Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Organic
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Bakery
Fusion
Honey
Breakfast

Cafe and roastery located in Downtown Chico. Offers a variety of house-made vegan pastries. Food menu including breakfast sandwiches, a breakfast burrito, oyster mushroom street tacos and more. Defaults to oat milk for drinks and makes syrups, vegan whipped cream and cold foam in house. Coffee beans are sustainably sourced from various cooperatives around the world including Brazil, Ethiopia, and Guatemala. Reported to offer cow's milk and honey August 2023. Open Tue-Sat 8:00am-2:00pm, Sun 9:00am-1:00pm. During special events, some food options may be limited.


Venue map for Tender Loving Coffee
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by Korhcid

hen1988

Points +222

Vegan
20 Oct 2023

Amazing!

Great energy, friendly staff, good food, good tea. Definitely a must-try for those following any variation of plant-based diets in Chico.

Advertisement

AlyceHerrera

Points +160

Vegan
27 Aug 2023

Breakfast all day

Love anyplace that serves vegan breakfast especially all day. Disappointed that they serve honey and dairy upon request.

Pros: Vegan breakfast, Mostly vegan

Cons: Not totally vegan, Serves honey, Serves dairy

sparkleloveshine

Points +31

Vegan
18 Aug 2023

Great food, lovely atmosphere

The food is delicious, I had the classic, and my husband had the biscuits and gravey. I was fortunately able to try both which were 5/5.
It even came with a small fruit salad of sliced strawberries and blueberries that I shared with my dog. He thought it was fresh and sweet!

Pros: Vegan menu, Delicious coffee, Welcoming environment

Vegan_Hiker_Foodie

Points +2975

Vegan
28 May 2023

Legit food and friendly staff

Cute little coffee shop with yummy food! The classic breakfast sandwich was good…they use Just egg and the tempeh bacon was actually crispy! The southwestern burrito was good too but my boyfriend did wish they had a breakfast burrito. The chai latte left something to desired…heavy on the ice and light on flavor and creaminess. I went excited about the macrons but I guess those aren’t a regular thing…womp womp. Still giving a 5 star despite the couple misses because the food was good and the staff was so great and friendly!

VeganChatLady

Points +202

Vegan
08 May 2023

Great breakfast spot

TLC is a welcoming spot w friendly staff and a good vibe. I had a breakfast sandwich composed of vegan egg, cheese and tempeh bacon on a house made biscuit. Sounds simple, but was very tasty and filling; also purchased a plain biscuit; the biscuits had a lovely, “buttery “ texture and crumb,very well made. The coffee drinks were also excellent. The only negative was that when I arrived 1 hour before their closing time on Sunday, they were sold out of every pastry, which was quite disappointing! Probably this had something to do with them being closed on Monday, so not storing pastries. So, my advice is that if you want to sample their pastries, arrive early/not on a Sunday! Definitely plan to come back when I’m in the area.

Pros: Many creative breakfast options; great biscuits., Excellent coffee., Friendly staff

Cons: Run out of pastries/ desserts early., Closes early(1) especially for weekend brunch

CAVeganDude

Points +36

Vegan
05 Mar 2023

Great Morning Stop

Outstanding food and pastries, some comfort food options, good drinks and friendly staff with a cute little back patio.

tditullio

Points +52

Vegan
30 Jul 2022

A must!

The menu is amazing, lots of options, all of which look amazing. I ordered the SW burrito, YUM. The crew here is super friendly, accommodating and welcoming. The almond milk latte was really creamy.

Pros: Fresh, yummy options, Welcoming staff, Accommodating

Cons: None!

thatblackbat

Points +158

Vegan
23 Jul 2022

Best Option For Breakfast!

If you're looking for a variety of vegan breakfast/brunch options, this is the place to go! They have several clearly labeled and delicious vegan breakfast sandwiches as well as vegan pastries. They also serve their coffee with oat milk by default and have other milk alternatives available. It's a great place to stop at after the Saturday Farmer's Market.

Pros: Creative menu, Staff is friendly and knowledgable, Lots of different drinks

AndreaRose

Points +91

Vegan
20 Jun 2022

Amazing food & cozy atmosphere!

A really cozy spot with amazing food! It's actually all vegan now, except for a select few pastries that are clearly labeled as not being vegan. I got a breakfast burrito, a couple of different teas, and a muffin. All amazing. They also are offering gift boxes for the holidays. Definitely recommend!

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-19

Pros: Good food, Cozy atmosphere, Kind staff

Cons: Pricey, Masks required

JohnCalligan

Points +21

Vegan
12 Jun 2022

Can’t wait to go back

The Hangover Helper and cold brew brought me back to life after my first Friday in Chico. Nice spot to sit and back and enjoy breakfast and a coffee. Staff were friendly food tasty, couldn’t ask for more.

I liked the variety and creativity in their menu. Sauerkraut on a breakfast sandwich(hangover helper) was not only creative but unmissable. Mole enchiladas were tasteful and refreshing topped with fresh cabbage. Tortillas might not be as good as traditional somosa breading but the filling was perfectly seasoned to make the somosadilla a solid contender. Not to mention the cold brew which was nicely balanced, not over roasted or bitter like many other cold brew can be but strong enough to wake me right up.

TawnyConnerCleveland

Points +355

Vegan
04 Jun 2022

So grateful for an all vegan restaurant

Delicious food all vegan choices. The staff is very kind and efficient.

GavinEldridge

Points +20

Vegan
11 Mar 2022

Awesome service, coffee, food, and pastries!

Everything here is absolutely delicious. I only wish I found TLC sooner 😭

gdacquisto

Points +16

Vegan
09 Mar 2022

Best vegan food in Chico

They have the best vegan breakfast sandwiches. There is truly no other place in Chico like Tender Loving Coffee.

areoandmilk

Points +42

Vegan
09 Mar 2022

Great People and Food!

I love this place, they always have the best vegan food, their macaroons are amazing, and oat milk is their main milk! Before 2020 I had gone to trivia nights here and it was lots of fun.

LuciaMercado

Points +8

Non Veg
09 Mar 2022

Cozy & Cute

I’ve visited TLC for markets they’ve hosted and just on weekend mornings to grab a drink and chat ✨ The staff is amazing and super friendly! & the majority of their goodies are outsourced from a small business owner in town 🤍 They support our community while bringing us amazing vegan food and drink!

Pros: Completely vegan!, Baked goods 🔥, Comfy seating & artwork displayed 💕

Cons: As one sugar addict to another, not sweet enough

TiffanyWorthington

Points +136

Vegan
10 Jul 2021

Delicious breakfast sandwiches!

Such friendly, eager to help you as soon as you waltz in staff! Genuine, clean, great food! We have the veggie breakfast sandwich on a brioche with a delicious dipping sauce & another with sausage and egg on a bisquit. The first one was moister than the second, which I loved. The one on the biscuit was dryer but still tasty! We had a Orange Zest Mocha with Oat Milk, a sweet black tea and a Macha Macaron—all really great!!

Pros: A stand-alone vegan menu!, Super-friendly staff!, Peaceful vibe!

Cons: It’s not 100% Vegan yet

BackyardFarmerGirl

Points +66

Vegan
30 Dec 2019

Great vegan choices and sweet artwork

We love the vegan salads and pizza options and they have a decent and affordable wine selection. The artwork on the walls is gorgeous- feels a lot like you just stepped into a European cafe-bar. Not a great location for big groups - it is quite small and popular!

Pros: Many yummy plant-based options., Nice wine options., Lovely ambience.

Cons: Not many tables.

ssherry1

Points +34

Vegan
23 Feb 2019

Best Vegan Pizza

The vegan cheese actually tastes like cheese.

Korhcid

Points +16

Vegan
14 Feb 2019

Worst service ever.

The worst. Place had four employees and only two patrons other then my friend and I. I ordered the vegan tacos. She ordered the pizza and salad. It took over 25 min for tacos to appear with no silverware or napkins then we waiting for another 25 minutes for my friends food. Almost an hour! Food never came. Then guy at register baffled we hadn’t gotten our food hadn’t even put her order in. Then when tried to be refunded . He gave her cash iver the amount of the bill instead of refunding her card to correct amount. The tacos I got were very very small. I will never go back . Also guy had his long hair down but pulled back into a food safely bun or net.

Cons: Service, Timing , Cleanliness




This page has been viewed 3989 times.