Spotted Dog Restaurant and Bar

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 37 reviews )

Serves meat, vegan options available. American cuisine with veg/vegan selection marked on the menu, including but not limited to mock meats. Tempeh and tofu dishes can be served vegan upon request. Located in historic downtown across from Carr Mill Mall. Has full bar and local artwork display. Open Mon-Thu 11:30am-10:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:30am-12:00am, Sun 10:00am-10:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, American, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Non-veg

37 Reviews

First Review by veganrunner

meribit

Points +72

Vegan
28 Nov 2021

Many vegan options - BEST VEGAN WINGS EVER!

They have a number of good vegan options but we always get the house made wings they are amazing.
Quesadilla is also nice if you like a Smokey flavour.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Best wings, Friendly staff

Cons: Opening hours sometimes unclear, Outside seating is not so nice next to streets

ClintonFitch

Points +25

Mostly Veg
16 Oct 2021

Excellent!

Try the Buffalo Mac & Cheese

Pros: Great location, Great selection

Cons: Service can be a little slow

Chelsea724

Points +965

Vegan
25 Jul 2021

Great options!!

This place has amazing vegan options, knowledgeable staff, and awesome food!

Advertisement

ErinCarter

Points +34

Vegan
06 Dec 2020

Great classics- veganized

They have a great number of classic American options. Good vegan food, thoughtful about protein sources and substitutions. Plus it’s a fun building with a fun theme

Pros: Good prices, Lots of options, Really yummy

pritchstan

Points +5256

Vegan
10 Oct 2020

Completely Burnt

We were super excited to try this restaurant based on reviews and the number of vegan options available.

We ordered curb side pickup. When we arrived home, we found that our food was burnt, overcooked and rubbery.

Vegan Faux Chicken Sandwich w fries: We were less than 15min away. When we got back the fries were completely cold. The vegan chicken sandwich had okay flavor but the soy chicken was so tough and rubbery (clearly overlooked) it was difficult to eat. The bun was very hard, close to being stale.

Vegan NC BBQ Sandwich with baked beans: The vegan BBQ was black it was so burnt! How could they sell this?!? We've literally never paid for such a horrible sandwich. It was completely inedible. The bun was also quite hard. The baked beans were over baked and gross. Just a heads up they are made with kidney beans.

Overall we had a very negative experience. We essentially threw away our money. Unacceptable.

Cons: Bunt food that was literally black

aleesaann

Points +40

Vegetarian
30 Sep 2020

a staple.

i've been going to spotted dog for many years, even before they had such a large vegan/vegetarian menu.
first, the location is great - it use to be a post office! the waitstaff is always wonderful and attentive, no matter how crowded they are.
they are a little pricey - but most places in carrboro/chapel hill are.
their beer-battered french fries are a must. i'm a fan of their creamy potato soup is great (be sure to ask for some soy "bacon" on it). their vegan chicken salad and vegetarian club sandwich are also really good. my favorite salad there is their "tofudabest" which is really delicious, though i wish it came with more tofu.
my favorite thing here is their vegan "pork" bbq. it's tangy with a little bit of spice. it's good by itself or as a sandwich. their california burger is quite good, but also a little expensive.
it's a lovely place to dine, especially if you can get a table outside during the nice weather. a+

Pros: great wait staff, TONS of vegetarian and vegan options, many things are from local sources

Cons: expensive

mjrnk

Points +95

Vegan
04 Sep 2020

lots of vegan options

Their tofu scramble and salads are really good and I also like their sandwiches. I think they're a little pricey but they have good brunch options and creative vegan dishes.

BrettMorgan

Points +53

Vegan
31 Aug 2020

Good food for a passerby.

I am from Atlanta stopping through for work and found this little place. I got the black eye pea burger and the chick-feau-lay sandwich. Both were good. Given the plethora of vegan options here, I will try something else next time I stop through.

Pros: Almost every thing can be veganized. , Friendly service. , Outdoor seating.

Cons: They do a lot of things ok. Nothing is great.

ojo

Points +16

Vegan
30 Jul 2020

Happy surprise!

This was such a great find! I had no idea Carrboro was such a cool town. The spotted dog gave us excellent take-our service (aka pandemic) and we are out on the patio. They brought out a bowl of water for our dog, and the food was excellent! We got the vegan Cubano and the chick-faux-lay with beer battered fries. We also got the fried green tomatoes as an appetizer and they were so incredible!!!! Wonderful little gem to find on vacation, would give 5 stars if this app wasn’t weird

Pros: Tons of vegan/ veggie ops, Pandemic- safe (masks enforced, take out only) , Tasty food!

MariahKEvans

Points +130

Vegan
27 Jul 2020

always a little disappointed

I really want to love spotted dog (i’m definitely a repeat customer b/c of its location and they have some great options — the tempeh and their beer battered fries are always a hit!) but ultimately i have always been a bit disappointed either with my food or with the service. The last two times I’ve ordered (takeout bc pandemic) they’ve served me burned beans and the “vegan sour cream” with the cheese fries has an off putting, mayo-like consistency and oddly sweet flavor. for a restaurant that markets heavily to the vegan community, i’d expect food that is at least satisfying.

Pros: Many vegan options, unique to carrboro area , fries + tempeh are delish

Cons: Some vegan options are no good, poor service, expensive, esp in terms of vegan upcharges

lanasmom1993

Points +137

Vegan
20 Jun 2020

Love this place

Tons of vegan options. The Chick-Faux-Lay sandwich is my favorite, and their vegan pimento cheese is to die for. So nice to find an American/pub food restaurant that has vegan options

veganofreason

Points +20

Vegan
10 Mar 2020

Refreshing

Was so nice being able to order where they actually understand veganism. Our waitress had been vegetarian for 37 years and vegan for 6. The buffalo soy chicken wings (with vegan ranch) and fried green tomatoes were wonderful. The spicy rice bowl was excellent as was the vegan BBQ. Highly recommend.

Pros: Most dishes are either vegetarian or vegan. , Waitstaff is very knowledgeable , Lots of craft beers

Cons: Some of the portions are comparatively small, Ambiance is so so for the sit down restaurant, Wish they would consider going 100% vegan

AshleyEatsVeggies

Points +64

Vegetarian
06 Nov 2019

Our Go-To Place

My fiancé and I have been going to Spotted Dog for a few years now and have rarely been disappointed. Aside from one time when the service was so awful that we left before ordering, we have usually enjoyed the food and service. I always order the chik-faux-lay sandwich tossed in buffalo sauce, and my fiancé’s fave is their pulled ‘pork’ sandwich. They even have vegan mayo and ranch, which is awesome (no dry sandwiches, yay!). The price point is a bit high but otherwise, would recommend.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, food is great , has vegan ranch and mayo

Cons: Expensive, service can be hit or miss

kmd1221

Points +39

Vegetarian
13 Oct 2019

Options for all

Personally, I go to spotted dog for the veg flair as every time and am never disappointed! This is a great spot for families with varying food preferences and there is something for everyone. Highly recommend the flautas and in house baked chips

Alisonfeher

Points +61

Vegan
01 Oct 2019

Spotted Dog

Get the soy chicken tinga! It’s amazing

Pros: Vegan options

gabadoodledoo

Points +221

Vegan
02 Sep 2019

So many vegan options!

I love the feeling of not being able to decide because there are so many vegan options! Love the caprese, salad with vegan ranch, impossible burger, and vegan pimento cheese. one of our favorite spots.

Pros: Lots of options

Cons: Expensive

sarilros

Points +15

Vegetarian
24 Jul 2019

Tons of options

I actually end up overwhelmed everytime I go here because there are so many vegan options to choose from. It's the perfect place to take someone who is not V/Veg as well because there are some choices for them to have. Everything we've had is delicious!

Pros: Tons of options, Cute atmosphere, Nice wait staff

Cons: A bit pricey

maltinej

Points +1517

Vegan
21 Jul 2019

Excellent vegan options

Lots of vegan items clearly marked on the menu. Had the vegan wings, the Alfredo pasta, and the vegan mac and cheese and they were all amazing. Big portions as well.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

rlberthi

Points +60

Vegan
08 Jul 2019

3 Visits In 3 Days!

I wish I could give this more than a 4-Star review! I cannot begin to tell you how amazing their food is. It's so good that I went there 3 times in 3 days when I was in town, and tried 5 different menu items! I tried the Veggie BBQ, the Veggie Wings, The Vegan Chicken Salad Appetizer, the vegan Philly (with mushrooms instead of peppers) and the Cheesy Breakfast Burrito during my 3 visits. The first 3 of these were mouth-wateringly AMAZING! The other 2 were really good! For my 3rd and final meal there, I went there for brunch on Sunday, 7/7/2019, to watch the Women's World Cup Championship. Before I left, I ordered the Vegan Chicken Salad Appetizer for the second time, to go. That's how good it is! If you are in the Chapel Hill/Carrboro area, this spot is a MUST visit! If I lived in the area, I would become a fat vegan!

Also, I need to figure out a way to get ahold of the Delight NC Soy product that they use as a chicken replacement.

Updated from previous review on 2019-07-08

Pros: So many vegan options!, Very friendly and knowledgeable wait staff!

penguin066

Points +42

Vegan
30 Jun 2019

Impossibly Great!

Small resturant and bar with lots of vegan options. The impossible burger here is the best prepared in the area! French fries are beer-battered and super yummy. Highly reccomend. (At the time of this review the white burger bun is the only vegan option)

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Small resturant - a little cramped at times

jragan77

Points +16

Vegan
20 Jun 2019

Great place with lots of vegan options

Lots of vegan options and a large beer and wine selection. Would go back there again

Jeff81

Points +159

Vegan
19 Aug 2018

Beer and great food

Found this as we were driving through. It is a gem. Great comfort food. They also have a dedicated fryer for vegan fries.

Pros: The Red Beans and Rice with vegan sausage.

Samily

Points +90

Vegan
19 Jun 2018

My Favorite Restaurant

The Spotted Dog is my favorite restaurant in the Triangle. They take customer comments to heart which is why they keep adding more vegan options. Best vegan comfort food.

Pros: Lots of vegan options and they listen to their cus

Cons: It is not totally vegan.

faisca

Points +158

Vegan
29 Jan 2018

An Expensive, But Delicious Oasis

Veggie, as well as, LGBTQIA and canine -friendly. Recently added (2018) a bunch of additional vegetarian and vegan fare to the menu ('Featured Entrees'). Overall I'd say approximately 60% of the menu is, or can be made, vegan. Simple yet delicious American cuisine, with a few international dishes. Quite a bit expensive. Especially when they charge more to "vegan-ize". For example, a $12.50 Carolina Pub Burger costs an additional $3.75 to veganize ($16 Burger?!). Moreover, their Vegan Chili Cheese Dawgs consist of a basic chili and dog (Loma Linda?) on a standard store-bought bun. While the dishes are well prepared, I feel most don't warrant the excessive cost. But some veganized versions come with what I believe is Miyokos cheese, so that's something I guess. Discount lunch menu from 11:30 am - 5 pm daily.

Pros: Vegan-Friendly Menu, Safe Space for all Humans and Canines, Chill Atmosphere and Cool Building/Location

Cons: Expensive $$$

vcentx

Points +13

Vegetarian
02 Oct 2017

Spot on

Nice location and great service! Vegetarian and vegan options offered and easily label on the menu. Something for everyone.

clovely.vegan

Points +1102

Vegan
04 Aug 2017

Good vegan BBQ

I'm from out of town and was really looking forward to eating here and I was not let down! I had the veggie bbq sandwich (slow-cooked shredded soy chicken) and liked it. I also had the veggie wings (soy chicken nuggets) for appetizer and I LOVED them!! The vegan dessert was just ok.

Updated from previous review on 2015-10-22

xxxx

Points +243

Vegan
08 Nov 2016

Really good food

The food here is really good, and there are plenty of vegan and vegetarian items clearly marked on the menu. The veggie wings are delicious (you can ask to get them with vegan mayo on the side instead of blue ranch dressing) and the tingas are really good too. Some of the other items can be a little hit or miss in my opinion.

Pros: Lots of options, Delicious food, Clearly marked on the menu

Cons: Some items can be hit or miss, Expensive

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Carrboro Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Spotted Dog Restaurant and Bar closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 5560 times.