan out of a party of 20. They took care to serve me the vegan options and not get any dishes mixed up on the table. They even gave me the option to swap tofu for extra veg and visa versus which was nice. Limited vegan options but it makes up for it in the quality and flavour of the food. Can definitely recommend

Pros: Incredibly tasty food, Reasonable prices, Accommodating staff

Cons: Limited vegan menu

GinaJorden

Points +73

Vegan
10 Jun 2019

Amazing

I'd rate this as 5 stars if I could. We come here regularly as the food is delicious. Loads of vegan options and never disappoints. It's even better that they happily hosted us for our wedding meal last weekend😄

CoraV

Points +539

Vegan
01 Jun 2019

Always excited to revisit

As the only vegans in our family, this is such a wonderful place to eat for us all. They have lots of vegan options and are always happy to accommodate us. They even started offering pumpkin crackers to those who can't eat prawn crackers. We've been dining here at least a few times a month for a few years now and the food is always delicious and the service always superb. :)

Pros: Knowledgeable about veganism, Lovely locale

TinaDipi

Points +210

Vegan
27 Dec 2017

great choice, great food

Nearly all the vegetarian options are vegan. It would be great if the menu specified which ones are vegan but still, this is a great choice for vegans. We ate from the early bird menu which had great selection. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious.

Charlie_204146

Points +25

Vegan
15 Oct 2017

Amazing!!!

I came a few weeks ago and loved it, the food was amazing and there were so many options for vegetarians and some for vegans too!! The decor was beautiful and the staff were so friendly!! It was amazing!!

Pros: It was very good value, The food was perfect, The staff were so friendly

Cons: It was rather noisy however

ElIve

Points +18

Vegan
25 Apr 2017

Excellent vegan options

Went for the early bird. Explained I was vegan and the gentleman pointed out the dishes in the veggie section I couldn't have. Think there were only 2 on the whole page.
Had a stir fry involving tofu which was beautiful. Have since had takeaway a couple of times.
They also brought out pumpkin crackers for me while my friends had the prawn crackers. Service was fantastic. It always is. Never had a bad meal here.

Pros: Loads of really tasty vegan options , Pumpkin crackers , Fantastic service

Cons: Not the cheapest if not on the early bird




This page has been viewed 3407 times.