CLOSED: Soul Veggie Korean Vegetarian

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 20 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

3 Temple St, Central Singapore, Singapore, 058556

Korean vegetarian restaurant opened Feb 2018 in Chinatown. Serves bibimbap, fried rice, noodles, army stew hotpot and pancakes. Reported closed, Apr 2019.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Ovo, Take-out, Korean

20 Reviews

First Review by Cqveggiefinds

ghostgumtrees

Points +659

Vegan
09 Mar 2019

Satisfying portions, spotless restaurant

Portions are generous and food is flavourful and hearty. Good variety of dishes and great explanation of vegetables used in Korean dishes painted as a main feature on the wall. The restaurant is spotless and service was quick and efficient.

Pros: Mostly vegan choices, Spotless, Filling and well priced

Cons: Drinks were a little higher priced

spicemustflow

Points +269

Vegetarian
29 Jan 2019

Excellent veggie food in Chinatown

Smaller restaurant tucked away in Chinatown, but we had a great meal here and would return again! The chef was nice enough to ask us questions about our preferences and explain all the food as he brought it out. Casual ambiance, big flavors, we left very satisfied. The bibimpob was excellent! Also, try the pomegranate vinegar drink, not sour at all!

Pros: Mostly vegan, or vegan capable, Delicious, Modestly priced

Cons: No alcohol

TacticalTofu

Points +74

Vegan
19 Sep 2018

Favourite vegan food in Singapore

Food was so full of flavour. Restaurant was spotless. Staff were really great, happy to go through the menu and recommend stuff.

Pros: Flavoursome food, Large servings, Friendly Staff

Advertisement

ChoyYuen

Points +2368

Vegan
16 Sep 2018

Authentic Korean cuisine

Soul Veggie is a cosy place to enjoy authentic Korean cuisine prepared by experienced Korean chef. The staff are well-trained and able to recommend suitable dishes based on our dietary requirements. There are two categories of vegetarian/vegan food in Singapore - healthy or unhealthy. Any wise foodie or health conscious person would choose Soul Veggie as it certainly belongs to the healthy category. We are served with freshly made food and piping hot dishes using fresh ingredients. There's no deep fried food, no mock meat or added msg. We tried their iconic Korean dishes - Dolsot bibimbap (stone pot rice with multicolored sauteed vegetables over rice), doenjang jjigae (korean bean paste stew with rice), janchi guksu (korean wheat flour noodles in hot soup) and nokdu-jeon (savoury korean mung bean pancake). We opt for Korean black rice which has high antioxidants and superior nutritional value. Each set comes with an authentic Korean banchan (side dish), house-made kimchi and complete with their house-made sujeonggwa, a sweet and refreshing Korean traditional cinnamon punch. Every dish is a masterpiece and an art. The food presentation is good, serving portion is sufficient and prices are reasonable. Overall, there isn't any culture shock in the food taste. The sourness in kimchi is just right. The food is not greasy, not too spicy or salty. Soul Veggie is certainly a recommended place for health conscious vegetarians or vegans.

Latest updates:
* Soul veggie is opened on Sunday due to many customers request.
* current promotion - get a stamp for every $15 spent & redeem your freebies for every 4 stamps.

Updated from previous review on 2018-09-16

Pros: Fresh ingredients, prepared by experienced Korean chef, value for money

Cons: None

japo

Points +50

Vegan
15 Sep 2018

Highly recomendable

We had a very good experience. Both had bibimbap which was delicious!

Pros: Many vegan options, Friendly staff, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Accept cash only

duncantjon

Points +77

Vegan
08 Sep 2018

Great food

Good place to try some vegan/vegetarian korean food. Portion are quite big. Enough to share.
Try one the pancakes (yummy). The main dish we had Sundubu Jjihae (soft tofu stew served with rice) was also great.

Pros:

AmyLeySzeThoo

Points +2581

Vegan
20 Aug 2018

Good food

Authentic Korean food. Good service.

Pros: Friendly staff

jaylenlky

Points +15

Vegetarian
21 Jul 2018

good food, good service

First time here and my first time eating jajangmyeon.!! Finally.!! Good experience . Do come and support them.!

HuiEeLee

Points +28

Vegetarian
30 Jun 2018

Excellent

First time trying Soul Veggie at Chinatown for dinner today and I was very impressed. Customer service was excellent, food was delicious and filling, price is afforable and the place was good with free WiFi for customer. The fact that this entire meal is just $12 shows that it is definitely worth every cent spent and worth travelling down for!

Really enjoyed my meal very much today. Would like to extend my appreciation to all the staff there who were friendly, helpful and prompt in service. Your smiles and politeness really made me feel welcomed and at home. Keep up the good job! Would like to give 10 stars rating if it is possible.

Pros: Wide variety of yummy appetizers (free of charge) , Free WiFi, no service charge and no GST charge., Affordable price and excellent customer service.

Sweetveganneko

Points +1540

Vegan
30 Apr 2018

Healthy Korean veg

Great service coupled with amazing and generous traditional Korean dishes. I tried the bibimbap - really fluffy and bouncy rice, with Super generous toppings, jajjangmeon - a little thick for the sauce, but I heard is one of the better ones, and kimchi (?) stew - refreshing and wholesome. Each set came with appetisers (special shoutout to their amazing appetisers, where everything is Super flavourful and refreshing at the same time!!), a soup (can be either sweet or savoury. I personally find the tastes too strong sometimes), and a side dish (yet again, very refreshing addition to everything else, though less bombz than the appetisers). The sides, soup and appetisers change on a near daily basis, so you won’t get tired of it even if you keep going back ;)

Pros: Great service, Lots of vegan options, Super amazing sides and appetisers

anthonygore

Points +16

Vegan
02 Apr 2018

Great food, vegetarian or vegan

I really enjoyed it here. Well made food, very tasty.

Erinaivilo

Points +142

Vegan
23 Mar 2018

Flavorful options for vegans

Kim chi with tofu was great. The tofu was sooo flavorful.

jacs

Points +268

Vegan
22 Mar 2018

Gotta love any place that serves cold noodles

One thing I can never understand in sunny Singapore is that despite our weather and reputation as a food paradise, why isn't there a Singaporean cold noodle dish?

Hopefully some budding hawkerpreneur can start a stall specialising in just cold noodles in future. It makes perfect sense in this weather and for lunchtime office workers rushing for time.

I had the bibim guksu(cold noodles) which came with some side dishes(They will ask if you consume eggs/dairy as some contain them).

I also ordered the kimchi pancakes which were okay in terms of taste. They tend to stick to the serviette on the plate though.

Pros: Korean veg*n food, Many other veg*n options nearby, I can think of 4 off my head already

consciouscookieee

Points +629

Mostly Veg
21 Mar 2018

Authentic Korean food w/o MSG

Love the chewy fresh noodles used in their jjajyangmyeon with the perfect degree of bite to them, as well as the tasty sweet & savoury bean paste which you won’t get sick of at the end :’) This comes with tau pok & a few banchan small side dishes for $12 nett!

Pros: Yummy jjajyangmyeon, No MSG, Banchan changes daily

VegYuan

Points +311

Vegetarian
12 Mar 2018

Authentic Korea Food without meat

Taste is closer to the real Korean food!
- No MSG include mushroom seasoning
- No alcohol
- No artificial flavoring
- No Onion/Garlic

Love their Bibimbap (Soy sauce version)!

Pros: Authentic Korean Food taste, Food without MSG! , Korean Chef!

Cons: Closed on Sunday

edwardbc

Points +945

Vegan
02 Mar 2018

Great kimchi stew

I’m a big fan of kimchi stews so this place was a surprise to find. The stew was pretty good with a good portion size (see attached pics. Great service and price. Recommended.

Note: they close the restaurant as soon as they are out of stock to ensure food freshness it’s better to try coming early afternoon

lolisalo

Points +221

Vegan
01 Mar 2018

nice tofu stew

Had wanted to try the army stew but it’s not vegan. So I ate the spicy tofu stew which was surprisingly good as I was expecting it to be less flavourful with the clear soup. It went beyond my expectations, tofu was smooth and fresh, my flexitarian Friend also like it.

Pros: they have peanut porridge along with the stew, nic, refillable side dish of tomato was ok. the mushroo

Cons: rice was tat soggy. forgot to ask if they offered

BernardKoh

Points +660

Vegan
28 Feb 2018

New Korean Vegetarian Eatery in Chinatown

I had the spicy tofu stew with rice, wheat flour noodles and the mung bean pancake when I was there. I find the serving for the tofu stew a bit too small for my liking and the mung bean pancake was not up to expectation too. The interior decor was nice and the menu looks simple. They probably need to find some designer to help them in terms of marketing.

Updated from previous review on 2018-02-21

Pros: Good Location

Htgenesis

Points +28

Vegan
14 Feb 2018

SoulFull Korean

Small and cosy place with very helpful and polite staff. You can see your food being cooked. My first taste of Korean vegetarian and I was not disappointed. . Not sure what to expect as I chose the fermented bean paste soup instead of the standard kimchi dishes. It was interesting. Really enjoyed the warm soup with mushrooms, tofu, radish, potatoes, cucumber and bean sprouts. The starters of mushroom, cucumber and kimchi were great especially the kimchi which was produced by themselves. The kimchi was perfect! Best I have eaten. And you can have free top-ups! All for $12.00

Pros: Great value for money, Excellent food freshly cooked., Friendly and helpful staff

Cons: None

Cqveggiefinds

Points +10993

Vegan
12 Feb 2018

Delightful!

I went on the opening day.
The meal started with kimchi, lotus root and spinach, and they’re refillable! I like the kimchi a lot.

I had their Jajjangmyeon noodles for $12. It comes with 2 sides - the avocado with chopped cucumber and tomato in it and sweet pumpkin porridge. If they could make the porridge less sweet and more savoury, they could consider having it as a main!

I really like the noodles - it’s chewy and goes so well with the savoury and sweet bean sauce. Definitely enjoyed my meal

I’m going back again

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Central Singapore Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Soul Veggie Korean Vegetarian closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 7720 times.