Vegan-friendly
Ovo
Chinese
Thai

Thai food restaurant located opposite Bangkok Centre hotel, north of Rama 4 road, near Hua Lampong railway & MRTA station. Take subway to end at "Hau Lamphong" station, take exit 3, backtrack on Rama 4 (head east) for 70 meters to Soi Trokphrayasinghaseni, turn left, and the restaurant is on the right with a "vegetarian" sign written in English. Mostly vegan however reported serving egg noodles. Open Mon-Sun 10:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Ruyi Vegetarian
© OpenStreetMap contributors

149 Reviews

First Review by SallyP

toni.markert

Points +257

Vegan
13 Feb 2024

Full vegetarian restaurant

Many vegan dishes on the menu.
Absolute tasty meat alternatives!
Sooo tasty !

Advertisement

RalphWoods

Points +1046

Vegan
12 Feb 2024

Vegan meats uno

Cheap Thai vegetarian place. Lots of vegan options. Probs exactly what u expect it to be 👌🏻

Arobed

Points +501

Vegan
01 Feb 2024

Must go if in the area

It‘s soo good for such a low price! The staff are hard-working and they offer such a variety of food and mock fish/meat, it was hard to choose what to eat. I came here twice during my stay in Bangkok because I loved the fried duck, it was so crispy and meaty. Seems like this place is popular among foreigners and locals, it was always full.

Benedikt26

Points +41

Vegan
10 Jan 2024

Its a nice restaurant

But so many 5 star reviews don‘t set realistic expectations. The staff is really nice, but we had much tastier food for even cheaper prices.

Pros: Helpful staff

worldtravel3r

Points +36

Vegetarian
08 Dec 2023

Tasty

Had the green curry rice and the spicy “fish”. Both were good and not expensive.

TwoBlades.ch

Points +42

Vegan
30 Nov 2023

Disappointing Experience at Ruyi Vegetarian: Mixed Review Despite High Expectations

Food: 2/5
Service: 2/5
Atmosphere: 2/5
Value for Money: 3/5
Location: 2/5
Extras: 1/5

Given the numerous positive reviews, our expectations were elevated due to the abundance of 5-star ratings. However, it seems we may have had an unfortunate experience with our menu choices, or the regular chef might have been absent during our visit. From our perspective, we cannot recommend this restaurant.

The surroundings of the restaurant gave us the impression of being relatively unkempt.

The "Chinese Iced Tea" had a strong chlorine smell and otherwise lacked any discernible taste.

For starters, we ordered seaweed and vegetarian spring rolls. The seaweed was still frozen and emitted a strong fishy smell, while the spring rolls were doughy and tasteless.

As a main course, we opted for Pad Thai. During our travels in Thailand, we had enjoyed better Pad Thai at other locations.

The service staff did not convey a motivated impression, actively avoiding eye contact.

IMPORTANT: Our aim is by no means to harm restaurants through our reviews. Our primary concern is to share honest opinions to enable a realistic assessment and prevent false expectations for potential guests. This transparency promotes an objective evaluation while simultaneously supporting outstanding performance in the hospitality industry.

Updated from previous review on 2023-11-30

Pros: inexpensive , wide selection

Cons: not tasty , poor service, dirty environment

Sarilein

30 Nov 2023

Oh no😡so sad. I was always happy here, but my last visit was before Covid. Thanks for sharing

taneshajade

Points +148

Vegan
29 Nov 2023

Local vibe, excellent food!

Tucked down a street close to Hua Lamphong MRT. Popular with locals when I went, only a few tables and almost full at 6pm.

I had the Deep Fried Spring Rolls (70 THB) and the Tom Yum Soup (80 THB). Both absolutely incredible! The mock meats are something else. The spring rolls are filled with mock meats too making them even better than your usual veggie ones. So cheap too, I’d go back again and again!

Cash only.

Updated from previous review on 2023-11-29

Pros: Big Portions, Flavourful Food, Cheap Price

KateEryri

Points +24

Vegan
26 Nov 2023

Delicious food!!

I had a spicy dish with the big green beans you see being sold at the markets. It came with rice. Very very tasty, quick to come and very very cheap. Totally recommend!

ÉlidaZuchini

Points +44

Vegan
05 Nov 2023

Amazing!!

It's everything very tasty, the people here are kind. I came here in the dinner and I couldn't resist and I came back for lunch. You should try the fried duck. Unbelievable. Price is good and there is a homemade tea for free.

Updated from previous review on 2023-11-05

ashiie29

Points +25

Vegetarian
19 Sep 2023

Beautiful Thai food

Beautiful Thai food veggie style!! Even my meat eater partner loved it!

Pros: Taste , Variety of dishes , Cheap

kmattes

Points +56

Vegan
04 Sep 2023

Favorite spot in Bangkok

This place is incredible. I came back several times. Very affordable and local, with lots of options. The owners are really nice too.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-04

cippi

Points +641

Vegan
20 Aug 2023

Very rich menu

All the dishes have a picture on the menu, you point it out to order. Very simple. Everything was good and tasty

philipp123321

Points +32

Vegetarian
03 Aug 2023

Authentic local place

Everything we tried was nice

CatGarnett

Points +149

Vegetarian
12 Jul 2023

Delicious Thai food, best Tom Yum

Ruyi is our go-to option for Thai food, simple and welcoming restaurant, or for take-away, Ruyi never fails to be delicious. The Tom Yum Hed is aroi maak maak, excellent spice. One of (if not THE) best Tom Yum vegan in Thailand. I also would recommend the fried chicken, morning glory, wontos, and fried rice.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-12

Conzthegreat

Points +162

Vegetarian
21 May 2023

Good food for low prices

It’s a bit tucked away in a locals area which might feel a little intimidating as a tourist but the staff were very welcoming and the food was great. Some of the most affordable veggie/vegan food in the area

Pros: Tasty, Cheap!, Friendly staff who spoke English

Cons: Locals area, not many tourists

FrédéricSt-Hilaire

Points +75

Vegetarian
03 Mar 2023

A piece of heaven in the Sin city of Asia

This restaurant is a paradise for any vegetarian. Great thai food with "mock meat" for a good price. Redemption might be possible after all...

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-03

Kimsk8

Points +36

Vegan
14 Feb 2023

Authentisch thailändisch

Große Auswahl an Gerichten. Tofu und Fleischersatz ist mega gut gewürzt. Ein Gericht kostet zwischen 60-120 baht.

Pros: Lecker, Günstig

annö

Points +17

Vegetarian
05 Feb 2023

Lecker lecker

Richtig leckerer hotpot. Fleischersatz schmeckt. Nette Atmosphäre.

Braunator

Points +69

Vegan
04 Feb 2023

Nice!!!

Very tasty fake-meet, like duck and chicken

Pros: Viele vagane Fleisch und Fisch Alternativen., Free icetea

jeroenkusters

Points +674

Vegan
24 Jan 2023

Extensive menu

There really is something to choose from here. Extensive menu with many types of meat and fish. Everything looks real and tastes great.

emilywmary

Points +71

Vegan
23 Jan 2023

Amazing and 100% vegan

Delicious imitation crab, fried chicken and pork spicy salad. Plus free Chinese tea. Delicious, highly recommend!

TimovD

Points +104

Mostly Veg
09 Jan 2023

Amazing vegan and vegetarian food

Amazing and pricey food in Bangkok. We had the Pad Thai and ist was super tasty. We also took the Chicken, which was amazing.They also offer Soft Drinks in glass bottles, which is rare and was even cheaper than in plastic bottles.

Pros: A lot of options, even veg. Shark Fin Soup , Pricey food, Amazing food

Cons: Food took long time to be prepared, but was worth

EliWer

Points +18

Vegetarian
04 Jan 2023

Great choice, tasty food

The food we tried was very tasty, there's a big choice and the stuff was friendly even if we don't speak one word of Thay.

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-04

Pros: taste, fair price & portion size

Cons: nothing

dunky

Points +174

Vegan
28 Dec 2022

Worth a visit

An extensive menu that made it hard to choose. Good portion sizes and cheap. I had a starter and main which I struggled to finish.

lokalvegan

Points +1638

Vegan
25 Dec 2022

Cheap and tasty

Extensive menu with lots of options. The sushi part of the menu looks too real, but it’s vegan 100%!

connoneill

Points +15

Vegetarian
21 Dec 2022

Excellent food

Only criticism is using meat names on menu but amazing tofu dishes

MohitAdlakha

Points +28

Vegetarian
13 Dec 2022

Great local place

Been eating here for a couple months. Their curries taste amazing. Small clean shop in an alley.

Pros: Many items , Tasty, Cheap

Cons: Most dishes use soy/tofu




This page has been viewed 38294 times.