30
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
International
Macrobiotic
Organic
Raw
Salad bar
Juice bar
Take-out
Bakery
Catering
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Sells smoothie bowls, salads, lunches, hot meals, hot drinks with plant milk and vegan cakes and baked goods. Reported July 2022 to be under new ownership and management. Open Mon-Sun 09:00-19:00.


Venue map for Roots Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

31 Reviews

First Review by SophiaRose

kcterpdevil

Points +98

Vegan
23 Aug 2023

Delicious!

Great vegan menu with lots of options. The pizza was amazing.

Pros: Variety of options. , Delicious!

Advertisement

minaelleg

Points +175

Vegan
22 Jun 2023

Delicious vegan pizza and good options!

Lots of vegan options! Had the vegan pizza with avocado. The vegan cheese was one of the best I’ve had and the pizza was cheap! Will be coming back.

Fipa

Points +18

Vegetarian
23 May 2023

Great variety of vegan options, amazing staff

I love it! It's simple, very well located, the food is great and the staff is amazing. I was in a junkie day so I ordered a beyond burger but they have 3 more vegan burgers options and a variety of other healthy options. The banana bread is vegan and gluten free and it's awesome!
Great options for kids too!

Pros: Burger options , Banana bread, Smoothies and juices

SAWAH*

Points +13

Mostly Veg
24 Apr 2023

Oat milk lattes

It’s hard to find dairy alternatives in cascais so I thought I would add you can get an oat milk latte here downtown. It is spendy, but you are in tourist central.

Would give five stars but they only give those to all vegan places.

AnastasiaFrancone

Points +36

Vegan
03 Oct 2022

Truly recommended

I stopped by just for a coffee and a piece of vegan lemon cake but I will definitely try the brunch there, since they offer lots of vegan options

des/\

Points +126

Vegan
19 Sep 2022

Menu changed

Less vegan options and no smoothies on the menu.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-19

Jazzyire

Points +118

Vegan
04 Sep 2022

Sweet cafe with lots of vegan options

We wanted something quick and healthy for lunch and this cafe was perfect . My partner ordered the burrata wrap (he’s vegetarian ) and I ordered a vegan wrap which I customised with ingredients I wanted. The wraps were tasty and the fresh juices really great. We also got the croquettes which were too soft and a little disappointing . Good vegan menu though so lots of options!

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-04

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Flexible menu , Quick service

Cons: Not fully vegan , Near a busy junction

MiguelDiogo

Points +76

Raw
23 Jun 2022

Is it still open? Yes & No. Changed ownership. Changed Menu Radically.

I was under the impression this Vegan and Veg-options Organic Café had closed sometime ago and at least from the outside menu, food look, options and information it seems it has changed ownership.

Please feel free to look for yourself comparing the new Menu - Photos - Et cetera to the old Roots Café https://www.facebook.com/rootscafeportugal/

Both the menu and the food are radically different from the old concept of Healthy Organic Vegan & Veg- options with Locally Sourced Organic food food available i.e. there are still Vegan and Veg-options on the menu but nothing compared to the old real Roots Café. Different vibe, different food. It has kept parts of the name but it is now Roots Café Pizzaria and changed allot!

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-22

Pros: Had Locally Sourced Organic food available, Had different, different food energy&presentation, Was radically different

Cons: Area far too noisy, Area far too busy, No atmosphere

JulieEA

22 Jun 2022

Hi - HappyCow has different categories of restaurants and Roots Cafe is listed as Veg-Options, meaning that it is not a fully vegan place (they serve meat), but there are vegan options.

rialisanne

Points +26

Vegan
08 Jun 2022

Vegan burger was very delicious

Many vegan optionsđŸŒ± Loved the strawberry milkshake and the beyond meat burger

MichaelAlf

Points +319

Vegan
30 Apr 2022

Nice little place

Italian place with some great vegan options.

Pros: Virgin Mojito , Vegan Burger

socalgal

Points +119

Vegan
10 Jan 2022

Wonderful food and service

The owners opened right before covid hit and they have managed to maintain a beautiful cafe located right by the little train station. They are enthusiastic about vegan dishes and our food was terrific. They have indoor and outdoor seating and dogs are welcome in the outside area. Great service too. Highly recommended. #Veganuary

Pros: Lots of delicious vegan options, Convenient location, Great service

Cons: Business is vulnerable to covid economic impact

Ninablabla

Points +76

Vegan
03 Oct 2019

Nice raw "pie"

Had the raw vegan pie and it was sooo good. Not too many vegan options but a few. Staff was friendly. Price a bit high

Pros: Tasty

Cons: Expensive

happy_globetrotter

Points +155

Vegetarian
13 Sep 2019

Cute little place

The smoothie and salad were tasty and nutritious.The seating area was comfy and the staff were friendly too.

GitaShah

Points +69

Vegan
07 Sep 2019

Disappointing

We ordered the avocado toast, smoothie bowl, iced coffee and golden milk. Smoothie bowl was fine as was the golden milk. The toast was one piece of stale bread with mashed avocado, no seasoning, it was not good. The iced coffee was the worst I've ever had - tasted like dish water. The total bill came to 25 euro which was too much for what we got. It's a pity because it's a lovely location. Maybe they were just having a bad day?

Pros: Lovely location.

Cons: Overpriced. Food was bland. Stale bread.

madisonlwlr

Points +190

Vegan
26 Aug 2019

Good vegan options!

We really enjoyed our midday snacks from this cafe. Cute environment and helpful staff! We got a strawberry smoothie and a vegan sandwich- both were very good after a long day at the beach! Would recommend.

aminutta

Points +1625

Vegan
07 Aug 2019

Healthy food & nice staff

Decent number of vegan options, from warm meals & sandwiches to desserts. Lovely ambiance, lots of light.

suni.li

Points +92

Vegetarian
01 Aug 2019

Good food and services

Ordered a wrap, a soup and a coffee. Everything is good. I see others’ salad, pasta and sandwiches, look attractive too. Would love to visit again.

Pros: Location, right next to the train station, Outdoor sitting available

Maevesullivan

Points +20

Vegan
25 Jul 2019

A good lunch spot

We went here as a group with a vegan, a vegetarian and two meat eaters. The place had a good amount of vegan options both for lunch and desert including a burger, lasagne, a wrap and a sandwich. Nice atmosphere in the place. Would definitely go here again.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Nice atmosphere

Cintarella

Points +91

Vegan
21 Jul 2019

Not many vegan options.

I was there quite early so the cabinets weren’t fully stoked with the vegan treats others mentioned. I opted for a vegan sandwich, with GF bread. I was starving so I ate it but it was very average & took ages to come out. This place could be amazing, it’s in a super good area & it’s a lovely space.

Pros: Staff are friendly , GF options

Cons: Need more good vegan options please

bradvdv

Points +20

Vegan
17 Jul 2019

Good variety of vegan options on the menu. Average food!

There is a good amount of vegan options on the menu. We had the vegan burger (special on the board) which was very average and not quit a burger. Fresh orange juice was good. Service was very average.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Well priced

Cons: Average service, Food wasn’t great but acceptable

Vascita

Points +20

Vegan
12 Jun 2019

Nice Café

Lots of vegetarian, vegan and raw vegan options

Pros: Divers, Many options, Nice inside seating

Cons: Outside seating is busy

MichĂšlea

Points +63

Vegan
12 Jun 2019

A quick snack

If you are looking for a quick snack and a quick service this « Café » is the one. Not to many vegan options since this is not a vegan Café but overall if you want to grab a quick snack they offer a delicious wrap, avocado toast or vegan hot-meal of the day.

They also offer a vegan-raw chocolate mini cake which in my opinion was not sweet enough to fully appreciate the taste of the chocolate.

I have to mention the bathrooms were very clean.

Pros: Quick and cheap, Fresh and tasty wrap

Cons: None

ca.espinosa

Points +160

Vegan
12 Jun 2019

Ótima experiĂȘncia

Ambiente muito tranquilo, opçÔes veganas muito interessantes. Pratos bem caprichados e nutritivos. OpçÔes de sucos naturais. Atendimento ótimo!
O restaurante disponibiliza livros para seus clientes, enquanto aguardam.

Pros: OpçÔes veganas de sobremesa e açaí.

Cons: Valor justo

IsabelS

Points +18

Vegan
02 Jun 2019

Good stuff!

Decent amount of vegan options. We had the vegan wrap and two different juices. The vegan wraps were fairly priced, delightful and satisfying. The juices were not served with ice, but they were refreshing. Definitely would recommend to my fellow vegans!

Pros: Several vegan options, Fairly priced, Delicious!

tengarine

Points +292

Vegan
26 Dec 2018

Yummy, friendly and just what we needed

Very cute cafe, fast service and yummy food. We got the immune salad, the hot dish of the day (veg curry) with quinoa, a turmeric latte and a hot chocolate, all vegan! It was all super yummy and I love how the turmeric latte came with sugar on the side. There was also plenty of vegan dessert and gluten free options

Pros: Vegan options clearly marked, Fast service, Lots of plant milk options

NatachaNĂłbrega

Points +1728

Vegan
01 Oct 2018

Óptimo terraço para relaxar e trabalhar !

Escolhi este sítio mesmo pelo seu terraço incrivelmente acolhedor. Comi o prato do dia por 7€, que consistia num curry de vegetais com quinoa ou arroz (à escolha). Se bem que no dia seguinte voltei e era exatamente o mesmo prato, por isso não o voltei a provar. Não dou 5 estrelas por isso e pelo facto de não haver assim*tanta* variedade.

Pros: Terraço , Preço acessível , Ao pé da estação, pleno centro da cidade

Cons: NĂŁo muita variedade

Ida10

Points +106

Vegan
31 Aug 2018

Lovely staff and good food.

We had a vegan special ( plate of the day, orange juice and a slice of cake ) for €10,00. The food was very good and the staff are lovely.

Pros: Good price, Nice staff , Good food




This page has been viewed 5486 times.