Soul Kitchen

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 37 reviews )
Contact
02-8658080
Find

Kokiche 13 (at Lozenez District), Sofia, Bulgaria, 1164

Vegan with raw food options as of Feb 2014. Moved from Bul Nikola Y Vaptsarov 25 in 2013. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-11:00pm. Kitchen closes at 10:30pm.

Categories: Vegan, Organic, Raw, Western, Take-out, Bulgarian

37 Reviews

First Review by Joanna Karatsaneva

Great interior, overpriced food - Edit

I love the atmosphere of the place but, sadly, that's the best thing I can say about Soul Kitchen.

The portions are too small and too overpriced, so my advice for everyone is to not go there hungry. Their tacos are basically three small bites for the price of 9-10 leva (5 euro).
The staff is not particularly friendly and they're always in a rush.
They also include a tip for their service, so if you're having troubles with the math - that's the reason.

If I had to describe it with just one word, that would be "pretentious".

Updated from previous review on 2018-03-30

Pros: Lovely interior

Cons: Overpriced food, Tiny portions, Pretentious

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

overpriced and overhyped - Edit

The portions are small and the food is a bit pretentious. And overpriced. The service is not great too.

Cons: expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

not fully vegan - Edit

The food was okay quality for the price, but on arrival I was served a pot of honey with my tea, which certainly doesn’t fit in with vegan ethics. The “slow cooked sweet potato” certainly wasn’t slow cooked as it was quite hard. The cheesecake had a huge blob of jam on it, instead of compote, which would have made it much less sweet and much more palatable.

Cons: honey is not vegan. , overpriced food for lame quality.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing ! - Edit

This is my favorite vegan place in Sofia, everything on the menu is vegan and extremely tasty. The prices are a little higher than a regular restaurant you would find in Sofia, but the quality of the food explains it.

There’s a full menu of the day every day and you can even buy some vegan cheeses !

There is a summer garden if you want to eat outside.
(I would recommend to call to book a table if you plan to go there or make sure there will be some availability)

Pros: vegan, gourmet , summer garden

Cons: a little pricey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very Nice Food and Staff - Edit

Hi, I ate at Soul Kitchen today and was very happy with the whole experience. The staff were very welcoming and spoke excellent English. We had the hummus with crackers, Sunrise Noodles and Tagliatelle, plus finished off with a "Hand-Made Candy" and Pancake (with Chocolate filling) and a black tea. All Vegan and all tasted really nice. Would love to go back again and try the other options. In total only cost about 55 lev (28 Euros or £24).

Pros: All Vegan, Friendly Staff

Cons: A bit outside the centre

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best vegan gourmet food at great prices - Edit

I am on business in Sofia and just had an amazing lunch at Soul Kitchen! The bruschetta from the daily menu and the grilled cashew cheese from Cheese The Queen— absolutely outstanding.
Only minus that Happy Cow doesn’t allow more than 5 stars 😉

Pros: fresh, tasteful, great presentation, good prices , warm and cozy place with cool music

Cons: none whatsoever

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Vegan Cakes - Edit

Had heard a lot about this place, so finally visited it. Only tried the cakes of the day - one with strawberry and the other with pumpkin. The best vegan deserts I have tried! I am not a huge fan of the raw ones with lots of nuts. The ones I tried were just like the cakes I used to eat as a kid, but without the animal products. Super tasty and filling! Would be coming back for some of the other dishes on the menu!
UPDATE: I believe they have honey in some deserts (not vegan), so check.

Updated from previous review on 2015-04-05

Pros: Amazing food, Stylish and relaxed atmosphere , Great location

Cons: Staff not super friendly , The garden was closed

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My soul place in Sofia - Edit

An amazing restaurant serving lovingly prepared food bursting with flavours. Beautifully decorated inside and out with friendly and helpful staff. The Tex Mex starter and the raw desserts were delightful. A little pricey (by Sofia standards), but well worth it. Cannot be missed.

Pros: Great food, Nice outside space

Cons: A little out of the city centre

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Vegan Restaurant ever! - Edit

Wonderful place outside in the Garden.
Great Menu, friendly stuff, and really the best vegan food I ever had! You should definitely go there!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My favorite restaurant in Sofia - Edit

There’s plenty of good food to be had in Sofia, but for me Soul Kitchen is the top. Warm welcome and helpful service. Delicious creative Bulgarian and regional cuisine. Fresh juices and smoothies. Skillfully prepared desserts. Everything vegan, and satisfyingly full of flavor. Reasonable prices. Elegantly charming atmosphere. I already feel like planning another trip to Bulgaria just to be able to enjoy this wonderful place again.

Highly recommended. Enjoy!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan fine food - Edit

Tasty vegan fine food that's more expensive than other plant-based places in Sofia but everything is fresh, the restaurant itself is really beautiful, especially the outdoor area. We ordered a cold soup which was a bit disappointing (flavourless), some homemade pumpkin bread, a pizza (fresh and very tasty), and an Asian inspired salad which was so refreshing in the middle of Summer. We also got free chocolate balls for dessert.
I recommend this place if you want to try vegan fine food.

Pros: Fresh food and variety in the menu (Italian, Asian, Beautiful setting

Cons: They will make you pay tap water because it's filt

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Slightly Upscale - Edit

It was a bit difficult to find this place, so don't rely on Google Maps to tell you how to find it. You simply need to find the street that it is on, and then go to the backyard which has a wonderful seating area.

The music was really nice and relaxed (Erykah Badu), and the place really is a hidden gem in an otherwise not so attractive neighborhood of Sofia.

As the place is entirely vegan you don't have to worry about what you can order, which is always a nice experience.

I had the baked vegetables with a really delicious chimichurri sauce.

They pay a lot of attention to presentation here, which includes the cute little box with dried flowers which they use to give you the bill.

It's a really lovely place, but given that it's more expensive than other places in Sofia you have to decide whether it's worth the trip to an area which you would otherwise not visit.

Pros: Great food, Wonderful atmosphere, Nice presentation

Cons: Not very central, Expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan gourme is a reality - Edit

Soul Kitchen is my favourite vegan restaurant in Sofia. Impeccable service, creative and flavourful dishes combined with the unique design of the place, Soul Kitchen is the place to spend a special evening with people you care about. The menu is versatile with unique starters and main courses. Even a non-vegan would enjoy the experiencing the place.

Pros: location, food & service, creativity

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great place to enjoy vegan food - Edit

We've been here in a nice,sunny day and we were glad to choose this place. The food was amazing at a reasonable price. Yummy food and chill atmosphere made our lunch a beautiful memory.
Recommend this place

Pros: friendly staff, great menu, reasonable price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious meal, nice staff, great atmosphere. - Edit

I came by on a Sunday afternoon. I ordered their mushroom and fennel pasta with truffle oil and white wine. The sauce was creamy and flavourful. The mushrooms perfectly cooked. The pasta AL DENTE. Felt like Italia.
Great service and the garden was lovely.
Will return!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious vegan food - Edit

Love this restaurant!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

WoW! - Edit

What a surprise! Wonderful original kitchen, very very nice tastes and high quality food. Problem is that the menu is so good, it is very difficult to choose

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great spot! - Edit

My sister and I went for dinner tonight & really enjoyed our time! We ordered the Flattop veggies and the Melanzane pizza and would highly recommend both, although the spelt crust is a touch bland. Their selection is great for veg/gf needs- we had trouble deciding what to get with the variety. Atmosphere & back patio is beautiful, extensive wine list and craft beer selections.

Pros: veg/gf options, good atmosphere, affordable

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing - Edit

Best vegan food in Sofia . Very relaxing place . Food is so good and tasty . The owner is a nice girl that makes you feel like home . We love the mushrooms shiitake , the salads , the soups and their wonderful bread .

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice and overprice - Edit

I've visited the restaurant just once in November 2016. The place was closed for a month or so in January-February 2017 and now it is opened again. From my understanding the menu and concept remain unchanged. And regarding the concept, the owners' plan seems to be running a luxury place, "chef" cuisine, etc., and that explains the pricing.
What I see from the other reviews is that some of the people think it is not expensive, some even say "cheap". Well... If you're coming from London, Paris or Rome, yes, than it is very cheap. However, 25-30 EUR for two persons' quick lunch without wine is far from cheap in a country where some people get hardly 500 EUR per month (and many don't).
The dishes - 1. "Tarator" - honestly I didn't like it. It was far from the taste of the milk original and when you refer to a substitute than the similarity is the goal, isn't it? For example, the "Soma Vital" restaurant makes it better for less money. 2. I had a second dish from the daily lunch menu with brussels sprouts, which I also didn't like it, but that is my fault cause sprouts are not my favorites in general. Maybe I expected to be surprised. I want to point out that surely there were delicious sounding dishes in the menu, but those cost up to 8-9 EUR and I didn't want to leave with empty pockets /credit card/. For 8 EUR a restaurant like "Kring" will offer much more both in quantity and quality.
The portions - I would say, those must be bigger than 300-350 gr. if the owners actually want to feed the hungry ones.
I almost forgot the location - it is fine only if you're going there by feet or taxi. It is impossible to park a car nearby.

Pros: Staff, Cosy place

Cons: Expensive, Location if you're with a car, Pretentious

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Quiet and beautiful escape from the city hustle - Edit

You will find this nice restaurant on a small street, a bit off the city centre.

The atmosphere is warm and cosy.
Designed in a great combination of Old and New.

The menu is vegan,some raw dishes too.
Gluten free and organic/bio food.

The prices seems high ,but they offer free filtered water and even it is not said especially, most of the dishes are prepared with organic ingredients.

We took 3 different dishes,all was tasty.

PROVENCE SALAD, tasty
SHIITAKE KEBAP,the best dish we ate
BIRYANI RICE-interesting combination,but the coco taste was kind of weird.

Good service.

This place is a must to visit.
Enjoy
Updated from previous review on Tuesday January 14, 2014


Updated from previous review on 2014-01-14

Pros: Vegan,Organic,Gluten free food, Good service, Quiet atmosphere

Cons: high prices

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic Vegan Restaurant - Edit

What a wonderful three course vegan meal. We chose the set menus, and whilst the only niggle was that the main course of carrot puree with fennel and broccoli, was literally just that and not what I would call a main meal - the rest of the food was fantastic.

Not really a place for children, but they were accommodating when we took a baby in a push chair (note a few steps to get in the building), no high chairs that I saw or was offered.

The filtered water was a nice touch, beautiful decor and lovely atmosphere.

The actual venue was tucked well out of the way, we found it easily with google maps, but otherwise we would have had no idea when we were standing outside, that we had arrived.

Overall 5* and great to see vegan in Bulgaria.

Updated from previous review on 2016-09-15

Pros: Lovely food, free water, great service

Cons: not easy to find

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excellent food and service - Edit

What a delight! First night in Sofia and we found this delightful restaurant.

Great selection , including raw food options.

Excellent service!!

And super affordable!! €35 for 2x 3 course meals & drinks!

Pros: variety , quality, service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing! - Edit

Probably the best restaurant I have ever been to. Ever !
A little far from the city centre but totally worth it! Just pay attention to the restaurant's sign when looking for it as it's really discrete. But when you pass the gate... A gorgeous garden with nice music and a lovely waitress ! So precious!
We had green smoothie, avocado and olive dips, a "colorful salad", boletus risotto... all to die for ! Definitely would return there if I go back to Sofia ! And the price was really ok ! Less then EUR 30.- for two (BGN 54.-) for all mentioned above + 2 extra smoothies, 1 glass white wine and 2 raw truffles.
Simply perfect.

Pros: the food !, the staff

Cons: probably hard to find if you don't have sat nav (g

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent food, great selection and friendly service - Edit

I came here with a few non-vegans and we were all impressed with this place. The menu provides a great variety to choose from; from salads to pizza, pasta, specialty dishes and a good selection of starters and desserts, there are so many things to return for! I had trhe chef special (forgot the name but cashew cheese rolled in a 'pastry' while the others had the savory pancake and the Thai spring rolls which were all absolutely delicious. The spicy pepper dip was also really nice. We sat outside in the patio, and it is a really pleasant and nice atmosphere and the inside is also quite nice. Unfortunately we had no time for dessert, as we had a n appointment to get to, but I really hope I am able to make it back during my visit to try more of his delicious kitchen- If I lived here, I would be a regular! The waitress was also very welcoming and kind, they had English menus for us to peruse and was prompt with bringing us water to drink on our arrival. I was really happy with choosing Soul Kitchen as one of the restaurants to eat while in Sofia, while also impressing those around me with something a bit out of the ordinary. Definitely recommend this place!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing restaurant ! - Edit

After trying a lot of vegan restaurants in Sofia and around the world I can defininetly say that Soul Kitchen is one of the best. Every time I get the chance to go to Sofia (even for a few hours) I come back to this amazing place. The indoor part is very cozy and classy, and the garden/outdoor part is peaceful. The food is exquisite and the menu changes often. I almost tried everything and believe me, everything is delicious. The desserts are different every time but the chocolate-banana cake is to die for !

Pros: Amazing food, prices, place

Cons: the staff could be friendlier

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A must when in Sofia! - Edit

OK, where do I start? This is the best vegan place I've even been to! The food was so great! Their vegan pizza might be my favourite pizza now, I would eat it everyday, and not only was it delicious, but it also tasted quite healthy. I also got a green smoothie, and let me say this – I hate watery smoothies, and Soul Kitchen smoothie was just as thick as a smoothie should be. We also got some cake and some soup, and everything was very good. My husband even liked their coffee, and he is super-duper picky when it comes to coffee. The waitress was very friendly, most kind and attentive.
The only 'disadvantage' (please mind the quotes) is the location, you have to walk a little bit to get there, but when you do... Oh my god, the food definitely is worth the walk! And if you like quite places, then The Soul Kitchen is definitely for you, it feels almost like you are somewhere in the countryside.

Pros: Great food, Friendly staff, Location

Cons: Location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Sofia Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Soul Kitchen closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6655 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support