• Spice Oven

  • (11)
    33
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Indian
Nepalese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Indian and Nepali food restaurant where the staff speak English and will accommodate vegans. Choices include chana masala, aloo gobi, vegetable curry, among others. An option in a neighborhood with limited choices. Previously called Niji. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-11:00pm.


Venue map for Spice Oven
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by mkanter

Haarithan

Points +21

Vegetarian
10 Nov 2023

Favourite restaurant in Tokyo

The owner invites you with utmost politeness and joy. Bonded with them and had a lot of fun. Must visit if you're in Tokyo.

Updated from previous review on 2023-11-10

Pros: Owners, Food, Location

Advertisement

AdrianaMatsufuji

Points +227

Vegan
21 Oct 2023

Tasty curry, fairly priced

The food is really tasty and the portions are big. It's not clear from the menu what is vegetarian/vegan but the staff spoke good english so it was easy to communicate. They were also very friendly! I had the meal set with daal curry and rice, and we ordered some samosas as well.

FluffyTheDestroyer

Points +156

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

Good curry

They have a few vegan options but you got to ask, they are not labelled on the menu. Got the vegetable Curry with rice which was tasty with good flavours.

SeanMcAvoy

Points +30

Mostly Veg
02 Jun 2023

Combo’s are affordable

About 1100¥ for a combo meal. There are a few vegetarian options possibly vegan options. Chana curry was tast

Pros: Options

Cons: A-la-cart gets expensive

CrazyTofuMan

Points +168

Vegetarian
14 May 2023

Good strong flavors

Our hotel was around the corner and this spot is open late (11 to 11 daily). They had salads, a few curry options, and other options. We ordered the Vegetable Curry, Vegetable biriyani, and basil nan bread. All three were very good. We’ve never had basil nan before but I’ll be looking for that on the menu at future Indian restaurants. The wait staff’s English was fairly good, the understood vegetarian clearly and were able to help identify menu options. Prices were fair for the portion size.

Pros: Basil Nan

GiridharVc

Points +15

Vegetarian
29 Oct 2019

Very good Indian food

Has meat but a lot of vegetarian/vegan options. The management is good with understanding requirements. The food tasted really good

Pros: Has a lot of vegetarian / vegan options , The cooks understand your dietary preferences

Cons: The timings aren’t right. It was closed at 3pm

Jenniferklomp

Points +185

Vegetarian
20 Apr 2019

Good curry

Curry was good, but not incredible or anything. A little too spicy for me but with some water and naan bread it goes down easily! Staff speaks good English and were knowledgeable of vegetarianism

Ju8

Points +69

Mostly Veg
06 Jul 2018

Amazing

One of the best naan and curry I ever had. Also very reasonable prized.

Pros: Taste, Prize

Cons: Not soo many vegetarian options

mhale

Points +257

Vegetarian
25 May 2018

BEWARE -- our dish contained chicken!

My boyfriend and I went here in hopes of a vegetarian meal and ordered the channa masala, vegetable curry, rice, and garlic naan. The dishes came out and they tasted okay (the naan was actually really good), but after eating about a third of the vegetable curry I bit into a piece of what I am certain was chicken. I used to be a carnivore so I can tell that the taste, texture, and appearance of this piece of food was identical to chicken. Note that this couldn't have been mock chicken as the dishes we ordered did not come with any mock meat, and I don't believe the restaurant even offers mock meat in any of their dishes. We complained to the host/waiter but he denied that this could have happened. He finally at least offered to replace the dish, but knowing that this mistake had happened once we weren't excited to have it potentially happen again, plus we had both completely lost our appetites. We paid for our meal in full, which I absolutely regret not arguing over more, but the situation was incredibly uncomfortable and we really just wanted to get out of there. About an hour later, after returning to our hotel, my boyfriend was violently ill and vomited throughout the night. Please don't risk this happening to you, and avoid this restaurant.

Pros: at least the naan was good?

Cons: put meat in our food, food just ok; I've had much better Indian/Nepali

YvonneLiu

Points +40

Vegan
28 Apr 2018

不是純素餐廳,但是有素食的選擇

很可愛的尼泊爾小餐館,服務人員很不錯,介紹了好幾樣素食餐點。
價位還可以,五個人點了三份醬料、白飯三份、三杯果汁、二杯咖啡約日幣5200。

Pros: 食物很下飯

Cons: 口味偏重

mkanter

Points +30

Vegan
30 Mar 2018

Delicious

Found this place while walking around. The food was absolutely delicious. More vegan options than the vast majority of restaurants in Tokyo. My stepbrother and I split the aloo gobi and chana masala. Both were very tasty, and only 750 yen for each, and pretty large portions. Good bang for your buck, and great food. I would give it 5 stars, but the restaurant is not fully vegan so the app won't let me.




This page has been viewed 4450 times.